Wexford Club Hurling 2025

Replying To Paull:  "Ok. The 4 best teams in Wexford were on show today. How many would be considered good enough to say make the Kilkenny team? No need to say why. Just names .
I will start.
Conor Mcdonald.
Rory O Connor."
Just to put that in context only 2 of the teams in the Kilkenny Senior hurling finals had any starters on the Kilkenny Senior team. The average age of the 8 lads concerned, the lads who would be considered intercounty starters who also started for the 4 Kilkenny SHC semifinalists, would be around 30.
I don't think Kilkenny have any prospects in the 20-22 year age group who would be any better as prospects, or closer to being intercounty starters, than Cian Molloy, Mooney, Wickham, AJ, and Jack Redmond. CBD also has great potential. David Codd is only 23. Certainly none of the 4 Kilkenny semifinalists had this weekend.
Tbh Kilkennys halfback line isn't great, ask any Kilkenny man, so Cian Molloy might well start for Kilkenny next year if he was from there. Midfield is another problem area for them, so David Codd could get in there also. And in 2 or 3 years time there might be more of those lads from our 4 semifinalists this year who would start for Kilkenny.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 17219 - 13/10/2025 09:29:17    2639665

Replying To Paull:  "Ok. The 4 best teams in Wexford were on show today. How many would be considered good enough to say make the Kilkenny team? No need to say why. Just names .
I will start.
Conor Mcdonald.
Rory O Connor."
Barry o connor was very impressive as he was in quarter final

Lockerroomboy (Wexford) - Posts: 505 - 13/10/2025 09:32:02    2639667

Replying To alwaysasub:  "Three finals for Rathnure. That is some going. Wasn't the greatest game to watch as a neutral but Rathnure got a few points together when needed and handled Conor McDonald fairly well. Some turnaround for the club."
4th Q is what won it for Rathnure - kicked on with two superb frees from AJ Redmond .. He was superb .. as was Luke Codd .. Rathnue are a very balanced team. They worked out Gorey's game plan early and they had their two inside forwards well marshalled forcing them to shoot from far out. That said there was some shocking wides. Dunbar put in a big shift for Gorey but did miss a vital score. McGuckian the same - but was badly turned over twice which resulted in two points for Rathnure. Jack Cullen was quite. Caught a few puck outs but that was it. Rathnure seem to get their matchups correct.

Martins moved the ball well again - make it look effortless. To be honest I don't think they got out of 3rd gear. Morris was a big loss for Ferns. Martins haven't been tested in any game this year. They will go in as raging hot favourites I reckon but everyone bar the bookies will know that won't be the case. Rathnure have prob come through the tougher group and won a hard fought semi-final which will stand to them.

Was the quality of semi final good - maybe not but the Rathnure V Gorey game was full of tension and was hard fought honest game that could have went either way. A superb weekend for the Rathnure Club with their 3 adult teams winning their respective semi-finals and their U16s winning the county final beating Rapps.

MyOhMi (Wexford) - Posts: 247 - 13/10/2025 09:32:07    2639668

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "1. Why are Kilkenny the benchmark when they haven't won a Senior All-Ireland since 2015?

2. Unless I'm mistaken, I think there were five players playing today who started at least two Championship matches this year for us so it's not as if today's games were ever going to be that representative of the Senior squad on the whole

3. I think combined XVs are a waste of time anyway, you're only every going to pick opposition players when they are clearly better than your own players. How many KK players would you think are obviously and clearly better than their Wexford counterparts?"
Just to answer point 3, off the 4 semifinalists in the Kilkenny SHC, I think only Lawlor, Butler, and Eoin Cody would make my combined team if I had to pick one for next year. Deegan, Molloy, TJ, Adrian Mullen and Richie Reid wouldn't make it.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 17219 - 13/10/2025 09:32:21    2639669

Replying To MyOhMi:  "4th Q is what won it for Rathnure - kicked on with two superb frees from AJ Redmond .. He was superb .. as was Luke Codd .. Rathnue are a very balanced team. They worked out Gorey's game plan early and they had their two inside forwards well marshalled forcing them to shoot from far out. That said there was some shocking wides. Dunbar put in a big shift for Gorey but did miss a vital score. McGuckian the same - but was badly turned over twice which resulted in two points for Rathnure. Jack Cullen was quite. Caught a few puck outs but that was it. Rathnure seem to get their matchups correct.

Martins moved the ball well again - make it look effortless. To be honest I don't think they got out of 3rd gear. Morris was a big loss for Ferns. Martins haven't been tested in any game this year. They will go in as raging hot favourites I reckon but everyone bar the bookies will know that won't be the case. Rathnure have prob come through the tougher group and won a hard fought semi-final which will stand to them.

Was the quality of semi final good - maybe not but the Rathnure V Gorey game was full of tension and was hard fought honest game that could have went either way. A superb weekend for the Rathnure Club with their 3 adult teams winning their respective semi-finals and their U16s winning the county final beating Rapps."
AJ was excellent for Rathnure yesterday and would be a starter if he decides to commit for Wexford. I was impressed with Luke Codd what age is he? Barry O Connor only got two points for the Martins but he was excellent made so many scores his movement pace and power is a real handful. Is he definitely going back to Oz?

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 721 - 13/10/2025 10:06:34    2639678

Replying To Afinestick96:  "AJ was excellent for Rathnure yesterday and would be a starter if he decides to commit for Wexford. I was impressed with Luke Codd what age is he? Barry O Connor only got two points for the Martins but he was excellent made so many scores his movement pace and power is a real handful. Is he definitely going back to Oz?"
Barry O' Connor is some athlete - I think he has committed a lot more time to hurling this season and it is most definitely showing. He has similiar type of power and build to Chin.
Luke Codd is only 20 I think - Last year was his first year out of minor. Robbie is his father. I think Rathnure have 5 starters that are on their U21 team (Conor O Neill, Eamonn Wickham, Donal Wickham, Luke Codd, Charlie Mooney)

MyOhMi (Wexford) - Posts: 247 - 13/10/2025 10:44:12    2639685

Replying To zinny:  "KK have won 6 Leinsters in a row, at this stage winning one for us would be the first objective.
Second point is valid but perhaps out of the best 4 senior teams in the county we should be getting more than an average of 1.25 players per team. However it doesn't mean we would have a poor county team if we did, there is no proof either way.
On the basis of results, which for me is the ultimate barometer - all of them would be better. Beating KK in a round robin has mattered for nothing."
Well, for me, if you asked me to pick out players from the clubs involved yesterday who I'd be ok with starting next year, I'd the say the following

Cian Molloy
Conor Mac
AJ Redmond
Jack Redmond
CBD
James Lawlor
Rory
Joe Barrett

Now CBD was poor yesterday, Rathnure basically had Mac double-teamed, and I don't think Molloy stood out that much (Don't think Rathnure got much off him at the same time) but there's not much logic in picking players based on one game

And as to why there's an average of 1.25, Mac was injured, Joe Barrett doesn't look like he's interested in playing for Wexford (Would definitely start at corner-back for me and would be a good one), AJ Redmond wasn't asked, James Lawlor left the panel (And is going to Australia next year), CBD started one game, and then Jack Redmond came off the bench in the Championship

Would have Jacko and Cathal Dunbar in the squad but they've had enough chances by now, McGuckian for me is not a senior intercounty hurler as harsh as that it to say

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 672 - 13/10/2025 11:24:31    2639698

Replying To Viking66:  "Just to answer point 3, off the 4 semifinalists in the Kilkenny SHC, I think only Lawlor, Butler, and Eoin Cody would make my combined team if I had to pick one for next year. Deegan, Molloy, TJ, Adrian Mullen and Richie Reid wouldn't make it."
Butler and Lawlor, yes, Cody is a maybe

Would agree that TJ is too old and would rather have Cian Molloy ahead of Richie Reid, Mullen hasn't really been operating at the same level as he used to for the last while now, Deegan would maybe get into a combined team for me

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 672 - 13/10/2025 11:28:13    2639700

Replying To MyOhMi:  "Barry O' Connor is some athlete - I think he has committed a lot more time to hurling this season and it is most definitely showing. He has similiar type of power and build to Chin.
Luke Codd is only 20 I think - Last year was his first year out of minor. Robbie is his father. I think Rathnure have 5 starters that are on their U21 team (Conor O Neill, Eamonn Wickham, Donal Wickham, Luke Codd, Charlie Mooney)"
Some lads are sceptical but I think Barry O'Connor would be massive for Wexford if we could work it out at all.

There's the makings of a good group there but we are badly in need of some ball winners and he's certainly that.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3963 - 13/10/2025 11:57:29    2639715

Replying To Paull:  "I never mentioned benchmark. Ok. Change it to Tipperary then. Are they enough of a benchmark for you.. It was a straightforward question that I could not have made any clearer. Just name the players you think would make the Kilkenny team from today's Semi Finals. I specifically said not to give a reason. You have turned it into something it is not.
I am not making everyone on here answer. I only want them to share an answer to my specific question if they have one without having to justify it."
There arent that many players from the 4 semifinalists I would have on my Wexford starting 15 for next year, never mind Tipperarys or Kilkennys-

Rory
Patsy
AJ
Jack Redmond
Conor Mac (if fully fit)
David Codd (maybe)
Barry O Connor (maybe, if he committed)
Jacko (maybe, if fully fit)
Jack Cullen ( maybe, if he fully committed)
CBD (maybe)
Niall Murphy (maybe, seriously underrated hurler)
Joe Barrett (maybe, if he committed)

So really only 4 definites. Plus Mac if fully fit. Id have a few of the younger lads I mentioned in my other posts in the panel all the same, to see if they could be developed, along with Alex Lafferty also. Could add in Brian Quigley to that list for a look at, although he's around 27, and Sean O'Connor for a look at also. Obviously Darren Codd, Cathal Dunbar and Charlie Mcguckin are already on the panel, although right now I wouldnt see them as starters for next year if I was the manager . Cathal Dunbar especially Id see as an impact sub when the game opened up a little in the last quarter. He only really came into the SF yesterday at that point too.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 17219 - 13/10/2025 12:11:32    2639719

Replying To countyman2022:  "1. Kk have 5 times had teams in club all irelands since 2015- Wex 0. Also competed in 4 All Irelands in this time- Wex 0.
2. Extremely worrying standard if thats the best they could produce. In comparison with the KK semi's if you have watched them back.
3. Considering KK have won the last 6 Leinster titles, I would imagine quite a few would be clearly better."
1- we havent had any really exceptional club sides since 2015.
2- I didnt think the standard of hurling was that great in either of the KK semifinals tbh.
3- they obviously were more successful the last 6 years, but they had their share of good luck also. Not sure if that means anything at all looking forward to next year though.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 17219 - 13/10/2025 12:15:42    2639720

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Some lads are sceptical but I think Barry O'Connor would be massive for Wexford if we could work it out at all.

There's the makings of a good group there but we are badly in need of some ball winners and he's certainly that."
I fully agree he would be an enormous asset to us. Would love to see a half forward line of him, Rory and Chinner .

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 721 - 13/10/2025 12:41:03    2639722

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Some lads are sceptical but I think Barry O'Connor would be massive for Wexford if we could work it out at all.

There's the makings of a good group there but we are badly in need of some ball winners and he's certainly that."
I'd be in favour of it as much as I can't see it happening, we really lack wing-forwards and he'd be one of the best athletes in the game not named Lee Chin

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 672 - 13/10/2025 12:44:44    2639723

Replying To Viking66:  "There arent that many players from the 4 semifinalists I would have on my Wexford starting 15 for next year, never mind Tipperarys or Kilkennys-

Rory
Patsy
AJ
Jack Redmond
Conor Mac (if fully fit)
David Codd (maybe)
Barry O Connor (maybe, if he committed)
Jacko (maybe, if fully fit)
Jack Cullen ( maybe, if he fully committed)
CBD (maybe)
Niall Murphy (maybe, seriously underrated hurler)
Joe Barrett (maybe, if he committed)

So really only 4 definites. Plus Mac if fully fit. Id have a few of the younger lads I mentioned in my other posts in the panel all the same, to see if they could be developed, along with Alex Lafferty also. Could add in Brian Quigley to that list for a look at, although he's around 27, and Sean O'Connor for a look at also. Obviously Darren Codd, Cathal Dunbar and Charlie Mcguckin are already on the panel, although right now I wouldnt see them as starters for next year if I was the manager . Cathal Dunbar especially Id see as an impact sub when the game opened up a little in the last quarter. He only really came into the SF yesterday at that point too."
From what ive seen this year Barry O Connor would be a certain starter for us. His aerial ability , movement and pace is excellent and hurling has really come on this season. We completely lack aerial ability in the forwards apart from Lee and Mac if fully fit
I was really impressed with Luke Codd yesterday think he could be worth a call up to the panel

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 721 - 13/10/2025 12:51:00    2639729

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "Butler and Lawlor, yes, Cody is a maybe

Would agree that TJ is too old and would rather have Cian Molloy ahead of Richie Reid, Mullen hasn't really been operating at the same level as he used to for the last while now, Deegan would maybe get into a combined team for me"
Mullen has been poor for a long while now. Deegan poor last year also.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 17219 - 13/10/2025 12:51:08    2639730

Replying To Afinestick96:  "AJ was excellent for Rathnure yesterday and would be a starter if he decides to commit for Wexford. I was impressed with Luke Codd what age is he? Barry O Connor only got two points for the Martins but he was excellent made so many scores his movement pace and power is a real handful. Is he definitely going back to Oz?"
AJ would go in if asked. Barry O'Connor heading back afaik.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 17219 - 13/10/2025 12:52:48    2639731

Has he got the stick work though? Have seen this many times before, likes of Daithi Waters strong club hurlers, but when they step up to county level they are just a bit short.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 458 - 13/10/2025 13:35:30    2639740

Rathnure have given the whole club scene a lift, fair play to them. Gorey will come again but need some of their newer guys to step up a bit. Don't think Ferns ever had a prayer really v Martin's, did very well to make a semi final. As others have said, that lack of a true test might catch Martins out if Rathnure match them in the final. Cruising into a final isn't great prep in my experience.

How are ye calling the intermediate? Likely to be high scoring if weather holds.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 458 - 13/10/2025 13:38:45    2639741

Replying To Timbertony:  "Rathnure have given the whole club scene a lift, fair play to them. Gorey will come again but need some of their newer guys to step up a bit. Don't think Ferns ever had a prayer really v Martin's, did very well to make a semi final. As others have said, that lack of a true test might catch Martins out if Rathnure match them in the final. Cruising into a final isn't great prep in my experience.

How are ye calling the intermediate? Likely to be high scoring if weather holds."
Having seen both teams, I actually fancy Fethard. I was impressed with them when I saw them earlier in the h year. Cloughbawn haven't been massively impressive while I think Fethard are coming good at the right time. Could be a surprise on the cards for intermediate.

alwaysasub (Wexford) - Posts: 535 - 13/10/2025 13:52:15    2639747

Replying To Viking66:  "AJ would go in if asked. Barry O'Connor heading back afaik."
Its crazy Aj wasnt asked in last year. Pity would love to see how Barry would fare with Wexford but he has a life in Oz too

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 721 - 13/10/2025 14:01:34    2639750