Very very depressing. Time for a refresh. MinorChamp_09 (Galway) - Posts: 38 - 30/06/2026 08:36:22 2683111 Link 0 |
Nobody deserves a 9-year tenure as manager of Galway. No one. You'd want to be a Jim Gavin or a Mick O'Dwyer in their management prime to be allowed all that time. Joyce has been a great servant to the county but thank you Padraic, it's time to move on and get a new voice in there. We're stale. We're out of ideas under PJ and our major problems in our play just never get addressed. PJ wants to hold on for dear life as he wants the profile given it helps him on multiple fronts, one major one in particular. He has had the best crop of players in approx 30 years under his leadership and he hasn't delivered with them. Make no mistake - this group we have is generational and were, maybe still are, capable of winning an All Ireland but I know and they know deep down that they won't under PJ. Thank you but please clear the way now. togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 1135 - 30/06/2026 08:53:13 2683115 Link 1 |
mcdaid was lucky he got as long as he did, played well only against roscommon all year tierney has been poor candlewax (Galway) - Posts: 308 - 30/06/2026 09:24:32 2683119 Link 0 |
I'm not expecting too many retirements, Silke most likely given what he does for a living is very demanding. Hard to know with Conroy but really can't see Walsh going anywhere. I think someone mentioned McDaid but he's only 28. TheBishop (Galway) - Posts: 327 - 30/06/2026 10:05:45 2683125 Link 2 |
While PJ seems to be close, I think 2 many issues remain that only he can be held accountable for. No action taken no plan B when going long is clearly handing cheap scores to opposition. Team constantly unable to deliver a comprehensive win even v division 4 rivals. As PJ himself stated in his post match interview following our Leitrim game, "it was a good job McNulty had an off day". The new rules have doomed slow build up cagey teams, (no Ulster team in last 4) . Teams at all levels have adapted to more of a kicking game, but Galway, traditionally a kicking team have elected to play a running slow build up, largely hand passing game. Unprofessional team warm ups and above all, the seeming lack of passion and desire from players which only seems to click in when the team is well behind in the second half of games. I think a change would be more likely to improve things than not. giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1327 - 30/06/2026 11:23:47 2683133 Link 1 |
It was very poor on sunday, we r so slow moving the ball.cant see how joyce stays on,if he does we ll be having same conversation this time next year. Lads who done well in league got no chance in summer.crazy stuff all year. Dunmore10 (Galway) - Posts: 187 - 30/06/2026 11:30:26 2683138 Link 0 |
Going from his championship form, I'd say Tierney never got right after the quad injury.
ColmFlaherty (Galway) - Posts: 130 - 30/06/2026 11:38:31 2683140 Link 0 |
Galway have always produced good footballers but we only really caught up with the modern way of the world when Kevin Walsh came in 2015. Since then we have sustained ourselves as a top 8 team, probably in the top 4 since 2022. There is also no doubt that we continue to produce plenty of talented young players (in that 20-24 age bracket) even if underage success has dried up. ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1786 - 30/06/2026 12:31:07 2683157 Link 0 |
Really can't believe Joyce would stay on after another flop in Croke Park. tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1956 - 30/06/2026 12:31:25 2683158 Link 0 |
Just on Pj and his management, IS lynda Duffy still on the scene? sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1299 - 30/06/2026 12:35:38 2683161 Link 0 |
even if that were the case, not sure why pj plays him for 70 mins when he didn't score, catch, disposes anyone etc in the game, time for a change.
candlewax (Galway) - Posts: 308 - 30/06/2026 12:39:54 2683162 Link 1 |
We wouldn't have won the Connacht final only for McDaid for Injured. He's absolutely class and if ye start going after him , well there's no hope For ye. I've seen it happen here for years . Ros2013 (Roscommon) - Posts: 667 - 30/06/2026 12:43:14 2683163 Link 0 |
walsh only one point, tierney-comer no score, what hope do we have? cavan.galway (Galway) - Posts: 264 - 30/06/2026 12:51:48 2683167 Link 0 |
If Pj wants to remain he needs to part company with Graham and Galligan, going absolutely nowhere if they stay involved. Ask Divilly to come back or if O'Connor steps away from Kerry, pick up the phone to Cian O'Neill and see if he would like to return. gaillimhboy (Galway) - Posts: 417 - 30/06/2026 12:55:20 2683170 Link 0 |
Galway still playing a brand of football that belongs under the old rules. Running the ball up the field. Getting to the 45 and then turning back and waiting for everyone to get into position. Unfortunately this allows the defence to get into position as well. No urgency to get the head up and kick the ball down the field. The ball moves quicker than any player can. Right from throw in the last day you could see Galway slow it down and take 3 minutes to try and work a scoring chance. Dubs were kicking the ball into Con and engineering much handier scores. Now it helps if you have Con but even when Comer came on I think they only kicked one ball into him. Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2556 - 30/06/2026 13:47:44 2683180 Link 1 |
i already acknowledged he played well against roscommon but find me another championship game where he played well? players are due praise when they play well but if they underperform it call also be said. do you think pj takes him off so early otherwise? a poster above has said we can't rely on walsh-comer-conroy anymore but the problem is the younger players like mcdaid tierney aren't taking over. does anyone else have a 37 year old midfielder starting? candlewax (Galway) - Posts: 308 - 30/06/2026 14:12:25 2683185 Link 0 |
There is much talk about ponderous slow build up play by the team I also keep hearing from clubs that they have to try and wean negitivy out of lads who were cut from the county panel, so maybe it might be an option to coach the county team to play in the manner favoured by most club teams in order to make them feel more comfortable in what they were trying to do during games. backtooldwall (Galway) - Posts: 237 - 30/06/2026 14:22:57 2683189 Link 0 |
As the dust settles and having reflected on this latest defeat, while also hearing described on a well known GAA podcast as like a DVD of the Meath QF in '25 and not dissimilar to the Armagh final in '24 - it's clear this Galway era will be remembered as a talented group and nearly men. That said, they are still only subtle tweaks away from success. rover08 (Longford) - Posts: 449 - 30/06/2026 14:33:31 2683191 Link 0 |
It's very similar situation to the Galway hurlers in 2015 when they got rid of Anthony Cunningham. Both PJ and Cunningham were Galway legends that had done solid jobs. Been to All-Ireland finals but just couldn't get over the hump. The hurlers knew something had to change before their chance was gone completely. Micheal Donoghue came in and they finally dragged themselves over the line. If anything the need is even more urgent for the footballers as the age profile of some of their top players is older than the hurlers were in 2015. Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2556 - 30/06/2026 15:16:51 2683208 Link 0 |
A good bit of discussion of late of how the spine of the time is made from the 2 underage teams that won AIs. ColmFlaherty (Galway) - Posts: 130 - 30/06/2026 15:30:24 2683209 Link 0 |