Wexford Forum

Popular Posts from extranjero

Poor state of football in rural Ireland - 8 Like(s)
"People can go on about resources of the capital, 3 county councils and a city council and all that." legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts:5192 - 19/03/2017 09:55:50 Nobody is really going on about it, except for yourself.

extranjero (National) - 19/03/2017 12:55:29

Ulster Team Allege Sectarian Abuse. - 7 Like(s)

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Spot on. Brolly summed it up succinctly. Those who bury their heads and refuse to believe this stuff goes on should read Joe's article."
I just read Joe's article. Particularly loved this bit.... "My father, a veteran republican, fluent Irish speaker and traditional musician steeped in all things Gaelic quipped to me during the week, " Don't be too hard on the southerners Joe, some of them are almost as Irish as we are." " You've just gotta love anyone who co-opts specific aspects of a culture to infer their superiority over others, eh?

extranjero (National) - 17/06/2018 14:18:19

Selective condemnation - 6 Like(s)
You'd have the culchie numb skills out in full force.. jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts:15175 - 06/06/2016 19:05:48 Well done, you've really claimed the moral high ground with that statement.

extranjero (National) - 06/06/2016 19:49:31

Selective condemnation - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Joxer:  "Eh no Malonemagic, Keegan had Connolly in a headlock on the ground. Connolly eventually hit him to free himself. There was clear slow mo footage at the time showing this. Big difference. MDM received a left hook to his nose on Sat. He hadn't laid a hand on the Laois player. Straight red and ban. If it had happened on the street the gardai would have been involved."
MDM received a left hook to his nose on Sat. He hadn't laid a hand on the Laois player. That's nonsense, he was clearly interfering with the Laois lads run, who in turn was wound up and reacted stupidly. He got the line and if he gets a longer ban can't really complain. I'd argue it's more a case of the analysts on the Sunday Game having a bit of sense last night and not overreacting. On the other hand, the likes of Brolly or Spillane would have likely made a right storm of it. (on a side note, perhaps the SG analysts moved on so they wouldn't have to explain MDM probably deserved a black card for his role in the incident?)

extranjero (National) - 06/06/2016 19:19:02

Aidan O'Shea's Comments - 4 Like(s)
" He simply states that they were wrong but he provides no evidence to back it up. " Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts:627 - 03/05/2017 13:47:26 In fairness, Holmes and Connolly have no "evidence" either. Its just two opposing factions with different opinions of what happened.

extranjero (National) - 03/05/2017 17:59:42

Defence clap clap clap.. Defence clap clap clap - 4 Like(s)
Only saw the last 20 minutes of Donegal/Dublin, didn't think it was as bad as people are making out. Heavy pitch and swirling winds in February rarely produce free flowing attacking football. As regards a few of the usual 'dirty Nordie' or other stuff being thrown about, I can only offer this anecdotal evidence. In 20+ years of watching the Wexford footballers, Ive seen several matches against Ulster opposition (against every county except Donegal}, both league and championship. In all those games, I cant remember any that would stand out as being blighted by overly-defensive or dirty play. Usually the opposite actually, sometimes open and always entertaining games. Infact, the only 2 teams I would describe as dirty in that period are both Leinster counties {whom shall remain unnamed!} Look-it, football is a living, breathing thing, and tactics and styles have and will always change. Right now a possession based style is de-rigeur, eventually it will go out of use again, and what it'll be replaced with is anyones guess. In the meantime, just take every game as it comes, don't hold grudges and try enjoy the show!

extranjero (National) - 28/02/2017 19:58:48

Non-Sport Superthread - 4 Like(s)

Replying To KillingFields:  "hasnt been comedic for some time. place is going to erupt in civil war if we're not careful"
What do you mean " *we're* not careful"...?

extranjero (OtherSports) - 06/01/2021 21:13:00

Non-Sport Superthread - 4 Like(s)

Replying To KillingFields:  "Its a general statement. If we the people of the world are not careful we'll have civil war in one of the largest countries/democracies in the world"
Ah, so you're suggesting it's the rest of the world's fault if the USA has a civil war? Interesting take.

extranjero (OtherSports) - 07/01/2021 13:55:20

The Dubs Propaganda Machine - 3 Like(s)

Replying To jimbodub:  "[quote=extranjero:  "[quote=jimbodub:  "[quote=extranjero:  "You see the term "True Gael" banded around.. this fella embodieds all that is good and found within that term. jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 17596 - 15/02/2018 12:25:17 Enlighten us so Jimbo, what exactly is a "True Gael", how would you define one, and how did you arrive at such a definition? For example, how would I recognize a False Gael?"
No."]Aaaahhhh Jimbo, don't be like that! Look it, we've all the "turk" cut and rocks kicked away down here in Wexford, so all we've left to do is await your no doubt fascinating insights on True Gaelism. Don't leave us hangin Dawg!!"]I think you've got your wires crossed a wee bit Apologies for my last reply and perhaps I didn't make myself clear enough, my bad. I don't usually spoon feed posters but there you go."]No crossed wires Jimbo. I'm just curious what a true Gael is (you used the term, so I'm assuming you know what it means), but you appear unable to answer.

extranjero (National) - 15/02/2018 19:04:53

Over 75s All Ireland Championship - 3 Like(s)

Replying To waynoI:  "Didn't jack once get a trial for Liverpool ?"
No, he was on trial in Liverpool.

extranjero (National) - 18/02/2017 17:55:32

Cork Hurling - 3 Like(s)

Replying To 32_4_1:  "Was watching the u20 semi-final today by chance. I must say, Cork have serious players coming through. No 12, Tommy something, is a serious player. No. 8 too. The scoreline didn't reflect the hiding they gave Kilkenny. But this has been a problem in Cork for a while, transitioning the talent to senior. Kk have Cody to do it, Cork often flatter to deceive despite the talent. The "big 3" dominance goes in cycles, surely it's Cork's turn again? I do think Cork will break that psychological barrier in Croke Park, and when they do, they'll dominate for a while. The talent coming out of the county is ridiculous at the moment. Made KK look like amatuers. The hurling culture in Cork is just aesthetically better than Tipp and KK, smooth natural hurling at it's finest"
Aesthetics will win you the sum total of F-All, unfortunately.

extranjero (National) - 04/08/2019 16:27:58

Tyrone's tackling-is it legal? - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Wasn't it a Tyrone player who took a bite out of the Apple in the Garden of Eden which led to the original sin? It was apparently also a Tyrone player who denied 3 times that he knew Jesus. Tyrone players were also allegedly seen shipping boat loads of grain, wheat, barley, cattle, pigs and sheep out of Ireland in the years 1845 - 1849."
...and sure wasn't the entire Tyrone half back line spotted in Sarajevo in 1914 the day Franz Ferdinand was shot?! I'm looking forward to the day we can finally prove Mickey Harte faked the moon landings aswell.

extranjero (National) - 25/05/2016 12:52:23

The Dubs Propaganda Machine - 3 Like(s)
You see the term "True Gael" banded around.. this fella embodieds all that is good and found within that term. jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 17596 - 15/02/2018 12:25:17 Enlighten us so Jimbo, what exactly is a "True Gael", how would you define one, and how did you arrive at such a definition? For example, how would I recognize a False Gael?

extranjero (National) - 15/02/2018 14:20:04

Venues for hurling - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Breffni39:  "Hurling Snobs: "Hurling is the best game in the world, how can people not see this?" Also Hurling Snobs "I'm willing to do almost nothing to promote it, in fact I'd boycott my own county before I'd even consider it""
Breffni, if you don't mind me saying, you seem awfully touchy about the subject of hurling. Did you have some kind of a bad experience to give you such a negative view of the game and its fans?

extranjero (National) - 10/04/2017 19:41:52

Croke Park Stewards - 2 Like(s)

Replying To KillingFields:  "New name Ormo? himachechy (Donegal) - Posts: 186 - 04/04/2019 17:29:35who is ormond?"
No body mentioned "Ormond". They said "Ormo". Which strikes me as odd that you made such a mistake.....hhhmmmmm.....

extranjero (National) - 05/04/2019 12:11:23

Should The Rebel Flag Be Banned At Cork Matches? - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Morty:  "Probably a pertinent question, has anyone actually seen any Cork fans with that flag in recent years?"
I believe it was banned already 3 years ago, so probably not.

extranjero (National) - 13/06/2020 21:06:02

Paul Kimmage - 2 Like(s)

Replying To PaudieSull1:  "Yeah good man Paul as GAA only organisation with these issues......not! So three week in a row he runs with a GAA story can we expect the same coverage for other sports, particularly those who put young players back onto field of play after head collisions........I know which I consider more dangerous to the well being of my child but let's all bash the GAA and ignore the thousands of first class volunteers up and down the country........was at my young lads u6 game today with a neighbouring club, super day which the kiss loved.....a picture no doubt repeated up and down the country today, yes we have some issues in some clubs BUT at its core the GAA remains a super organisation and no amount of s@tt stirring by PK will change that........yes highlight issues but at least try be balanced as I said I welcome his expose on other sports in the coming weeks......."
So you're saying that articles critical of the GAA shouldn't be published unless there's other articles critical of other sports too??

extranjero (National) - 10/06/2018 18:27:47

Galexit - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Ailteoir:  "You might care to a) look back at their postings on this thread and then b) look back at your own. Of course, you'd have to take those blinkers off first. If you did, you'd realise those 4 adjectives all apply to your earlier posts on Galway in this thread."
Nope, you're completely wrong. First of all, I've no problem with Galway hurling (far from it). What I do have a problem with (and apparently other Leinster folk have aswell) is Galway, and other non-leinster sides, being parachuted into our championship, to the detriment of the development and quality of hurling in Leinster county teams. And on a side note, I am also not a big fan of people from the supposed "traditional" hurling counties talking down to people from less successful hurling counties, solely on the basis of where they're coming from and what their county team has or hasn't accomplished.

extranjero (National) - 30/10/2016 21:42:13

Stephen Cluxton: 100 League Appearances - 2 Like(s)

Replying To TheFlaker:  "The greatest keeper of all time as prevously said in many, many, many threads about him. Hint hint."
..... I think in honour of the great man, we should follow his example and say nothing more.

extranjero (National) - 21/02/2018 18:50:23

East Coast Investment - 2 Like(s)

Replying To KYTitletown:  "The money should be evenly distributed not the vast majority of going to the East as the article indicates"
Quote from the article; "We won't be neglecting any part of the country..... We have to do our best to provide the framework within which all counties can improve. Obviously, there are urban areas away from the east coast that need to be looked at too and we intend to do it," said ó Fearghail. No mention of "vast majority" of anything going anywhere. You're the only one who said it. So maybe give up with the scaremongering.

extranjero (National) - 26/07/2016 14:17:29