Wexford Hurling Thread

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "IIRC, there was a bit of a storm in a teacup between Joe and some of our administrators the day we drew in Mullingar, that might've been related to him not taking the U20 job

Suppose time heals all wounds though"
That was because a schmozzle broke out after a Westmeath sub went to trip Lee Chin as he was running off the pitch. Joe got involved, unwisely, as did the then Wexford Co Chairman (I can never understand why officials not directly involved in the team management are inside the wire at matches). It was all fairly unseemly, it was a really cheap shot at Chin.

wendellgee (Wexford) - Posts: 33 - 18/05/2026 15:54:33    2673921

Replying To Viking66:  "Even the courses I went on that were well advertised in advance were poorly attended, and it was the same lads going on all of them.
The national schools 3rd and 4th class blitzes started by Ray Harris went ahead last week. The day I went in JJ Doyle was doing all the work out on the pitch by himself, fair play to him.
Hurling 365 was recommended to get a relaunch to promote it in the Kinnerk/Mcgeehan Review. It is an initiative that probably has to be pushed by the local clubs as many national schools dobt really have any gra for GAA. A meeting for National School teachers hosted by Wexford GAA as part of the Strategic Plan was really poorly attended. I did flag this up at the time at the Strategic Plan launch meeting, as there was to be more of an onus put on schools both national and secondary to do more GAA training etc, as Id done a bit of research on our schools situation. I got told in the launch meeting Id get a phonecall about this, but Im still waiting for that call.....
There is an emphasis on cost cutting/getting value for money underpinning the Strategic Plan which I fully understand, but dont fully agree with as we were already spending significantly less than other counties on developing/coaching/bringing through underage talent, but at the same time I think it had some unrealistic expectations about teachers doing things like coaching after school in their own time contained in it, and these might worsen things on the field of play for us rather than making them better.
As regards the underage S and C afaik the lads are supposed to enter what they are doing on their RIPT app, which presumably must then get looked at by Coaching and Games or other staff. Not sure if thats being done, and also not sure who Declan Brownes replacement is, if hes even been replaced yet.
I have a feeling that going forward Wexford GAA are going to have less full-time paid employees especially on the coaching side, and it remains to be seen whether that means our development of underage and Senior players suffers as a result."
If other counties are spending more money on coaching, is it because they make much more revenue? I know playing in 1B doesn't help gate receipts compared to playing in 1A but that hardly explains the gap

And I know other counties (One in particular) may have a benefactor (Although we've one whose funds were used to bring in Bernard Dunne) but are they spending beyond their means or are we just allocating our money elsewhere?

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 1263 - 18/05/2026 15:56:55    2673924

Replying To Viking66:  "Even the courses I went on that were well advertised in advance were poorly attended, and it was the same lads going on all of them.
The national schools 3rd and 4th class blitzes started by Ray Harris went ahead last week. The day I went in JJ Doyle was doing all the work out on the pitch by himself, fair play to him.
Hurling 365 was recommended to get a relaunch to promote it in the Kinnerk/Mcgeehan Review. It is an initiative that probably has to be pushed by the local clubs as many national schools dobt really have any gra for GAA. A meeting for National School teachers hosted by Wexford GAA as part of the Strategic Plan was really poorly attended. I did flag this up at the time at the Strategic Plan launch meeting, as there was to be more of an onus put on schools both national and secondary to do more GAA training etc, as Id done a bit of research on our schools situation. I got told in the launch meeting Id get a phonecall about this, but Im still waiting for that call.....
There is an emphasis on cost cutting/getting value for money underpinning the Strategic Plan which I fully understand, but dont fully agree with as we were already spending significantly less than other counties on developing/coaching/bringing through underage talent, but at the same time I think it had some unrealistic expectations about teachers doing things like coaching after school in their own time contained in it, and these might worsen things on the field of play for us rather than making them better.
As regards the underage S and C afaik the lads are supposed to enter what they are doing on their RIPT app, which presumably must then get looked at by Coaching and Games or other staff. Not sure if thats being done, and also not sure who Declan Brownes replacement is, if hes even been replaced yet.
I have a feeling that going forward Wexford GAA are going to have less full-time paid employees especially on the coaching side, and it remains to be seen whether that means our development of underage and Senior players suffers as a result."
I've a cousin doing TY in Gorey CS so I asked him about it, he said the county lads have their S&C work tracked but the non-county lads don't, Gorey reached a Leinster B Football final in either Senior or Junior a few months ago, he said there's been a fall-off ever since they lost that game, don't know about other schools

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 1263 - 18/05/2026 16:01:39    2673927

Replying To Viking66:  "There actually were 6 weeks of trials for u14 this year, 2 indoor and 4 outdoor. And I agree, it would be easier if we stuck to 4 groups of 30 as the existing dozen or so coaches in with the u14s were pretty much able to handle the 4 groups of 30."
Are there more coaches now in the development squads or are they the same size as before?

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 1263 - 18/05/2026 16:08:56    2673929

Replying To Viking66:  "There actually were 6 weeks of trials for u14 this year, 2 indoor and 4 outdoor. And I agree, it would be easier if we stuck to 4 groups of 30 as the existing dozen or so coaches in with the u14s were pretty much able to handle the 4 groups of 30."
Well, I did say I stood to be corrected!

Were the two indoor ones midweek? Because I definitely have it in mind that the whole thing didn't run over six weeks or more anyway. But again, I stand to be corrected :)

Also, a dozen or so coaches with the eventual U14 squad, rather than five or six. But still, the whole thing overseen by just the Development Squad coaches, and at just one age group, rather than having to look for loads of others to oversee a total of 18 teams across three ages.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 3639 - 18/05/2026 16:22:33    2673932

Replying To wendellgee:  "That was because a schmozzle broke out after a Westmeath sub went to trip Lee Chin as he was running off the pitch. Joe got involved, unwisely, as did the then Wexford Co Chairman (I can never understand why officials not directly involved in the team management are inside the wire at matches). It was all fairly unseemly, it was a really cheap shot at Chin."
I actually saw that happen, and while it was fairly unseemly by the Chairman of the time all right, I don't think he was actually inside hoardings or wire. In my memory, he left his seat to go down to exchange those words, but exchanged them across the hoardings rather than being on the pitch side.

There are actually fairly strict controls on who's allowed pitchside during senior championship matches, and it's part of the fourth official's job to enforce them. Maybe there are exceptions from time to time, but it's usually a case of "if your name's not on the list, you're not getting in", and the list is normally filled with backroom staff (hurl & water carriers, physio, team doctor, coaches, etc.).

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 3639 - 18/05/2026 16:26:54    2673934

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "If other counties are spending more money on coaching, is it because they make much more revenue? I know playing in 1B doesn't help gate receipts compared to playing in 1A but that hardly explains the gap

And I know other counties (One in particular) may have a benefactor (Although we've one whose funds were used to bring in Bernard Dunne) but are they spending beyond their means or are we just allocating our money elsewhere?"
To be honest, we're proportionally allocating more of our money to football coaching and other football supports than that certain other county with the certain other benefactor that I presume you're referring to.

But still you get comments like the one on the previous page here, from an irregular poster, who claims football gets "little interest or help".

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 3639 - 18/05/2026 16:30:53    2673936

Replying To wexfordwin:  "Ray harris and Niall Williams left before xmas and the person in charge of athletic development who`s name I cannot remember. I don`t think any of them were replaced and Bernard Dunne is now the main person repsonsible. I am going on second hand information but I was down for the Dublin game and was part of a conversation with people who would be involved in clubs. The word was coaching cousrses and workshops were either organised with late notice or not at all. Things that were organised were poorly attended- Hurling 365 has gone backwards and the S and C in schools which had been really good has slipped big time with alot of chaps not turning up and not being tracked."
How long was Niall Williams there?? and What did he do? We heard we had a new Director of Hurling, no one knew him or no one really knew what he done, so just wondering what did he do??

Tox73 (Wexford) - Posts: 195 - 18/05/2026 16:32:08    2673938

Replying To Pikeman96:  "Well, I did say I stood to be corrected!

Were the two indoor ones midweek? Because I definitely have it in mind that the whole thing didn't run over six weeks or more anyway. But again, I stand to be corrected :)

Also, a dozen or so coaches with the eventual U14 squad, rather than five or six. But still, the whole thing overseen by just the Development Squad coaches, and at just one age group, rather than having to look for loads of others to oversee a total of 18 teams across three ages."
18 teams would be too many. 4 groups of 30 would be ideal for u14, maybe 3 of 30 for u15. And probably not need more than 2 for u16. 60 odd lads at minor too, then we could have 2 Celtic Challenge teams like we used to. Although take up for these is an issue.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19668 - 18/05/2026 16:57:56    2673956

Replying To Viking66:  "One of the first jobs any new manager will have is to try get the best players playing for the county again. Some wont, but some might. Tom Mulally would be an interesting choice that way, as he already managed some of these lads at u21. Including Rory O'Connor, Oisin Foley, Ian Carty and Mikie Dwyer now that hes had the operations and procedures at the end of last year that he really needed to get done 3 years ago."
Its madness that if we put a 15 together of players who were unavailable and opted out this year it is arguably stronger than the players we actually had available. Fair play to the lads that did commit though

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 1075 - 18/05/2026 16:58:39    2673957

Also, a dozen or so coaches with the eventual U14 squad, rather than five or six. But still, the whole thing overseen by just the Development Squad coaches, and at just one age group, rather than having to look for loads of others to oversee a total of 18 teams across three ages."
18 teams would be too many. 4 groups of 30 would be ideal for u14, maybe 3 of 30 for u15. And probably not need more than 2 for u16. 60 odd lads at minor too, then we could have 2 Celtic Challenge teams like we used to. Although take up for these is an issue.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19668 - 18/05/2026 17:11:14    2673962

The indoor ones were extra on accountbof the weather. They were still at the weekends.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19668 - 18/05/2026 17:11:51    2673963

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "If other counties are spending more money on coaching, is it because they make much more revenue? I know playing in 1B doesn't help gate receipts compared to playing in 1A but that hardly explains the gap

And I know other counties (One in particular) may have a benefactor (Although we've one whose funds were used to bring in Bernard Dunne) but are they spending beyond their means or are we just allocating our money elsewhere?"
We have had to spend significantly on Wexford Park, Patrick's Park and Ferns, in order to get the grants available afaik.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19668 - 18/05/2026 17:13:40    2673964

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "I've a cousin doing TY in Gorey CS so I asked him about it, he said the county lads have their S&C work tracked but the non-county lads don't, Gorey reached a Leinster B Football final in either Senior or Junior a few months ago, he said there's been a fall-off ever since they lost that game, don't know about other schools"
The non county lads are obviously not going to have their gym work tracked by the county.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19668 - 18/05/2026 17:14:27    2673966

Do we know what the uptake was for ASH last year? 10 training sessions seems like a fair idea but for it to work, we'd really need to be doing it for a few age groups rather than just one age group

But again, that comes back to having enough coaches

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 1263 - 18/05/2026 17:47:27    2673977

When you think about it, you'd imagine the biggest obstacle towards getting good coaches at development squad level is the fact people find it hard to get time off work

Is there then a case to be made that we should be trying to recruit primary school & secondary school teachers who are involved in coaching GAA in their schools and get them to help out with development squads when they're on their summer holidays?

Again, just spitballing ideas

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 1263 - 18/05/2026 17:51:43    2673978

If we're being honest, wides have been a big problem for a while now and that's not just at Senior level

I feel like the wides the Senior hit on Saturday weren't bad options but were more a case of bad shooting, the shots Offaly scored in the second half were harder than the chances we missed in the first half

I know my father said to me that Niall Williams once said at some sort of event that Wexford teams (County and club level) don't do enough shooting during training sessions and about 1/3 of the session should be about shooting

I think there are a few elements to better scoring from play: getting better at getting out in front, getting better at controlling the ball, getting better at withstanding contact, getting better at wriggling free and working the scoring opportunity, making better decisions when it comes to shooting, running or passing, and then finally just being more accurate

I know Rory O'Connor said after the Martin's' Leinster Final win that they used to do a bit of messing with their shooting before training started and said it helped with Ben Stafford's late point, I wonder would teams be better off going away from lads pucking each other the ball before training sessions and instead doing some sort of loose shooting activity?

Shouldn't be encouraging players to shoot from silly angles but at the same time, there will be instances in matches where the only option is to shoot from a silly angle so you have to be ready for it, if you can score from a hard angle, you can score from an easy angle, I don't think we really have all that many players right now who can score from those tight angles and it's one reason why we don't score enough from play

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 1263 - 18/05/2026 17:59:27    2673979

Replying To Viking66:  "How successful were we in those 2010s? How many times did we beat Galway at minor or u20/1? Or a Munster county? I dont think we beat Galway or any Munster county at either grade in the 2010s."
We beat Galway in the All Ireland u21 semi final in Thurles(believe it or not) in 2014

Purpleandgold72 (Wexford) - Posts: 293 - 18/05/2026 18:25:06    2673985