Wexford Hurling 2025

Replying To WEXILE:  "Absolutely, it makes sense doesn't it. Nurture and nature. Training can be only 2 hours a week and in dual clubs it can only be 1 hour a week plus a match every 2nd week.

I see it my own club here, the best lads are the lads who's parents value the game and puck around with the kids. Don't underestimate bringing kids to intercounty games also so they can experience the culture and intensity.

Coincidentally my club played Naas u9s a few weeks ago. Some great little players on the Naas team. Looks like plenty of work going in"
Sure if that's the case why do we need Keith Rossiter at all? Let all the first team just puck around with their Dads in the back garden instead of going to training in the Ferns Centre of Excellence

Yellow (Wexford) - Posts: 588 - 21/04/2025 19:17:35    2603470

I live in Dublin and whilst it's not the furthest away I go to all games. Unfortunately I can't make the Offaly game due to a prior engagement and can't get out of it. I've seen the best and worst out of wexford but would travel to the ends of the earth to follow them.

On Saturday I thaught in the second half our middle third really worked hard made it tough for Antrim bottled them up and turned the ball over a lot. I didn't agree with McManus analysis on the Sunday game yes they were strong for the first 10 minutes and 5 in the second but not for 20 either half. I taught both our goals were simple but executed well. We will need more next week. I think we need a bit more scoring from our forwards.

Jack had to go but I believe it was a tactic by Davy to antagonise him and it worked. And I wouldn't mind but he was hurling ok. 2 points on the board let's hope for another 2 next sat

Wexfordgaa (Wexford) - Posts: 357 - 21/04/2025 19:19:26    2603472

Replying To WEXILE:  "Having everything in place is no guarantee that you'll be competitive either. If the quality of player coming in from the clubs is not great then no amount of underage development is going to make them great.

They'll improve and they'll be fit and strong but if you're not great to start with then you won't be great just because you're in a good development atmosphere.

Nothing the county board can do to produce skilful hurlers, not an awful lot clubs can do either apart from good coaching and guidance.

Skills are honed at home on the days that don't count as training. You can roll lift a.ball on a Tuesday and Thursday from age 5 to 18 till the cows come home....if.youre not doing it at home every chance you get you'll never do it quicker than say a kilkenny lad that's so in to hurling that he does it.morning noon and night.

Great players live the game on their own time. Against the barn door and.all that craic.

It's the home environment that fosters the love of the game not the county board and.the clubs can only develop what comes in from the homes.

Its not what are the county boards doing it's what are the parents doing?

Look at hurling families like O Connors and Quigleys, Rackards. No county boards developed those lads.

Each parent into hurling ask yourself are YOU doing enough to have your young lads mad about hurling.....bring em out practicing etc.

I don't think there's enough of that in Wexford"
Exactly...only 4,700 for a home championship match

WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 475 - 21/04/2025 20:50:33    2603492

Replying To Yellow:  "Sure if that's the case why do we need Keith Rossiter at all? Let all the first team just puck around with their Dads in the back garden instead of going to training in the Ferns Centre of Excellence"
Yep sit back and do nothing. Let the club volunteers do it all and when it don't work whinge online saying something wrong with our underage.

Hurling in the early age is learned at home

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 348 - 21/04/2025 21:55:06    2603503

Replying To OpenStandWall:  "Happy enough with that, we were sluggish to begin but settled down nicely and got the job done.

Very impressed by Molloy and I think he's cemented his place for the year, looks a serious player and brings physicality that we badly need in defence. Impressed with our work rate also, Donohoe looks a lot better that bit further out the field. Does anyone else think we may be a bit light on the bench at the moment? Was the 60th min before we made any changes and a few players looked nearly out on their feet at that stage.

Not sure what the story with Jippo is and I think on account of the red card he'll start with McGuckin moved to wing forward although I'd like to see Casey or Redmond come in."
I'd seriously hope Keith doesn't start with McGuckin half forward, he is far from a natural attacker and is only hanging onto his place in the half back line as it is. We need a forward like Casey to start. Mcguckin contributes nothing there and work rate isn't enough in the forwards at this level

Purpleandgold72 (Wexford) - Posts: 247 - 21/04/2025 22:34:02    2603509

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "I'd rather see Richie Lawlor in the half-forward line than McGuckian

I wonder would they have been better off giving Jippo some minutes last Saturday, would have meant that he was a little less rusty coming into the Dublin game

Bench is going to be an issue all year long, will get a little bit better if the injuries clear up but is not going to improve markedly, this is where the loss of Oisín Foley really hurts us the most"
Id hope the last time Mcguckian was tried at half forward was in Thurles last year in Clare. Stating the obvious but there's a world of difference between facing the puck outs at half back instead of half forward. Oisin Foley, if...he committed would be an option for sure...but he hasn't done so in a couple of years. He didn't exactly shine the previous year against likes of Dublin or Galway either so let's not kid ourselves. Time to focus on lads who have committed.

The panel does look light though. Many of those on the bench v Antrim didn't really impress in the league, likes of Carley and CBD haven't kicked on yet at senior level like we expected. There's a reason Jacko is still starting...and it's not due to how well he has performed in recent seasons. Others haven't performed consistently enough to deserve more opportunities. Mikey Dwyer has been plagued with injuries, would be a big call to bring him back in. I think the best call is the most obvious one - Seamus Casey and Cian Byrne inside. ROC to come out.

In saying all that, it's a great opportunity for us next weekend. We tend to beat ourselves v Dublin. Going to need a lot more from likes of ROC and Cian Byrne but both are well capable. If he's anywhere near fit then I think you have to start Liam Ryan, maybe even at 6. I think we will finally beat Dublin next weekend.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 378 - 21/04/2025 23:05:57    2603513

Replying To WEX98:  "Exactly...only 4,700 for a home championship match"
Can't blame Thurles or the Féule either. Anyway a good win and start.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 378 - 21/04/2025 23:08:03    2603514

Replying To Purpleandgold72:  "I'd seriously hope Keith doesn't start with McGuckin half forward, he is far from a natural attacker and is only hanging onto his place in the half back line as it is. We need a forward like Casey to start. Mcguckin contributes nothing there and work rate isn't enough in the forwards at this level"
MCGuckisn has the work rate. Casey not as much. He does give effort though. Casey is a finisher, best off the bench with 15 mins or so to go, especially now that MCDonald seems to be gone!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2194 - 22/04/2025 00:34:04    2603529

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Don't know why I bothered with the Sunday game.

Most of the programme was the games that were live. Two great games in Munster in fairness.

Then heaping praise on how great Dublin are, then how Offaly can step up.

And oh yeah Wexford won.

I'm really looking forward to next weekend now. Dublin were well organised and pulled it out of the bag when they needed to.

We still have better hurlers but we really have to be up for the battle here to get a result. There's never much between us but we have to have a bit of guts."
I have heard that been said quite a bit in last 5 Years, Wexford have better players than Dublin??? That I find harsh, we haven't beaten them since 2018, There is the crux of the matter. We don't have better players over all. If we had we would have won the last 3 games similar to KK. Do Wexford senior players have this sense of superiority over Dublin? How? I seen nothing in last 4 years to say Wx are better than Dublin, I am sure the Dubs use it as motivation or maybe not, Wexford aren't exactly Top tier at moment and this ludicrous thinking. We take Chin/Rory out we in Joe McDonagh full stop. We need to wake up. Minor/U21 won't get far.

Tox73 (Wexford) - Posts: 180 - 22/04/2025 00:35:25    2603530

Replying To WEXILE:  "Yep sit back and do nothing. Let the club volunteers do it all and when it don't work whinge online saying something wrong with our underage.

Hurling in the early age is learned at home"
Modern parenting for some people involves buying their children laptops or tablets and paying a sky subscription. And getting us to babysit their kids a few nights a week for free so they can tell themselves they are looking after their child's mental and physical health.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15466 - 22/04/2025 06:34:33    2603537

Replying To Purpleandgold72:  "I'd seriously hope Keith doesn't start with McGuckin half forward, he is far from a natural attacker and is only hanging onto his place in the half back line as it is. We need a forward like Casey to start. Mcguckin contributes nothing there and work rate isn't enough in the forwards at this level"
In fairness to Charlie workrate is one of his strengths. But agree 100% he's not a half forward, his shooting at Senior intercounty level is a definite work on to be polite about it.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15466 - 22/04/2025 07:46:14    2603541

Some big calls to be made for the starting 15 Saturday. I have a feeling Jippo will start . He will have 2 weeks then to rest up for Salthill. I presume Shane Reck wont return until the Galway game at the earliest. Jacko is a loss as a puck out option in the half forward line. Dublin will know we will send everything on top of Chin! For that reason Im tempted to start Jack Redmond even though he is inexperienced he is an option for a puck out rather than starting Casey who is more experienced . Its a massive game I think if we win we have a huge chance of making a Leinster final.
Team id go with is
Fanning
C Foley
L Ryan
Molloy
Lawlor
D Reck
McGuckin
Hearne
Donohoe
J Redmond
Chin
Dunbar ( Need more out of him was very quiet Saturday)
C Byrne
ROC
K Foley

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 527 - 22/04/2025 09:26:47    2603560

Replying To Timbertony:  "Id hope the last time Mcguckian was tried at half forward was in Thurles last year in Clare. Stating the obvious but there's a world of difference between facing the puck outs at half back instead of half forward. Oisin Foley, if...he committed would be an option for sure...but he hasn't done so in a couple of years. He didn't exactly shine the previous year against likes of Dublin or Galway either so let's not kid ourselves. Time to focus on lads who have committed.

The panel does look light though. Many of those on the bench v Antrim didn't really impress in the league, likes of Carley and CBD haven't kicked on yet at senior level like we expected. There's a reason Jacko is still starting...and it's not due to how well he has performed in recent seasons. Others haven't performed consistently enough to deserve more opportunities. Mikey Dwyer has been plagued with injuries, would be a big call to bring him back in. I think the best call is the most obvious one - Seamus Casey and Cian Byrne inside. ROC to come out.

In saying all that, it's a great opportunity for us next weekend. We tend to beat ourselves v Dublin. Going to need a lot more from likes of ROC and Cian Byrne but both are well capable. If he's anywhere near fit then I think you have to start Liam Ryan, maybe even at 6. I think we will finally beat Dublin next weekend."
I'm not saying Oisín Foley would solve a lot of our problems or that he would even start but our bench would at least have been stronger with him, I'd rather Dunbar coming on from the bench in an ideal world but alas, we have the play the hand we are dealt

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 445 - 22/04/2025 09:41:04    2603564

Replying To WEX98:  "Exactly...only 4,700 for a home championship match"
I think the attitude of many supporters is " Ah sure we'll wait until we play the better teams
If we can't beat Antrim we are going nowhere"
Saturday afternoon at 2.00pm and having to fork out €25.00 were other factors.
If we are motoring well and we win our next game then the support will greatly increase for our remaining home games.
Sad to say but we simply can't rival the Munster teams when it comes to support on a regular basis.
Of course Wexford Park will be full to the brim when we play Kilkenny if we are still in contention at that time.
When it comes to championship teams like Cork, Limerick, Clare and Tipperary will more often than not will bring massive support home or away.
Unfortunately we will never match them, except when we get to a leinster final against the Cats.

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 428 - 22/04/2025 09:53:54    2603568

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "I'm not saying Oisín Foley would solve a lot of our problems or that he would even start but our bench would at least have been stronger with him, I'd rather Dunbar coming on from the bench in an ideal world but alas, we have the play the hand we are dealt"
The two Foley brothers are constantly travelling and that's fair enough. No point talking about them as potential Wexford players anymore.
They are entitled to travel all they want.
Let's concentrate on players we have that are committed.

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 428 - 22/04/2025 10:19:38    2603577

Replying To Magpie2:  "I think the attitude of many supporters is " Ah sure we'll wait until we play the better teams
If we can't beat Antrim we are going nowhere"
Saturday afternoon at 2.00pm and having to fork out €25.00 were other factors.
If we are motoring well and we win our next game then the support will greatly increase for our remaining home games.
Sad to say but we simply can't rival the Munster teams when it comes to support on a regular basis.
Of course Wexford Park will be full to the brim when we play Kilkenny if we are still in contention at that time.
When it comes to championship teams like Cork, Limerick, Clare and Tipperary will more often than not will bring massive support home or away.
Unfortunately we will never match them, except when we get to a leinster final against the Cats."
I'd agree the notion that we have brilliant supporters is a myth . We have max 5k who will go to to league games and championship games like Antrim or Carlow etc. Then if we reach a Leinster final or all Ireland semi we have at least 40k supporters all of a sudden . I hope to see a big Wexford following in Parnell park on Saturday

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 527 - 22/04/2025 11:29:34    2603598

Lads does Chin have a day job or is he basically a professional full time hurler?

I remember an article back in 2018 saying he quit his day job as a barber and was at the hurling full time to get the best out of himself.

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 907 - 22/04/2025 11:52:12    2603605

Replying To Afinestick96:  "I'd agree the notion that we have brilliant supporters is a myth . We have max 5k who will go to to league games and championship games like Antrim or Carlow etc. Then if we reach a Leinster final or all Ireland semi we have at least 40k supporters all of a sudden . I hope to see a big Wexford following in Parnell park on Saturday"
Would say there were 4k-4.5k from Wexford in Wexford Park the last day and I'd imagine it could be a similar enough number in Parnell Park

Would've thought Offaly have a decent enough following these days and yet their match against Dublin had fewer than 6k at it

Also, I think a lot of people in Wexford like hurling but I'm not sure that many love hurling, hence the bandwagoning

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 445 - 22/04/2025 12:46:21    2603617

Replying To Tox73:  "I have heard that been said quite a bit in last 5 Years, Wexford have better players than Dublin??? That I find harsh, we haven't beaten them since 2018, There is the crux of the matter. We don't have better players over all. If we had we would have won the last 3 games similar to KK. Do Wexford senior players have this sense of superiority over Dublin? How? I seen nothing in last 4 years to say Wx are better than Dublin, I am sure the Dubs use it as motivation or maybe not, Wexford aren't exactly Top tier at moment and this ludicrous thinking. We take Chin/Rory out we in Joe McDonagh full stop. We need to wake up. Minor/U21 won't get far."
It's something that some on here have been going on about ever since Dublin came back into Hurling, sure they are just big fit lads, the Wexford players would always have too much skill for them. There are some people who just cannot accept that Dublin could be better than Wexford.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1941 - 22/04/2025 12:48:38    2603618

Not sure if this was posted earlier but I'm sick of people tweeting etc of the poor crowds at the Leinster matches at the weekend. Look at the times they were on at 2 on a Saturday, Kilkenny afterwards. In all fairness terrible times for games, same this Saturday 4? What do they expect, lot of people working etc. No fear of them putting Munster games at those times on a Saturday.

alwaysasub (Wexford) - Posts: 474 - 22/04/2025 13:12:15    2603621