Where does one start ? Knoxboya (Monaghan) - Posts: 391 - 28/06/2026 16:03:06 2682437 Link 0 |
Poor side yous are no world beatersbetter team won with 14 all game
Lolou37 (Louth) - Posts: 37 - 28/06/2026 16:14:41 2682441 Link 0 |
Should of won best team won fair and square
Lolou37 (Louth) - Posts: 37 - 28/06/2026 16:15:19 2682443 Link 0 |
Poor side doesn't win All-Ireland Quarter-final with 14 men for 64 minutes by 3 points. Poor side doesn't beat Dublin and Armagh either. Jose when he spoke rarely gave any respect to his opponent try to be less like him and give the credit where it due to Louth for their deserved win. Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 4018 - 28/06/2026 16:24:04 2682448 Link 1 |
Louth had a wee bit too much I feel today.
Jack L (None) - Posts: 3233 - 28/06/2026 16:38:10 2682454 Link 0 |
Nobody asked your opinion
McGuirk1985@ (Monaghan) - Posts: 147 - 28/06/2026 16:43:14 2682456 Link 1 |
Not good enough. Simple as. Louth a far better team with only 14. Yes beggan was a loss but the game was lost up front. Not mobile enough. Monaghan famed for energy at the end but it was louth that had it in spades
ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 607 - 28/06/2026 17:03:12 2682466 Link 0 |
Firstly congratulations to Louth. In truth they were the better side all game showed great heart and energy losing a man so early and good luck to them. I hope they make the final. On to us yes we could won if we'd managed last 5 mins better but think the summer caught up with us with injuries games played today. Apart from.sesmic loss of beggan Karl Gallagher not playing was huge as hes a superb athlete who suits croke park. We have been v unlucky this season with injuries to key men . These lads owe monaghan nothing and got every last drop out of themselves making quarter finals but in reality with beggan out and an already patched up midfield we weren't going to realistically go much further. The goals kudos to o hanlon and extra man kept us in the game. Truth is we are v limited in midfield but having one of the best keepers in country negated that disadvantage and without him today was inevitable. seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 2018 - 28/06/2026 17:08:28 2682468 Link 2 |
What would they have done to us with 15…. MonaghanMan44life (Monaghan) - Posts: 219 - 28/06/2026 17:18:08 2682469 Link 1 |
Croke Park always gets the better of monaghan and our big players. Louth deserved that and were the better team. They ran us off the pitch and were clinical. Could not believe the size and power, the difference in the two teams was staggering. Really evident today. It was a good championship post the league but we just havent the pedigree to make the break when it comes to the really important part of the championship. We always crumble. Well done louth. 222 (UK) - Posts: 949 - 28/06/2026 17:48:59 2682485 Link 0 |
Louth were far better team Dara McDonnell has all star in his pocket monaghan are Morgan notin special
Lolou37 (Louth) - Posts: 37 - 28/06/2026 18:03:54 2682500 Link 0 |
I think there is truth in that. You can't fault the lads spirit but reality is you need the big men for croke park. We had Gary mohan fully fit in 2023 kicking 4 pts from play when we made semi final. We needed him today but he hasn't been fit since. We needed Bobby mccaul but the young man has had zero luck with injuries. Anyone who read his interview in recent days would appreciate how hard his gaa journey has been. Can we develop and entice likes of mcphilips etc back next year as all needed. Monaghan are a proud outfit who never lie down but you find your level in croke park and given the resources we have had this year that level was a quarter final no disgrace in that.
seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 2018 - 28/06/2026 18:13:18 2682510 Link 1 |
Half way through the first half i had that sinking feeling. That same feeling when monaghan were ponderous against Fermanagh in 2018. Small things had me feeling that way. Example, a ball in to Bannigan in first half, uncontested hopped of his chest, Bannigan's goal attempt, McCarville's kick pass that went out for a line ball, McGorman's wild attempts for points, the ball hopping of Byrne coming out of defence. It all pointed at a team not collectively switched on. Teams prepare for eventualities but it looked like Monaghan didn't have a plan if they had an actual man. sleater (Monaghan) - Posts: 207 - 28/06/2026 18:17:27 2682516 Link 0 |
Gutted, a change similar to that in casement yrs ago, a bonded team changed at the last minute. Very strange how this could happen stoneygrey (Monaghan) - Posts: 256 - 28/06/2026 18:18:34 2682518 Link 0 |
Gabriel on the radio saying if we had Rory we would have won. No, we had 15 v 14 for 92% of the game and lost by 3. farneygael3 (Monaghan) - Posts: 733 - 28/06/2026 18:22:08 2682522 Link 0 |
Feel so sorry for R Beggan that he had to miss today. Sport can be so cruel. He is our leader in games and he has given his all this Championship, he deserved to feature today. The loss of Beggan - a real punch in the gut for Monaghan. Blackcardnot (USA) - Posts: 120 - 28/06/2026 18:54:13 2682549 Link 0 |
Can someone translate this
veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 1076 - 28/06/2026 18:58:17 2682556 Link 0 |
I agree to disagree. Every county has been hurt by injuries to date. Making a qf given our resources is a decent but I just find given we are always competing, it's frustrating when we don't break the glass ceiling. Last year and today, we crumbled. Beggan was a loss today but they had 14. It's hard to put your finger on it, I want us to push on but maybe your right we need everyone fit to get there. I do feel size wise and power, louth were superior. It's been a good year but we lost 3 games that was there for the taking regardless of injuries. thanks to the lads for all their hard work but a familiar ending.
222 (UK) - Posts: 949 - 28/06/2026 19:14:37 2682572 Link 0 |
Fair play to Jamie Mooney today. An absolutely massive ask for a young man at 20 years of age. We won 60% of our own kickouts today. In the Galway game they won less even with giants out the pitch. Farneyarmy2013 (Monaghan) - Posts: 5 - 28/06/2026 19:19:48 2682576 Link 2 |
I think with Beggan and 15 v 15 we'd have done far, far better than no Beggan and 15 v 14.... That's what a huge loss he is. Our kickout strategy just went to bits without him. Tough task for young Mooney with barely any real preparation. We should have done far better than how we did with the man advantage, and it wasn't just on our kickout - we surrendered far too many easy Louth kickouts that just should never happen when you have an extra man. Huge questions to be asked of the line imo, we looked tactically inept, and we had plenty of time to adjust given the red happened at the start of the game. Even with the halftime break we couldn't adjust. And even being ahead approaching the end of the game, we utterly failed to manage that situation and gave up 4 points on the bounce. That's just simply unacceptable for any team trying to do anything. Ultimately the busy schedule caught up to us with alot of lads looking leggy, and the injuries and absences caught up to us - McCarville aside, all our big men and ball winners in the middle third were missing, and that will catch up to you. And the Beggan loss was seismic obviously. But even with all that in mind, and being the 2nd best team today, we still had our noses in front near the end, and should have handled the situation alot better. We could have found ourselves in a semi with time to reassess and see if anyone would be ready to return. But now we have to wait til next year to put things right. As I say, big questions to be asked patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 961 - 28/06/2026 19:31:40 2682588 Link 0 |