Monaghan GAA thread

The whole thing is perfectly set now. Armagh will be the heaviest favourites imaginable. Monaghan have found their voice again. Two weeks of dreaming of the impossible ahead. Enjoy.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1325 - 04/05/2026 13:33:47    2670845

Replying To FoolsGold:  "Playing in your own ground gives ye hope ..."
A big ask v Armagh.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1325 - 04/05/2026 13:38:48    2670847

Mayo fans delighted over on their blog they got ye...

Belclare98 (Galway) - Posts: 14 - 04/05/2026 13:44:11    2670852

Armagh have played more championship games on it than we have.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1033 - 04/05/2026 13:50:04    2670856

Still a very difficult game against Armagh who have been excellent this season. Its their fifth final in a row and they seemed to have built a very strong panel in 2026 despite alot of injuries and retirements. Our performance was good and bad against derry. The first 50 minited cannot be ignored. I think we can all agree we will need a very discplined , polished and aggressive performance to be anyway competitive. The last twenty minutes against derry and extra time was the best we played in a long long time because we throw off the shackles, tackled hard and put derry under pressure and ran at them. We will need that in 2 weeks and maybe more. Should be a good build up

222 (UK) - Posts: 926 - 04/05/2026 14:16:17    2670872

Replying To Belclare98:  "Mayo fans delighted over on their blog they got ye..."
Then we are both delighted.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1033 - 04/05/2026 14:17:23    2670873

Replying To Belclare98:  "Mayo fans delighted over on their blog they got ye..."
Well that's all Mayo have to think about at the moment, we've a provincial final to play before we offer them a thought.

Blackcardnot (USA) - Posts: 97 - 04/05/2026 15:38:48    2670909

Replying To 222:  "Still a very difficult game against Armagh who have been excellent this season. Its their fifth final in a row and they seemed to have built a very strong panel in 2026 despite alot of injuries and retirements. Our performance was good and bad against derry. The first 50 minited cannot be ignored. I think we can all agree we will need a very discplined , polished and aggressive performance to be anyway competitive. The last twenty minutes against derry and extra time was the best we played in a long long time because we throw off the shackles, tackled hard and put derry under pressure and ran at them. We will need that in 2 weeks and maybe more. Should be a good build up"
I think that the first half against Derry on Saturday evening might prove to be the most beneficial of the Championship. Huge lessons will be learnt, team will know to be switched on from throw in. Would rather come through a game like that then to be entering the Ulster final on the back of a few challenge matches.

Blackcardnot (USA) - Posts: 97 - 04/05/2026 15:50:34    2670912

one poster even saying they'll be playing us after coming off a heavy defeat to Armagh !....The more comments like this, the better...lol

Monaghan Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 452 - 04/05/2026 16:52:22    2670929

Is the final definetly in Clones ?,,,its just Ulster GAA website says TBC..... Might thyey take it to Croke Pk?

Monaghan Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 452 - 04/05/2026 16:56:45    2670934

So were derry

McGuirk1985@ (Monaghan) - Posts: 143 - 04/05/2026 18:16:12    2670958

Replying To Monaghan Exile:  "Is the final definetly in Clones ?,,,its just Ulster GAA website says TBC..... Might thyey take it to Croke Pk?"
It's being discussed. Probably 50 000 in Croke Park. Trying to get agreement ffrom Dublin and Westmeath to move Leinster Final to Saturday night.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1033 - 04/05/2026 18:32:16    2670961

Replying To McGuirk1985@:  "So were derry"
Most in Mayo are not underestimating you .

S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 1125 - 04/05/2026 22:18:49    2671005

Ticket allocation will be fun now. I believe it is being done through the clubs? This causes for upset for great supporters who are not members of a club.

There will be people at the Ulster final who have not stood at Monaghan game in years no doubt. Always the way.

Going by the attendance of the Semi final (Armagh v Down) Armagh could near fill Clones themselves.

countymonaghan (Monaghan) - Posts: 325 - 05/05/2026 08:27:42    2671029

What an evening in Armagh Saturday, one of the greatest. This team over the last 15yrs has given us some days, We are the envy of so many counties in Ireland.

It just shows when you have a team of quality match winners, you always have a chance.

The heart and determination shown by the lads was admirable and as a supporter we cant ask for any anymore.

This game will act as a catalyst for future success for so many of these young men, the big game experience they will have gained from that game will spur them on in the future years. Names like Mooney, Hanratty, Mc elerney, O toole, O gorman, Kelly, Mc caul all t=will become the norm in the county jersey.

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 484 - 05/05/2026 08:59:21    2671033

Replying To S1234:  "Most in Mayo are not underestimating you ."
Mayo football is a circus. Why would yous underestimate us. Looking forward to all the Mayo past and present players interviews in the build up to the game

farneygael3 (Monaghan) - Posts: 648 - 05/05/2026 09:30:42    2671037

Replying To monaghanmad:  "What an evening in Armagh Saturday, one of the greatest. This team over the last 15yrs has given us some days, We are the envy of so many counties in Ireland.

It just shows when you have a team of quality match winners, you always have a chance.

The heart and determination shown by the lads was admirable and as a supporter we cant ask for any anymore.

This game will act as a catalyst for future success for so many of these young men, the big game experience they will have gained from that game will spur them on in the future years. Names like Mooney, Hanratty, Mc elerney, O toole, O gorman, Kelly, Mc caul all t=will become the norm in the county jersey."
And it shows we have had a great coaching set up over the years in Cloghan and in our clubs prepaing all these new names to take their places on our new look county seniors.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1033 - 05/05/2026 10:30:53    2671055

Replying To countymonaghan:  "Ticket allocation will be fun now. I believe it is being done through the clubs? This causes for upset for great supporters who are not members of a club.

There will be people at the Ulster final who have not stood at Monaghan game in years no doubt. Always the way.

Going by the attendance of the Semi final (Armagh v Down) Armagh could near fill Clones themselves."
The first requirement of a true football fan is to be a member of his club. If you are not, you dont deserve a ticket.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1033 - 05/05/2026 10:33:52    2671057

Replying To ORIELMAN85:  "The first requirement of a true football fan is to be a member of his club. If you are not, you dont deserve a ticket."
I am a member yes but I am saying this with respect to the people who travel the length and breadth of the country to Monaghan games who might not be associated to any club, which I have no problem with either. There is several reasons why they might not be associated to a club and therefore not a member.

That shouldn't rule them out of a chance of getting a ticket. There must be a better system available to allocate tickets for such important games. A loyalty scheme or something. These systems work for the likes of Electric Picnic and other events, where there is a history recorded (via email address) of previous attendances and therefore you get a preference to tickets. A very easy fix IMO.

Same thing come All Ireland finals, place is full of people who never attended a game all year, influencers in the best seats in the place and they wouldn't know football from hurling. More than likely getting their tickets free also. It is a proper kick in the teeth for the people who pay every week to brig families to games. Paying in when there is very few others there and then come the biggest day of the day whether that is Ulster final, Leinster final, any big day out these people struggle to get tickets.

countymonaghan (Monaghan) - Posts: 325 - 05/05/2026 10:48:44    2671062

Replying To ORIELMAN85:  "The first requirement of a true football fan is to be a member of his club. If you are not, you dont deserve a ticket."
1. His or her club.
2. Plenty of 'true football fans' live in different parts of the country and abroad and regularly attend county games and club games but may not be currently a member of a club in the county.

Not withstanding that - I agree clubs should get first access.

supermon (Monaghan) - Posts: 1096 - 05/05/2026 11:04:17    2671064