Wexford Hurling Thread

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "Do you think the Minors showed their true level against Galway?

Galway and KK look evenly matched at Minor level and Dublin weren't too far off either, do you think KK and Dublin would annihilate us if we played them again?"
In a crucial game- more than likely yes. If a game of less consequence probably a better opportunity. That seems to be how all of our underage teams have performed over last few years. bar that one heroic day when minors beat Cork.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 998 - 19/05/2026 12:51:02    2674114

In order to provide balance , it is performing on the days that matter that's important and Wexford seem to be lacking in that area at all levels for a good while now.

wexfordtilidie (Wexford) - Posts: 1 - 19/05/2026 12:56:28    2674117

Replying To Bryson:  "Minor boys are decent i agree o know alot of the boys the problem is the coaching and lack of game plan offensively is their problem we getting nothing out of some really good forwards as they are allowed hurl with freedom. Coaches trying to micro manage and wont let lads hurl with freedom like they do at club level."
Out of interest, when you say trying to micro-manage and not let lads hurl with freedom, what do you mean in terms of specific examples? Lads being told not to shoot from certain areas? Lads being told to stay in certain areas and not move away from them?

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 1274 - 19/05/2026 13:00:13    2674119

Replying To Viking66:  "Moneys not an issue because we as a county are careful how we spend it. Matching our proportion of grants has to be done or we dont get the grants.
We are running at a slight deficit atm. But nothing bad. Im hoping we can increase the amount we spend on underage as our expenditure on capital projects slows down."
A quick google on it tells me that the cost of all works in Wexford Park and Ferms was about €4 million with the "Immigrant Investment Programme " covering €3 million and half a million in Croke park grants leaving a shortfall of about €400,000 to cover all the projects. That does not seem like alot of money and should not affect underage. Have the 3 people who left been replaced and was money a factor in leaving? I would imagine the salary for 3 leadership positions would be around 200k? Maybe Bernard Dunne is replacing them and being paid more?

wexfordwin (Wexford) - Posts: 206 - 19/05/2026 13:48:13    2674139

Open to correction, and please do correct me but at underage level in last 20 years I think we have 1 Tony Foristal and beaten in 1 final? 1 Arrabawn? 1 Leinster Minor (only one since 1985). Not going include Div 2's, shields or anything below top grade. If we are off it at these levels- its clear what will follow behind. Is Kinnericks report after been made publin yet?

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 998 - 19/05/2026 14:12:06    2674146

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "Ha, I'm not saying Wexford hurling doesn't have issues but as much as underage teams and results needs to be better, it's not as if we've been consistently getting hockeyed at underage level (Like Offaly getting destroyed by Laois last year in Minor and this year against Dublin and KK at U20)

Now we have had teams who have been on the wrong end of beatings in the last few years, don't get me wrong (Galway this year in U20 group stages and Minor SF, Minors last year against KK, U20s in 2024 against KK) but these teams have then performed much better in other games (Like the U20s versus KK this year in the group stages and then Galway in the LSF)

Again, it'd be much better if we didn't throw in those howlers semi-regularly and if the performance against Galway in the U20 SF was the worst level we could be"
That performance against Galway .might have won that game on a different day.
If we ever get to the stage where thats the low bar for our performances we will be winning multiple Leinsters and AIs again.
How do we do that then?!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19703 - 19/05/2026 15:02:32    2674158

Replying To Pikeman96:  "Lose a game after allowing lads to hurl with freedom, and you'll be criticised for not having had a game plan.

Lose a game after trying to impose tactical play and a game plan everywhere, and you'll be criticised for not allowing lads to hurl with freedom.

Just saying it's one of those times in GAA where you'd be wrong no matter what you do."
Answer for us as a county is to stop losing so many games maybe?!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19703 - 19/05/2026 15:03:52    2674159

Maybe a bit too much analysis of Minor results? As long as they are competitive at that age with the best counties and schools then results aren't everything. U20 should be where things pick up as more serious and a pathway to the senior panel.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 578 - 19/05/2026 15:17:19    2674165

Replying To countyman2022:  "Open to correction, and please do correct me but at underage level in last 20 years I think we have 1 Tony Foristal and beaten in 1 final? 1 Arrabawn? 1 Leinster Minor (only one since 1985). Not going include Div 2's, shields or anything below top grade. If we are off it at these levels- its clear what will follow behind. Is Kinnericks report after been made publin yet?"
The Kinnerk (note the correct spelling) & McGeehan report was presented in detail at two meetings to which all clubs were invited to send Chairpersons, Secretaries, Coaching Officers, Coiste na nÓg Chairpersons, coaches, and anyone else interested.

One meeting was at an interim stage, and the other came when the final report was delivered. Both were very poorly attended my many clubs. Shows the level of apathy that Viking has referred to more than once.

Now you're asking or even expecting it to be made public, despite the fact that you've already had two opportunities to see what it contains (assuming you're an active GAA member and not just another hurler on the ditch).

Don't know why you'd think it would be made public anyway. Wexford GAA is not a Government Department or any other sort of statutory body with an obligation to publish.

Would you expect Limerick to publish the blueprint for what they successfully started about ten years ago, so that other counties could analyse it and copy it? Or Offaly, to publish whatever document they did up to set out what they'd have to do to get back to the top table?

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 3656 - 19/05/2026 15:31:16    2674170

Replying To countyman2022:  "In a crucial game- more than likely yes. If a game of less consequence probably a better opportunity. That seems to be how all of our underage teams have performed over last few years. bar that one heroic day when minors beat Cork."
We have won other knockout games at minor and u20 this decade though, or lost very narrowly-
Since covid-
2021 minors beat Dublin in a knockout SF, then lost the final only by 2 points to Kilkenny.
2022 minors won in Parnell Park, but got knocked out by Laois in the QF. That Laois team then knocked out Kilkenny in the SF.
2023 minors beat Dublin and topped their group unbeaten and got a bye into the SF, where they lost up in Nowlan Park by 4 points to Kilkenny.
2024 minors beat Kilkenny in the group stage pretty well, beat Offaly by double digits in the QF, before losing the SF up in the Nell by 4. They then hammered Cork, before losing pretty badly to Clare.
2025 minors beat Dublin well, but lost badly to Kilkenny and Galway, in the group stage. Beat a decent Laois team in the QF who had beaten Offaly by 31 points in the prelim QF, before losing by 4 to Galway in the SF. We lost badly to Limerick then.
2026 beat Kilkenny but then lost badly to Galway...........dont know how we will go against Cork.
Overall 3 bad defeats, by 9 to Clare, 8 to Limerick and then this year to Galway. But otherwise pretty close, and some good wins too.
At u20 since covid-
2021 only played 1 game, lost to Kildare by a point.
2022- beat Westmeath, Laois in the QF and Dublin in the SF, lost by 1 in the final to Kilkenny.
2023- lost to Dublin and Galway but beat Kilkenny in the group. Beat Westmeath in the QF, beat Kilkenny again in the SF, before losing narrowly to Offaly in the final.
2024- lost to Kilkenny by 13, drew with Laois, lost to Dublin by 4
2025- lost to Kilkenny by 7, beat Dublin by 4, then lost to Laois
2026- lost badly to Galway by 14, drew with Kilkenny, hammered Kildare, hammered Laois, took Galway to ET
Again, overall a few bad losses, but also some good wins.

We'd be alot better overall than the tier 2 counties, although we got knocked out by Laois twice, and Kildare once. We only lost once to Offaly, and that a very good Offaly team. We beat Kilkenny and Dublin a few times each in group and knockout games, but didnt beat Galway at all, but never played Galway at home this decade either as far as I remember.
We havent been superb, but equally we havent been consistently terrible either. We have just been us, consistently inconsistent. Same as its been pretty much since the 90s at least,
and probably since the 60s.

We badly need to get more consistently good......

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19703 - 19/05/2026 15:34:57    2674172

Replying To wexfordtilidie:  "In order to provide balance , it is performing on the days that matter that's important and Wexford seem to be lacking in that area at all levels for a good while now."
Its performing consistently well in those games. Are we collectively windy people? Bottlers?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19703 - 19/05/2026 15:35:55    2674173

Replying To wexfordwin:  "A quick google on it tells me that the cost of all works in Wexford Park and Ferms was about €4 million with the "Immigrant Investment Programme " covering €3 million and half a million in Croke park grants leaving a shortfall of about €400,000 to cover all the projects. That does not seem like alot of money and should not affect underage. Have the 3 people who left been replaced and was money a factor in leaving? I would imagine the salary for 3 leadership positions would be around 200k? Maybe Bernard Dunne is replacing them and being paid more?"
Those figures you quote are only for the recent works at both venues.
We have spent heavily at underage, but are we spending enough? Or as much as other counties?
We have a new Head of Coaching and Games, not sure if the other 2 have been replaced.
Bernard Dunne isnt on our books.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19703 - 19/05/2026 15:39:20    2674175

Replying To countyman2022:  "Open to correction, and please do correct me but at underage level in last 20 years I think we have 1 Tony Foristal and beaten in 1 final? 1 Arrabawn? 1 Leinster Minor (only one since 1985). Not going include Div 2's, shields or anything below top grade. If we are off it at these levels- its clear what will follow behind. Is Kinnericks report after been made publin yet?"
Not sure. But its pretty underwhelming. Reading between the lines cost cutting seems to have been one of the parameters himself and Michael Mcgeehan were given.
As regards underage in the last 3 years nearly all our teams have been in the top 4 or 5 counties at each agegroup each year, sometimes the top 2 or 3, without winning anything.
Ill ask you the question again, is choking a part of our collective psyche......?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19703 - 19/05/2026 15:44:44    2674179

Replying To Viking66:  "That performance against Galway .might have won that game on a different day.
If we ever get to the stage where thats the low bar for our performances we will be winning multiple Leinsters and AIs again.
How do we do that then?!"
As I've said before, it's easy to see how we do that in theory, hard to do that in practice

KK had success come to them very easily because from a very young age, all they do is hurl, coaching doesn't have to be rocket science, most important thing is that they have the hurl in their hand the whole time

If two players from every age group at every club across ten different age groups were hurling every day, we'd won AIs

Frustrating part is that there is potential for that when you consider 40k Wexford fans would make their way to a Leinster Final/AISF

Problem, as we well know, is very little of that 40k are diehards, crowd on Sunday will be as far removed from that as you can get, not enough people have hurling on the brain

Most realistic scenario is that there's a push in the more established clubs and they up their game (Rathnure, Oulart, Alley, Martin's, Ferns, Rapps, Gorey, Oylegate, Glynn, Shels, Harriers etc)

These clubs have tradition and success matters a lot to them, they won't like the idea of not being too far away from Premier at underage and they certainly won't like the idea of being Intermediate (I'd say getting relegated lit a fire in Rathnure, they probably looked at their underage and said "never again"). These clubs are the most likely to have people willing to volunteer IMO, they're the clubs most likely to do now what Mick and Breda Jacob did in Oulart back then, only problem back then was that Oulart were the only ones doing it

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 1274 - 19/05/2026 15:48:16    2674182

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "Out of interest, when you say trying to micro-manage and not let lads hurl with freedom, what do you mean in terms of specific examples? Lads being told not to shoot from certain areas? Lads being told to stay in certain areas and not move away from them?"
Im not sure exactly what he means, but there are players who havent played particularly well, or even really badly in the case of 1 lad, this year in championship who started the last day.
Not sure you can blame any system for a lad winning little or none of the ball played his way.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19703 - 19/05/2026 16:02:34    2674185

Replying To Pikeman96:  "The Kinnerk (note the correct spelling) & McGeehan report was presented in detail at two meetings to which all clubs were invited to send Chairpersons, Secretaries, Coaching Officers, Coiste na nÓg Chairpersons, coaches, and anyone else interested.

One meeting was at an interim stage, and the other came when the final report was delivered. Both were very poorly attended my many clubs. Shows the level of apathy that Viking has referred to more than once.

Now you're asking or even expecting it to be made public, despite the fact that you've already had two opportunities to see what it contains (assuming you're an active GAA member and not just another hurler on the ditch).

Don't know why you'd think it would be made public anyway. Wexford GAA is not a Government Department or any other sort of statutory body with an obligation to publish.

Would you expect Limerick to publish the blueprint for what they successfully started about ten years ago, so that other counties could analyse it and copy it? Or Offaly, to publish whatever document they did up to set out what they'd have to do to get back to the top table?"
I dont think there was a blueprint for Offaly, just a very good team of players

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19703 - 19/05/2026 17:25:42    2674199

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "As I've said before, it's easy to see how we do that in theory, hard to do that in practice

KK had success come to them very easily because from a very young age, all they do is hurl, coaching doesn't have to be rocket science, most important thing is that they have the hurl in their hand the whole time

If two players from every age group at every club across ten different age groups were hurling every day, we'd won AIs

Frustrating part is that there is potential for that when you consider 40k Wexford fans would make their way to a Leinster Final/AISF

Problem, as we well know, is very little of that 40k are diehards, crowd on Sunday will be as far removed from that as you can get, not enough people have hurling on the brain

Most realistic scenario is that there's a push in the more established clubs and they up their game (Rathnure, Oulart, Alley, Martin's, Ferns, Rapps, Gorey, Oylegate, Glynn, Shels, Harriers etc)

These clubs have tradition and success matters a lot to them, they won't like the idea of not being too far away from Premier at underage and they certainly won't like the idea of being Intermediate (I'd say getting relegated lit a fire in Rathnure, they probably looked at their underage and said "never again"). These clubs are the most likely to have people willing to volunteer IMO, they're the clubs most likely to do now what Mick and Breda Jacob did in Oulart back then, only problem back then was that Oulart were the only ones doing it"
Why are these the only clubs that matter?

One of the biggest issues with Wexford is that thinking that this club is more important than that club.

And you see the same sentiment on here all the time, oh do we really want good hurlers from a certain ckub making county teams blah blah blah.

And then we wonder why a lot of clubs really aren't bothered putting their shoulder to the wheel when they do thyere questioned over whether we really want them do, we really prefer players from the other clubs, we wonder why ckubs dont bother going to coaching seminars or send reps in meetings to try and improve things.

Its the same old mentality, things will never change.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1659 - 19/05/2026 17:53:15    2674207

Replying To tearintom:  "Why are these the only clubs that matter?

One of the biggest issues with Wexford is that thinking that this club is more important than that club.

And you see the same sentiment on here all the time, oh do we really want good hurlers from a certain ckub making county teams blah blah blah.

And then we wonder why a lot of clubs really aren't bothered putting their shoulder to the wheel when they do thyere questioned over whether we really want them do, we really prefer players from the other clubs, we wonder why ckubs dont bother going to coaching seminars or send reps in meetings to try and improve things.

Its the same old mentality, things will never change."
Its definitely something that held us back years ago. Nor sure thats really the case any more.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19703 - 19/05/2026 19:27:37    2674225

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "Out of interest, when you say trying to micro-manage and not let lads hurl with freedom, what do you mean in terms of specific examples? Lads being told not to shoot from certain areas? Lads being told to stay in certain areas and not move away from them?"
Well i know for a fact that both wing forwards are told they are only allowed hurl between the two 45s in a straight line and not allowed to be fluid in their movement they arent allowed switch wings or move into the corners. All the management are interested in is wing forwards tracking runners than winning the ball and scoring. Lets see what happens on Saturday but i doubt it.

Bryson (Wexford) - Posts: 45 - 19/05/2026 19:51:06    2674226

Replying To tearintom:  "Why are these the only clubs that matter?

Its the same old mentality, things will never change."
These aren't the only clubs that matter, it'd be much better if every single club did it in Wexford

But as Viking points out, there's a lot of apathy whenever the County Boards puts on meeting/coaching workshops and if volunteerism is a big problem across the county, it's highly unlikely that every single club will do it

IMO, the clubs most likely to do it are the Senior clubs because they'll take pride in staying in Senior and dropping standards at underage is a blow to their ego

I know you see the likes of Ballyhogue making big strides and Monageer seem to have a good team at U16/Minor level right now and this is to be welcomed

I would rather every club was putting their shoulder to the wheel and Wexford teams should consist of the best players in Wexford, not players from the best clubs in Wexford

But again, my sense is that the clubs who are most likely to have the most volunteers at underage level and the ones most likely to have put in place some sort of club development programme are the stronger clubs

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 1274 - 19/05/2026 21:15:48    2674229