Leitrim Forum

Popular Posts from JimmyNail

New York, New York!! Shootout Win Over Leitrim! - 3 Like(s)
Well done to New York massive result for them. Disaster for us but we've only ourselves to blame. Hope ye put up a good show against Sligo think ye will too.

JimmyNail (National) - 09/04/2023 11:22:20

Leitrim GAA thread - 3 Like(s)
Very inexperienced team named for tomorrow especially in defence. No Ben Guckian is he injured? It's going to be tough tomorrow make no mistake but I'm going to go and back this young team and hopefully we have a good support down in Ennis. Best of luck lads.

JimmyNail (National) - 01/02/2025 13:28:15

Are we fielding tomorrow?

JimmyNail (National) - 22/03/2025 13:06:09

Mayo V Tipp - 3 Like(s)
The very best of luck in the final lads. No doubting it's a huge task but when you see what happened to Kerry and Donegal it shows anything can happen on the day. Hopefully ye finally get the breaks and rub of the green in a final.

JimmyNail (Mayo) - 08/12/2020 10:27:33

The great PJ Carroll has sadly passed away, done a lot of ground work for 94 with the All ireland B in 1990 and Connacht Under 21 in 1991 and promotion in the National league. Unfortunately Roscommon were our bogey team in the championship in those years and there was no back door them times. Came back and won a senior championship with Aughavas in 2000. Rest In Peace PJ.

JimmyNail (National) - 30/10/2024 19:21:30

Sligo Covid-19 Breakout - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Funny how posters from these weaker counties have been looking for the leagues to be abandoned and then forfeiting games when it suits them to prepare for the last game at home to try and save their skins from relegation? I think you fellas in Leitrim would be better off playing tibblywinks. I almost enjoyed that Tipp win as much as a Donegal win. Schadenfreude the Germans call it. Anyway enjoy div 4 ye can't go any lower so stop worrying now. Fair play to Fermanagh, fulfilled their fixture with Clare and kept the integrity of the league intact."
Disgraceful comments again from you not surprising though. I actually think Stenson should have kept his mouth shut on Tomas o se to be honest but the rubbish your spouting without knowing the facts of the situation is ridiculous. Mean spirited spiteful comments like what you've been throwing at mayo for years. For the record I suppose you think sligo should have thrown out a team this weekend?

JimmyNail (National) - 05/11/2020 17:28:37

Very sad to hear the passing of John O Mahony ,gave us our finest hour in 1994 will never be forgotten. RIP John deepest sympathies to your family and friends.

JimmyNail (National) - 07/07/2024 12:34:13

Speedy Recovery Graham Geraghty - 3 Like(s)
Hope Graham makes a full and speedy recovery best wishes to him and his family. Brilliant player could play anywhere.

JimmyNail (National) - 29/10/2020 18:49:05

Wexford Football 2025 - 2 Like(s)
Congratulations lads on your well deserved promotion ye were robbed by the penalty decision In Carrick last year but dusted yourselves down and made no mistake this time. Hope ye push on in division 3 next year , management and players leaving on masse gave us no chance of competing in division 3 this year but ye have a team capable capable of staying staying up next year at tthe very least.

JimmyNail (National) - 09/03/2025 20:09:49

Sligo GAA thread - 2 Like(s)
Well done Sligo fantastic achievement to win back to back titles , hope ye go all the way now. Some great footballers on that team , good times ahead hopefully for Sligo football.

JimmyNail (National) - 20/04/2023 14:05:42

Leitrim GAA thread - 2 Like(s)
Best wishes to Emlyn on his retirement, he has served Leitrim well for many years.

JimmyNail (National) - 30/03/2023 11:47:34

Tailteann Cup 2022 - 2 Like(s)
Well done to Westmeath and hard luck to Cavan , great advertisement for Tailteann cup today was a good match and great occasion . Sending off turned the tide in Westmeaths favour. Kieran Martin scored a fantastic goal.

JimmyNail (National) - 09/07/2022 16:46:12

Can't look any further than tomorrow, carlow will be a huge test lose that and we're gone. Best of luck to the lads.

JimmyNail (National) - 25/02/2023 21:44:19

Leitrim 50 Miles Challenge In January - 2 Like(s)
Passed the 100k mark earlier incredible achievement well done to all involved.

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - 07/02/2021 19:57:52

Shock Results In Days Gone By - Even In The National League - 2 Like(s)
October 1996 first round of the national football league division 2 - Leitrim 1-10 Dublin 0-10. Leitrim football was going well at that time, won connacht in 1994 and we were in division 2 for a good few years getting close to division 1 a few times. Stood beside a group of Dublin supporters who spent the whole match abusing Mickey Whelan, we can only dream of ever seeing days like that again.

JimmyNail (National) - 18/02/2021 13:28:09

All-Ireland Minor Hurling Final - 2 Like(s)
God such a sickening way to lose , Offaly probably contributed to their downfall they didn't manage the game well with the extra man but the last free was a free out all day long and ref was close to the play too. Lots for Offaly to be positive about despite the heartbreak of today, hurling needs a strong Offaly team a strong Offaly with their great colourful support wiring so much to the championship. Well done to Tipperary they hung in there and snatched it.

JimmyNail (National) - 03/07/2022 15:29:40

Good luck to the lads this evening, hopefully we can get a win but its going to be tough have no doubt about it . Its a pity the game isn't in Leitrim, hopefully a big support goes this evening we're going to need it.

JimmyNail (National) - 08/06/2024 10:17:12

Heading off to Salthill soon , all I'm hoping for today is a big performance and whatever happens then happens. Best of luck to the Leitrim team and management.

JimmyNail (National) - 08/05/2022 09:45:01

You can't but feel sorry for for this young team that's suffering badly and today was a very tough watch. This is probably going to be the way for the last four games too. Any small progress made in last few years has been totally destroyed and we're heading back to division 4 probably with a record minus scoring difference after losing all 7 games. How are we going to recover from this and what will it do to these young lads confidence? It's a disaster and while I'm not absolving Poacher of blame by any means and probably giving that interview wasn't a wise move on his part but if we're all honest he's right in a lot of what he said.

JimmyNail (National) - 16/02/2025 21:00:41

Leitrim GAA thread - 1 Like(s)
Only positive was we fielded today. Another tough day in a nightmare campaign. Hard to think that championship or tailteann Cup will bring any joy.

JimmyNail (National) - 23/03/2025 18:45:06