Meath v Wexford

Build for future my backside. Try living in the moment and using the best of youth
and experience. All teams evolve, im sure alot of thick people said sean bolyan
should have got rid of the players he inherited.

atta (Meath) - Posts: 708 - 17/06/2013 21:45:04    1409468

atta- Boylan did get rid of most of the players he inherited. Only Lyons, McEntee, Cassells and O'Rourke survived. And lets face it, Farrell and Ward are no Lyons McEntee, Cassells or O'Rourke.

anfearbeag (Meath) - Posts: 1134 - 17/06/2013 22:01:04    1409500

I think we need to get Menton out of the corner back i feel he is weak when he is asked to mark small and fast forwards and against wexford in Croke Park he'll be exposed. I'd rather see him at CHB and either Young or Curran in the corner.

BlackKettle (Meath) - Posts: 66 - 18/06/2013 08:49:08    1409508

MOD has done a grand Job so far. 1st objective was promotion from Division 3 and we got that. 2nd Objective is Leinster Final. We are one step away from that and still have plenty of options in forward & back line. I personally think the future is bright. The only person who knows the team for Wexford game is MOD and i have every faith he will pick the best team and if changes need to be made he will have no problem making them early is needs be. Every player who came on on Saturday Evening done a job and have thrown themselves in the mix for a start against Wexford. Its a great position to be in with so many lads chomping at the bit to get in the starting 15.

chriscart580 (Meath) - Posts: 376 - 18/06/2013 09:14:49    1409523

chriscart580

1408975 Peadar Byrne, King & Burke the men to miss out. Peadar just doesn't do enough in the game to warrant a start.

I could not disagree more with your opinion that Byrne should miss out. Every team needs a player like Peader who is willing to cover every blade of grass on the pitch, the amount of ground he covered last Saturday, largely tracking the Wicklow midfielders when Meade and Gillespie were not, was ridiculous and he dispossessed Wicklow men a few times back inside the Meath 21 yard line. He carried the ball well going forward too and got himself into great positions going forward (if Harnen had passed him the ball instead of taking his point, there was a great goal chance on). He was very solid and you need that. If anyone should miss out its Stephen Bray, he inexcusably missed an open goal at the start of the game and did very little overall. People are saying he wasn't in his best position and i would agree but even at that, he should still have been expected to make a decent contribution. Maybe Newman at 14 with Gilsenan in the corner as some people have suggested is worth trying. Some are still suggesting starting joe at 14 but while he scored a great point last Saturday, he looked very laboured getting to that ball, don't think he would have close to a full match in him and is much better as an impact sub nowadays. Improvement needed for Wexford but I think the team have improvement in them, they always looked to be just doing enough on Saturday and if required, could have stepped it up a notch.

Boherman (Meath) - Posts: 86 - 18/06/2013 12:24:36    1409723

chriscart580

MOD has done a grand Job so far. 1st objective was promotion from Division 3 and we got that. 2nd Objective is Leinster Final. We are one step away from that and still have plenty of options in forward & back line. I personally think the future is bright. The only person who knows the team for Wexford game is MOD and i have every faith he will pick the best team and if changes need to be made he will have no problem making them early is needs be. Every player who came on on Saturday Evening done a job and have thrown themselves in the mix for a start against Wexford. Its a great position to be in with so many lads chomping at the bit to get in the starting 15.

Well said chriscart, I totally agree. MOD has done a really good job so far. Promotion has been achieved, in a strong position to qualify for the provincial final, and the most satisfying, no rumours of rifts, players/selectors walking off the panel. So far he seems like the real deal. Time will tell. Although I am a fan of Cian Ward, I was glad to see him dropped. He was underperforming for far too long in a Meath shirt, MOD obviously thought the same. As for Big Joe, a serious talent, but again a perennial underperformer. Impact sub suits him best these days,In my opinion. He is not a 70minute player. He doesnt contribute enough to overall play in 70mins. Bray, is another one I would have question marks about, but only from a scoring point of view, anyone who was in Aughrim last Sat would have seen the immense work he put in off the ball, tackling back at the half back line. He is not a full forward, not a target man, but he is worth a spot on the starting forward line. All in all, as chriscart said, there are plenty of options there to give MOD the right type of headache. This year realistically is NOT about contending for Sam, but building for the future and MOD fully establishing himself. The future is looking a lot brighter than it was under Banty.

MeathBhoy (Meath) - Posts: 36 - 18/06/2013 12:43:45    1409750

Is this match being shown live on tv? Im on holidays that weekend.

qprmeath (None) - Posts: 434 - 18/06/2013 19:05:08    1410195

Hope POR keeps his head against Wexford ... Management should have word with him re his Twitter nonsense......also with Reilly ... They should stay
Off this juvenile stuff until AFTER the championship ! You will not see this nonsense from Mayo !

noluso (Meath) - Posts: 166 - 18/06/2013 19:12:36    1410210

Did not get to grips with Wicklow until they started to run out of steam in last 20 mins or so, only improvement from last year would seem to be fitness. When Wicklow ran at our backs-in first half especially- resistance was poor. Changes needed at 4,5,6 seven and 11. Positional changes will cover some of these, bring in Harnan, with Joe starting at full-forward.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2220 - 18/06/2013 20:13:10    1410263

I see in todays paper bernard flynn is calling for bryan menton to be moved out to centre back.every football person in meath can see menton is not a corner back except the manger

bobjaffacake (Meath) - Posts: 1400 - 19/06/2013 10:09:53    1410448

@QPRMeath - doubt will be shown live on TV - they usually goto another game round the country at 1400, and back to Croker for the 1600 (Dublin v Kildare)

Referee just announced on GAA.IE - it's Maurice Deegan from Stradbally in Co. Laois

RoyalSt.Pat (Meath) - Posts: 333 - 19/06/2013 11:13:38    1410514

Game is being Televised live.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 19/06/2013 11:16:13    1410516

MAurice Deegan? No way, thats mental. Can the GAA not remember the controversy caused by him after the last Meath v Wexford game? He made a shocking call to dissalow a perfectly good Joe Sheridan goal followed by a harsh sending off for Meath. These were to major factors in the massive swing in momentum towards Wexford that day.

Even at the time is was debated on the Sunday game and there was even a spat in the paper with fergal Byron and Coyle over it after that. Why would the GAA go down this road again?

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 19/06/2013 11:19:17    1410521

RoyalSt.Pat

@QPRMeath - doubt will be shown live on TV - they usually goto another game round the country at 1400, and back to Croker for the 1600 (Dublin v Kildare)

Think Both games are being shown from Croker that day.
Think Meath v Wex is on RTE so Im assuming Dub-TV (TV3) are showing the other game.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 19/06/2013 11:20:36    1410523

Ok Lads Just watched the full game 2day!!! Was away and only seen Highlights..
Few points..

Burke and Lenihan have to go for sure..Menton did ok in the corner but would prefer him at 6!!
King Did Quite well..If Dalton isnt fit play him at six again and leave Menton at 4!!!
Midfeild Did ok..If Shane was fit He would be the preferred Choice with Gillespie..Stick with the same combination V Wexford
Reilly was really good..Byrne was energetic and shoulkd retain his place v Wexford!!
Carroll did very Little but would still play him at 11
Full Foward line was Hit and Miss..Bray was poor all round!!
Newman Kicked some nice frees but nothing from play..Wallace was very good in patches
I have named a team already on this thread I would still pick the same team 2day

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1176 - 19/06/2013 11:25:38    1410527

We have to start playing natural half-backs.. Picking Lenihan,King etc is crazy.There is more space in Croke Park and Wexford have a far better forward division than Wicklow do.. Looks like Burke's injuries have taken something out of him to be honest.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 19/06/2013 11:29:46    1410533

grahamc9897

Have to say that I thought Meade was head and shoulders above Gillespie.
Fielded better, tackled stronger and took his point well. The only real blot on his card was the ball he sent straight over the end line from a free but that may have been down to an under active FF line and strong wind.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 19/06/2013 11:30:19    1410535

1orourke
2keoghan
3 reilly/menton
4curran/young/
5 king
6reilly/menton
7dalton (if not fit then harnan)
8 meade
9gillispie
And same 6 forwards as last day

bobjaffacake (Meath) - Posts: 1400 - 19/06/2013 11:35:50    1410543

Jinx - totally agree - I was at that game in Dr.Cullen Park Carlow - Meath were up 10points at half time? Granted there was a little "Meath let it slip" , but there was a little craziness in officialdom....their keeper came out and fouled Joe , but not before he dispatched a perfectly good low shot to goal - that was disallowed ! This with the illogical sending off allowed Wexford back in that day..they seemed like "home town' decisions I felt.

Maybe MD learnt from that day and the furore that happened afterwards that his "run in the Championship" ended there too...so here's hoping for an impartial revenge in Croker June 29th.

RoyalSt.Pat (Meath) - Posts: 333 - 19/06/2013 11:48:16    1410553

bobjaffacake- What paper is that in?, wouldn't mind reading what he has to say

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 19/06/2013 12:51:04    1410631