St Mary's and Mohill book another Leitrim SFC final date

September 24, 2023

Mohill's Keith Beirne ©INPHO/James Crombie

St Mary’s, Kiltoghert and Mohill will battle it out in the Leitrim senior football championship final for the second year in-a-row after coming through Sunday afternoon’s semi-finals in Carrick-on-Shannon.

Holders St Mary’s scored a 0-12 to 1-6 victory against 2021 winners Ballinamore Sean O’Heslin’s to move towards their third decider in four years.

Michael McKernan’s goal looked to have given Ballinamore the upper hand 10 minutes in, but the Saints got motoring midway through the first-half with points from Diarmuid Kelleher, Nicholas McWeeney and Paul Keaney (free).

Jack Casey’s point left it at 0-9 to 1-2 for the half and, while Ballinamore hit the first three points of the restart, St Mary’s kept in control as three points from Keaney (one free) ensured them another final berth.

The earlier game at Páirc Seán Mac Diarmada saw Mohill register a 2-13 to 0-13 win over Fenagh after extra time to advance into next month’s county final.

County man Keith Beirne provided the point that forced the added periods for Mohill and a goal in each half from Eanna Madden and Beirne proved the difference in the end.

Most Read Stories