Wexford Football 2025

Replying To Yellaman:  "Yes, fair play to the young man, thrown in at the deep end against ( currently) the best team in Leinster, and aquiting himself really well in general play.
But we really missed Brooks on the kick-out. The second quarter cost us dearly when we went from level to nine down in 15 minutes. During that spell we couldn't win our kick-out, and I feel Brooks experience in varying it would have made a difference."
Was he injured ?

WexMurph (Wexford) - Posts: 347 - 20/04/2026 18:40:14    2667580

Replying To WexMurph:  "Was he injured ?"
Yes, he was there yesterday with a strapping or cast of some sort on his thumb / wrist.

Yellaman (Wexford) - Posts: 235 - 20/04/2026 20:33:02    2667598

Replying To Formertownie:  "Has been a great year so far for footballers yes disappointing result .
We at start of year said if they stay up would be a good year and decent run in tailteann . And yet here we are aftrr promotion and a league final a kick away from winning it and promotion to Sam .
We are a fickle bunch I say well done to them putvtgst behind them znd kick on . Even if they dont get food run it has still been a good year for outer footballers
We took westmeath albeit a smash and grab who now have taken meath one of favourites for leinster .
Question if westmeath reach leinster final do they replace down in sam ."
Yes they do

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19269 - 20/04/2026 21:11:48    2667605

Replying To Formertownie:  "Has been a great year so far for footballers yes disappointing result .
We at start of year said if they stay up would be a good year and decent run in tailteann . And yet here we are aftrr promotion and a league final a kick away from winning it and promotion to Sam .
We are a fickle bunch I say well done to them putvtgst behind them znd kick on . Even if they dont get food run it has still been a good year for outer footballers
We took westmeath albeit a smash and grab who now have taken meath one of favourites for leinster .
Question if westmeath reach leinster final do they replace down in sam ."
Yes a Westmeath win will mean that Down lose their place in the All Ireland unless they reach the Ulster final which will be extremely difficult as we are drawn away to Donegal in Letterkenny. If they could produce a major upset Down would then need to beat the winners of Fermanagh v Armagh to stay in the All Ireland.

Wexford fans should also be cheering for a Kildare victory because a Kildare win will mean Wexford will be in All Ireland as long no other Division 3 or 4 teams reaches a provincial final.

REDANDBLACK30 (Down) - Posts: 1750 - 21/04/2026 02:00:25    2667633

Replying To countyman2022:  "Would not put any pass on him- This Louth team were lucky to win a Leinster final against Meath, soft goals they got in first half and literally played keep ball for the last 6 mins. Did not win a game in All Ireland series. V overrated."
Imagine getting hammered by a team you called 'overrated'. Louth made Wexford look like a warm‑up drill. Next time, maybe wait until your county actually competes before talking.

Walter_White (Louth) - Posts: 19 - 21/04/2026 08:50:49    2667644

Replying To Viking66:  "Think the lads have plenty of respectability as it is. Not many counties have achieved double promotions, and ours was all the more impressive considering the lads who missed all or most of the League campaign.
Aside from Pettit, O'Connor, Brosnan and Lyons the last 2 of which only came came back today for cameos, we were missing Sean Nolan, Dara Brooks, and Jack Higgins who were regular starters this year. And Sheehan and Ryan, 2 of our better players the last 2 days, were withdrawn at halftime. Eoghan Nolan and Sean Doyle werent fully fit either, both were touch and go to play at all.
Thats over 3/4s of a starting team missing, or just barely making it. Maybe you werent aware of all that, but if so you shouldn't be posting nonsense about the lads losing respectability. Were you there yourself?"
No viking I wasn't there on Sunday for reasons outside my control. I have gone to Wexford football games since the late 70s. I love it when we win and hate it when we lose. I was over the moon when we got promotion this year and said so on this forum. I am fully aware of the injuries going into the game. Remember Lyons, Brosnan, O'connor and Pettit didn't kick a ball all year and we had a great league, surprising many including myself.
I was so disappointed with our no show last week.
To lose by 17 points was dreadful. I am not one like some on here that find it acceptable to be trounced the way we were. The narrative was" ah sure didn't we gain promotion and we were up against a good Louth side and it doesn't really matter losing by that margin.
The championship is where you get found out and even allowing for the injuries we were as flat as a pancake and really we should have done better.
As I said , I wasn't at the game but listened to all the analysis and read all the reports and can form an opinion from what I've saw in the highlights in the Sunday game and the print media etc.
We most definately would have lost some respectability after that hammering. You can't expect to have the same level of respect after that awful performance.
Have to say that I was disappointed with your use of the word " nonsense" describing my post.
I am just giving an opinion viking. You can and have disagreed with my thinking and of course you are entitled to do so. However to say its nonsense is quite frankly insulting.

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 665 - 21/04/2026 09:08:42    2667649

i would never say anything bad at our management, they have done an amazing job but was it not odd they did not play higgins? i know he wont be around for T C but with so many missing/injuried he was needed, he was there

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 3079 - 21/04/2026 10:20:47    2667668

Replying To Walter_White:  "Imagine getting hammered by a team you called 'overrated'. Louth made Wexford look like a warm‑up drill. Next time, maybe wait until your county actually competes before talking."
Completely overrated. 1 Leinster title in 68 years. Didnt even beat Dublin to win it. They found their level when in the All Ireland series- losing 3/4 and fortunate beat a v poor Clare team who were lucky to stay up in Div 3.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 970 - 21/04/2026 12:54:33    2667711

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "i would never say anything bad at our management, they have done an amazing job but was it not odd they did not play higgins? i know he wont be around for T C but with so many missing/injuried he was needed, he was there"
As far as I know, ( I was told by someone at the match on Sunday) that Jack Higgins & C Hughes are going stateside for a couple of months. If they played championship here they wouldn't be eligible to play in US. I don't know if thats true.

Yellaman (Wexford) - Posts: 235 - 21/04/2026 13:00:59    2667712

Replying To countyman2022:  "Completely overrated. 1 Leinster title in 68 years. Didnt even beat Dublin to win it. They found their level when in the All Ireland series- losing 3/4 and fortunate beat a v poor Clare team who were lucky to stay up in Div 3."
Calling Louth overrated was a great shout - right up until the 'overrated' team knocked Wexford out in the quarter‑final. And the Leinster‑history stuff was priceless. Why reach back 60‑plus years for talking points? That's not analysis, that's archaeology. The only history that mattered was this year's game, and Louth battered Wexford out of it. Hard to keep the overrated chat going when the team you dismissed proved the exact opposite on the pitch.

Walter_White (Louth) - Posts: 19 - 21/04/2026 13:55:28    2667718

Replying To countyman2022:  "Completely overrated. 1 Leinster title in 68 years. Didnt even beat Dublin to win it. They found their level when in the All Ireland series- losing 3/4 and fortunate beat a v poor Clare team who were lucky to stay up in Div 3."
Overrated??? What an awful embarrassing statement that is.

francie81 (Louth) - Posts: 260 - 21/04/2026 14:00:12    2667720

Replying To francie81:  "Overrated??? What an awful embarrassing statement that is."
If I was a Wexford man reading 'countyman2022' comments I'd be somewhat embarrassed..

Walter_White (Louth) - Posts: 19 - 21/04/2026 14:28:20    2667726

Replying To Magpie2:  "No viking I wasn't there on Sunday for reasons outside my control. I have gone to Wexford football games since the late 70s. I love it when we win and hate it when we lose. I was over the moon when we got promotion this year and said so on this forum. I am fully aware of the injuries going into the game. Remember Lyons, Brosnan, O'connor and Pettit didn't kick a ball all year and we had a great league, surprising many including myself.
I was so disappointed with our no show last week.
To lose by 17 points was dreadful. I am not one like some on here that find it acceptable to be trounced the way we were. The narrative was" ah sure didn't we gain promotion and we were up against a good Louth side and it doesn't really matter losing by that margin.
The championship is where you get found out and even allowing for the injuries we were as flat as a pancake and really we should have done better.
As I said , I wasn't at the game but listened to all the analysis and read all the reports and can form an opinion from what I've saw in the highlights in the Sunday game and the print media etc.
We most definately would have lost some respectability after that hammering. You can't expect to have the same level of respect after that awful performance.
Have to say that I was disappointed with your use of the word " nonsense" describing my post.
I am just giving an opinion viking. You can and have disagreed with my thinking and of course you are entitled to do so. However to say its nonsense is quite frankly insulting."
Your use of the words "lost respectability' was insulting to all the lads involved, on and off the pitch.
They didnt lose my respect anyway. Yes, I was disappointed too. But Im not going to have a go at the team on an anonymous forum because of that. They far exceeded my expectations for the year.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19269 - 21/04/2026 14:40:50    2667728

Replying To Walter_White:  "Calling Louth overrated was a great shout - right up until the 'overrated' team knocked Wexford out in the quarter‑final. And the Leinster‑history stuff was priceless. Why reach back 60‑plus years for talking points? That's not analysis, that's archaeology. The only history that mattered was this year's game, and Louth battered Wexford out of it. Hard to keep the overrated chat going when the team you dismissed proved the exact opposite on the pitch."
They are. Results outside of Leinster in recent years prove that. Average. A good solid Leinster championship team- absolutely they are. And then die a death. Similar to Wex with regards league- 3 excellent leauge campaigns and then nothing. Louth are of silimar ike. Probably just within the top 12- no higher. But somehow think they are world beaters?

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 970 - 21/04/2026 15:31:22    2667736