All Ireland Football Final 2024 - Galway V Armagh

Saw this on a WhatsApp message over the weekend.

AI Junior club champs - Arva (Cavan)
AI Intermediate club champs - Cullyhanna (Armagh)
AI Senior club champs - Glen (Derry)
Sigerson cup champs - Ulster University
Hogan cup champs - Omagh CBS
NFL Div 1 champs - Derry
NFL Div 2 champs - Donegal
Tailteann cup champs - Down
AI minor champs - Derry
AI U20 champs - Tyrone
AI Senior champs - Armagh

I think it's safe to say that Ulster football is in a good place!!!

bloodandbandage (Cork) - Posts: 347 - 30/07/2024 08:40:20    2562841

Replying To breffnibluewhite:  "Armagh played far better football than Galway yesterday in fact any football that was played was by the armagh team who especially in the first half attacked at speed and straight up the middle whereas Galway hadent a clue how to open up the armagh defence and if they were still playing would not have created a goal chance."
You say "Armagh played better football"... My problem with football for the last few years is that 90% of the time it's a short kickoff, handpass it up the field(no kicking) to meet a blanket defence and then try and work a shooter with nothing but more handpassing into position to take a shot. It's like looking at basketball except the ball is eventually attempted to be kicked over the bar. Boring boring boring... or as a pundit said one time "puke football"

Armchairreporter (Galway) - Posts: 81 - 30/07/2024 08:52:07    2562845

Replying To Saynothing:  "You would be playing a different tune if Galway won."
Just out of curiosity why would I have a different tune if Galway won?

Armchairreporter (Galway) - Posts: 81 - 30/07/2024 08:53:36    2562846

Replying To ORIELMAN85:  "Yes a Galway win would have been good too. Hopefully Padraig Joyce will stay and get his reward like McGeeny and Armagh. Have always had a liking for Galway football going back to my first All Ireland Final memory of John Donnellan lifting the Sam Maguire in 64. They completed the 3 in a row with Enda Colleran as captain and had in the team some of the finest footballers ever to grace Croke Park. My favourite was their free taker Cyril Dunne."
Ironically your favourite footballer of the time was a free taker who took frees from the ground which modern day players are incapable of doing… Our modern game is so skilled that a top county player stood over 8 frees on Sunday and missed 7 of them.. It typified what was a terrible low standard football season we have just had… Basketball all over the field and then forwards when they do get a rare sight of the posts either turn back or kick the ball wide… We even had the case of an Armagh forward 30 metres out calling for a mark with nobody near him… getting his free shot and putting it wide… pathetic, and this is supposed to be our great modern game… Get a grip you brainless fool… Even the dogs in the streets knows the game is in tatters…!!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 2729 - 30/07/2024 09:48:30    2562863

Replying To Armchairreporter:  "You say "Armagh played better football"... My problem with football for the last few years is that 90% of the time it's a short kickoff, handpass it up the field(no kicking) to meet a blanket defence and then try and work a shooter with nothing but more handpassing into position to take a shot. It's like looking at basketball except the ball is eventually attempted to be kicked over the bar. Boring boring boring... or as a pundit said one time "puke football""
Don't let the empty head from Monaghan hear you saying that….he thinks it's great football, God bless him…

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 2729 - 30/07/2024 09:53:15    2562865

Replying To jimbodub:  "It's a hard one to call

Ulster is looking strong anyway and will have a big say

But again, it's wide open with several counties that will fancy their chances with a bit of momentum behind them."
Yeah Ulster is very strong with Armagh, Derry, Donegal and Tyrone. Then you have Monaghan who are always very competitive, and Down seem to be making progress under Laverty.

Next year I'd expect to see the likes of Finbar Roarty being involved (a very exciting u20 player who was the subject of much discussion back in January when McGuinness played him for Donegal despite not being old enough under current rules. One of the very few players who have made their county senior debut before they've made their club senior debut!)

There's another lad from the Naomh Conaill club Ultan Doherty who I think could make the step up. He's a teak tough man marker.

But as I said earlier, I think we need something fresh and new in attack. Hopefully the upcoming club championships will give McGuinness food for thought.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9449 - 30/07/2024 09:54:48    2562868

So in Galway we largely have ourselves to blame for screwing up that golden opportunity but nonetheless, congrats to Armagh and wish them well but I've more than a couple of gripes with the result.
For one thing, Damien Comer's hawk eye 'wide' was indeed a point, it was never a Hawk Eye situation. Hawk eye can't clearly detect balls that get just mm or even a cm or two inside the line of the post - that's known by folks that work for the supplier, so it defaults to a Níl verdict of inline with the post. The umpires copped out. I would say a good 5,000 plus people from both sets of supporters with the right angle on the shot could clearly see it was over. Some decent Armagh folks said it to us. A BS call.
Another one - a man who has previously served a 6 month ban, has a litany of club and county cards and disciplinary issues, and prides himself on being an enforcer is Armagh CHB, Tiernan Kelly. I believe he may have targeted Rob Finnerty's knee with that foul hit. Play the video, folks. I believe he premeditated hitting him very hard and very seemingly 'awkwardly' to take him out. I believe it was discussed beforehand with Armagh mgmt. I've good reason to believe all this. Rob Finnerty was highlighted for 2 wks in the Armagh camp as the real scoring threat from Galway (more so than our other lauded forwards!), and they had a full history on his injury and recuperation, they knew we hadn't another dedicated free taker and he was deemed a huge scoring threat on the day. They knew his knee was only just coming right and they knew that he was susceptible to repeat injury under a big or 'awkward' challenge. They went after him early in the game. Pathetic on Kelly and Armagh's part to do so - not the way to win one.
I also feel that a defender bear hugging and even hugging face to face a player while off the ball is always a foul but is never called any more by umpires, linesmen or refs. The TV misses this stuff but Damien Comer, as with the Donegal match, was actually bear hugged repeatedly throughout the game, often face to face in an act of intimidation. It would be flagged and acted on in a juvenile club game but why is it tolerated at the pinnacle of our game? How is it ok for our games marquee forwards to be fully held off the ball? When did that become fully acceptable and not acted on by our officials? It's a factor in Gaelic footballs current slide as a sport vs hurling - where it certainly happens too but to a much lesser extent.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 960 - 30/07/2024 10:29:45    2562887

Replying To breffnibluewhite:  "Armagh played far better football than Galway yesterday in fact any football that was played was by the armagh team who especially in the first half attacked at speed and straight up the middle whereas Galway hadent a clue how to open up the armagh defence and if they were still playing would not have created a goal chance."
And yet Galway scored more points than Armagh, for the second time in just 6 weeks, and were accomodating enough to miss a whopping 7or8 frees/marks/'placed balls' into the bargain.

Armagh kicked the ball up in the air a few times alright, especially towards the end. That's 'far better football' in the eyes of some 'patrons', especially auld lads like myself!

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3829 - 30/07/2024 10:41:46    2562894

The idiots out there who try to compare hurling with football are absolute wallopers. You're as well comparing it with ice hockey. That game on Sunday was a tactical battle of epic proportions with everything at stake. Hard luck Galway and well done Armagh.
Hell rub it up the begrudgers, I know it's hard to see Sam go north, some of our neighbours up here are finding it tough to accept too but you've all plenty of time to get your heads around it.
Great feeling to be champions - good luck to Galway moving forward, great people and would love to see Joyce & that team get over the line in the next couple of years.

sam2024 (Armagh) - Posts: 31 - 30/07/2024 10:51:06    2562898

this all ireland final feels a bit like meath v mayo 1996 where armagh were highly unfancied and probabaly not getting the plaudits they deserve a bit like meath in 1996 the scribes are doing a lot of begrudging towards the quality of the game.

dickie10 (UK) - Posts: 747 - 30/07/2024 10:54:46    2562902

Replying To togoutlads:  "So in Galway we largely have ourselves to blame for screwing up that golden opportunity but nonetheless, congrats to Armagh and wish them well but I've more than a couple of gripes with the result.
For one thing, Damien Comer's hawk eye 'wide' was indeed a point, it was never a Hawk Eye situation. Hawk eye can't clearly detect balls that get just mm or even a cm or two inside the line of the post - that's known by folks that work for the supplier, so it defaults to a Níl verdict of inline with the post. The umpires copped out. I would say a good 5,000 plus people from both sets of supporters with the right angle on the shot could clearly see it was over. Some decent Armagh folks said it to us. A BS call.
Another one - a man who has previously served a 6 month ban, has a litany of club and county cards and disciplinary issues, and prides himself on being an enforcer is Armagh CHB, Tiernan Kelly. I believe he may have targeted Rob Finnerty's knee with that foul hit. Play the video, folks. I believe he premeditated hitting him very hard and very seemingly 'awkwardly' to take him out. I believe it was discussed beforehand with Armagh mgmt. I've good reason to believe all this. Rob Finnerty was highlighted for 2 wks in the Armagh camp as the real scoring threat from Galway (more so than our other lauded forwards!), and they had a full history on his injury and recuperation, they knew we hadn't another dedicated free taker and he was deemed a huge scoring threat on the day. They knew his knee was only just coming right and they knew that he was susceptible to repeat injury under a big or 'awkward' challenge. They went after him early in the game. Pathetic on Kelly and Armagh's part to do so - not the way to win one.
I also feel that a defender bear hugging and even hugging face to face a player while off the ball is always a foul but is never called any more by umpires, linesmen or refs. The TV misses this stuff but Damien Comer, as with the Donegal match, was actually bear hugged repeatedly throughout the game, often face to face in an act of intimidation. It would be flagged and acted on in a juvenile club game but why is it tolerated at the pinnacle of our game? How is it ok for our games marquee forwards to be fully held off the ball? When did that become fully acceptable and not acted on by our officials? It's a factor in Gaelic footballs current slide as a sport vs hurling - where it certainly happens too but to a much lesser extent."
Catch yourself on lad. Where are the facts about Kelly's cards in club football? That's Trump talk, complete BS. He has a great record bar the unsavoury incident a couple of years ago which I agree was totally unacceptable. He served his ban, apologised to the other player, was lambasted on social media which had a very bad affect on his mental health etc so that chapter is closed. Crazy talk about the Finnerty tackle, he hurt himself taking the free and shouldn't have started along with Comer anyhow. Them lads should have been introduced in the closing stages if anything.

sam2024 (Armagh) - Posts: 31 - 30/07/2024 11:01:45    2562909

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Ironically your favourite footballer of the time was a free taker who took frees from the ground which modern day players are incapable of doing… Our modern game is so skilled that a top county player stood over 8 frees on Sunday and missed 7 of them.. It typified what was a terrible low standard football season we have just had… Basketball all over the field and then forwards when they do get a rare sight of the posts either turn back or kick the ball wide… We even had the case of an Armagh forward 30 metres out calling for a mark with nobody near him… getting his free shot and putting it wide… pathetic, and this is supposed to be our great modern game… Get a grip you brainless fool… Even the dogs in the streets knows the game is in tatters…!!"
Sore, sore. Let's go back to the day when you hoofed the ball aimlessly and decapitated players. You guys were good at that about 60 years ago.

sam2024 (Armagh) - Posts: 31 - 30/07/2024 11:04:41    2562910

Replying To togoutlads:  "So in Galway we largely have ourselves to blame for screwing up that golden opportunity but nonetheless, congrats to Armagh and wish them well but I've more than a couple of gripes with the result.
I also feel that a defender bear hugging and even hugging face to face a player while off the ball is always a foul but is never called any more by umpires, linesmen or refs. The TV misses this stuff but Damien Comer, as with the Donegal match, was actually bear hugged repeatedly throughout the game, often face to face in an act of intimidation. It would be flagged and acted on in a juvenile club game but why is it tolerated at the pinnacle of our game? How is it ok for our games marquee forwards to be fully held off the ball? When did that become fully acceptable and not acted on by our officials? It's a factor in Gaelic footballs current slide as a sport vs hurling - where it certainly happens too but to a much lesser extent."
This is why on your last very valid point that I have always advocated for referees to be appointed as umpires who would have the same powers as the referee to call any off the ball nasty fouling that goes on…. Players now know that these buddies of the ref will turn a blind eye to things and let things continue.. It's high time the GAA cut out this nonsense of the ref bringing along buddies of his who god knows could be half blind to take up such important roles on some of the biggest days of the year…. that's just holding on to an old bygone tradition that is long since passed…and an insult to the players on the field who after slogging their guts out all year could have game changing decisions left in the hands of these….. Wake up GAA and the talkative Jarlath Burns….!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 2729 - 30/07/2024 11:16:28    2562914

A lot of nonsense in this. Finnerty injury came from Armagh making a hames of a kick out and letting ball through his legs and cost Armagh a soft point hardly anything Armagh pre planned.

Interesting to know what evidence you have regarding Armagh knowing Finnerty recuperation etc.

Comer looked a point from my view but once ball touches line of post it's deemed a wide. Regardless what decision umpires or ref made that would be brought back and given a NIL.

So you need to learn a bit how hawk eye is operated

Dunno would an umpires call like in cricket be fairer for those types of shots

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1250 - 30/07/2024 11:25:54    2562922

Replying To sam2024:  "Sore, sore. Let's go back to the day when you hoofed the ball aimlessly and decapitated players. You guys were good at that about 60 years ago."
Never saw anyone decapitated on the field of play although a certain Francis Bellew up your way always had a good go at it…. Always think before you press the send button..good lad ,and enjoy the celebrations

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 2729 - 30/07/2024 11:28:36    2562923

A lot of nonsense in this. Finnerty injury came from Armagh making a hames of a kick out and letting ball through his legs and cost Armagh a soft point hardly anything Armagh pre planned.

Interesting to know what evidence you have regarding Armagh knowing Finnerty recuperation etc.

Comer looked a point from my view but once ball touches line of post it's deemed a wide. Regardless what decision umpires or ref made that would be brought back and given a NIL.

So you need to learn a bit how hawk eye is operated

Dunno would an umpires call like in cricket be fairer for those types of shots

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1250 - 30/07/2024 11:30:36    2562924

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Never saw anyone decapitated on the field of play although a certain Francis Bellew up your way always had a good go at it…. Always think before you press the send button..good lad ,and enjoy the celebrations"
Ah Francie - another legend up here with a Celtic Cross - thanks for the reminder. The great Cavan sides would have had numerous Francie's and that's just the way it was played back then.

sam2024 (Armagh) - Posts: 31 - 30/07/2024 12:28:12    2562956

Replying To sam2024:  "The idiots out there who try to compare hurling with football are absolute wallopers. You're as well comparing it with ice hockey. That game on Sunday was a tactical battle of epic proportions with everything at stake. Hard luck Galway and well done Armagh.
Hell rub it up the begrudgers, I know it's hard to see Sam go north, some of our neighbours up here are finding it tough to accept too but you've all plenty of time to get your heads around it.
Great feeling to be champions - good luck to Galway moving forward, great people and would love to see Joyce & that team get over the line in the next couple of years."
Good post, except this neighbour and most of our county men in Croke Park on Sunday were cheering you on. Even if we failed to get there in the past years I am delighted for McGeeny and Armagh. It was a fantastic tactical battle from start to finish. It was brilliant to watch the movement and battles throughout the field. I know it is hard for brainless lads like " ForeverSingingThe Blues" from Cavan to understand the modern game with its tactical and athletic ingredients. It was much easier when Team A hoofed it up the field to Team B and they then hoofed it back to Team A, with everything being interrupted every 50 seconds with a drag or a pull and then a free. Mad stuff altogether. Thankfully the game has evolved and will continue to do so despite the whinging and squeeling of a small minority of the " boot her on" lads. Hurling's first cousin his Ice Hockey and football was never meant to be like that. If it was,they would have given us sticks to play with. Finally our games are in a safe place under the stewardship of Jarlath Burns. As a former emigrant and a GAA volunteer, his speeches over the past 2 weeks meant a lot. Well done Armagh. Enjoy the success and you know very well, 8 counties in Ulster will be baying for your blood come next April. And ye wouldnt want it any other way. Ah the GAA, nothing like it despite what the minority begrudgers say.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 316 - 30/07/2024 12:43:14    2562961

What a moronic post. Not one shrewd of evidence provided for any of your hallucinations. Now I see "foreversingingthe blues" in Cavan is agreeing. Water finds its own level. Enuff said.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 316 - 30/07/2024 12:54:07    2562963

Replying To ORIELMAN85:  "Good post, except this neighbour and most of our county men in Croke Park on Sunday were cheering you on. Even if we failed to get there in the past years I am delighted for McGeeny and Armagh. It was a fantastic tactical battle from start to finish. It was brilliant to watch the movement and battles throughout the field. I know it is hard for brainless lads like " ForeverSingingThe Blues" from Cavan to understand the modern game with its tactical and athletic ingredients. It was much easier when Team A hoofed it up the field to Team B and they then hoofed it back to Team A, with everything being interrupted every 50 seconds with a drag or a pull and then a free. Mad stuff altogether. Thankfully the game has evolved and will continue to do so despite the whinging and squeeling of a small minority of the " boot her on" lads. Hurling's first cousin his Ice Hockey and football was never meant to be like that. If it was,they would have given us sticks to play with. Finally our games are in a safe place under the stewardship of Jarlath Burns. As a former emigrant and a GAA volunteer, his speeches over the past 2 weeks meant a lot. Well done Armagh. Enjoy the success and you know very well, 8 counties in Ulster will be baying for your blood come next April. And ye wouldnt want it any other way. Ah the GAA, nothing like it despite what the minority begrudgers say."
No doubt Orielman, I was actually referring to our 'neighbours' within our own county unfortunately.

sam2024 (Armagh) - Posts: 31 - 30/07/2024 13:21:20    2562980