Wexford Hurling Thread

Replying To Doylerwex:  "I agree with your father about the worst part.

Nothing you're saying is untrue but it's not constructive either. There are positives so you have to point to them in order to keep going.

It's not cheap to blame Davy. We've a gap of a specific age profile which is directly because of him. I can name them if you need me to. Do you know how many championship debuts Davy handed out when we were very competitive at 20 and won our first provincial minor since 85?

I'd argue Cillian Byrne is the next big talent. He's been unlucky with injury but he has all the ingredients to be a top level intercounty forward. Was is 3 he got off the bench yesterday and left one short? Very effective impact for a lad who's only starting out.

I don't know what your problem is with Griffin but his type of thinking is what every person needs."
Yeah, agree about Griffin, no-one else would've won with that team, he got them to win not because they got much better technically, tactically, or physically but mainly because they got much better mentally

Just because you believe in yourself doesn't mean you're going to win but if you don't believe in yourself, you're absolutely not going to win

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 1117 - 27/04/2026 10:32:58    2669100

Replying To Timbertony:  "KK crowd back to their patronising worst the other night alright. Wexford back down to the level Laois were a few years back on that evidence. Miles off it - tactically, skill levels, conditioning, decision making. Only both Recks, Lawlor (in first half) and Kevin Foley looked up to the required standard."
Shane Reck looked a little rusty tbh. As did Jippo. To be expected. Agree Kevin Foley and Damien Reck were different gravy. Chin was heavily outnumbered. Lawlor should be wingforward or centreforward.
We were miles off it OK.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19353 - 27/04/2026 10:35:02    2669101

Replying To jobber:  "Now to really rub our noses in it Laois v Westmeath is at 12 noon while Kilkenny play Wexford play at 2 knowing exactly what they need to qualify.
An absolute joke of a championship totally geared to suit KK,Wexford,Galway and Dublin.
Meanwhile the Laois and Westmeath county boards totally absorbed in football couldnt even manage to ensure the games start at the same time.
Where are our officials?"
See, I agree that it's a terrible format and as much as I don't think it helps Wexford, Westmeath are hurt even worse by it

But I don't think it's down to this being a set-up or anything, I'd say it's more likely down to incompetence

IMO, stuff like that is usually more likely to be incompetence rather than bad intentions

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 1117 - 27/04/2026 10:36:14    2669102

Replying To Timbertony:  "KK crowd back to their patronising worst the other night alright. Wexford back down to the level Laois were a few years back on that evidence. Miles off it - tactically, skill levels, conditioning, decision making. Only both Recks, Lawlor (in first half) and Kevin Foley looked up to the required standard."
I think it was more down to intensity than anything else, stuff like tactics, skill, conditioning, and decision-making don't matter much if you don't play with much intensity whilst the opposition do

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 1117 - 27/04/2026 10:40:41    2669105

Replying To bloodandbandage:  "Genuine question - Do you think Rossiter is the man for the job? From what I saw of Wexford on Saturday they look like a team who have no idea as to what type of game plan they are trying to implement. I (and everyone else) felt that this was a glorious opportunity for Wexford to shine, and the opposite happened against, let's be honest, an average KK team."
I want it to work for him. I like him a lot. I wasn't impressed with last year at all but he was saying all the rights things and seemed to be learning.

I won't be juniper to conclusions right this minute, but if we lose to Dublin he's under pressure. That performance was not acceptable on any level.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 4474 - 27/04/2026 10:43:59    2669106

Replying To StoreysTash:  "Doylerwex, Liam Griffin is undeniably a legend in Wexford GAA. My problem with the whole psyche in Wexford is I bet he's on the airwaves today talking about hurling and about pikemen and Father Murphy.
None of that washes with young people, and its 30 years since Wexford won that All-Ireland and what have his own club achieved regarding hurling in the meantime? All the while he is talking about hurling in Cavan and Longford and wherever else. Its very tedious.
Seperately, my father was saying there was about 2-3 thousand Kilkenny children paraded around Nowlan Park at half time the other day. Wexford's season hinges on Saturday week, can Wexford not get on to the Leinster Council to get them to give them free children's tickets to distribute to the schools or clubs for this match, to try and swell the crowd to fill the park for this vital game? Parade our own clubs around at half time. Do whatever we need to do to get a bit of hype about the game because otherwise the park will have about 7-8 people at 4pm on a Saturday (a desperate time for a match). We desperately need a big Wexford crowd on Saturday week and the 2 games after because our season is over if we lose on Saturday.
Yesterday Munster yet again made a show of the Leinster Championship and its up to the Leinster Council now to rejuvenate hurling in the province in the coming years. Its 12 years since a Leinster county (bar Galway) won a minor, 2022 for u21 and before that 2008 and all were Kilkenny? My gf is from Tipp and frankly I can't put up any argument to defend the Leinster Championship at this stage. Its an abomination and in 2 rounds, there has been one good game."
Have to agree with you we need to think outside the box how can we get as many people into the park on Saturday week our season is over if we dont get a result.

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 1001 - 27/04/2026 11:08:40    2669118

All I'll say is fair play to Viking and Senor on staying so positive. Felt pretty dejected coming out of Nowlan park Saturday, thinking we're probably 5th in leinster now and relying on beating the teams coming up from Joe MacDonagh to stay in Leinster.

Fulgrim (Wexford) - Posts: 285 - 27/04/2026 11:15:33    2669119

Replying To jobber:  "Now to really rub our noses in it Laois v Westmeath is at 12 noon while Kilkenny play Wexford play at 2 knowing exactly what they need to qualify.
An absolute joke of a championship totally geared to suit KK,Wexford,Galway and Dublin.
Meanwhile the Laois and Westmeath county boards totally absorbed in football couldnt even manage to ensure the games start at the same time.
Where are our officials?"
If it's any consolation, I don't really think the different throw-in times will actually make a huge difference in practice.

Laois were so poor on Saturday that we'd expect your lads to beat them all right, and move to four points in the group. And if you beat them, our lads have to beat Kilkenny. Whether you beat them at the same time as the Wexford v Kilkenny match, or an hour or two earlier, doesn't actually change that, unless you give Laois an unmerciful hiding altogether and overturn the 34-point difference in score difference that currently exists between Wexford & Westmeath.

Really the only way that your match being earlier would make a difference is if Laois somehow happen to win it, and then Wexford & Kilkenny would go into their match knowing that both are already through anyway. So long as Kilkenny don't give our lads an unmerciful beating of the order of 35 points or more!

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 3541 - 27/04/2026 11:16:58    2669121

Replying To StoreysTash:  "I fear if he leaves we will find it hard to get anybody who wants the position."
We didnt get any applicants for the job when Keith got it. I dont even think he applied for it.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19353 - 27/04/2026 11:34:59    2669131

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "See, I agree that it's a terrible format and as much as I don't think it helps Wexford, Westmeath are hurt even worse by it

But I don't think it's down to this being a set-up or anything, I'd say it's more likely down to incompetence

IMO, stuff like that is usually more likely to be incompetence rather than bad intentions"
Yeah, I'd say it was done with good intentions all right. I don't believe any CCC ever sets out to deliberately stack a competition in favour of any particular teams. Again, putting myself in their position and trying to imagine the thought process:

- We have four Tier 1 teams (Kilkenny, Galway, Dublin, Wexford). All the others will go into Tier 2 first, and whoever comes through that will join the Tier 1 teams in the championship.
- Tier 2 teams are Wicklow, Antrim, Carlow, Offaly, Laois, Kerry, Meath, Kildare, Westmeath.
- If we bring four of them through, third & fourth would probably be relatively weak, get big hidings, and that's no good to anyone. So we'll have two qualifiers.
- Now we have six teams in Tier 1. Two groups of three.
- But just two group games is hardly enough for the teams only entering the championship at that stage. Let's give them a third by using this "cross-play" thing that's suggested sometimes, and see how it works out.

Unfortunately, it hasn't worked out too well. Even if they'd said "the four teams with the best record go through, no matter which group they're in", it would have been better.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 3541 - 27/04/2026 11:36:20    2669132

Dublin beat Westmeath by 11 at home.
We beat Kildare by 8 away.
Dublin drew with Offaly away.
Offaly then lost by 11 to away to Galway.
What that means if anything is Wexford, Dublin and Offaly are all very evenly matched and any of the 3 can come 3rd. We could easily beat Dublin and lose to Offaly or vice versa.

Paull (Wexford) - Posts: 266 - 27/04/2026 11:37:10    2669134

Replying To Afinestick96:  "Is it true if we dont beat Kilkenny on Saturday we are more than likely out? Sounds like we have a good minor team this year would be a huge boost if we can get a breakthrough at minor or U20"
We will likely be out of the minor championship if we dont beat Kilkenny

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19353 - 27/04/2026 11:37:29    2669136

Replying To StoreysTash:  "Doylerwex, Liam Griffin is undeniably a legend in Wexford GAA. My problem with the whole psyche in Wexford is I bet he's on the airwaves today talking about hurling and about pikemen and Father Murphy.
None of that washes with young people, and its 30 years since Wexford won that All-Ireland and what have his own club achieved regarding hurling in the meantime? All the while he is talking about hurling in Cavan and Longford and wherever else. Its very tedious.
Seperately, my father was saying there was about 2-3 thousand Kilkenny children paraded around Nowlan Park at half time the other day. Wexford's season hinges on Saturday week, can Wexford not get on to the Leinster Council to get them to give them free children's tickets to distribute to the schools or clubs for this match, to try and swell the crowd to fill the park for this vital game? Parade our own clubs around at half time. Do whatever we need to do to get a bit of hype about the game because otherwise the park will have about 7-8 people at 4pm on a Saturday (a desperate time for a match). We desperately need a big Wexford crowd on Saturday week and the 2 games after because our season is over if we lose on Saturday.
Yesterday Munster yet again made a show of the Leinster Championship and its up to the Leinster Council now to rejuvenate hurling in the province in the coming years. Its 12 years since a Leinster county (bar Galway) won a minor, 2022 for u21 and before that 2008 and all were Kilkenny? My gf is from Tipp and frankly I can't put up any argument to defend the Leinster Championship at this stage. Its an abomination and in 2 rounds, there has been one good game."
Offaly won the u20 in 2024.
There were schools from Wexford in that parade Im pretty sure.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19353 - 27/04/2026 11:39:03    2669139

Offaly won the u20 in 2024.
There were schools from Wexford in that parade Im pretty sure.
Agree we need to do more promoting of the game with young people.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19353 - 27/04/2026 11:39:34    2669140

Well lads after a few days to reflect on saturday night..its not all doom and gloom yet wil have to wait till after our next 2 results to determine that..on saturday night i think kk were there for the taking..if we had of got anything out of our forwards i think we could of won..jack o still not fit banville and redmond clearly not up to it... chin out numbered and even if he broke it no one to pick up scraps only kk defenders...foley our best forward on the night..taking off roche even though he was quite but still scored 2 points baffled me while bamville and redmond stayed on...s reck best one of the best man markers in the game and never gets the plaudits...i would have moved damien back on keoghan...can see patsy and donohoe starting against dublin with lawlor pushed to midfield and o leary and carley missing out..nice to see liam ryan get 60 mins back in the legs and i presume he was taken off as a precaution as game was done...

gannett83 (Wexford) - Posts: 335 - 27/04/2026 11:40:33    2669142

Only came across this forum after the game on Saturday. It's nice to see all the different opinions of fans within the County.

We just weren't good enough against Kilkenny and I feel a similar outcome against Dublin and Galway.

I heard two men take at a game yesterday that Fanning could be out for a few weeks after his knock on Saturday.

Troy069 (Wexford) - Posts: 1 - 27/04/2026 11:41:19    2669143

Replying To Doylerwex:  "I agree with your father about the worst part.

Nothing you're saying is untrue but it's not constructive either. There are positives so you have to point to them in order to keep going.

It's not cheap to blame Davy. We've a gap of a specific age profile which is directly because of him. I can name them if you need me to. Do you know how many championship debuts Davy handed out when we were very competitive at 20 and won our first provincial minor since 85?

I'd argue Cillian Byrne is the next big talent. He's been unlucky with injury but he has all the ingredients to be a top level intercounty forward. Was is 3 he got off the bench yesterday and left one short? Very effective impact for a lad who's only starting out.

I don't know what your problem is with Griffin but his type of thinking is what every person needs."
Cillian Byrne got two when he came on. Maybe missed another 2 or 3. One thing I noticed with him was when the ball went near him it stuck. First touch was spot on. Starting to fill out a bit too. Rowley too, maybe missed a couple but he's fast and direct. Start them both the next day. Banville and Redmond are fine club hurlers but were miles off it.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 549 - 27/04/2026 11:53:25    2669151

Still coming to terms with how poor we were on Saturday. Our intensity from the off was very poor . I think our main problem was in our forwards . Our backs were under so much pressure because of our inability to compete in the air , win any 50/50s and poor use of the ball going forward. Shane Reck and Damien Reck were good while Jippo done okay on TJ for his first game back. I said before the game Lee needs help and only Kevin Foley stood up to the task we wont win any championship game if the other 4 forwards arent contributing. We now face a must win game against our bogey team Dublin. If we cant raise ourselves for that there is something seriously wrong. County board needs to adopt same initiative as the KK county board with the amount of underage teams parading at half time. We need as many in the park as possible and hopefully the lads can really raise there game for what is now definitely the defining game of the season.
Hopefully we have Cian Molloy , Darren Codd and Cian Byrne available to come off the bench
Team I would go with is
1 Fanning
2. S Reck
3. Liam Ryan
4. Donohoe
5. C Foley
6. D Reck
7. Lawlor
8.Hearne
9. Wickham
10. Jacko ( Im hoping he will be sharper after another 2 weeks training but he knows himself we need an awful lot more
11 Redmond ( Is not an inside forward hasnt the pace but I think could do damage where he plays his best hurling for Rathnure in half forward line)
12. Chin ( Play him where he cant be double marked and is a puckout option for us)
13, K Foley
14 Roche ( Wouldnt have took him off in Kilkenny he will come good
15 Cillian Byrne ( Has to start let him run at the Dublin defence)

We need to back the lads like Kilkenny fans to be fair to them did on Saturday their backs were also to the wall. We need to play with intensity , compete for every 50/50 ball and use the ball much better than we did Saturday.
We can beat Dublin but it will take the best performance of the year so far.

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 1001 - 27/04/2026 12:11:59    2669159

Replying To Pikeman96:  "That's a good reply to him.

Maybe it's a "big problem" that calling out bad results or warning signs is dismissed as negative and pessimistic, but to my mind, an even bigger problem is all the people who are happy to hop on the bandwagon the odd time things are going well, but then resort to sniping from the sidelines when things not going so well, without every making any constructive or workable suggestion or contribution themselves.

"Something has to be done" - well, what?
"We're just not up to it" - so, how do we fix it?
"[Name here
is out of his depth" - who would you have got instead, or who you do think should be appointed next, who will be up to it?
"The County Board haven't a clue" - every single position on the County Board becomes available each year. If you have all the answers, why not put yourself forward? Or at least, bring those "answers" to somebody already on the Board?
"So-and-so said ....." - what actual constructive things does so-and-so do to try make a difference?"]I don't think you can accuse me of any of those list of questions. Maybe the last one because most of my local intel comes from my father. But I don't engage with gossip or speculation either. Everything I post here which my father tells me is fact.
I have elaborated on my Liam Griffin opinion already this evening.
I have never been personal with players on here, I have always suggest how we can get more focus on games, more promotion of games, more bums on seats, more hurling played in our schools.
I watch most of our games or at least as many as I can on both GAA GO and Clubber.
I agree with your list too by the way, there is nothing worse than hearing of a root-and-branch review.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 2005 - 27/04/2026 12:13:13    2669160

Replying To Paull:  "Dublin beat Westmeath by 11 at home.
We beat Kildare by 8 away.
Dublin drew with Offaly away.
Offaly then lost by 11 to away to Galway.
What that means if anything is Wexford, Dublin and Offaly are all very evenly matched and any of the 3 can come 3rd. We could easily beat Dublin and lose to Offaly or vice versa."
It still means if we win our next 2 games we are through but that is a very tall order

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 1001 - 27/04/2026 12:23:57    2669166