Not getting worked up about it. Just an observation and a personal opinion that since Michael Lyster retired he has proven to be irreplaceable
boxtyburgerbuns (Leitrim) - Posts: 385 - 17/06/2025 13:42:22 2618713 Link 1 |
Maith thú, GRMA.
Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9828 - 17/06/2025 14:00:20 2618717 Link 0 |
Well said. I fully agree. Constant whingeing from armchair experts about people who are doing their best to provide excellent coverage within the constraints they have. And, on top of that, you have the nutcase conspiracy theorists who think that draws are fixed. CeachtPeile (Cavan) - Posts: 152 - 17/06/2025 14:17:59 2618728 Link 0 |
I disagree. He was very good in his time but nobody is irreplaceable and those who have followed on are doing a fine job. I'm sure if they weren't that would be evident to those in charge and they would be replaced. I have no doubt if Michael Lyster was still presenting he'd be shipping the same avalanche of criticism from the armchair 'broadcasting experts' on forums such as these. CeachtPeile (Cavan) - Posts: 152 - 17/06/2025 14:28:49 2618734 Link 0 |
That's your opinion but it's wrong
boxtyburgerbuns (Leitrim) - Posts: 385 - 17/06/2025 14:41:25 2618741 Link 0 |
He wouldn't be the same presenter now as 20 years ago, neither would Pat Spillane. Spillane in podcasts still, not RTE, likes the banter and craic. The 2025 RTE PC editing/censoring would make them lesser presenters. Both had a sense of humour and could let analysts speak or rant and knew what to say to liven up proceedings. They had a sense of humour too which is lacking, for me, on The Sunday Game. Not just GAA presenters on RTE. No McGurk or O'Herlihy. Don't seem to be in touch with what an audience wants to see.
GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8112 - 17/06/2025 17:03:58 2618793 Link 0 |
They need less analysis and show more footage, that would be a good start.
Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2405 - 17/06/2025 21:36:30 2618859 Link 2 |
That's a good point. Don't like Brolly but there was an edge to it when himself and O'Rourke and Spillane were there. Passionate men who spoke their minds. Ciarán was great player but dull as dishwater, McManus is only new to it but he's not exactly brimming with charisma and insight. Hurling is a bit better but mainly because of Donal Óg who can spark off the others and is not afraid to bring up things others ignore. . Sheedy is very good and probably most balanced of them all. BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3647 - 17/06/2025 23:29:24 2618886 Link 0 |
That's exactly it, the new breed of pundits have been drilled with the idea that sky sports like stats are what we want, such and such had a 27.5% kicking success rate. Absolute junk, just tell us the number of shots on goals and the numbers of wides and that'll be enough for us to make up our own minds. There seems to be a fashion show competition on it also. Coupled with all that is that certain presenters like to give their own opinions and it is just not a good view boxtyburgerbuns (Leitrim) - Posts: 385 - 18/06/2025 09:18:53 2618906 Link 0 |
The likes of Brolly, Spillane, Loughnane, Dunphy, Hook made people watch rte sport because they never knew what these lads would say. RTE sport doesn't want this kind of pundit anymore.
boxtyburgerbuns (Leitrim) - Posts: 385 - 18/06/2025 09:26:46 2618908 Link 0 |
Again, you are not the protaganist of life. They're trying to cater to as many people as possible, not you personally. I'm sorry is this is some kind of revelation for you
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12412 - 18/06/2025 10:21:29 2618928 Link 2 |
Thanks for the pound shop advice there. Compare the viewing figures of the show now to back 10 years ago.
boxtyburgerbuns (Leitrim) - Posts: 385 - 18/06/2025 11:11:31 2618950 Link 1 |
Compare any tv show viewing figures then and now. There are other media now if you haven't noticed
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12412 - 18/06/2025 11:19:36 2618955 Link 1 |
That's your opinion but it's wrong.
CeachtPeile (Cavan) - Posts: 152 - 18/06/2025 11:37:37 2618960 Link 0 |
Rose-tinted glasses stuff here. I'm sure they'll be saying the same about today's presenters in 20 years time.
CeachtPeile (Cavan) - Posts: 152 - 18/06/2025 11:41:06 2618961 Link 0 |
That's a bizarre take that statistics don't matter. You're dealing with the most educated population in the world so I think most people can appreciate their significance. It seems a bit much though to expect the viewer to work them out for themselves instead of presenting them in a digestible manner.
CeachtPeile (Cavan) - Posts: 152 - 18/06/2025 11:47:36 2618968 Link 0 |
How can someone's opinion be wrong just because you don't like it
Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2405 - 18/06/2025 13:31:18 2619000 Link 0 |
I don't dislike it, it is just wrong. I neither like or dislike
boxtyburgerbuns (Leitrim) - Posts: 385 - 18/06/2025 14:07:48 2619010 Link 0 |
You seem to think it is a good product so fair play to you
boxtyburgerbuns (Leitrim) - Posts: 385 - 18/06/2025 14:14:15 2619011 Link 0 |
The urc upload a game onto YouTube every week. They already uploaded the urc final for fans who cannot afford to pay and for marketing reasons. How bad has things got that the rugby community are thinking about fans unable to pay more than the GAA community? Why don't the GAA+ upload the best game onto the YouTube channel like the rugby do? It will help grow the channel and provide disadvantaged fans a chance to watch a great game. Kew (Galway) - Posts: 214 - 18/06/2025 15:33:05 2619035 Link 0 |