Wexford Forum

Popular Posts from Pikeman96

Move To National Forum Only Model - 11 Like(s)
Have to say I'm disappointed by this myself. Had noticed last night that the Wexford forum was no longer working, and hoped it was just some sort of temporary blip. But evidently not.

Pikeman96 (National) - 30/09/2021 08:43:52

Time To Take A Stand. - 8 Like(s)
If that sort of sectarian "sledging" is genuinely going on, then yes, it's time to take a stand. Just as it's time to take a stand against the sort of "sledging" that Northern teams have been guilty of for years, using those terms like "Free Staters", "West Brits", and "safe South". And also like it's time to take a stand against things like we saw from that club in Tyrone recently - erecting a memorial to three "fallen Gaels", who in reality were paramilitaries on active service at the times of their separate deaths. It's one of the fundamental rules of the Association: The Association is Anti-Sectarian, Anti-Racist and committed to the principles of inclusion and diversity at all levels. Any conduct by deed, word, or gesture of sectarian or racist nature or which is contrary to the principles of inclusion and diversity against a player, official, spectator or anyone else, in the course of activities organised by the Association, shall be deemed to have discredited the Association.

Pikeman96 (National) - 28/02/2022 16:47:47

County Colours - 7 Like(s)

Replying To FoolsGold:  "If colours clash it should be the away team wearing alternative colours. No need for both teans"
The idea behind both teams changing is so that neither team gains an advantage. For example, say two teams normally play in green. If one of them gets to keep the green, but the other has to play in white, the green team has the supposed advantage because players can still look for a green jersey in split-second decisions, the same as always. However, when they change too - let's say to blue - then players of both sides have to take that split second longer before releasing the ball. Not saying I agree with the thinking behind that. Am just explaining what it is.

Pikeman96 (National) - 21/02/2022 10:20:10

Jimmy Cooney RIP - 6 Like(s)
I agree with the original poster here. A different photograph, from a different occasion, would be far more fitting here.

Pikeman96 (National) - 01/08/2023 16:07:36

Anti GAA Agenda - 6 Like(s)

Replying To KillingFields:  "Im saying gaa were lucky to have access to tge land. Not that they didnt work hard for it and im saying it not to dismiss the gaa. I would and do say it about many rugby clubs as well. Lucky they got access to land in many areas but many other sports clubs set up far later than many gaa or rugby clubs have it much harder to access and pay for land to develop facilities and by not owning land or have long term leases on land they find it impossible to get capital grants for facilites."
You first said GAA were lucky to get given land, not lucky to have access to it. Anyway, I'm done with this. Going by this and your input on at least one thread, you seem to have a bit of an anti-GAA agenda of your own.

Pikeman96 (National) - 26/02/2024 14:18:44

Anti GAA Agenda - 4 Like(s)

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "I think you are missing the point. What was the bidding price for starters?, and surely the logic of this argument is that all games will go behind a paywall? The whole point of a "national broadcaster" is that as a publicly funded, directly in case of RTÉ, entity that it caters to public demand. The public demand in this case is that they show a top level GAA match on each of the Saturday's in the three months they show our games in the first place. Surely not much to ask is it? They show all sorts of other stuff that few people could be bothered their **** paying into. And there is a place too for that in relation to minority sports like women's rugby, FAI and so on."
What KillingFields said. And a couple of points directly related to your own post: - I don't know what the asking price was for the package of games that have ended up on GAA GO. I'm neither a Croke Park official nor a TV station executive. But I simply don't understand the so-called "logic" part of the end of your first paragraph. - Yes, there's a wish or even "demand" from a portion of the public (the GAA community) for more GAA matches to be shown free-to-air on RTE. But it doesn't follow that there's a general public demand. As the Limerick man points out, RTE could alienate more viewers than it would gain if there was indeed live GAA taking up hours of broadcast time every Saturday as well as Sunday. - Similarly, RTE are taking a lot of stick for showing the Coronation, but there was a certain public demand for that too. They've reported that more than 500,000 tuned in at some stage. As big a hurling supporter and advocate as I am myself, I seriously doubt there'd have been that many watching Cork v Tipp. - Look, if RTE were to cater to every public demand, as you seem to believe they should do, then they'd both have to get rid of The Late Late Show, and keep it. They'd have to show the Eurovision stuff this week for the people who like it, but on the other hand, many more people think it's an awful heap of you-know-what, so they'd have to heed that "demand" to ignore it and stop taking part in it.

Pikeman96 (National) - 09/05/2023 15:57:47

RTE And Older GAA Fans - 4 Like(s)

Replying To avonali:  "With the increasing number of IC games now only accessible to those with technology and decent broadband you could only. conclude that RTE is no longer bothered to cater for its older viewers. I think it's shameful. The GAA doesn't seem to bother either. It's always about the bottom line now and that goes right against the ethos of our national sport"
Another example of "glass half empty". RTE is still showing as many matches now as it ever did. An alternate "glass half full" view would be that in addition to how RTE are still showing the same number of games, it's wonderful that a whole range of additional games are also available through a different medium, and how can that be a bad thing? I'm often both amused and bemused too by how it seems acceptable to suggest that older people who want to see these additional games are incapable of learning how to do so. It's actually a very insulting and ageist suggestion when you think about it, that just because you're over a certain age, you're automatically unable to do something that others can. My mother is in her late 70s, and my father is in his early 80s. They have a GAA GO subscription, and make use of it regularly. They also regularly watch club games here in Wexford when they're being streamed. And these are people who weren't always technologically-minded. Probably 20 years or more ago now, my mother once asked me "how does the paper go down the line when you're sending a fax?" (honestly!), and my father could never programme a VCR. So if they can learn, anybody can. And before anybody starts about "the poor old people in areas without good broadband", that applies equally to younger people in those areas too.

Pikeman96 (National) - 22/06/2023 14:15:31

Financially Its Not A Level Playing Pitch - 4 Like(s)

Replying To foreveryoung:  "A lot more than Leitrim or Kilkenny. If I recall correctly, didn't Mayo footballers do 5-in-a-row Connacht titles, relatively recently? When did the footballers of Leitrim ever do that? Or the footballers of Kilkenny ever even do that in Leinster? IMHO, as Gaelic games in Ireland go, Kilkenny is a huge failure; nothing done to promote football. Success? Is that success? Perhaps it's time for the likes of Ned Quinn, Nicky Brennan or even big Cody himself to come over to my part of the world with their "big laimhs amach"? Perhaps then, we might be able to make Kilkenny a real sports county, whatever about being successful. Our dollars might just give ye a kick start to form a senior inter-county football team. I believe all the other counties in Ireland, even over in London and up the road in NY have the capacity to manage that. As things stand in the eyes of this American from far away, but who analyzes quite closely, Kilkenny is a downright disgrace to the GAA. You have left the game die. So, please don't ever come on here or anywhere else to pontificate to me or anyone else about success?"
I'm waiting with bated breath to see if you address the same sort of post to the many counties who do little or nothing to promote hurling.....

Pikeman96 (National) - 16/03/2022 16:48:08

RTE Sport Awards - 4 Like(s)
Oh, and as regards pundits on RTE being "poor", I'd wager that most people couldn't even tell if the pundits on TG4 are good or bad, because their own Irish isn't good enough to understand what's being said there. Have been watching club action myself on TG4 since it started more than 20 years ago, and grateful as I am for all the matches they show, I still don't understand 90% or more of what the commentators or analysts are actually saying. Fair play to all those with better Irish than me, if they understand more of it, but I daresay that the vast majority of us are only catching and properly understanding the odd bit.

Pikeman96 (National) - 13/12/2021 16:15:21

Hurling - Sobering Thoughts Of Liam Sheedy - What Should Be Done? - 4 Like(s)

Replying To KillingFields:  "what does article say as cant read it without an examiner subscription?"
It's basically boils down to being a criticism of the Tipperary club championship structure, rather than anything else. Says 16 teams out of 32 across Senior & Premier Intermediate were finished after only three matches. Some of them, who lost their first two, were out of contention even sooner. And he "imagines" that it's the same in other counties. Doesn't have to be that way. We in Wexford guarantee every club at least five championship matches, and two-thirds of clubs (eight out of twelve in each grade) get at least six. We do the same in football. Looks to me like one of those times where a Tipp man with a certain Tipp attitude thinks the whole world should change to solve a Tipp problem that Tipp could actually solve themselves.

Pikeman96 (National) - 04/11/2023 20:34:56

Bit of an aside, but with mention of Damien Duff here, a real example of how some PR spin can turn a negative into a positive - His Shelbourne side play Shamrock Rovers tonight in what they're heralding as "the first sell-out crowd at Tolka Park since 2006". But, Health & Safety concerns have seen the capacity of Tolka Park reduced over the past number of years from approx. 10,000 to less than half that. So, positive spin - "our first sell-out crowd since 2006! Isn't it wonderful that there's such big interest in this Dublin Derby?!" But, another version of the same story - "Health & Safety concerns have seen our capacity significantly reduced, and so we can't accommodate all who would like to attend this match. If we'd maintained the place properly over the years, we'd be able to welcome more fans, generate more income, and have an even greater occasion. We apologise to fans who have missed out on tickets because we can't accommodate as many as we used to be able to do."

Pikeman96 (National) - 23/02/2024 10:30:56

Just a couple of thoughts that occur to me on the whole thing: 1 - I believe Hearn was looking for something in the region of €500,000 of State funding to put the fight on in Croke Park. If he'd got it, and the fight had gone ahead there, then the anti-GAA brigade would be out in force anyway, grumbling about the GAA getting a large chunk or all of that taxpayer money, "when sure they have enough already....." 2 - Aviva Stadium is out because of rugby Champions Cup Final around that time, but that still leaves RDS, with capacity of 18,500 - more than twice as much as the 3 Arena. I'm old enough to remember Barry McGuigan in a world title fight there when he was at the height of his powers and popularity - if it could host McGuigan back then, it could surely host Taylor now. I wonder to what degree did Hearn really explore this option, instead of just complaining about not getting his own way?

Pikeman96 (National) - 02/02/2023 15:39:51

Replying To oneoff:  "Story from Offaly about lads being dropped from an U14 panel for playing soccer doing the rounds at the moment. I'm sure there's more to it then what's being reported, it's mostly coming from soccer people from what I can see, and that's another thing. But why is it only reported when it's GAA? It happens with other sports as well yet nothing is said. If a fella was told to pick between soccer and GAA by a soccer manager we'd never hear it reported on. Same thing with Rugby."
100%. In the last four or five years, my own club has lost three very good young hurlers and footballers to other sports. One went to one of the big soccer clubs in Dublin, and the other two are with the Leinster rugby academy. All have been told not to play hurling or football any more, even in the soccer and rugby off-season. We haven't gone running to the papers about it, or kicking up a stink on social media. Maybe we should!

Pikeman96 (National) - 08/04/2022 10:17:23

Promotion Of Our Games - 3 Like(s)

Replying To galwayford:  "To me the GAA have made a right mess of the split season. For example 1.3 million tune into Irish rugby on Saturday evening."
Please explain why there wouldn't have been as many watching that rugby match on Saturday night if a different match (i.e. the All-Ireland Football Final) had been on Sunday, or the previous Sunday?

Pikeman96 (National) - 27/09/2023 13:55:53

T.V. Evidence - 3 Like(s)
Just to throw this into the mix, then: If it's not okay to use video evidence for disciplinary procedures if the referee misses an incident....then surely it shouldn't be okay either to use video evidence in an appeal to try overturn a referee's decision? Goose and gander, and all that. :)

Pikeman96 (National) - 27/05/2021 21:43:33

JP McManus Donates €1M To Each County Board - 3 Like(s)

Replying To SurelyToGod:  "He is gifting a much lower percentage of his personal wealth than most of us give to charity in any given year, and we all pay tax on top of that. Where is our write-up? If I didn't pay any taxes I would be donating a much more considerable chunk of my annual earnings to charities, like Donegal Hospice, SVP, Simon Community, and yes, I would spend more money on local GAA fundraisers. Philanthropy is a disease."
The begrudgery is large in this one.....

Pikeman96 (National) - 14/12/2023 13:47:14

Best Hurley Makers - 3 Like(s)

Replying To skillet:  "Wexford posters. "Hurl' is a verb. Using a verb to describe a Noun is just wrong.."
Hmmm. Maybe back to English class for you. There are any number of words that can be both verb and noun. The horse (or horsey?) is going to have to jump (verb) over the jump (noun). The full back hit (verb) the full forward with a hefty shoulder. It was a big hit (noun). Similarly...I'm going out now to hurl (verb) for a while with the young lad. I'll be using my hurl (noun) while I do so. I promise (verb) that I'll say no more on this. That's my promise (noun) to you.

Pikeman96 (National) - 23/09/2021 17:42:02

Counterfeit Hurling And Camogie Helmets - 3 Like(s)
Seems to be a bit of misunderstanding or misinformation about this out there, with some people thinking that anything other than a 'proper' Cooper helmet might be dodgy. This week's warning relates specifically to a batch of helmets marked 'Gola' which are being sold through Facebook groups and the like. These ones are obviously dodgy as they are no real Gola-branded helmets any more. Gola now trade as gsports, and their helmets are branded as 'Atak' rather than 'Gola' - link The Atak helmets meet the required safety standards, as do a number of other brands as well as Cooper, such as Mycro and Azurri. There's a full list of all approved brands on the main GAA website.

Pikeman96 (National) - 21/12/2023 10:27:57

Withdrawals Sound Death Knell For O'Byrne Cup? - 3 Like(s)

Replying To liosbreac6265:  "What does it matter whether the game is midweek or not? They are travelling as it is midweek for gruelling sessions"
In fairness, the midweek thing can be a factor. Big difference between a Louth player travelling 30 minutes each way for a training session, and travelling what would be two and a half to three hours each way for a match in Wexford on a Wednesday night.

Pikeman96 (National) - 13/01/2023 09:28:38

Dublin Hurling - 3 Like(s)

Replying To bad.monkey:  "Very tough day for the lads on Saturday. It was always going to be very difficult to beat Clare in the GG (disgrace that a supposedly neutral 1/4 final match was fixed for there, its on the Clare border) but without Donal Burke (and Hayes) it was an impossible task. Taking the year overall it has to looked at as a success. Its the first year under new management. It was a brave (and much criticised) move to play the home games in Croke Park but it paid off. They beat Wexford and drew with Galway and got great experience playing there . Getting out of Leinster would have been the main goal for this year. They have some very good hurlers and more added - the likes of Purcell and Considine will be ready to be starting next year."
I'll wager that I wouldn't be the only one to notice the irony of a Dublin supporter complaining that a supposedly neutral venue might in reality be more like a home fixture for one team than the other......

Pikeman96 (National) - 26/06/2023 15:34:22