100%
ThePowerhouse (Leitrim) - Posts: 210 - 03/04/2025 15:05:31 2600372 Link 1 |
You won't win many friends here questioning his ability!
boxtyburgerbuns (Leitrim) - Posts: 202 - 03/04/2025 15:10:26 2600374 Link 0 |
Just to clarify, I agree with your overall point. I'm not saying it was worth the embarrassment!
ThePowerhouse (Leitrim) - Posts: 210 - 03/04/2025 15:27:52 2600378 Link 1 |
I'm not calling for a clear out. But I'd like to see a committee or a director of football (with a proven track record) employed by CB with the help of croke park to see where we are going wrong, because we are going wrong. There is no reason why we can't produce as good a footballers as other counties can, we need to stop with excuses and look for solutions. We talk up lads before they have done anything, I had someone on here list out all the top class intercounty footballers we have, the reality is very different. Some of our lads think they have it made when they make a county panel, the reality is the hard work should only be starting. We have had lads with long intercounty careers, that wouldn't have made a county panel in 85% of counties. They'd have struggled to play senior club in some counties. We give intercounty jobs to guys that most other counties would not consider. We can't keep making the same mistakes. 3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 399 - 03/04/2025 15:39:24 2600379 Link 0 |
I don't necessarily agree with your point about there being a lack of replacements at coaching level or county board level. As it stands a lot of people have turned their backs on the county because of how its been run. I believe there is a willingness to change but it requires the right person/people taking charge. With all due respect to those in power at present it has to be looked at as if it is a business thats failing. This does not necessarily mean that the present County board should resign but there should be an acknowledgement that the problems are too big for them to solve alone. There are well intentioned people there but they don't have the skillset to change things. It has to be treated like the crisis that it is. If it was a business it would be closed but obviously we can't do that. Instead we have to acknowledge where we are going wrong and take steps to correct them. It requires suitably qualified people to take charge of this. If we have to pay these people then thats money well spent. The absolute certainty is that they cannot be from Leitrim. We are loathe to offend anyone. Hence our current position. With regard to our coaches. It's clear that there is an unwillingness to move on. Presumably their performance would be part of any review/plan. Harsh lessons would have to be learned. A valuable one would be to ensure that its not allowed to happen again. You'd be expected to perform like those of us in the real world. We are at our lowest point. Unfortunately it can get worse but i genuinely feel that if there was a coherent plan put in place by professional people the people who have turned their backs would support it. There's not a hope in hell of that right now. ThePowerhouse (Leitrim) - Posts: 210 - 03/04/2025 16:08:26 2600386 Link 2 |
I've always had a good oul grá for Leitrim but just amazed at what has been allowed to happen recently. The nub here is yee sabotaged your own county senior team which was already depleted, by unbelievably allowing your U20 management withdraw their players. In the process ye devastate the seniors ability to field a team in a NFL game. All for what?,, Yir U20's despite all the promulgation still got hammered and your seniors left unable to field. The nub here is, who stood over this crazy decision? PeterQ92 (Donegal) - Posts: 147 - 03/04/2025 16:28:36 2600390 Link 1 |
Understood lad.
3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 399 - 03/04/2025 17:00:37 2600397 Link 0 |
I would always say, being a good footballer is like learning a foreign language. Doing it for a couple of hours a week won't make you fluent, the same way doing a couple of training sessions a week won't make you a good footballer. I've been to a good few club games down in Tipperary over the years and you have hundred of young lads of all ages running around with hurly in their hands. You don't have many young lads running around with a football at leitrim club games. You can blame coaches and all that but it very much comes back to the clubs and that and as seen over the years, when our clubs looks good in leitrim but are extremely poor going into Connacht. It's very much a culture problem as many players see winning a leitrim title as career high rather than representing the county Leitrim_12 (Leitrim) - Posts: 74 - 03/04/2025 17:07:53 2600401 Link 1 |
The politics in the GAA is off the charts at this stage too at club and county level in leitrim. Rotating roles for the few in the click and good people within every club who won't get involved because of the few old guards, same people that have been around the club scene in leitrim for donkeys years.. harleys (Leitrim) - Posts: 316 - 03/04/2025 20:38:31 2600427 Link 0 |
The first boy just needs to throw his lot in with the Rossies as well. Simples..
moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1120 - 03/04/2025 23:24:08 2600451 Link 0 |
we can talk about regional teams, bad county boards etc etc etc but until the provincial championships goes and county football introduces a senior, intermediate and maybe junior all ireland we will continue to have these conversations for years to come. we are simply out of our depth. we will lose the first round by potentially 30 points this year. which won't develop anyone. the elephant in the room is the provincial championships. they need to go. meathbasedfan (Leitrim) - Posts: 160 - 04/04/2025 09:02:00 2600468 Link 1 |
He'll win medals all round him then won't he lol
boxtyburgerbuns (Leitrim) - Posts: 202 - 04/04/2025 09:55:00 2600481 Link 0 |
Ya I agree, the structure are a joke. We are playing our best competition in the depths of winter in bad weather conditions. We are saving the provincial championship for one province Ulster. We are gonna get beat by more than 30 points, there will be some bad hammerings in Lenister and Munster also. Eventually the provincial championship will be scrapped and Championship should be ran on a league basis, Senior, Intermediate, and Junior. 3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 399 - 04/04/2025 10:37:26 2600488 Link 0 |
As a Sligo supporter, I could not agree with you more. Trying to catch Mayo or Galway on the hop as they looking to All Ireland series every 20 years or more is not the basis for a Provincial Championship. After the league, going into a competitive championship with evenly matched teams where nearly each game is a must win A possibility of fixing the championship groups geographically so Roscommon, Mayo and Galway would still play each other if all remain senior and Sligo would still play Leitrim so you keep local derbies muscles (Sligo) - Posts: 471 - 04/04/2025 11:43:24 2600506 Link 0 |
this comment sums it up. If you are not in with the old guard, you will be forced to sling your hook. These new rules are excellent in that there is absolutely no hiding for the average player who cannot run after and mark his man or take his man on when he gets the ball. We have 4/5 maximum of players that can do their job, the mgmt have their work cut out to assemble a panel from the rest
gaelsboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 610 - 04/04/2025 15:14:50 2600553 Link 0 |
Will you have players coming back next year? Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15277 - 04/04/2025 16:00:30 2600560 Link 0 |
Out of interest... Have you been following that 20 group? (Or the lads involved in PPS/Freshers/Sigerson?) They came into a really tough game down almost the entire spine of the team you'd have expected to have. Think it was Gilheaney, Keaney, Honeyman, McLaughlin, Gallagher & then lost Guckian mid-way all missing? A Kerry or Dublin would struggle with losses like those, when working with smaller playing numbers those kinds of losses are unsustainable. Despite the score-line, the lads caused us all sorts of headaches. At the start of the second half ye took control of the middle 1/3 and in the skies. I'd have thought plenty of flashes from Kelly (fantastic throughout - he'll be a right handful next year again) & Cox (not his best performance, but showed the ability that on another day could win him a MOTM) to put a smile on any Leitrim fans face. Plenty to be frustrated about in general, but wouldn't include the potential talent in the 20s among that. Whatever about tactics or structures behind the lads, I'd keep backing those players emphatically. Potentially a couple more nasty results if many of those injuries are longer term but there's well above average talent coming through when you can successfully manage to get them on the grass together. TsuDhoNimh (Mayo) - Posts: 1 - 04/04/2025 17:10:26 2600566 Link 0 |