I'd have Caolan Young at corner back before I'd have Menton.
RoyalClass (Meath) - Posts: 790 - 20/06/2013 18:24:22
Whats the plan with the defence, what are donegal doing that we are not,you never seem to get goal chances with big teams ,yet for the last few years teams waltz through meaths with ease .last day and through the league we are all over the place at the back.this year has to be about getting very hard to beat ,and next year be more adventureous,the good news is i think we have a good team on the field and off it come on the royals ,watch out dubz we wer asleep now we are back
matthematx (Meath) - Posts: 177 - 20/06/2013 21:45:19
will the meath game be live on RTE next sunday?
frogd60 (Meath) - Posts: 95 - 21/06/2013 12:48:38
boys I think there is too much of a conservative approach to meath. caoimhin at cb will always be a problem he is too conservative and only gives short hand passes which put pressure on someone else. Seamy kenny picked out two fine diagonal kick passes which caomhin wouldn't have the capability nor the confidence to attempt. In my opinion CB is the most important role in the game and in caomhins case its not good enough to just do nothing wrong. Kevin and menton have more of an impact on games than caoimhin does time and time again and they play in the full back line kevin got a lucky goal and menton scored a point but you have to make your own luck by being positive and if your not going to be positive you have to be effective in a cover postion which lets face it caoimhin was not . he was protected by the fact that the midfielders were contesting kickouts on the half back lines which was largely down to such an abnormally strong wind that your not likely to get in croke park.I would love to see these changes made but i dont think they will be made as MOD praised the wing backs saying that it was a pitty that they got yellow cards when in fact those cards were a blessing in disguise as micky was going to get sent off the rate at which he was going constant fouling and jersey pulling blatant to everyone in aughrim.
1 paddy
2 mickey burke(not that happy with mickey full stop but given dalton is not available and menton is further out this would be the only choice )
5 harnan 6 seamus ( same role as caoimhin but he can KICK the ball)
7 menton (less isolation than in the corner and more opportunity to utilize his attacking skils and lets face it he is a better attacker than a defender)
8 meade
9 gillespee
10 peadar maby a bit more attacking postions ?
11 damian carrol ( there is no point in playing a play maker in the forwards when our running game takes him out of the game all together USE HIM MORE or otherwise start a recognised scorer maby joe)
12 biggy
13 wallace 14 newman 15 bray
royalcountyman (Meath) - Posts: 46 - 21/06/2013 13:05:47
frogd60 County: Meath Posts: 22
1412163 will the meath game be live on RTE next sunday?
Yep RTE are showing both yourselves and Wexford and Dublin and Kildare live. If i dont make it up to Croker its the next best thing.
OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 21/06/2013 13:08:21
this would be my team paddy keoghan reilly young harnan mento kenny gillespie meade peader biggy wallace bray newman mcmahon
wallyno.13 (Meath) - Posts: 2 - 21/06/2013 13:17:32
wallyno.13 - Your name wouldn't be Wally McMahon by any chance?
anfearbeag (Meath) - Posts: 1134 - 21/06/2013 13:29:35
I believe LMFM are doing an outside broadcast from Beggy's bar in Navan for anyone who can't make it to the game. Sounds like it'll be a bit of craic.
SmallHouse (Meath) - Posts: 291 - 21/06/2013 13:34:51
Lads what's the craic with tickets, I was just checking tickets.ie and all they have is section 301 in the cusack(right beside the hill) will they some more centeraly for cusack I wonder?
SUPER_ROYALS (Meath) - Posts: 123 - 21/06/2013 19:03:29
Most Meath supporters would fancy their team to win against Louth, as indeed would most neutrals also.
I firmly believe that Louth were just a shade too confident of beating Wexford and maybe didn't afford Wexford the respect they should have done.
I've no doubts that Louth were kicking themselves big time after losing the game by just a single point.
There wasn't much between Louth and Wexford for most of the first half and it was only as the game approached the half time break that Wexford aided by the strong breeze put the 5 points daylight between the two sides. Louth actually looked shocked going in at half time 5 points down. They certainly didn't play anything like they did a few weeks earlier in Portlaoise but they weren't 5 points worse than Wexford despite Wexfords 35 minutes of total dominance at mid field.
Louth were just getting themselves back into the game in the second half when disaster struck, a goal for Wexford. The high ball in looked to be going wide on the far post but the strong breeze now favouring Louth brought the ball straight across between the two uprights right to left hit the left post and fell straight down at the boot of a Wexford player, goal for Wexford totally against the run of play.
All Louth's early second half work wiped out by a piece of bad luck. Louth heads didn't go down as one might have expected but instead they rallied and eventually they brought the game back to a 1 point game with just minutes to go. Louth were now well and truly in the ascendency with Wexford there for the taken and they really should have been taken. They were totally dunk on their feet and if it wasn't for what we now know was the wrong option taken late on by Louth they would have gotten a draw, a result nobody really could argue with except Louth themselves maybe because they know they could have done much better than they did on the day.
To conclude I'll just say again if it was Louth v Meath then Meath would be strongly fancied by most people to progress, the fact that it's Wexford however shouldn't really change that opinion in my view.
If Meath and Wexford both play to their potential I'd fancy Meath to win this with a few to spare. Wexford have some very good footballers on their team but I think Meath have slightly better footballers on theirs.
THE_SNAPPER (Louth) - Posts: 2019 - 21/06/2013 20:17:58
Ok all this talk about future and giving management 3 years is grand, but it will not make one bit of difference if we cant perform in the hear and now. My team based on what ive seen this year, but more importantly the type of game that this is going to be, is as follows. 1 O'Rourke 2 keoghan 3 Reilly 4 young 5 harnan 6 menton 7 kenny 8 Meade 9 Gillespie 10 wallace 11 Bray 12 biggy 13 gilsenan 14 joe 15 Newman.
The reasons for joe is simply thay there will be no blanket defense this is going to be a old style shoot out, his power at holding off defender could yeild a goal, same with bringing bray out and wallace they can use speed (wallace) or accurate kicks (bray) into forward line. Kenny might not have full seventy in him, neither probably as bray, same goes for joe, but Byrne etc can be drafted in at anytime. Ill repeat again regardless of if we play in lienster final or qualify the team i would put out would not be this one. this is solely based on team that would beat wexford. Hon the royal.
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 22/06/2013 18:21:38
1 O'Rourke 2 keoghan 3 Reilly 4 young 5 harnan 6 menton 7 kenny 8 Meade 9 Gillespie 10 byrne 11 carroll 12 biggy 13 wallace 14 gilsenan 15 Newman.
probably not the team but would like to see it....
RossiesRock (Meath) - Posts: 369 - 22/06/2013 21:31:41
O rourke Keoghan Reilly Burke Kenny Menton Lenehan Gillespie Meade Peadar Bray Reilly Wallace Joe Newman
Too easy.
cabbage (Meath) - Posts: 171 - 23/06/2013 19:47:10
A week to go now. You really don't want to enter the qualifiers in round two. A lot of the poor teams will be knocked out in round 1 and if we got a lucky draw in round 2 the chances of not getting a very good team in round 3 are slim. This game is really the difference between progress made and stuck in limbo. Not going to go too much into the Meath team as I haven't followed them as closely as I usually do. Up the royal!
BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 23/06/2013 19:53:53
The team I would expect to take the field is:
1. Paddy O'Rourke 2. Donal Keoghan 3. Kevin Reilly 4. Bryan Menton 5. Ciaran Lenihan/Seamus Kenny(I dont favour either player but think MOD will go with Lenihan) 6. Caomhin King 7. Padraic Harnan(A certain starter after his display in the 2nd half v wicklow and Mickey Burke was very poor that day) 8. Brian Meade 9. Conor Gilispie 10. Peadar Byrne 11. Damien Carroll 12. Graham Reilly 13. Eamon Wallace 14. Stephen Bray 15. Michael Newman
BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 1015 - 23/06/2013 20:27:08
Thought I would also make the point that Peadar Byrne worked his socks off last weekend and would be one of the first names I would have on the team sheet. Surprised to see some people leaving him off their 15.
Anyone know the latest on s o'r? Or Alan forde? Also is mark Collins around? He looked sharp the couple of appearances he made last year.
Finally, a decent run this year and biggy will be a contender for an all Star.
cabbage (Meath) - Posts: 171 - 23/06/2013 20:32:12
Is the game on tv next week? Gonna be stuck in work so won't make it to croker?
awol67 (Meath) - Posts: 125 - 23/06/2013 21:28:19
just watched the Meath V Wicklow game for a second time i taught Meath looked worst the second time around i was impressed first time around ,we never kicked one decent direct ball out full forward line which kinda explain like of Newman Bray and to an extend Carroll not really been in the game ,,Bray had a poor game but he desperately looking for work coming out around the middle that was he only chance of coming close to the ball. that said the was some fine team effort scores but almost all our scores came from deep no direct ball ..i am guessing this will change in croke park and i expect the likes of bray and Newman to be on the ball more with return to a more direct type first time ball int FF line. negatives keogan was left for dead twice close goal our whole Half back line was nowhere to been seen first half Carroll was poor Bray was poor enough with the ball he got we didnt create enough goal chances only 1 i can remember and miss a lot of 50/50 balls around the middle. Farrell did nothing when he cam on .we got carved open to easy for my liking .
Positives Meade played well best i seen in a long time Wallace was breath of fresh air kevin Reilly played well and didn't get injured :) ,G Reilly looked in good form POR was in good form in goals Harnan looks a great find a tough game to be thrown into and played really well finally the subs bench was strong and stood to us
verdict for the Wexford game no clue 50/50 i am thinking very afraid we will be exposed in the half back line mid Field area wexford will not fear us one bit kinda have it over us recently. if i am honest don't really dont care how we play just a 1 point win and i will be delighted
bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1281 - 23/06/2013 21:50:06
AWOL67...
Both games are being shown live on RTE2, coverage starting at 1.30...see TV3 TVguide at [url=]http://www.tv3.ie/tvguide.php?currentTimeStamp=1372583196
RoyalSt.Pat (Meath) - Posts: 333 - 24/06/2013 10:11:55
Upper Deck Cusack now on sale at tickets.ie .... I got section 704 which is fairly central.
GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 24/06/2013 11:51:56