Irish At The Paris Olympics

Replying To Curlew66:  "Eight Irish boxers are now eliminated, no issues with six of them losing (Grainne Walsh, Jennifer Lehane, Dean Clancy, Aidan Walsh, Jude Gallagher and Jack Marley)
Many neutral commentators felt both Aoife O Rourke and Diana Moorehouse were convincing winners but the verdict favoured the Polish and French boxers."
Its just a bit ironic that the whole country go mad celebrating when we win a medal awarded by the same judges everyone complains about when we lose.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 550 - 02/08/2024 11:57:45    2563561

Replying To greenfan:  "So when we win medals there's no problem with the judging. But every time a boxer loses its bad judging."
Silly comment……

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 2729 - 02/08/2024 12:00:02    2563562

Replying To Scenicparish:  "You obviously know nothing about boxing when you come out with a statement like that?"
I know nothing about boxing, probably the same as you. Suddenly everyone in the country is a boxing expert. Its just a bit ironic that when our boxers lose, the judges are poor . Yet everyone in the country celebrates when our boxers are awarded medals by the EXACT SAME judges. And nobody wants to talk about the fact that some of the medals our boxers won in the past came from fights where the judging could also be questioned.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 550 - 02/08/2024 12:10:13    2563565

Replying To greenfan:  "Its just a bit ironic that the whole country go mad celebrating when we win a medal awarded by the same judges everyone complains about when we lose."
Ireland have lost 8 fighters so far. Only complaining about 2 decisions. So it's not all complaints when we lose. It's just complaints over losing fights that we look like we've won.

What specific fights have Irish boxers been 'awarded' in the past that looked dodgey?

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3829 - 02/08/2024 12:30:08    2563569

Replying To greenfan:  "I know nothing about boxing, probably the same as you. Suddenly everyone in the country is a boxing expert. Its just a bit ironic that when our boxers lose, the judges are poor . Yet everyone in the country celebrates when our boxers are awarded medals by the EXACT SAME judges. And nobody wants to talk about the fact that some of the medals our boxers won in the past came from fights where the judging could also be questioned."
A broken clock is right twice a day.

I've represented Ireland in 3 internationals as a boxer. I've boxed on the same card as Andy Lee and Katie Taylor as a youth and trained in the high performance unit with Billy Walsh and Eddie Bolger as a youth.

Olympic boxing was taken away from it's own governing body and given to a special task force run by the IOC because of corruption.

I'd be surprised if it's not taken off the Olympic schedule altogether after this.

Just a side note the old scoring system was much more difficult to cheat.

10 point rounds are far more subjective than scoring punch on the white of the glove.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3042 - 02/08/2024 12:49:16    2563573

Replying To greenfan:  "Its just a bit ironic that the whole country go mad celebrating when we win a medal awarded by the same judges everyone complains about when we lose."
Everyone is not complaining about all 8 losses , we are disappointed with just 2 verdicts (25 % of our losses, not all) …. did you see O'Rourkes and Moorehouse bouts and what did you think ? I thought they were both clear and convincing winners

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 571 - 02/08/2024 13:01:02    2563576

Replying To greenfan:  "I know nothing about boxing, probably the same as you. Suddenly everyone in the country is a boxing expert. Its just a bit ironic that when our boxers lose, the judges are poor . Yet everyone in the country celebrates when our boxers are awarded medals by the EXACT SAME judges. And nobody wants to talk about the fact that some of the medals our boxers won in the past came from fights where the judging could also be questioned."
Why are you highlighting " EXACT SAME " judges… they certainly are not the same… I seem to remember Katie getting verdict in a tight contest but this was in no way tight… The Irish girl clearly won all 3 rounds and even somebody who never say a fight before would be able to deduce this… It was a total home town decision and the French girl and their corner must have been very embarrassed when they got back to the dressing rooms……

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 2729 - 02/08/2024 13:49:13    2563582

Replying To Doylerwex:  "A broken clock is right twice a day.

I've represented Ireland in 3 internationals as a boxer. I've boxed on the same card as Andy Lee and Katie Taylor as a youth and trained in the high performance unit with Billy Walsh and Eddie Bolger as a youth.

Olympic boxing was taken away from it's own governing body and given to a special task force run by the IOC because of corruption.

I'd be surprised if it's not taken off the Olympic schedule altogether after this.

Just a side note the old scoring system was much more difficult to cheat.

10 point rounds are far more subjective than scoring punch on the white of the glove."
Fair play Doyler. A brilliant achievement to represent your country. I better watch what I say in the future about the Wexford hurlers or I might get the head boxed off me!

bloodandbandage (Cork) - Posts: 347 - 02/08/2024 14:34:57    2563592

Bulgarian girl is fantastic. Tough luck Walsh

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3042 - 02/08/2024 15:00:05    2563599

Michaela Walsh eliminated, Kellie last one standing of our ten boxers.
No complaints about seven of our defeats. Very disappointed for Aoife and Daina.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 571 - 02/08/2024 15:09:02    2563601

Replying To bloodandbandage:  "Fair play Doyler. A brilliant achievement to represent your country. I better watch what I say in the future about the Wexford hurlers or I might get the head boxed off me!"
Oh my fighting days are far behind me my friend. My sporting life ended with some substantial nerve damage in my forearms/elbows.

You may not be aware but Billy Walsh was a very fine hurler himself and played for Wexford in a minor final before going to the boxing full time for Korea 88.

He's also from the same housing estate as Lee Chin which has produced some serious athletes.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3042 - 02/08/2024 15:29:32    2563604

I'm actually a former boxing coach. When the expert panelists on RTE ( which have provided excellent coverage ) point out which rounds that they dispute the scoring it should make sense. It's not the same judges that officiate in each fight. They had a particular problem with the Canadian judge that give all 3 rounds to the Home French boxer. Surely if you watched the fight back you might see that the Irish girl clearly won the fight. If you don't see that I suggest you watch the Athletics or some other part of the Olympics.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 402 - 02/08/2024 15:53:01    2563607

Big difference between athletics at European level and athletics at global level. Athletics enjoying a high profile in this country though swimming is delivering Olympic medals.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 8161 - 02/08/2024 21:11:05    2563630

Based on your recent posts you have some neck calling yourself "Greenfan".

The bottom line is that O'Rourke and Moorehouse both clearly won their fights as acknowledged by various international tv stations and boxing experts. They also feel that the other 7 Irish fighters who lost was deemed to be the correct decision. They just came up against better boxers on the day. (Not Moorehouse & O'Rourke who were both robbed)

Hopefully K. Harrington can bring home another gold medal for the boxers and Ireland as it is important for the boxing community and possibly their funding down the line.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 612 - 02/08/2024 21:25:28    2563634

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Ireland have lost 8 fighters so far. Only complaining about 2 decisions. So it's not all complaints when we lose. It's just complaints over losing fights that we look like we've won.

What specific fights have Irish boxers been 'awarded' in the past that looked dodgey?"
You'll be a while waiting for greenfan to answer that question I can imagine.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3456 - 03/08/2024 01:17:25    2563654

It was a lovely ( and unique ) feeling yesterday sitting down to watch a race ( the rowing ) virtually knowing that Ireland were assured a Gold medal… Those pair of Cork boys are brilliant…!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 2729 - 03/08/2024 08:19:35    2563656

Sonia O'Sullivan is not impressed by the kudos some average runners have been getting for a bit of relay success at European level. I suppose athletics need to milk a bit of success for the next generation.
Daniel Wiffen and the two rowers yesterday are consistently delivering. World class!!

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 8161 - 03/08/2024 09:24:22    2563661

Replying To legendzxix:  "Big difference between athletics at European level and athletics at global level. Athletics enjoying a high profile in this country though swimming is delivering Olympic medals."
A big difference in some events for sure. However, in others many of the top competitors are European. The 400m and 1500m for men, 400m hurdles for men and women for example along with a host of field events have European athletes at the top.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2147 - 03/08/2024 11:23:04    2563670

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "Based on your recent posts you have some neck calling yourself "Greenfan".

The bottom line is that O'Rourke and Moorehouse both clearly won their fights as acknowledged by various international tv stations and boxing experts. They also feel that the other 7 Irish fighters who lost was deemed to be the correct decision. They just came up against better boxers on the day. (Not Moorehouse & O'Rourke who were both robbed)

Hopefully K. Harrington can bring home another gold medal for the boxers and Ireland as it is important for the boxing community and possibly their funding down the line."
People can criticise me all they want but the bottom line is the Irish boxing team have had a terrible Olympics. 10 boxers delivering one medal with many beaten in the first round. Serious review of their performance is required. Harrington's medal shouldn't be allowed to paper over the cracks.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 550 - 03/08/2024 11:29:17    2563672

Heard on radio this morning that 2 judges from moorhouse fight have been stood down due to the possibility of corruption..bit late now for that fighter..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2332 - 03/08/2024 12:32:45    2563682