Delighted to see him back, was always my first choice in goal from a distribution point of view. rath_togh (Meath) - Posts: 740 - 14/10/2011 11:26:15 1051791 Link 0 |
Gallie is 32 now and will be 33 next year. Plenty left in him. Best of luck. gagaa (Meath) - Posts: 50 - 14/10/2011 13:23:51 1051884 Link 0 |
that would have left him at 22 the year he captained U21s do the maths. You're dead right he has plenty of years left in him as a goalie rath_togh (Meath) - Posts: 740 - 14/10/2011 13:37:48 1051903 Link 0 |
My mistake but where did they come up with 36? gagaa (Meath) - Posts: 50 - 14/10/2011 14:37:26 1051957 Link 0 |
are ye for real. we should be looking for fresh new players, not scraping the barrel again. go out and look for a few new players banty vedder (Meath) - Posts: 3 - 14/10/2011 15:29:38 1052009 Link 0 |
quality keeper , commanding presence in the square the_miller (Meath) - Posts: 14 - 14/10/2011 16:29:35 1052061 Link 0 |
Gallagher is 31... I dont think its a good idea bringing him back because I never thought he was a great shot stopper even when he was a regular between the posts for club and county, the fact that he has played very little in goals for the last few years cant be a good thing as its very much a specialist position. He has a massive kick-out which is alway a benefit, but if a younger keeper is a better shot stopper with a solid kickout I think he would be a better option. Thunderstruck (Meath) - Posts: 469 - 14/10/2011 16:55:10 1052094 Link 0 |
Thunderstruck, I couldn't put it better myself. denniswise (Meath) - Posts: 106 - 14/10/2011 18:21:20 1052161 Link 0 |
good to see meath aiming for the future stevied (Louth) - Posts: 42 - 15/10/2011 14:20:32 1052412 Link 0 |
Maybe brian stafford could come back as well !!! No disrepect to gallagher but think enough feathers were ruffled over graham returning , if its forward were to move whilst looking for a long term solution he is not an option . royalpainter (Meath) - Posts: 874 - 15/10/2011 18:24:21 1052517 Link 0 |
If we want to compete with the best, we have to have to set ourselves higher standards and leave nothing to chance. It is primitive (thinking) to stick an outfield player between the posts because they are tall and have a long kick out. That's what you might do with kids teams, not at inter-county level. As someone mentioned earlier it is a specialist position and this should manifest itself at senior level most of all. It is very unprofessional to regard the role as any less important that any other position on the field of play. Stephen Cluxton been the perfect example of what a top goalie adds to a team. GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 15/10/2011 20:12:40 1052575 Link 0 |
The man is 31 not 41 as a keeper this is young and he has great experience, royalpainter this man played for the rules team only 3 years ago and then had to stop because of a back injury if the injury has cleared up fully he's the right man to be asked into the panel dont talk rubbish about Stafford or what happened over GG , as for stevied from Louth you would'nt know what it is like to be able to call back a player into the panel that played for you country and your future is very clear , a good hammering by the dubs thats if your good enough to beat westmeath which i douth mmc (Meath) - Posts: 280 - 16/10/2011 11:10:50 1052684 Link 0 |
Mmc ,with respect i think glas agus or has written a post that is in line with whats needed for our long term objectivie check it out .its not that gallagher isnt fit its just another stop-gap royalpainter (Meath) - Posts: 874 - 17/10/2011 12:59:03 1053295 Link 0 |
Gallagher has been the best keeper in Meath for at least 10 years. People seem to have very short memories because he took over from Cormac Sullivan in goals towards the end of Sean's reign despite being on the bench since '99. He isn't the first keeper to play outfield for this club. This matters little because county players spend very little time with their clubs anyway. No he is back with Meath he will have ample time to fine tune his goalkeeping. He is a natural shot stopper with great distribution and a big kick out. If Anthony Tohill had any cop on he would ask him back for the International Rules (injury permitting). Anybody who thinks he's a stop gap answer is misguided. The fella is 31. He still has 5 yrs left as an intercounty keeper. Nobody seemed to have an issue with Brendan Murphy's age. I for one look at this as a positive move by Banty. Paddy O'Rourke doesn't have the temperament for inter-county football so this was the best shout by Banty after Murphy's retirement. MeathGael (Meath) - Posts: 37 - 17/10/2011 14:13:46 1053391 Link 0 |
Gallagher has been the best keeper in Meath for at least 10 years !!!! denniswise (Meath) - Posts: 106 - 17/10/2011 14:44:32 1053433 Link 0 |
should definatly be brought back into the frame lads.. BoozerB (Meath) - Posts: 19 - 18/10/2011 16:41:37 1054188 Link 0 |
So am I reading this thread right then? BRING_ON_GURTY! (Meath) - Posts: 712 - 19/10/2011 14:07:58 1054707 Link 0 |
Gurty, what people are saying is that up and coming players should be given a fairer crack of the whip. And management not always looking to the past because they do not have enough local knowledge of up and coming players (or confidence in them) to bring them into the fold. GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 19/10/2011 15:26:59 1054758 Link 0 |
To simplify it. What I am saying is there are in my opinion better 'keepers available. denniswise (Meath) - Posts: 106 - 19/10/2011 17:36:22 1054867 Link 0 |
Right he comes back for say 3 or 4 years then gives up then we have to start looking for a new keeper again, what is the point in that? SS6 (Meath) - Posts: 149 - 19/10/2011 19:13:35 1054947 Link 0 |