Think Conor Foley was very very good also. Ryan played better as the game went on, same as the last 3 games. Hopefully Casey has his confidence up and kicks on when playing on better defenders down the line. Hes as fit and strong looking as I ever saw him fair play to him he must be putting in savage work off the pitch the last couple years. Surely to God Byrnes red card will be overturned. Shocking decision, but then in fairness to the referee he didn't see it, he consulted others and he didn't have the benefit of an instant video replay. Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14978 - 24/02/2025 09:50:13 2592832 Link 0 |
I do anyway. Inspiring lad at so many different levels.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14978 - 24/02/2025 10:18:58 2592840 Link 0 |
Hope so. I don't think it was dirty. His only other red was similar in terms of no intent to harm, he went in hard and the other lad ended up pretty low and he caught his helmet. Was rash OK, but not malicious. Yesterday wasn't even rash, when he went to pull the ball was there, I don't always agree with TSG pundits but it did look like excellent defending from Lohan moving the ball. Shame he got caught on the follow through. Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14978 - 24/02/2025 10:22:18 2592841 Link 0 |
Biggest concern from yesterday as has been the case for the last 10 odd years was our free taking the start of the second half - I think if we had put those frees over it could've put us up 6/7 to the good at that stage granted the wind wasn't ideal for free taking, with a 3 point lead in a championship game missing those frees will be punished. OpenStandWall (Wexford) - Posts: 203 - 24/02/2025 10:31:06 2592847 Link 0 |
We got a total of 15 frees and 10 scores. I get what you mean but I'd be hoping in the summer time Byrne will be nailing most of them.
Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3412 - 24/02/2025 11:13:01 2592858 Link 0 |
He's been our best player all year. Thought Dunbar did well in midfield also, definitely was busier than he is sometimes.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14978 - 24/02/2025 11:22:38 2592860 Link 0 |
The technique all of our lads use when taking frees wouldn't fill you with confidence. Byrne kind of slaps at the ball a bit so can push to the left. Chin, borderline fouls the ball anyway, but it's never a smooth action in his pick up. Rory was the same when he tried them, far too fast. Casey had a go in the league last year and was similar. Likes of Gillane, Reid, Horgan, it's like a good golfer with their method. When the pressure comes on if your technique is solid you will hit the ball more consistently. Codd was good alright but pick another in last 30 years? Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 367 - 24/02/2025 11:22:40 2592861 Link 0 |
Again, comes back to coaching. Are young lads in clubs showed how to take a free properly? It is not an easy thing to master. I'd say Chin only started taking frees in his twenties. Past hurler (None) - Posts: 867 - 24/02/2025 11:35:38 2592864 Link 0 |
I don't have the stats but from memory gizzy was pretty consistent although unorthodox in technique as well. Ian Byrne was good too but just not in the team long enough to be considered great. It's easy for me to say but you would think that should be simple to fix yet alludes us for decades. Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3412 - 24/02/2025 11:45:47 2592868 Link 0 |
Tbf, I think Cian Byrne's free-taking has always been decent enough, wasn't much of an issue at under-age IIRC or at club level from what I've seen, only really seems to have become an issue in the last two games ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 395 - 24/02/2025 12:38:09 2592882 Link 0 |
To be fair to Cian it was a difficult wind in Ennis yesterday, Delighted with the performance our touch is getting better and we moved the ball through the lines and into the corners well. Casey showed if we play him the right ball he is a danger. Thought the backs done well Reck was very good as was Conor Foley. Hearne is becoming our most consistent performer always full of energy. Lawlor has really came on this season. Think Jacko and Jack Redmonds height and physicality is a big addition to us. Foley and Cian Byrne did a lot of good things too and I hope we have Cian for Saturday. Chin was outstanding as usual its unbelievable the difference he makes to us as a team. Looking forward to Saturday. If we win we are in with a right chance of staying up so its a big game. If we play with the same intensity and confidence on the ball i'll be happy. Hopefully we get more time into the legs for Shane Reck and I hear Rory could possibly feature, Also Cian Molloy is a player with undoubted ability and would like to see him feature at some stage . I wouldnt expect too many changes to the starting 15. Hopefully we get a big crowd in on Saturday night.
Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 448 - 24/02/2025 13:07:12 2592884 Link 0 |
Ian Byrne hardly ever started. Codd was excellent ok, but had a very unusual style of taking them he used to walk into them a good bit in front of himself, and from memory Lyng was too. Casey is usually pretty reliable, as is Byrne. Conor Foley takes them for his club also, although it's not under the same pressure. Rory and Jacko can take them, Rory was on them for the Martins this year. Since Lyng Joe Coleman is the best I've seen, though like Byrne isn't an intercounty starter. Harry Kehoe is pretty good on them for Cloughbawn but I can't remember him taking one for the county when he was playing. Mark Byrne isn't on the panel any more but he is very good at them also. Cathal Doyle has been on them for us the last few years, he's also usually pretty good, but not on the panel any more either. Dee used to take them before Kennedy for the Annes didn't he? Can't remember him taking them for the county either. Young McCarthy has been taking them for Tipp this year and he has an unusual way of taking them too. I don't think there's a correct way to take them, once you score over 90% of them! Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14978 - 24/02/2025 13:22:59 2592886 Link 0 |
Yesterday the wind out on the pitch was savage. And even worse above the height of the stands. Plenty of adjustment had to be made, but the wind sometimes weakened. It wasn't consistent.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14978 - 24/02/2025 13:25:33 2592887 Link 0 |
Chin is the most important player in the country to his team bar none. No other player has the same influence on their team as Chin does for Wexford. Even TJ, Eoghan O'Donnell, Tony Kelly, Joe Canning back a few years ago. Chin makes your lads tick like no other. ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1274 - 24/02/2025 13:29:04 2592889 Link 0 |
Or could be the losing of the game resulting in a team getting knocked out. Having watched it a few times I'm not sure there was an awful lot to Burkes push with the hurl, and his sending off definitely helped Offaly beat your lads. Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14978 - 24/02/2025 13:46:43 2592896 Link 0 |
I would go as far to say that Hearne would probably get onto any team in the country at this stage. He is the prototype modern midfielder. That position seems to suit Dunbar too, though will need a bigger body of work to say for definite. I agree with the earlier statement about Chin too- he is an all-time great. His will be enormous boots to fill. beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1467 - 24/02/2025 14:56:16 2592919 Link 0 |
That's because Chin is a top class player surrounded by a lot of average players, he'd make any team in Ireland. You take rory o Connor out of the that wexford team and the gap between chin and the rest of the players is big. He's also the heart and soul of that team too imo.
Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2172 - 24/02/2025 17:52:26 2592982 Link 0 |
Hearne was our most consistent player last year too. His engine to get up and down the field is phenomenal and a great hurler. If Wexford beat Galway this weekend, it's put ourselves and Galway on 4pts each and we'd have them on head to head. Galway's other results v Limerick & Cork would determine if we stay up or not and our last game v Limerick too. Past hurler (None) - Posts: 867 - 24/02/2025 18:38:54 2592993 Link 0 |
Think there could be a bit of shadow boxing with Galway next Saturday. Do both teams really want to be showing their full hand? That's why it was critical to perform in Ennis yesterday, we simply had to. If we get some game time into likes of Rory, Shane Reck and Molloy and are competitive, that will be enough. Galway seem to have made big changes to their squad this year.
Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 367 - 24/02/2025 19:53:17 2593006 Link 0 |
Good chance that over 40% of our staring team come Championship will be U23 ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 395 - 24/02/2025 19:54:58 2593007 Link 0 |