Wexford Hurling Thread

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Very disappointed with that. We deserved something out of it. Clare just a bit cuter and a bit quicker with everything. Super effort though"
Im not sure why you think you deserved something out of this. Clare rarely got out of third gear. Ye might have gotten level had Chin put the shot anywhere but straight at keeper but ye didnt deserve anything. I know ye are rebuilding but that was poor for large periods of the game.

Tadhg2020 (Limerick) - Posts: 62 - 08/03/2026 15:06:22    2660524

Replying To Timbertony:  "Chin missed 1-1 at the death that could have turned the result. Hard to believe after the first half which was really poor. Roche was excellent obviously, Kevin Foley battled like a trooper and Damien Reck at 5 was very good. Fanning was good too. The subs gave us a lift. Thought we desperately lacked intensity at times all around the pitch. Kinsella, Redmond etc all struggled. Ongoing problem at full back and Lawlor isn't a 6 either. Worried about Hearne at midfield, seemed stuck to the ground today."
Hearne being stuck to the ground is a weird one because he's usually our fittest hurler

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 945 - 08/03/2026 15:15:23    2660525

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Very disappointed with that. We deserved something out of it. Clare just a bit cuter and a bit quicker with everything. Super effort though"
Rossi didn't seem to agree, "flat" he thought and can't disagree. We have plenty of lads on the panel miles off the required level of conditioning to be able to physically compete at this level. Not sure why that's still the case.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 528 - 08/03/2026 16:00:20    2660530

The question Is, why did we play so poorly in the first half? We were miles off the pace in the first 35 minutes. Clare carved us open time after time and really we had no answer.
We did get to within 2 points in the 2nd half but they were able to tack on a few more points to make it difficult to clawback the difference.
Clare were the better team by a distance.
Their first touch was excellent compared to us.
Their positional play was first class and they took their scores with ease. They quite simply had better players throughout the field.
To say we deserved a draw is not a true reflection on the game.
We simp played second fiddle for most of the game.
We did fight back in that 2nd half but it was really too little too late.
⁷Simon Roche was just brilliant and at 19 years of age to play with such maturity augers well for his future in a Wexford shirt.
Some of our forwards although young leave a lot to be desired

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 627 - 08/03/2026 17:26:09    2660539

Replying To Tadhg2020:  "Im not sure why you think you deserved something out of this. Clare rarely got out of third gear. Ye might have gotten level had Chin put the shot anywhere but straight at keeper but ye didnt deserve anything. I know ye are rebuilding but that was poor for large periods of the game."
We were in first until 50 odd minutes. We had lots and lots of chances to turn that.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 4308 - 08/03/2026 17:44:41    2660544

Pretty disappointed with that today and tbh felt like we probably left ourselves with to much to do in the second half and we did improve a bit wind assisted…Clare looked fitter and more slicker (thought our first touch was poor as well as decision making) on the ball considering they're probably missing 7 or 8 starters and for the majority of that game seemed to be able to get scores a lot easier than we did, was very impressed by their half forward line.

I think in the first half alone we coughed up possession 4 times within 50 yards of our own goal that lead to Clare scores.

Thought Roche, O'Leary and Carley in the second half played well.

Overall I don't think another year in 1B is the end of the world and won't do us any harm.

OpenStandWall (Wexford) - Posts: 343 - 08/03/2026 18:00:50    2660546

Replying To Doylerwex:  "We were in first until 50 odd minutes. We had lots and lots of chances to turn that."
I think we were watching a different game. I understand that you may have rose tinted glasses on but that was a very poor wexford performance. There were a lot of players on that pitch that were sub par. Fanning is an excellent goal keeper and Simon Roche is excellent. I think you are clutching at straws after that. Clare didnt need to be any better than good. Maybe it was a bad day at the office. Is Mcdonald retired?

Tadhg2020 (Limerick) - Posts: 62 - 08/03/2026 18:06:12    2660547

Don't know why my analysis of the game wasn't posted earlier, but my reading of the squad ahead of the championship is as follows:

FB line: Ryan has to be the anchor there, we have literally no-one else either experienced enough or good enough. Carley did okay today but don't know if the corner is his best position (his club-mate Clarke would be a more natural defender), I thought Dempsey showed something off the bench and, injury permitting, Donohoe will start for experience alone. Hopefully Murphy recovers in time for championship too.

HB line: Reck is far better suited as a rampaging wing-back, in fact arguably one of the best in the country in that role. Thought Lawlor was decent today and may be the default option at CB if Patsy's concussion issues keep him out (would be a big ask now to expect him to slot in there come championship with no gametime under the belt). Foley is wing-back or nowhere for me. O'Leary another option there, with Wickham, although I'd push him forward.

Midfield: Wickham to partner Hearne in midfield, who could do with some extra athleticism next to him. Codd hasn't translated his club form to this level yet. CBD an option here as well, along with the half-forward line. Banville hasn't grasped his opportunities unfortunately.

HF line: Chin and Roche are locks (the latter has been a revelation). Jacko probably too given his new captaincy role. Would be happy with that trio, with Jack Redmond a good option to have too.

FF line: Kevin Foley nailed-on for me too, even if he drops back as an extra body in the middle. The rest is a bit of a worry though- Cian Byrne would be a guaranteed starter if he had any considerable game-time in the league, which he hasn't, Tucker hasn't hit the same heights since the Carlow game, Byrne, Higgins et al haven't really been too consistent either.

So, come round 1 vs Kildare, I'd go with:

Fanning

Donohoe
Ryan (hopefully)
Dempsey or Murphy if fit

Reck
Lawlor
C.Foley

Hearne
Wickham

Chin
Roche
Jacko

C.Byrne
K.Foley
Tucker

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1523 - 08/03/2026 18:11:28    2660548

Replying To Timbertony:  "Rossi didn't seem to agree, "flat" he thought and can't disagree. We have plenty of lads on the panel miles off the required level of conditioning to be able to physically compete at this level. Not sure why that's still the case."
I don't know if that's even the biggest issue, I think we have a massive lack of height in the half-forward line and we don't really have any outlet for long puck-outs outside of Chin right now

Don't know what the deal is with Jack Redmond, hopefully he's able to come back soon enough as he'd add a bit of size to the half-forward line, Jacko will as well for all that he is maligned on here

And think aside from S&C work, we should be doing a much better job at reading breaks, we were second to way too many breaking balls today

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 945 - 08/03/2026 19:01:25    2660556

Replying To Doylerwex:  "We were in first until 50 odd minutes. We had lots and lots of chances to turn that."
Do you mean we were in first gear until the 50-minute mark?

I don't really disagree if that's your point but you'd have to wonder why we didn't get out of it sooner and show some intensity/urgency given it was a must-win game for us

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 945 - 08/03/2026 19:03:22    2660558

Replying To beano:  "Don't know why my analysis of the game wasn't posted earlier, but my reading of the squad ahead of the championship is as follows:

FB line: Ryan has to be the anchor there, we have literally no-one else either experienced enough or good enough. Carley did okay today but don't know if the corner is his best position (his club-mate Clarke would be a more natural defender), I thought Dempsey showed something off the bench and, injury permitting, Donohoe will start for experience alone. Hopefully Murphy recovers in time for championship too.

HB line: Reck is far better suited as a rampaging wing-back, in fact arguably one of the best in the country in that role. Thought Lawlor was decent today and may be the default option at CB if Patsy's concussion issues keep him out (would be a big ask now to expect him to slot in there come championship with no gametime under the belt). Foley is wing-back or nowhere for me. O'Leary another option there, with Wickham, although I'd push him forward.

Midfield: Wickham to partner Hearne in midfield, who could do with some extra athleticism next to him. Codd hasn't translated his club form to this level yet. CBD an option here as well, along with the half-forward line. Banville hasn't grasped his opportunities unfortunately.

HF line: Chin and Roche are locks (the latter has been a revelation). Jacko probably too given his new captaincy role. Would be happy with that trio, with Jack Redmond a good option to have too.

FF line: Kevin Foley nailed-on for me too, even if he drops back as an extra body in the middle. The rest is a bit of a worry though- Cian Byrne would be a guaranteed starter if he had any considerable game-time in the league, which he hasn't, Tucker hasn't hit the same heights since the Carlow game, Byrne, Higgins et al haven't really been too consistent either.

Fanning

Donohoe
Ryan (hopefully)
Dempsey or Murphy if fit

Reck
Lawlor
C.Foley

Hearne
Wickham

Chin
Roche
Jacko

C.Byrne
K.Foley
Tucker"
I dunno, I think Wickham needs another year or two before he's able to start Championship, his decision-making needs to improve and so does his ballwork

I like Tucker but his last two games haven't been good and I think he'd be more effective off the bench for now

I think Codd has been ok, only started the two games so think it's harsh to say he hasn't translated his club form to county level just yet, have a feeling that our general intensity is better with him on the pitch

Think it's also very harsh to say Higgins hasn't really been too consistent either, he's only come on as a sub in two games, did well when he came on against Dublin and caused them a lot of problems, didn't do much today but that was because we hit pretty much no ball into him

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 945 - 08/03/2026 19:09:09    2660560

Replying To beano:  "Don't know why my analysis of the game wasn't posted earlier, but my reading of the squad ahead of the championship is as follows:

Fanning

Donohoe
Ryan (hopefully)
Dempsey or Murphy if fit

Reck
Lawlor
C.Foley

Hearne
Wickham

Chin
Roche
Jacko

C.Byrne
K.Foley
Tucker"
To add to this, Rowley could be a late-campaign bolter, wouldn't be surprised to see him sprung from the bench against Kildare and KK and start thereafter

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1523 - 08/03/2026 19:26:37    2660561

Replying To Tadhg2020:  "I think we were watching a different game. I understand that you may have rose tinted glasses on but that was a very poor wexford performance. There were a lot of players on that pitch that were sub par. Fanning is an excellent goal keeper and Simon Roche is excellent. I think you are clutching at straws after that. Clare didnt need to be any better than good. Maybe it was a bad day at the office. Is Mcdonald retired?"
First gear until 50 odd minutes I'm saying. It wasn't a good performance at all but there were a couple of key moments went against us in the closing stages.

Fanning has his moments. He would not be my first choice.

Delighted with how Simon Roche is progressing.

I believe we're much better than what we saw today.

No Mac is not retired as such, but he won't be involved this year.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 4308 - 08/03/2026 20:09:00    2660563

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "I don't know if that's even the biggest issue, I think we have a massive lack of height in the half-forward line and we don't really have any outlet for long puck-outs outside of Chin right now

Don't know what the deal is with Jack Redmond, hopefully he's able to come back soon enough as he'd add a bit of size to the half-forward line, Jacko will as well for all that he is maligned on here

And think aside from S&C work, we should be doing a much better job at reading breaks, we were second to way too many breaking balls today"
Second half at least we got the ball to ground more often on those breaks and won our fair share of them. That needs to be the tactic from now on. Can't remember too many balls we won clearly in the air. Lawlor caught one near the end with a great jump, Chin got a few, including a couple near the end where he missed 1-1. Kevin Foley maybe got a couple. Fanning as always could snappier with shorter puck outs. We look as weak defensively as ever in the air. Gaps between full and half back line way too big. Full back line nowhere near right enough in first half, so easy for the Clare forwards.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 528 - 08/03/2026 20:25:58    2660570

Fanning

Donohoe
Ryan (hopefully)
Dempsey or Murphy if fit

Reck
Lawlor
C.Foley

Hearne
Wickham

Chin
Roche
Jacko

C.Byrne
K.Foley
Tucker"
Wickham and Tucker miles off the required level for me. Days like today highlight that. Full back line a huge worry, Donohue limping off too. Conor Foley looks to be regressing, getting hooked late on was incredibly poor. His hurling seems very slow if he wants to be playing out the field, not a full back anyway. That team above has lots of holes, Jacko and Cian Byrne have hardly played this year so far. Molloy another one, back training but a big ask to get match fit after a big layoff. Could free up Reck to play midfield maybe if he was fit, though Reck was very good today at 5. Best I've seen him play in a good while.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 528 - 08/03/2026 21:08:54    2660576

Replying To Timbertony:  "Second half at least we got the ball to ground more often on those breaks and won our fair share of them. That needs to be the tactic from now on. Can't remember too many balls we won clearly in the air. Lawlor caught one near the end with a great jump, Chin got a few, including a couple near the end where he missed 1-1. Kevin Foley maybe got a couple. Fanning as always could snappier with shorter puck outs. We look as weak defensively as ever in the air. Gaps between full and half back line way too big. Full back line nowhere near right enough in first half, so easy for the Clare forwards."
I don't think the full-back-line were the issue in the first half, bigger problem was that Clare were pretty much able to walk the ball out unopposed in the first half and were able to find spare men, impossible for a defence to mark their men if the opposition are able to play in good ball time and time again with no pressure on them and that's before we even mention them having way too many free runners around the middle of the pitch

We fouled a lot more in the second half which in a way was a good thing because we were so off the pace in the first half that we weren't able to foul them. At least we showed some fight in the second half

The first-half turnovers were an an absolute killer too, just saw something online and we turned the ball over inside our own 45 six times whereas Clare only turned the ball over inside their 45 once in the whole game. We weren't putting them under enough pressure in the first half and at the same time, we handed them way too many easy scores in the first half, might have cost us in the end for all that a three-point defeat flattered us (A 6-8 point defeat would've been a more accurate depiction of the game)

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 945 - 08/03/2026 21:10:12    2660578

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "I don't think the full-back-line were the issue in the first half, bigger problem was that Clare were pretty much able to walk the ball out unopposed in the first half and were able to find spare men, impossible for a defence to mark their men if the opposition are able to play in good ball time and time again with no pressure on them and that's before we even mention them having way too many free runners around the middle of the pitch

We fouled a lot more in the second half which in a way was a good thing because we were so off the pace in the first half that we weren't able to foul them. At least we showed some fight in the second half

The first-half turnovers were an an absolute killer too, just saw something online and we turned the ball over inside our own 45 six times whereas Clare only turned the ball over inside their 45 once in the whole game. We weren't putting them under enough pressure in the first half and at the same time, we handed them way too many easy scores in the first half, might have cost us in the end for all that a three-point defeat flattered us (A 6-8 point defeat would've been a more accurate depiction of the game)"
We weren't good, but I don't agree with 6-8 being more accurate. I agree we had to work far harder for scores and we coughed them up too easily but they went 6 ahead on three occasions and we pulled them back each time. 9/10 chinner buries that late chance, or puts the ball out of play with the last free and we're promoted in either scenario.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 4308 - 08/03/2026 21:41:37    2660582

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "I don't think the full-back-line were the issue in the first half, bigger problem was that Clare were pretty much able to walk the ball out unopposed in the first half and were able to find spare men, impossible for a defence to mark their men if the opposition are able to play in good ball time and time again with no pressure on them and that's before we even mention them having way too many free runners around the middle of the pitch

The first-half turnovers were an an absolute killer too, just saw something online and we turned the ball over inside our own 45 six times whereas Clare only turned the ball over inside their 45 once in the whole game. We weren't putting them under enough pressure in the first half and at the same time, we handed them way too many easy scores in the first half, might have cost us in the end for all that a three-point defeat flattered us (A 6-8 point defeat would've been a more accurate depiction of the game)"
Strange game wasn't it, agree on your summary re 6-8 points in it on balance of play. Clare butchered a couple of goal chances, credit Fanning. Think it was a bit too easy for Clare that they lost a bit of interest but tacked on a few points again when we brought back to 1. Reck missed a sitter at one stage late and Chin 1-1 missed at end. Carley also drove an immensely stupid wide late on under no pressure, hook on Foley cost a score.... So we could have snuck a result with more composure but wouldn't have been deserved. Credit to the players for sticking at it I guess in the second half. Scrapped a lot better and used possession better. But considering we were the only team with something to play that first half performance was a shocker.

Need to get some presence and intensity into our middle third, brought that after half time in fairness with some changes helping. Just thought Clare FF line in first half could afford to gather easy possession throw a dummy or two and hit an uncontested shot over the bar. Like a backs and forwards game designed in the forwards favour. At least make them earn every score.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 528 - 08/03/2026 21:45:41    2660583

Replying To Timbertony:  "Wickham and Tucker miles off the required level for me. Days like today highlight that. Full back line a huge worry, Donohue limping off too. Conor Foley looks to be regressing, getting hooked late on was incredibly poor. His hurling seems very slow if he wants to be playing out the field, not a full back anyway. That team above has lots of holes, Jacko and Cian Byrne have hardly played this year so far. Molloy another one, back training but a big ask to get match fit after a big layoff. Could free up Reck to play midfield maybe if he was fit, though Reck was very good today at 5. Best I've seen him play in a good while."
Think Damien will be disappointed with a few of the wides he hit, they were bad misses by his standards

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 945 - 08/03/2026 22:47:04    2660588

Replying To Doylerwex:  "We weren't good, but I don't agree with 6-8 being more accurate. I agree we had to work far harder for scores and we coughed them up too easily but they went 6 ahead on three occasions and we pulled them back each time. 9/10 chinner buries that late chance, or puts the ball out of play with the last free and we're promoted in either scenario."
I don't know if he buries that 9 times out of 10 tbh, it was a hard enough shot, was a bit far out and the angle wasn't great

Tbh, they created a few more goalscoring opportunities than us, we only really had the goal and then Chin's shot, they would've won by 6 had they scored one of theirs which would be a fairer reflection of the game IMO

Don't think it's all doom and gloom, I think the worst performers today were players I wouldn't have considered Championship-starting material coming into the league, at least Simon Roche has shown an awful lot

And at least we showed something in the last twenty minutes, I know we shouldn't be comparing ourselves against Kilkenny the whole time but we showed more today than what they showed yesterday

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 945 - 08/03/2026 22:51:00    2660589