Karma or something more sinister?

MiteyMeath - With all due respect you are simply not comparing like with like. Think if the decision had been in the 74th minute you may have felt different and had lost by that score. And I'm not even bringing into the emotions of something that the vast majority of supporters have never seen in their life time as was the case last July. As I said in an earlier post Louth would like to move on too but trying to compare what happened yesterday to last year maybe just proves why your county did'nt offer the replay ie. you just did'nt get what what 31 other counties seen. Move on please. I wont be refering to it again anyway - I've said what I'm going to say. Roll on Portlaoise next Sunday and to the qualifier draw for Meath. Good luck - sincerely mean that.

Weesupporter (Louth) - Posts: 131 - 06/06/2011 17:48:23    948955

looks like louth will be camped here in the meath site for a long time. laughable really. Saying Meath not good enough, meath are this, your that.Meath footbal fans know the side it limtied at the moment. Its a fact but same bunch have been to AI semi's and quarter finals. Louth are quite cocky at the moment as the draw this year to them basically says they will get to the final. All I can say is, Stop looking back, lose the wing mirrors lads and stop talking about last year and living of Meath's fortunes. No pressure last year, lets see how you do this year with expectations high.

As for yesterday, Meath just cant match Kildare for running power. Meath players are just as good skill wise, maybe better even in the forward department but not near as mobile over the pitch.

14forward (Meath) - Posts: 39 - 06/06/2011 18:23:26    948998

Weesupporter I get what your saying and its plain to see your a genuine supporter not another WUM.

My post wasnt really aimed at Louth supporters I can see how you would have felt bad last year. It was more aimed at supporters of other counties who were very happy to jump on the replay bandwagon. I just think that sentiment shouldnt come into the equation when making decisions either on or off the pitch and thats why I felt there shouldnt be a replay last year. I also think that its up to the GAA to sort out correct rules and regulations and thats why there shouldnt be a replay for yesterday (not that its even an issue). I remember posing the question if the same happened in a Dublin Meath game, would we all just get along with it or would we demand a replay. Im simply curious as to why one situation requires a replay and the other doesnt in the eyes of so many people. A wrong decision is a wrong decision, regardless of timing, circumstances involved or the credentials of the team being wronged.

If its any consolation I felt very bad for ye last year I just found the whole replay saga a bit sickening expecially given the numbers of WUM who got involved.

Anyway I respect ur need to not talk about it anymore and I also wish ye the best of luck this year. Im confident ye can make the leinster final again, if its against the Dubs I hope ye win, if its against Kildare I'll probably go for them as I think they deserve some silverware for the football they played in the last 2 years.

Good luck in the championship, hopefully we meet at some stage so we can sort all this out on the pitch.

miteymeath (Meath) - Posts: 98 - 06/06/2011 18:23:41    948999

Lads, decisions didn't go our way, but come on please don't do a Louth on it! We quite simply were not good enough on the day and beaten by a better team. So please concentrate on the football aspects and not the refereeing etc.

We need to look at the aspects like not being able to catch clean possession in all areas of the pitch. Our football skills are not good enough. We could go on but please don't blame the referee, because Kildare were deserving victors! No complaints.

David (Meath) - Posts: 567 - 06/06/2011 18:42:47    949028

Fair play Miteymeath. As someone close to the Meath border I really hope we get some good football battles in the coming year(s). I know quite a few clubs on the Louth/Meath border rely on each other for pre-season games etc to help each other - neighbouring clubs need each other to bring on the other. It should'nt be any different at county level. Think the one of these great games could be sooner than we think in the leinster minor semi-final later this month. That could be a cracking game. May the best team win.

Weesupporter (Louth) - Posts: 131 - 06/06/2011 19:15:18    949054

look lads it is what it is and I don't think the Meath players will be losing any sleep over it and neither should the supporters. It's not too dissimilar to the first of the two Meath-Dublin Leinster games of 07 where Geraghty had a goal disallowed for being a 'square ball' we moved on then and we'll do the same now.

itsgreenandgold (Meath) - Posts: 312 - 06/06/2011 20:25:18    949124

thirty1 why did they have 18 wides? because the meath backs forced them to shoot from difficult angles and put too much pressure on them.

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 06/06/2011 21:11:12    949177

miteymeath a lot of posters are saying we were wronged but the factis some counties hate meath and what can you do about that? nothing!

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 06/06/2011 21:12:53    949181

WEESUPPORTER hopefully loads of louth and meath fans turn up for that. if you don't make the leinster final that could be the biggest game both our counties have this year, hopefully a cracker.

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 06/06/2011 21:16:00    949185

I dont understand why people are talking about Karma and bring up the Louth game again!!! Meath have had plenty of good goals disallowed over the years (maybe what happened against Louth was karam for all the wrong decison against us in the past). Sometimes decision go your way and sometimes not and we just have to live with. Kildare were the better team and goodluck to them against Dublin.

soso (Meath) - Posts: 89 - 07/06/2011 12:28:34    949446

My name is Earl is doing an episode on the whole saga.

bruciebonus (Meath) - Posts: 58 - 07/06/2011 12:50:41    949472

So many things wrong with our national game that I wouldn't put it past the powers within the GAA to have some kind of a grudge against Meath. I'm not a WUM I don't see the point, but after last years debacle & sundays decisions It will not beyond belief that the refs have been given some misguided rule book to follow. We all know that the game is flawed from the top down & how quick the ref was in to make his decision on sunday makes you wonder.
However I still think Kildare deserved to win even with 18 wides.

sandyBeach (Louth) - Posts: 269 - 07/06/2011 13:20:38    949524