David Clifford GOAT

back to this stupidity again , matt connor is rightly the greatest forward ever to play gaelic football . no one will ever come close end of discussion

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1892 - 26/02/2025 13:35:14    2593340

Replying To mickcunningham:  "back to this stupidity again , matt connor is rightly the greatest forward ever to play gaelic football . no one will ever come close end of discussion"
Your last sentence is pretty ridiculous and would automatically make me disregard your opinion.

Overdahill (Galway) - Posts: 13 - 26/02/2025 14:18:14    2593346

Replying To mickcunningham:  "back to this stupidity again , matt connor is rightly the greatest forward ever to play gaelic football . no one will ever come close end of discussion"
Matt was sublime and I was a huge fan. But, I never saw him or the likes of Mikey Sheehy do what David can do.
I'd even go as far as to say Declan Browne would be closer to Clifford than the aforementioned greats.
Just an opinion, don't kill me.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8701 - 26/02/2025 14:33:20    2593349

Replying To Overdahill:  "Your last sentence is pretty ridiculous and would automatically make me disregard your opinion."
grand disregard if you wish wont bother me a whole lot

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1892 - 26/02/2025 14:44:24    2593352

What could he do that Clifford can't do you mind me asking..

TopoftheD (UK) - Posts: 5 - 26/02/2025 15:56:05    2593362

Replying To Tiger1:  "Ah stop wouldnt be in the same class good but not that good.Our own Matty Forde would be up there."
Con overrated. Wouldn't make a full strength Kerry team.

CorkLiamMcCarthy24 (Cork) - Posts: 113 - 26/02/2025 21:03:05    2593408

Replying To CorkLiamMcCarthy24:  "Con overrated. Wouldn't make a full strength Kerry team."
Haha would you watch a better YouTube trolling video.

The art is in subtlety.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4493 - 26/02/2025 22:24:00    2593418

Watch this year kerry to win Sam Maguire this year. Put this post down as a marker.

CorkLiamMcCarthy24 (Cork) - Posts: 113 - 26/02/2025 23:16:06    2593422

Replying To realdub:  "Matt was sublime and I was a huge fan. But, I never saw him or the likes of Mikey Sheehy do what David can do.
I'd even go as far as to say Declan Browne would be closer to Clifford than the aforementioned greats.
Just an opinion, don't kill me."
Declan Browne was a very good player but Matt Connor was a far superior player to him. Watch his point from play in the first half in the '82 All Ireland final . Plenty of David Clifford about that score. He scored 2-09 against the great Kerry team in the 1980 All Ireland semi final when he was just 21. His athleticism, scoring power, skill levels and temperament were off the charts for such a young player.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6170 - 27/02/2025 09:23:28    2593432

Replying To TheUsername:  "Still has much to prove in my opinion to be considered even in the same bracket as the Michael Murphy's of this generation.

In the really big games on against big teams from the Semi final on - hes often struggled in Croker to make an impact or influence a game."
Totally agree, David has to perform on the big days, to be considered amount the greats. In semifinals and finals he has struggled in Croke Park.
He has plenty of time yet and I think the new rules certainly suits David and all the other quality forwards.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 434 - 27/02/2025 09:45:48    2593438

Replying To Greengrass:  "Declan Browne was a very good player but Matt Connor was a far superior player to him. Watch his point from play in the first half in the '82 All Ireland final . Plenty of David Clifford about that score. He scored 2-09 against the great Kerry team in the 1980 All Ireland semi final when he was just 21. His athleticism, scoring power, skill levels and temperament were off the charts for such a young player."
While Matt Connor was not doubt a great player it's a very different thing. A 21 year old in the early 80s was a very different thing to a 21 year old today.

Besides in reality there's no "greatest very player" in any spot as it changes over the years. You can probably pick greatest players from different eras. The greats of the 30s/40s/50s etc can't be compared to players from even the 70s or 80s let alone players from today.

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1513 - 27/02/2025 10:51:53    2593457

Replying To Scenicparish:  "Totally agree, David has to perform on the big days, to be considered amount the greats. In semifinals and finals he has struggled in Croke Park.
He has plenty of time yet and I think the new rules certainly suits David and all the other quality forwards."
Struggled he won kerry semi vs derry and allireland 2022 he had bad game vs Dublin 2023 by his standards last year he just bit off all round wouldn't say doesn't perform at all that's ridiculous still multiple player of the year awarss

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 613 - 27/02/2025 10:51:57    2593458

Usual dubs won't ever giving outside their own credit anyway and svais has potential be goat but it's all subjective just enjoy them all . Hate tye way some bring him down just because they don't agree eon greats. I it's not all down to all ireland medals either con has more and is all tie great but clifford still could be considered as individual player

It's way too early and it's subjective but ridiculous say he hasn't perform croke park remember 23 semi final and 2022 yes 23 final bit off and 24 he was not great anyway

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 613 - 27/02/2025 10:54:32    2593460

I'm summary people will find selective views to suit their opinion ie some pro and some anti clifford ie some dubs and others .

Balance perspective needed. He has great days ans some not so people ridiculous biased or short memories orare saying way too early that he is goat.

But he has performed well lot days in croke park but again people take one way of looking at it ss if he just can't perform forgetting big day he has as well

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 613 - 27/02/2025 10:58:22    2593463

Replying To Scenicparish:  "Totally agree, David has to perform on the big days, to be considered amount the greats. In semifinals and finals he has struggled in Croke Park.
He has plenty of time yet and I think the new rules certainly suits David and all the other quality forwards."
Donegal man begrudging again another example forget 22 final and 23 semi final ye yes 24 wasn't great for him but slervtove calling put ridiculous and Murphy may be ahead slightly clifford can overtake we see still early but ye is close not that far off after all Murphy has how many all ireland himself 1 ye.
2014 kerry played off park so not exactly perfect in croker either but again example of selective opinions and not looking all facts

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 613 - 27/02/2025 11:00:24    2593464

Replying To TheUsername:  "Haha would you watch a better YouTube trolling video.

The art is in subtlety."
I don't agree with con overrated he makes kerry team he is all time great these extreme opinions from overtly pro kerry or dubs on con and clifford are ridiculous both class and some dubs are as bsd at this crap against clifford too.

Enjoy both

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 613 - 27/02/2025 11:03:17    2593465

While different types of players, both Clifford and Con are generational talents and deserve to be in these conversations. Anyone without a grudge or agenda can enjoy watching them. Everyone else can stay miserable :)

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12258 - 27/02/2025 11:21:00    2593468

Replying To Greengrass:  "Declan Browne was a very good player but Matt Connor was a far superior player to him. Watch his point from play in the first half in the '82 All Ireland final . Plenty of David Clifford about that score. He scored 2-09 against the great Kerry team in the 1980 All Ireland semi final when he was just 21. His athleticism, scoring power, skill levels and temperament were off the charts for such a young player."
I remember everything about Matt, as i said, sublime, but Browne's skill set was unreal.
Two brilliant players.
Special shout out to another Matt(ie), the Wexford lad was something special also.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8701 - 27/02/2025 12:07:21    2593477

Replying To Gaaforlife2023:  "Usual dubs won't ever giving outside their own credit anyway and svais has potential be goat but it's all subjective just enjoy them all . Hate tye way some bring him down just because they don't agree eon greats. I it's not all down to all ireland medals either con has more and is all tie great but clifford still could be considered as individual player

It's way too early and it's subjective but ridiculous say he hasn't perform croke park remember 23 semi final and 2022 yes 23 final bit off and 24 he was not great anyway"
Exsqueeze me!?

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8701 - 27/02/2025 12:08:55    2593478

He certainly in the conversation alongside Ja Fallon but a lot to do to surpass Ja.

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 746 - 27/02/2025 12:16:13    2593480