Leitrim Forum

Popular Posts from boxtyburgerbuns

Leitrim GAA thread - 4 Like(s)

Replying To ThePowerhouse:  "You've endorsed my point and thanks for that. You do realise we're talking about the County team here?"
County teams are a secondary concern, the thread is about Leitrim GAA in general. If there are no clubs in the county fighting to be 'yahooing' about winning the most important competition in GAA...a county championship, then there won't be any county teams. Thanks

boxtyburgerbuns (National) - 27/03/2025 12:16:14

Leitrim GAA thread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Cumann1:  "AKA what?"
I'd say most of your posts so far are on Leitrim thread. Bizarre

boxtyburgerbuns (National) - 26/04/2025 15:43:46

Leitrim GAA thread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Taypot:  "Some drivel on this forum for the last few weeks. You are all wondering how to improve fortune of Leitrim football. Have you considered getting off this forum for a few months, close it down and stop making fools out of yourselves"
You don't have to read it chief. Stick to your own page

boxtyburgerbuns (National) - 07/04/2025 13:51:08

Leitrim GAA thread - 2 Like(s)
Seems we are scoring less under conditions meant to improve scoring rates

boxtyburgerbuns (National) - 16/02/2025 17:36:30

In fairness how many times in Leitrims history had we a team that could complete. Obviously in the 1920s when we won a title, 1950s when we got to so many finals and lost and then the 90s/early 2000s. These teams don't come around too often. If we went by the previous cycles we are due a similar team now but I don't see it happening. There could be a million excuses for it but one reason we won in the 90s and should have won more is that Connacht football was v poor and we were half decent.

boxtyburgerbuns (National) - 23/03/2025 08:47:06

Anti GAA Agenda - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Square_B:  "Better to have it lie idle for the pigeons I guess...."
Better to have it promote our national sports than a rival one

boxtyburgerbuns (National) - 19/01/2025 16:47:22

When people criticise the county board here, what exactly is their issue with them. It never seems to be specific. Players have never been so well looked after it seems, with new facilities opened for them etc, So what is it the county board hasn't been doing that needs to be done?

boxtyburgerbuns (National) - 17/03/2025 19:08:46

Replying To martinjoe:  "Fully agree that Poacher must get a fair chance and not be judged until the season is over for Leitrim, but could I ask that supporters might put themselves in the position of any one of the "key" players who have opted out? They are after giving their all over 3 tough years with Andy and have achieved what most observers would see as the only realistic goal available, promotion to division 3. Now is it unfair of them to ask themselves what is the best they can achieve in 2025 and balance that against what will be required in terms of commitment? Poacher will likely require commitment to a program comparable with what Div 1 teams are doing. Teams who have some sort of chance of landing the ultimate prize. Most supporters on here agree that it is unlikely Leitrim can retain their status and that they are likely to return to 4. It is a given that they will depart the Connacht championship in the first round v Mayo. So while the status of intercounty footballer does carry weight and brings perks outside of football, after a few years players might think the price is just too high. They will be replaced by lads who crave intercounty footballer status and will commit to anything. I know there are those who will point to Sligo who only a few years ago failed to rack up a single point in 7 Div 4 games, and last year almost took out the eventual All Ireland runners up. Personally I think they too have peaked in spite of great underage success. Due to demographic changes (small families) the day the rural club winning big has gone, and it is quickly being followed the rural county. Yes, even Kerry will struggle in the near future. The cities, Dublin, Cork, Limerick and Galway will dominate both codes by 2030."
You could say the same about Mayo though, not a hope of winning an All Ireland but they still go at it.

boxtyburgerbuns (National) - 05/01/2025 13:23:16

If it is this bad this year, what will it be like next year trying to get lads for div 4 games!

boxtyburgerbuns (National) - 16/03/2025 09:40:28

Micko - 2 Like(s)
Manager of the greatest ever team in football, and a footballer of the year himself. May he rest in peace

boxtyburgerbuns (National) - 03/04/2025 09:58:45

Pat Gilroy Resigns From Croke Park Role - 2 Like(s)
Must be the only organisation where the product they're selling/offering gets increasingly more professional it gets worse in quality, in football anyway, hurling folk can beg to differ. When you start charging kids admission under the smokescreen of crowd control etc...for a league game! Then you know the organisation is removing itself further and further from its core values. Coupled with the robust defending of putting games behind tv paywalls in this country, running off its marquee competitions before summer has even begun, it is clear the organisation is going in the wrong direction imo. If this is the way things are going then why can't counties agree their own kit deals with Adidas etc. There's zero issues doing deals with foreign media companies, why are kits sacrosanct under a virtual monopoly

boxtyburgerbuns (National) - 11/12/2024 11:19:59

Replying To meathbasedfan:  "i've said it before about Casey, when the conversation on here was being had about great players and who gets on the Roscommon team. He simply doesn't play enough games for club or county to be considered a great player. must be an attitude issue. i fear for Leitrim again tomorrow. looking at the team its hard to know if thats the one will start. no more than Moran, Poacher seems to name a team that doesn't actually start, as if it gives us some kinda silly advantage. which clearly it doesn't. anyway best of luck to the lads tomorrow, i really hope they give a good account of themselves."
Absolutely irrelevant who would get on Roscommon team tbh.

boxtyburgerbuns (National) - 01/03/2025 15:39:43

Non-Gaa Forum - 2 Like(s)
Can't understand why there isn't a big push to get our people home from Canada, Australia, US etc to live and work and settle and help to revitalise our rural and urban areas. Bring the skills and knowledge they've gained in other countries to improve our own. Particularly in health and construction industries

boxtyburgerbuns (National) - 02/03/2025 12:04:16

Quitting GAA at the age of 18 - 1 Like(s)
How many games realistically do you play with your club yearly...10-15 maybe? So 15 days out of 365 Yet you spend 3/4 of the year training for this at least three times a week maybe. You're missing lads holidays, nights out, and even bloody lie ins at the weekend instead of being got out of bed at 8am on a Sunday. It isn't worth it, and lads are great that still do it...especially ones at the periphery of getting on the first 15

boxtyburgerbuns (National) - 14/02/2025 14:46:42

Leitrim GAA thread - 1 Like(s)

Replying To martinjoe:  "Good weekend for Connacht teams so far, Ross a massywin and Sligo off the mark."
We are always delighted to see Roscommon and Sligo doing well, as Mayo would be with Galway...

boxtyburgerbuns (National) - 02/03/2025 12:07:00

We are at our level, a div 4 team who are good enough (or lucky enough) to get promoted occasionally. No shame in that. A county of 250,000 like Kildare shouldn't be down in Div 3 in any case.

boxtyburgerbuns (National) - 17/02/2025 11:18:08

Anti GAA Agenda - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Square_B:  "Why are you so afraid of other sports? You'd sware the GAA was providing their facilities for free."
Afraid of other sports? What are you on about? I'm not a fan of rugby and I don't think the GAA should be promoting a rival sport by allowing it access to some of its grounds.

boxtyburgerbuns (National) - 19/01/2025 17:12:40

Anti GAA Agenda - 1 Like(s)

Replying To points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet:  "Any true GAA fan couldn't care less about Croke Park. It's for the once-a-year brigade"
Well that is an unusual take. But okay

boxtyburgerbuns (National) - 19/01/2025 17:36:21

I don't accept there's too many clubs. If you reduced the teams to an even number of 16 say you'd have parishes forced into amalgamation with neighbours they want nothing to do with, reduced teams means reduced chances for fringe players to get on. If a team is in imminent danger of folding then maybe talk about it, if they are holding on keep the home fires burning as long as possible. For example how enthusiastic would Eslin be to amalgamate with Mohill and also Looking forward to someone suggesting Annaduff and Bornacoola get married. That'd work well.

boxtyburgerbuns (National) - 18/02/2025 14:06:08

Replying To moros:  "Are ye putting a team out in the Championship burger ?(: Another white wash from ye !lol"
We probably will moros and we will win as much trophies this year as yee lot i.e. nothing.

boxtyburgerbuns (National) - 01/04/2025 14:42:18