Wexford Forum

Popular Posts from MedwayIrish

Martin McGuinness RIP - 15 Like(s)
From organising a movement that prevented our own people being ethnically cleansed in the north, street by street, to forcing the most evil empire the world has known to the negotiating table, to leading us into peace and hopefully a shared future and reunification of this island, a truly remarkable man. RIP Martin.

MedwayIrish (National) - 21/03/2017 14:37:56

Mental Health Awareness thread - 7 Like(s)

Replying To GreenandRed:  "True. It won't. It's annoying for some posters and it's up to Ormond to do something about it. But maybe his post might in some way explain his actions, it's up to everyone how they reply to such posts."
G&R have you seen the post Ormond directed at Tribe that kick-started all this? Essentially as rude as you like, to a poster who's never been anything other than decent to him and in fact everybody else. Then when he was called out on it by other posters, he reverts back to the never ending story; his user name, and questions why people don't take this matter as seriously. He's now said that he apologised to Tribe, which isn't true. I don't shorten his name and never have, like you say it's up to each poster what line they wish to follow but returning to this thread to bump it up over such an incredibly minor issue is IMO attention seeking and an attempt to deflect from his own behaviour and it's actually working, he's getting the sympathy vote when he was the protagonist. If the worst thing in someone's life is their name (not even their real name) being abbreviated on a message board then that life has been sheltered and that person should be grateful for it.

MedwayIrish (National) - 10/01/2017 16:32:32

Your county win the All Ireland or Ireland win the Euros... which? - 6 Like(s)
Ireland to win the Euros for me. Oh Waynol, as a second generation Irishman, thanks for the disenfranchisement. You're quite right, in both acknowledging the right to your own opinion and for that opinion to belong in the stone age so please don't take too much offence at being told to stick your views up your arse.

MedwayIrish (National) - 08/06/2016 10:31:53

GAA Poll - 5 Like(s)

Replying To bloodyban:  "Any Northern Brethren on here hold any alternative views on the Flag and Anthem? The republican voice is well represented already. Anybody else that willing to break away from the cosy concenus."
Is it for you to dictate who can and cannot post their opinion on here then? Now come on lads, who wants to go out on a limb and support this controversial, social maverick in his/her quest for....................for......................what exactly was it you wanted, Bloodyban? Oh yeah, a bit of attention. Congratulations!

MedwayIrish (National) - 06/12/2016 17:21:09

GAA Poll - 4 Like(s)

Replying To bloodyban:  "Its the broader issue that im interested in. The flag and anthem is a side issue. I understand the importance of National pride and respect for a countrys flag. The funny thing here is that the strongest voices for keeping the Irish flag are from people in Northern Ireland. The real Flag issue is the Northern one. There should be a northern Irish flag that both sides up there can get behind and support. Stop trying to latch onto other countries flags."
Except that, if you don't consider the north to be a separate country, why would you wish to adopt a new flag which reflects the status quo? I think your sole, or at least main purpose on this forum is to antagonise anyone who's proud of their Irish identity and if you can get in a few cheap shots at those who've endured so many years in besieged conditions, all the better.

MedwayIrish (National) - 06/12/2016 17:14:37

6 Nations 2017 - 4 Like(s)

Replying To ormondbannerman:  "Can't argue with an unchanged team. Wales unchanged as well to some consternation within their support. Wales are always dangerous in Cardiff and it's always a tough game for us. If we play to our strengths and try to nullify the crowds effect we should come out with a close win. tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts:3963 - 08/03/2017 19:55:36What else would Ireland try to do other than play to our strengths?"
You can't help yourself, can you?

MedwayIrish (OtherSports) - 09/03/2017 14:22:33

Your county win the All Ireland or Ireland win the Euros... which? - 4 Like(s)
The accent shouldn't matter either way, maybe it's because emigration hasn't the huge issue for a generation that it once was. Look, it's annoying. All the "plastic" stuff. I'd be lying if I said it didn't bother me at all, no matter how determined I am not to allow it to. But basically it's a narrow-minded, some would say bigoted viewpoint that says more about any individual involved than it does the country at large. The state says different, my passport says different so the Irish equivalent to the British UKIP mentality can, basically, go f*** themselves.

MedwayIrish (National) - 08/06/2016 13:28:01

Poor state of football in rural Ireland - 3 Like(s)

Replying To legendzxix:  "Congratulations to the capital on maintaining their unbeaten run. It's a great time for them. At the same time it's a reflection of the poor state of the game in rural Ireland. 2010 marked the end of two great teams from the 00's. No team has been able to reach their level. In Leinster questions have to be asked of Meath and Kildare. Those counties have decent sized populations. In Connaught, Mayo have dominated yet on the All-Ireland stage they are found out time after time. Up north, there's been no powerful successor to Tyrone. In Munster, our traditional rival have struggled. Clare and Tipperary deserve credit for strides they've made. People can go on about resources of the capital, 3 county councils and a city council and all that. It's no excuse for the poor state of the game in rural Ireland. The like of Galway, Cork, Meath and Kildare have the population sizes to be competitive."
Meath and Kildare aren't the only other counties in Leinster with a healthy sized population bud, there's more than 3 strawberry sellers and a goat living in Wexford these days you know! :)

MedwayIrish (National) - 19/03/2017 10:16:51

Mayo vs Roscommon - 3 Like(s)

Replying To OverBlackSpot:  "Well I certainly enjoy hearing all about this fascinating "5-6 points better off in Croke Park" chat that Mayo have. Will have to get on the phone to Mystic Meg to figure that one out. But sure hey what do I know if Cillian O Connor slots over ten 13 meter frees in front of the posts why wouldnt he get man of the match, fair play to him. I would reckon the county have already booked their accommodation in September for the big one only to be let down again. Ye have a tough life I have to say"
As an impartial observer (and I really am, I couldn't care less who wins your game, I just hope it's a good one), if we use a snooker analogy and call Mayo the Jimmy White of the GAA (I realise I'm losing this in translation to anyone not yet at least in their mid 30s here), with the greatest respect, doesn't that make you some qualifier who has one decent tournament? Just saying.

MedwayIrish (National) - 25/07/2017 20:54:36

Giant Flags on Hill16 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To yew_tree:  "It was on the terrace in Galway that day but they couldn't unwind it as the wind was too strong. It did make an appearance in Ennis and there was great craic with the Clare fans. In 2013 there was no major issue on the hill with Mayo and Dublin fans practically 50/50...you will always have the odd skirmish. I remember a few Mayo fans unveiling a big Mayo flag on Hill 16 moments after we beat Dublin in the 2012 semi and the Dubs took it in good spirits going up wishing the lads well for the final. I seen some Galway fans had an issue with the possibility of a giant Mayo flag alright before the Connacht semi final....and calling that particular supporters group Ultras and referring them to soccer fans when nothing further could have been from the truth."
Love the way some GAA people think it's the ultimate insult to refer to someone as a soccer fan. Like it's something to be ashamed of.

MedwayIrish (National) - 26/07/2017 11:08:32

Non-Sport Superthread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Marlon_JD:  "Maybe you don't know as much about the USA as you think you do"
Maybe I don't. Maybe I don't pretend to. I'm offering an opinion Marlon, I never said I was an authority on the subject. But coming from a man who interpreted one of my posts as a personal attack a few months ago, I think that's a bit rich.

MedwayIrish (OtherSports) - 16/08/2017 21:56:18

Ulster Boys making all the Noise on the Hill - 3 Like(s)

Replying To 2setsofrules:  "Ulster has some truly bitter rivalries but it would never prevent me from lending my support to any of the Ulster teams. Although I will be supporting Tyrone and Monaghan I would wish Armagh all the best if they were to emerge victorious in what we be an epic battle. In recent years Ulster teams have received unprecedented levels of attack from the southern media and their successes are often downplayed and not fully accepted. Indeed many posters on this forum use derogatory language when referring to people from the northern counties. However, these same people cannot stand it when Ulster Gaels demonstrate solidarity with each other."
I don't understand how anyone outside Ulster can fail to understand your provincial unity if they have even a basic, ITV rudimentary grasp of Irish history. For what it's worth as a second generation Irishman I've got total respect for the way you've managed to resist social and cultural apartheid for this length of time and the way the GAA cements that bond and makes it even stronger. Having said that, I think you've lived through a unique set of circumstances and it's just not like that for other provinces because our backs haven't been up against the wall. Myself, I consider Kilkenny to be our rivals and I wouldn't support them against anyone, I'd always shout for Tipp or Cork against them. I don't hate them or anything, to me that's just a natural reaction to your local rivals.

MedwayIrish (National) - 02/08/2017 21:06:51

Dublin GAA - no longer working class? - 3 Like(s)

Replying To HurlingSnob:  "*thought. The people in these so-called working class areas could teach you a thing or two about spelling."
Maybe they could and maybe they couldn't. But it's not their job and it's not yours either.

MedwayIrish (National) - 28/06/2017 20:55:47

Why all GAA people should support the Dubs: - 3 Like(s)

Replying To ormondbannerman:  "That thread on boards.ie is from 2011? And the point of this thread is what exactly?"
I feel like I'm stating the bleeding obvious here Ormond, but to highlight the narrow minded views many have in respect of the GAA and also that boards.ie has its fair share of ill-informed undesirables?

MedwayIrish (National) - 28/06/2017 21:27:52

No backpacks and large bags in Croker. - 3 Like(s)

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Yeah there is but they are attacking the countries who they have beef with as a result of middle east been blown to smithereens by armed forces in these countries or the likes of France for their media antagonism, Ireland has remained neutral in all these so called wars. my point being had this attack have happened in Syria or Tunisia at a concert would they be doing these new safety measures in the gaa?"
Exactly. Spot on Hill. And we all know the answer re if the same thing happened in Tunisia or anywhere else in the ME. Look at the clowns who colour their facebook profile in a French, Belgian, German, I love MCR flag. Where's their Afghan or Syrian flags when a jet knocks out a school or hospital over there? Nowhere. But hey, their mothers don't mourn like white mothers do. Their kids don't bleed like white kids do. Total f***king hypocrisy of the highest level.

MedwayIrish (National) - 20/06/2017 20:51:35

Choose Monaghan - 3 Like(s)
But if you play that out to the letter, following the Trainspotting theme, wouldn't the last bit be: "But I chose not to choose Monaghan. The reasons? There are no reasons. Who needs reasons when you've got heroin?"

MedwayIrish (National) - 02/08/2017 13:57:48

6 Nations 2017 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To tribeinbrum:  "Ormond. When someone has an opinion that is different to yours why do you have to drag it into a verbal attack. I think I've come to the point with you now that I'm sick of your constant assertions that your opinion is sacred and always correct. Then again you probably expect this being as I am such a cliche according to yourself. I get you know about rugby, probably a lot more than I do and most on here probably do, but that's no reason to just troll people.... There's a few threads now that I usually enjoyed posting on but because of your attitude I'm pulling away from, which is a shame because I love commenting on rugby in the international and provincial threads. I don't mind discussion, criticism, whatever but your constant need to be always right and no-one can contradict this has grated one last time. Over and goodnight."
For what it's worth Tribe, I love your optimism and if you could bottle it and send a few crates down to Gillingham I'd be most obliged! Alternatively, if it's some psychoactive substance that's responsible..............well, ditto, send a crate of that instead! :)

MedwayIrish (OtherSports) - 05/01/2017 10:03:57

'Sensitive' Posters - 3 Like(s)

Replying To joncarter:  "Ormo, and pretty much all Tyrone posters."
He might be overly sensitive but unlike yourself he still comes across as a decent human being.

MedwayIrish (National) - 28/07/2016 13:02:41

Kerry have it easy. - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Cavan_Slasher:  "Its not up to Kerry to do anything about it. It's up to the GAA to change the system. The point still stands."
Yes, but it sounds like your agenda is to diminish Kerry's multiple titles, which is where your point doesn't really stand.

MedwayIrish (National) - 02/08/2017 23:18:39

Meath v Sligo - 3 Like(s)

Replying To glasagusdhearg:  "And off you go again disrespecting another team rd, just totally dismissing Sligo. Constantly telling us over the last few month's how you's were better than Galway and Kildare and the last couple of year's how you's were so much better than Cavan and Roscommon too yet all of these team's have been promoted ahead of Meath over the last couple of year's. And then you wonder why people on here let rip at you after you're beaten, a little bit of humility from you would go a long way"
People seem to throw this "disrespectful" tag about like confetti. What's disrespectful about having the confidence to predict his county will win? If he's said there's no point Sligo turning up or something along those lines then fair enough but don't slag the man for having an opinion.

MedwayIrish (National) - 28/06/2017 10:07:18