2025 National Football League

Replying To SurelyToGod:  "Was the 3x3 rule removed before the Galway v Donegal match was thrown-in? Must have missed that decision at Congress."
No. If a team goes down to 14 men they only need to keep min 2 up/back. Same if down to 13 only need keep min 1 up/back

systematic (Galway) - Posts: 133 - 23/02/2025 19:50:02    2592721

Replying To endgame:  "Don't give up the day job any time soon. Well done the Royals. The better team today."
Fair play,yeah think we were the better team alright.We went on a scoring spree for 5/10 mins now in the second half v Down and again today and turned the game in our favour.It feels like a big win ,as Roscommon have been (still are)a very good team last few years and I'm sure it will bring our lads on.Our preformances are getting better every game so hopefully that trend will continue. Very early days though so wont get carried away but great to see us been competitive and playing with a bit of belief.

Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 312 - 23/02/2025 21:53:25    2592776

Replying To systematic:  "No. If a team goes down to 14 men they only need to keep min 2 up/back. Same if down to 13 only need keep min 1 up/back"
And if your opponents go down 1 or 2 men it's no real advantage to the team with 15.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2247 - 23/02/2025 22:28:47    2592793

Replying To systematic:  "No. If a team goes down to 14 men they only need to keep min 2 up/back. Same if down to 13 only need keep min 1 up/back"
This was even before the red card. Skim through the first half on TG4 player. The Galway forwards were retreating each time Donegal were attempted to take ball outside of their 45. Because of the wind, no kickpass was possible so Galway played in banks of 4-4-2 on the 45 and midfield lines. No forward inside the 21 and no players were subsequently penalized for leaving the 45 to claim possession and force turnovers.

If the best intercounty refs and a full team of officials can't manage it then what's the point?

SurelyToGod (Donegal) - Posts: 448 - 24/02/2025 00:47:52    2592809

Replying To PattyONeill:  "You would think Donegal would be used to playing in strong winds. I remember reading an article about the Donegal teams in the past played a short passing running game because that is how they grew up playing because of the weather."
That looked to be Gael force winds in the first 25 minutes, seen Patton setting the ball for the kick-out and the ball blowing towards him, even the short hand passes were getting intercepted by the wind when Donegal attempted to attack. The first half reminded me a bit of the Tyrone v Dublin league match from a few years back in Healy Park, evening match during a bad storm which Tyrone won I think.

However all that aside, Galway were superb, particularly Shane Walsh and Maher, simply outstanding performances. They brought superior intensity and physicality and I think they were going to win regardless of the weather.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1290 - 24/02/2025 09:08:34    2592825

Replying To SurelyToGod:  "This was even before the red card. Skim through the first half on TG4 player. The Galway forwards were retreating each time Donegal were attempted to take ball outside of their 45. Because of the wind, no kickpass was possible so Galway played in banks of 4-4-2 on the 45 and midfield lines. No forward inside the 21 and no players were subsequently penalized for leaving the 45 to claim possession and force turnovers.

If the best intercounty refs and a full team of officials can't manage it then what's the point?"
It's no longer the 45 it's the halfway line. that was changed before the start of the league

systematic (Galway) - Posts: 133 - 24/02/2025 10:26:14    2592845

Replying To PattyONeill:  "You would think Donegal would be used to playing in strong winds. I remember reading an article about the Donegal teams in the past played a short passing running game because that is how they grew up playing because of the weather."
Now most players don't mind a bit of a breeze, in fact some prefer it but thone was aggressive .. howling like a banshee it was.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 586 - 24/02/2025 10:43:19    2592850

Replying To Proudroyal:  "Fair play,yeah think we were the better team alright.We went on a scoring spree for 5/10 mins now in the second half v Down and again today and turned the game in our favour.It feels like a big win ,as Roscommon have been (still are)a very good team last few years and I'm sure it will bring our lads on.Our preformances are getting better every game so hopefully that trend will continue. Very early days though so wont get carried away but great to see us been competitive and playing with a bit of belief."
You were certainly the better team and fully deserved your win. Two very interesting games ahead against Louth, Monaghan that will decide if you are promoted back to Div 1 or not.

As for ourselves even a decent team shouldn't concede two goals in a minute in the manner that we did and butcher big goal scoring chances at the other end.

Plenty of food for thought and that defeat has thankfully ended the ridiculous hype created by tabloid like sites such as off the ball.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3957 - 24/02/2025 12:03:37    2592872

bookies got it badly wrong had rossies 1/3 in betting and meath at 11/4.
meath also were bookies favs to be relegated which they should be clear of that danger now on 6 points. i think westmeath will go down maybe with either down or louth. Louth have 3 tough last matches. could meath put their final nail in cofffin in Inniskeen? it would be some redemption for meath to possibly be promoted and relegate louth on same day in Inniskeen of all places.

dickie10 (UK) - Posts: 809 - 24/02/2025 15:42:22    2592939

That was an excuse pulled up a few years back.
Many a footballer from West Cork, Kerry, Clare, Galway and Mayo had a good laugh out of that one.

When the wind blows you spend 35mins handpassing and 35min kicking it long.

Salthill is windier than any county ground in the country.
Donegal made 3 big mistakes
1. Opting to play into the wind away from home - when your away always pick the wind advantage first if you get the chance
2. Setting up in a low block defensively - Galway have lots of long range shooters - with a gale behind them you need to put pressure on the kickers at halfway
3. Didnt swap out their goalie for 2nd half - Should have put Patton to corner back and brought on a forward as the keeper.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1241 - 24/02/2025 16:40:23    2592952

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "That was an excuse pulled up a few years back.
Many a footballer from West Cork, Kerry, Clare, Galway and Mayo had a good laugh out of that one.

When the wind blows you spend 35mins handpassing and 35min kicking it long.

Salthill is windier than any county ground in the country.
Donegal made 3 big mistakes
1. Opting to play into the wind away from home - when your away always pick the wind advantage first if you get the chance
2. Setting up in a low block defensively - Galway have lots of long range shooters - with a gale behind them you need to put pressure on the kickers at halfway
3. Didnt swap out their goalie for 2nd half - Should have put Patton to corner back and brought on a forward as the keeper."
Arguably made 4 mistakes so, when you consider they left McBrearty, McHugh and Murphy at home. Donegal do not want to contest the NFL final, as it's scheduling just doesn't fit their championship preparation for Derry. A defeat was very much on Donegal's agenda yesterday, and drawing too many conclusions from these types of games mighn't be the wisest route.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3985 - 24/02/2025 17:02:48    2592960

Replying To dickie10:  "bookies got it badly wrong had rossies 1/3 in betting and meath at 11/4.
meath also were bookies favs to be relegated which they should be clear of that danger now on 6 points. i think westmeath will go down maybe with either down or louth. Louth have 3 tough last matches. could meath put their final nail in cofffin in Inniskeen? it would be some redemption for meath to possibly be promoted and relegate louth on same day in Inniskeen of all places."
What bookies was that as when I viewed the odds pre-match it was 4/11 or 8/15 for the rossies and were probably looking at how they beat Monaghan in the last game who are around the same level as Meath. Underrated home advantage and bookies favs for relegation might have come true if still managed by Colm O'Rourke instead of the big upgrade in management.

Louth could well stay up on 4 points. Westmeath aren't going to get above that total and Down unlikely to get more than 4 points and Louth have the head to head on them after yesterdays win.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 320 - 24/02/2025 17:33:36    2592970

At the moment it looks like the Northern Counties are struggling with this new format.
Would it be fair to say it was them who invented the blanket defence style thus far the new format was introduced!
Armagh, Tyrone and Derry are in relegation battle Div 1
Down look like relegation from Div 2
Fermanagh and Antrim aren't upto much in Div 3.
I note Armagh, Tyrone, Derry,Down, Fermanagh and Antrim all to lose this weekend is a tasty 28/1.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2511 - 26/02/2025 15:20:48    2593357

Replying To katser:  "At the moment it looks like the Northern Counties are struggling with this new format.
Would it be fair to say it was them who invented the blanket defence style thus far the new format was introduced!
I note Armagh, Tyrone, Derry,Down, Fermanagh and Antrim all to lose this weekend is a tasty 28/1."
Donegal are doing well. Only one loss to Galway, and that was in a game with gale force wind! Mcguinness definitely invented the blanket along with Harte, but he's adapted well, with many of the players kicking 2 pointers!

Ryanteam (Cork) - Posts: 450 - 26/02/2025 17:07:17    2593376

Replying To Ryanteam:  "Donegal are doing well. Only one loss to Galway, and that was in a game with gale force wind! Mcguinness definitely invented the blanket along with Harte, but he's adapted well, with many of the players kicking 2 pointers!"
He definitely adopted that blanket style but only after suffering it from the Northern Counties years before.
In fairness Donegal were always good long range footballers as they would say in Kerry " a proper football team" Foot and Ball style , hands catch foot kicks.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2511 - 26/02/2025 17:24:36    2593383

Replying To Ryanteam:  "Donegal are doing well. Only one loss to Galway, and that was in a game with gale force wind! Mcguinness definitely invented the blanket along with Harte, but he's adapted well, with many of the players kicking 2 pointers!"
Best to wait until end of league before making rash predictions,monaghan and cavan doing well also.

isfeidirrlinn (Armagh) - Posts: 7 - 26/02/2025 17:48:59    2593386

Replying To katser:  "He definitely adopted that blanket style but only after suffering it from the Northern Counties years before.
In fairness Donegal were always good long range footballers as they would say in Kerry " a proper football team" Foot and Ball style , hands catch foot kicks."
Donegal is a Northern county.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2247 - 26/02/2025 18:17:20    2593391

Replying To katser:  "At the moment it looks like the Northern Counties are struggling with this new format.
I note Armagh, Tyrone, Derry,Down, Fermanagh and Antrim all to lose this weekend is a tasty 28/1."
Galway win a couple of matches and suddenly you all high and mighty. How long is it from Sam was resting in Connacht?

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2247 - 26/02/2025 18:19:23    2593392

Replying To Saynothing:  "Galway win a couple of matches and suddenly you all high and mighty. How long is it from Sam was resting in Connacht?"
Wow it was just my opinion and I get kneecapped!!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2511 - 26/02/2025 19:03:00    2593400

Replying To katser:  "Wow it was just my opinion and I get kneecapped!!"
Its a kick up the a&$e your looking for.
Anyone trying to make sweeping statements in February, with new rules and players only feeding back into the team slowly.

When you look at the championship draw, you can see who needs to be ready earlier.

Donegal and Derry is 6th April
Galway, Roscommon, Monaghan, Cork have to be ready for 19th April
Armagh and Tyrone is the 26th April
Mayo don't need to be at full pace until 4th May
Kerry don't need to be at full pace until 17th May
Dublin only have to get excited on 24th May

You can see for the performances so far that Galway, Donegal, Roscommon, Monaghan and Cork are all showing well because they need to be.

Armagh, Tyrone and Mayo are a bit behind

Kerry are living off goals at the minute and but for them would have lost to Derry and Tyrone
Dublin have all new lads and got lucky with a couple of matches they could easily have lost (Mayo & Kerry) - their sheer volume of players allows them mess around and still do well
Derry were unlucky against Kerry and Galway but poor in the other two matches - they seem to have over compensated after last years early season good form turned into a flat championship.

Galway are going for the league - win next match and they will pull up the handbrake until the league final, Donegal have started to ease off for a few matches but will be up for the last round of the league, as will Derry, Tyrone, Armagh

You could predict the last few rounds of div 1 based on championship start dates

Allianz Football League Roinn 1
Mayo v Kerry - Mayo - Mayo have a lot of players back and will be out to win this one - Kerry still having the craic
Armagh v Dublin - Dublin - Armagh focused on championship - Dublin want a league final just to be at something
Galway v Tyrone - Galway - Galway going for a league final and at home in Tuam
Donegal v Derry - Derry - Cant see Donegal showing their hand here Derry badly looking for points

Kerry v Armagh - Kerry at home and starting to up the anti
Dublin v Galway - Dublin looking for a final and Galway already in it
Mayo v Derry - Mayo looking to put the league to bed
Donegal v Tyrone - Tyrone - Donegal trying to avoid a league final and Tyrone wanting to stay up

Galway v Kerry - Kerry - Galway easing up for league final and Kerry prepping for Cork/Clare
Mayo v Donegal - Donegal - Donegal warming up for 1st round of championship, Mayo could be safe
Armagh v Derry - Armagh - Both teams trying to avoid relegation - could be a good match
Tyrone v Dublin - Tyrone - Dublin easing up for league final - Tyrone needing to avoid relegation

Final Table
Dublin - 10 points
Galway - 9 points
Kerry - 8 points
Donegal - 8 points
Mayo - 7 points
Tyrone - 6 points
Armagh - 5 points
Derry - 2 points

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1241 - 27/02/2025 16:29:34    2593527