Tipperary Forum

Popular Posts from roundball

Connolly interfering with match official - 11 Like(s)
Disgraceful. Surely Lee Keegan should get 12 weeks for this?

roundball (National) - 03/06/2017 21:56:14

B Flynn's comments on A O'Shea - 5 Like(s)
What do folks want from Aidan O'Shea? Ye see people in the GAA people moaning (not least on these pages) about how rugby and soccer get more coverage and how they'll corrupt the minds of the Nations youth. Yet as soon as a charismatic figure with something to say for himself and a willingness to make a few kids happy he gets run down by the very media that benefits from his openness. I haven't seen many Mayo fans give out about his behaviour. Could that be because they realise that every selfie Aidan O'Shea takes with youngsters is helping to keep them coming through the club gates around the county on a Saturday am? Weirdly only Joe Brolly seems to be the only one to appreciate this

roundball (National) - 22/05/2017 22:37:18

Aidan O'Shea Diving - 4 Like(s)

Replying To arock:  "Lee Keegan had Connolly in a chokehold, Connolly was merely defending himself which he is entitled to do and DRA agreed. What has that got to do with Aidan "Swan Lake" O'Shea's dive?"
arock regarding Diarmuid Connolly that was not the conclusion the DRA came to. They agreed with Dublin's lawyers that the 6 days from the incident to the replay did not allow them sufficient time to prepare a defence on his behalf. A tricky precedent for the GAA to deal with. Dublin can hardly lecture Mayo from the high moral ground. In any event Connolly spent most of the replay in Keegan's pocket watching Paddy Andrews upstage him. By the way can we take gotmilk's advice and all step away from the Aidan O Shea thing. You all have only two days rest before one of Tyrone or Donegal do something to send ye all in to moral outrage again.

roundball (National) - 14/07/2016 23:28:46

Are Mayo crafty? - 4 Like(s)

Replying To TheWestIsAwake:  "In the last 4 championship encounters between Dublin & Mayo the Dubs have scored 11 points from free's whilst Mayo have 25. It just seems quite a huge difference."
Could equally argue the toss that Dublin are the crafty ones conceding frees rather than goal chances...

roundball (National) - 19/07/2016 21:27:11

The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Onion Breath:  "[quote=Morty:  "[quote=Onion Breath:  "The GAA hierarchy are making fools of themselves at this stage. Week after week since this started they've had someone giving interviews on national media where they've openly speculated, in response to obvious questions, about different options and plan A dates and if that doesn't work out we'd look at plan B dates etc etc. Living in cloud cuckoo land they are. Their motivation of course is to get turnstiles moving again i.e. the loss of money is killing them. Now the president has had to go on national radio denying a story about putative plans for inter county teams to return training. They need to show leadership and put an end to all this. A statement is needed that all GAA activity, club, county, Scor the whole lot of it, is suspended until the end of 2020 in the national interest. The association will review the situation in early 2021 having regard to public health advice at that time. And leave it at that. And to hell with what any professional sport might do in the meantime, and individual sports like tennis or golf. If professional rugby or soccer resume in some limited form for commercial reasons let them at it. It won't apply to amateur rugby or amateur soccer as they're in the same boat as GAA so it's not as if the local GAA club will lose out on players going off playing local soccer etc. This reflects the reality. Whatever about 2021, no amateur team sport can be played in Ireland this year. Anyone who thinks otherwise is not listening to what the public health experts are saying every single day."
I really don't mean to be flippant but which public health experts are saying amateur sport should be banned until 2021?"]Listen to what they are saying. Of course they're not explicitly saying no amateur sport will be playable. They don't want/have to spell it out. What they are all saying the world over is that social distancing will remain a feature of life until a vaccine is found (that's 12 to 18 months away at best). How can you play any team sport applying a two metre rule? Only if the two metre rule doesn't apply. How can that work? Only if players are rigorously tested and isolated from family etc for days on end before and after matches. Only professional sport can contemplate and fund that and with a high risk appetite which no amateur player or organisation could tolerate. Hence no GAA until maybe sometime in 2021, maybe not even then, maybe 2022. For now though it's enough to suspend all GAA activity until the end of 2020 and in doing so GAA officials can stop making fools out of themselves."]How are they making fools of themselves? We're 4 months in to an evolving situation with no precedent for what's going to happen. Demanding the GAA announce they're cancelling all activity for 2020 is rash. I agree it seems unlikely, but who knows? You're adamant the public health experts are telling us it definitely won't happen but in the very next breath you're admitting you're inferring that- it's your interpretation. This will be a step by step process. People who think they know where we'll be in 6 months are guessing.

roundball (National) - 28/04/2020 11:17:38

Dubs V Mayo - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Sindar:  "No two aggressive tackles are the same so interpretation is always required. As in soccer, rugby etc., GAA referees review and discuss as many incidents as possible so that some level of standardisation can be achieved but it's never going to be perfect. In GAA the result of an aggressive foul is not a factor in determining the disciplinary action (I think it is in rugby from what I have seen). e.g. a player could be pushed to the ground and land awkwardly dislocating a shoulder. Is that a red card? No. On the opposite side of that, a player could take a swing at an opponents head fully intending to do damage but he misses. GAA rules state that is a red card because it's all about intent. Other posters and some pundits mentioned "duty of care", which is something that you seem to be alluding to. You won't find "duty of care" mentioned in our playing rules (with the exception of a legal liability clause which is not relevant here). There is a rule about inflicting injury recklessly (red card) which could certainly be considered in this instance but they are not the same thing imo. It's often used in rugby (I'm just a watcher of the game only) when a player goes up for a high ball and is taken out such as in a lineout or garryowen. The player tackling but who does not win the ball has a responsibility to ensure his opponent lands safely. That's duty of care and it doesn't exist in GAA."
Sindar let me ask the question an other way- Do you think it is possible in Gaelic Football or Hurling for a player to break an opponent's jaw and/or inflict concussion whilst trying to make a deliberate tackle (which John Small undoubtedly was) without breaking the rue regarding recklessly endangering an opponent? Cos I cannot see how that is possible? You mentioned shoulder injury- I think that's completely different. If John Small had made contact with Eoghan McLaughlin square on with that force he may well have dislocated his shoulder/his AC joint/fractured his collarbone. I have treated players who have suffered these injuries in legitimate tackles and I suffered one myself as a player and to be honest I'm fine with this as these are not potentially life changing injuries. Head injuries, however, are potentially life changing, and for that reason most contact sports do not allow deliberate contact to an opponent's head. So how can one of the top referees in the country see that Eoghan McLaughlin has been knocked out and being placed on a spinal board and come to the conclusion that it could have been the result of a fair tackle? Does he simply not have enough evidence to send off John Small? Does he need video review to confirm it? Do referees need more education on this particular subject? Do we need to tighten the rules? I'm genuinely curious as to what your thoughts are. Like Mayo v Dublin is one of the marquee fixtures in the GAA calendar and on Saturday night two Mayo players left the field with head injuries after being "tackled" with force to the head by an opponent and the net sanction for both incidents was one yellow card. That is not a good look for the sport. I'm all for having physical contact and collisions in the sport. Unfortunately, injuries, including concussion will continue to happen during incidental collisions- we just can't eliminate that risk entirely. But we can do something about allowing dangerous tackles and I find it very disappointing that there is even a debate as to whether or not a challenge that breaks a players jaw is a red card or not.

roundball (National) - 17/08/2021 22:18:51

The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "There's no need for any training, this virus is highly contagious. If you don't know that where have you been for the last 4 months? As for testing before games, when before? At least a week I'd say to allow for the results. If one player tested positive than anyone who has been in contact with them (club players, officials, family, work colleagues, opposition players from the previous week's game etc. will have to isolate for at least a week, probably two. That means none of them can go to work. Remember, these are amatuers play, most will have jobs to think about, and bills to pay. You can't cocoon them for weeks on end. Besides, if 30 men or women can run around on a pitch together, puffing and panting, grabbing each other; why can't I or anyone else sit in a pub and have a pint or two?"
Cockney Cat My point is that people confidently speculating about the endgame here when most of them haven't given two thoughts to viruses since their Leaving Cert Biology exam is worse than useless. You don't know what's going to happen. End of. If you're a consultant virologist you could take a stab but even then it's just an educated guess. The GAA's policy on returning to play will not be dictated by Twitter or the boards of Hoganstand. And God love us all if it is.

roundball (National) - 27/04/2020 10:18:45

Ballyragget - 3 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "It's a stripper gram ffs. Totally legal, both male and female ones. Read a article where a young lady studying law was a stripper gram at weekends to pay for her studies. No touching allowed always accompanied by security. This is totally blown out of all proportion."
I've seen pretty definitive proof it was more than stripping. Maybe you need to get yourself in some more in the know WhatsApp groups.

roundball (National) - 28/10/2017 02:06:50

Kildare V Mayo - 2 Like(s)
A lot of chat about all kinds of conspiracies, biases and corruption from the GAA and Sky but the real reason for this mess is our associations age old propensity for ad hoc administration. Literally making it up as the go along. How is it in 2018 the GAA doesn't have an agreed set of criteria (capacity, facilities etc) for venues for fixtures at each stage of the championship? Kildare should have been made aware at the start of the season that St. Conleth's wouldn't be deemed suitable for a round 3 qualifier. Instead it seems they find out a few hours after they get a home draw against a county with huge travelling support. This is not a conspiracy. It's plain old fashioned incompetence.

roundball (National) - 25/06/2018 23:56:15

Lee Keegan throwing GPS at Rock? - 2 Like(s)

Replying To TheUsername:  "Keegan in my opinion will get a lengthy ban, look he set a precedent and if its let go you open up a whole array of shenanigans to be tried. Equally O Gara should get a ban, no time for any of that messing. None of this my county is any more or less cynical then the other guff, Kerry, Dublin, Tyrone and Mayo in particular have no moral highroad to take here."
A lengthy ban? For what? If that were the case every goalkeeper that shook the goal frame, whacked his Hurley off the crossbar or screamed "post" as the free taker stepped up would have been banned. The idea that this was an incident of unprecedented bad sportsmanship, "a new low", is frankly bizzare and to be honest doesn't say much for some of their supporters own sportsmanship, relishing Keegan's anguish after the final whistle and zealously calling for the book to be thrown at him. It all seems to be part of some persecution complex, stemming from the Connolly incident, that there's an Mayo and Kerry led Culchie Conspiracy against the Dubs. There isn't. I note that none of the Dublin players have made a big deal of it. Probably because a) they recognise Keegan as a worthy opponent who they're too honourable to kick while he's down and b) had the roles been reversed every man of them would have done the same had they thought of it. Let's face it, as the Dark Arts of Gaelic football go this was at the lower end.

roundball (National) - 20/09/2017 23:42:59

Stop the Hand Slap Goal - 2 Like(s)

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Are you, in fact, Tommy Tiernan?"
More like something from Flann O'Brien if you ask me.

roundball (National) - 18/07/2017 19:41:55

Dubs V Mayo - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Sindar:  "Lots of comments in here about the ref and the on and off the ball incidents. I'm a club ref and unfortuntately tend to watch these games as a ref and not just enjoy it like everyone else. I have empathy for Lane on the Small/McLaughlin tackle. In real time it looked good and the ref only gets real time (no tmo/var in GAA please!) and he has half a sec to make that call. After watching it a gazillion times since it could have been red but definitely a yellow - that's the interpretation between "rough play" and "behaving in a way that is dangerous to an opponent" - subjective. Either way, Lane should have stopped play and he could have done that at any point after the tackle once he realised McLaughlin was not getting up - err on the side of caution which in fairness, most refs do in such instances. Pundits such as T. O´Sé and O.McC call for a definitite black card for the pull on the jersey (Davy Byrne) but apparently it doesn't fit their image to actually read what the rules state. Pulling a jersey is not a black card offence and it doesn't matter where/when it happens. In fact it is a noting offence only (not even a yellow card!!). Pulling a player by the jersey and that player going to ground is not the same as pulling him to the ground which is a black card. Happy to explain if asked but it's mostly about intent to bring the player down vs slow him down. If they want to argue that the rule should be changed then that's a different matter. Finally, players and fans alike often call on refs to "let the game flow". Gimme a break! What does that actually mean anyway? Conor Lane and David Gough would be very different types of refs imo. They both reffed the two ´19 finals and I had a good seat on both occassions. The former tends to let a lot go rather than deal with incidents. If you do that at the start of a game then you are going to have problems in high intensity games such as these ones later on. It's difficult to now start pulling for fouls that weren't being pulled earlier - that's where you get charged with inconsistency. Gough is the opposite. He pulls for everything but I've never seen him lose control of a game."
Sindar... Genuine question from a health professional who covers sports fixtures to a referee- How can you argue that this "could have been red but definitely a yellow - that's the interpretation between "rough play" and "behaving in a way that is dangerous to an opponent" - subjective"- How can it be subjective? McLaughlin has the ball. He is deliberately and forcefully challenged for the ball by John Small. As a result of that forceful and deliberate challenge he quite apparently loses consciousness and falls to the floor. The medical staff immediately determine that he must be triple immobilised and place on a spinal scoop to be safely extricated from the field of play. How can a referee determine that this outcome for Eoghan McLaughlin was the result anything other than the result of John Small "behaving in a way that is dangerous to an opponent"? By definition? I don't see how this is, as you have said a "subjective call"? Clearly it's a deliberate action from John Small- he has intended to make a legitimate tackle. And quite clearly in doing so he has endangered Eoghan McLaughlin. Any possible sanction other than a red card in this instance surely makes the game unsafe does it not?

roundball (National) - 16/08/2021 23:10:16

The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Administrator:  "A very good post from Zinny on the Wexford forum: I think the one thing that has not yet been discussed is how Covid 19 will change the rules and behavior of our games. The most basic one - nobody will be allowed share water bottles. This will have a major impact as players will have to have one bottle assigned to them and only be allowed use that one. The water man with his single bottle will be gone as there is no way he can use it. Does it mean specific water breaks during a game? who knows. All pitches were games are played will have to be fenced and only players and management allowed into the grounds. After game pitch incursions at all levels have to go. Shaking of hands before and after games will have to stop. Spitting at a player - thankfully not something you often see but the penalty will have to be even more severe. Spitting or spitting out of water after drinking etc all have to stop on the pitch - this will be a hard one for some people to stop but stop it has to. Players who are not feeling well or just recovered from illness should have a minimum amount of time before they go back to training - hard to police but we all know that we and other lads when out on the pitch not 100%. Swapping jerseys - gone. Those are some of the items I can think about however if there is one major lesson that could be taken from this is that people do not obey rules or advice unless there is serious consequences and even then, some idiots still don't. Translate that to the pitch and you see the same, unless the consequences for breaking the rules are tough and enforced nothing changes, stop making excuses, such as it was an accident or he didn't mean it.  I am sure nobody doesn't deliberately wash their hands but they do forget.  Forgetting can have tragic consequences."
This is just not feasible. Sharing water bottles is something that should be minimised anyway and in most cases teams try and do it at training etc. The GAA already try to stop large pitch incursions. It's not always possible. Shaking hands? Banning it? In a contact sport which involves "touch tight" marking. What is the point in that? Spitting. Obviously spitting at an opponent is abhorrent and will rightly see you hit with a long ban. Stopping someone spitting out water, blood, dirt etc from the mouth is simply unenforceable and may not even be advised in many cases. How is a Physio or Doc supposed to clean a players mouth to assess for injury for example? What if s/he has grass or much in his or her mouth? Stopping players who are ill from training... Well a good manager and good medical team with will stop players with respiratory or gastrointestinal illness in any event to maximise their players availability and prevent the spread through the squad. But to stop a player playing in an important game because he/she has a sniffle is completely impractical. Especially in elite amateur sport where athletes are often run down and prone to minor infections. Swapping jerseys- It doesn't happen at club level and the GPA's charter is that county players are allowed keep or swap one jersey per year. Some county boards may allow more. It's a minor risk however The very reason normal life is not continuing during this pandemic is there are risks associated with our day to day activities, including participating in sport, that are either simply not modifiable or not practical to modify. That is why we have had to grind everything to a halt to try and put the breaks on this thing. In normal times those risks are acceptable, right now they are unacceptable and pose a threat to public health. We don't go back to normal until we can go back to normal. So other than sharing water bottles I don't see any of these measures being practical or necessary when we have this under control. And if they are necessary then we probably shouldn't be playing.

roundball (National) - 01/04/2020 12:47:33

Ulster Team Allege Sectarian Abuse. - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Ulsterman:  "There's a story in today's Irish Independent that an Ulster U14 hurling team received vulgar abuse and partitionist catcalls at a tournament in Galway last week. The team's management and parents said the abuse included "British b*****ds" and "You're not even Irish". Many Ulster sides will tell you that this sort of abuse is rife when they travel South and it's shameful. I don't think the GAA and websites like HS can ignore this now as it's getting worse."
Very disappointing. I can tell you as a southerner that played up north I got plenty of it as well. "Free State sellout" "traitor" "West Brit". And I know some lads from the south that played for northern teams and were baffled when they got anti-Protestant sectarian abuse when they went back down to play southern sides. It didn't bother me particularly but that stuff, politicised language and sectarianism, should be left off the table given our history. Especially at U14 for God's sake.

roundball (National) - 15/06/2018 12:48:43

Aidan O'Shea Diving - 2 Like(s)

Replying To waynoI:  "There we go... Stephen Rochford: ... "If that's what people's assertions are (That AOS dived) then its the first time ive seen AOS going to ground and usually he has the help of 3 or 4 defenders to help him, so, if he's got a little bit of a break its not before time"... Silly carry on. Every incident should be judged on its own merits. Just because he may have been denied a free a couple of times or a penalty in other games does not justify him actually being awarded a soft one like in this instance."
WaynoI I completely understand where Rochford is coming from on this. You can't simply say each decision can be judged on it's merits it's not the way human beings operate. We place everything in a context and use past experiences to inform and then justify our actions. Aidan O'Shea has been taught a lesson over they years by referees... If you try and play the ball honestly with 3-4 guys hanging out of you we'll give the defenders the benefit of the doubt but if you go down in a 1 v 1 where there MIGHT be enough contact you get the benefit of the doubt. All this nonsense about Aidan O'Shea's character is just that. Nonsense. I don't know the man from Adam but if he took a dive yesterday he's only behaving in a manner that the system (refereeing in this case) has taught him to... which is the most natural thing in the world. As for all this nonsense about diving being the gravest sin of all. I thought that school of thinking only prevailed in the rarefied air of the moral high ground that is "The British Sense of Fair Play"?

roundball (National) - 10/07/2016 11:36:06

Lee Keegan throwing GPS at Rock? - 2 Like(s)
"A new low for Gaelic football"... Jesus wept. The Dubs should just be thankful O'Gara has escaped scrutiny. And for the record I agree that Keegan should have been punished... McQuillan should have moved the ball forward 13m.

roundball (National) - 20/09/2017 17:17:11

Replying To Dodgyhurler06:  "Be No hurling for club or County. As bad as it sounds it's what Going to happen. If one player has it playing on the field wit 30 lads plus subs that's about 40 odd players getting it then that's 40 family home's that will get it!!!! So stop training lad. Sorry"
Where did you do your training in epidemiology?

roundball (National) - 26/04/2020 14:46:22

Ballyragget - 2 Like(s)

Replying To yew_tree:  "Benn reported that the Gardai are involved which if true is absolutely laughable...go out and catch some real criminals lads, there are plenty out there."
Who's to say some of those "real criminals" aren't benefitting from the proceeds of the industry these lads were supporting Yew Tree?

roundball (National) - 27/10/2017 18:51:21

Replying To theyoungbuck89:  "There's not going to be any sport in 2021 then either a year to 18 months for a vaccine then whatever time it takes to make enough for supply?"
If the BCG vaccine confers some immunity and they find an effective anti-viral treatment that may slow things down enough for sport and non-essential business to go back to some restricted activity. There's a lot of guess work going on here though. Luke O'Neill from UCD says one thing, Prof McConkey from Surgeons says something slightly different, the Sports Illustrated article says something different again. Maybe we'll be playing by August/September. Maybe we'll be waiting until 2022. I don't think anybody knows for sure.

roundball (National) - 15/04/2020 11:09:09

The Sunday Game... do certain pundits have an agenda - 2 Like(s)
I'm suspicious that the Sunday Game "agenda" is set by what comes through social media. Twitter erupted after both the Connolly and Harrison incidents with a lot of people tagging the Sunday Game Twitter handle. I can understand why Mayo fans would be annoyed at a Dub and a Kerryman being given free reign, especially after the whole Lee Keegan saga last year but I don't think either Cooper or Quinn were overly harsh and they didn't spend much time on it.

roundball (National) - 12/07/2017 16:38:03