All Ireland Football Final 2024 - Galway V Armagh

Not a word out of the Monaghan naff ORIELMAN… He is probably looking at reruns of yesterday's game as it was so entertaining….!!!! ( in his head )

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 2729 - 29/07/2024 15:54:45    2562699

Replying To maroondiesel:  "Limerick for Sam lol"
He's not a Limerick man.. A Cork WUM who regularly gets his counties mixed up.
Best to ignore

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1103 - 29/07/2024 16:58:12    2562721

The writing was on the wall for Galway when our very own prophet "Nonothinadamus" under the alias "Limerick for Liam 24" predicted a Galway win.That poster would nt pick his nose.The positive is in future whoever he tips back the opposite and guarenteed win.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3840 - 29/07/2024 17:46:09    2562733

Jeez, the anti GAA bigotry and outright hatred up here today is off the scale. The Unionist political and media Establishment are going crackers at Armagh's win and are thrashing about and foaming at the mouth. It is shocking yet hilarious at the same time.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9778 - 29/07/2024 18:47:17    2562742

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "The writing was on the wall for Galway when our very own prophet "Nonothinadamus" under the alias "Limerick for Liam 24" predicted a Galway win.That poster would nt pick his nose.The positive is in future whoever he tips back the opposite and guarenteed win."
Congrats to McGeeny and Armagh. A thoroughly deserved All Ireland win. Overall the better team, even if at times they reverted to their old ways instead of putting the foot on the neck when they had those 3 point leads. It was a enthralling game. Best atmosphere in Croker since Donegal/Mayo in 2012. To hell with the begrudgers, it has been a good Championship, with the cream coming to the top on the last Sunday in July. Much of it owed to the Championship system that we have happened upon, maybe by design or maybe by accident. It, I am sure will lead to more novel All Ireland pairings in the coming years. Yes Dublin and Kerry will be back but the Round Robin system definitely makes it a much more fair route to the All Ireland Final, than anything we had before. A lot of very close and entertaining games all the way through. On reflection I have no doubt that the powers that be, will be quite happy to continue with the system, preliminary QFs and all. Was privileged to be in Croke Park yesterday with not an empty seat to be seen and to see some of the best points I have ever seen scored in that venue. The game has changed and not for the worse either. No longer a game where two teams kicked the ball back and forward to each other and committed 50+ fouls per game. It is now a game where thought must be put into each play. Contributers like Walter Mitty from Cavan would now probably find it too challenging for their brain to play or understand the game. It is not Hurling and never will be. Two totally different sports that just happen to come under the GAA umbrella. Personally I don't care much for a sport where balls can almost be put over the bar from puck outs. As an enjoyable county season ends I look forward to getting to as many club games as possible over the coming months. Maybe even sneak in a couple of games in the Armagh championship to see their heros back where they belong with their clubs. Thank God for the split season.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 316 - 29/07/2024 20:49:00    2562762

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "The writing was on the wall for Galway when our very own prophet "Nonothinadamus" under the alias "Limerick for Liam 24" predicted a Galway win.That poster would nt pick his nose.The positive is in future whoever he tips back the opposite and guarenteed win."
For a second there I thought you referring to Spillane giving Galway the nod.

Immer (Mayo) - Posts: 33 - 29/07/2024 21:20:21    2562773

Congrats to Armagh on winning the most boring All Ireland in the history of the GAA. Coaches please stop all this hand passing. The game is ruined. The future is not good. This is how juvenile football is being coached and children are not allowed to express themselves. Kicking is not encouraged, handpass after handpass, keep possession. Football needs help quickly.

Armchairreporter (Galway) - Posts: 81 - 29/07/2024 21:38:50    2562782

Replying To Bdonegal1991:  "Bitter?

Delighted for Armagh and McGeeney and no one suffered more at the hands of McGeeney and the Armagh teams of the 00's than Donegal.

Would have been happy for Joyce and the likes of Conroy if Galway had got over the line.

No bitterness here, just don't know why Galway think they are so far ahead that the only way they could lose to Armagh is by throwing it away.
You are just 2 very evenly matched teams and Armagh were a bit more efficient and got the bit of luck yesterday"
Yeah the common theme among my Facebook friends is "fair play to armagh,,,, but" followed by a lengthy rant about how armagh were essentially gifted their win by a profligate galway team, as if one or two players having an off day or hitting a few wides is an extreme rarity in team sports and not something that happens pretty much every time a team takes to a field.

Find it kind of annoying tbh, yesterdays performance had Geezer written all over it.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1942 - 29/07/2024 21:43:20    2562783

Replying To ORIELMAN85:  "Congrats to McGeeny and Armagh. A thoroughly deserved All Ireland win. Overall the better team, even if at times they reverted to their old ways instead of putting the foot on the neck when they had those 3 point leads. It was a enthralling game. Best atmosphere in Croker since Donegal/Mayo in 2012. To hell with the begrudgers, it has been a good Championship, with the cream coming to the top on the last Sunday in July. Much of it owed to the Championship system that we have happened upon, maybe by design or maybe by accident. It, I am sure will lead to more novel All Ireland pairings in the coming years. Yes Dublin and Kerry will be back but the Round Robin system definitely makes it a much more fair route to the All Ireland Final, than anything we had before. A lot of very close and entertaining games all the way through. On reflection I have no doubt that the powers that be, will be quite happy to continue with the system, preliminary QFs and all. Was privileged to be in Croke Park yesterday with not an empty seat to be seen and to see some of the best points I have ever seen scored in that venue. The game has changed and not for the worse either. No longer a game where two teams kicked the ball back and forward to each other and committed 50+ fouls per game. It is now a game where thought must be put into each play. Contributers like Walter Mitty from Cavan would now probably find it too challenging for their brain to play or understand the game. It is not Hurling and never will be. Two totally different sports that just happen to come under the GAA umbrella. Personally I don't care much for a sport where balls can almost be put over the bar from puck outs. As an enjoyable county season ends I look forward to getting to as many club games as possible over the coming months. Maybe even sneak in a couple of games in the Armagh championship to see their heros back where they belong with their clubs. Thank God for the split season."
Great Post Fully agree with everything you say . Of course i would be happier if Galway had won or even if we had played better in defeat but still a great year for us and an abdutelty brilliant one for Armagh, and not as bad a year for football as some are suggesting.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 928 - 29/07/2024 22:14:04    2562790

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Jeez, the anti GAA bigotry and outright hatred up here today is off the scale. The Unionist political and media Establishment are going crackers at Armagh's win and are thrashing about and foaming at the mouth. It is shocking yet hilarious at the same time."
I've great respect for our fellow Gaels in the six counties. Ye have had to put up with a lot over the years. The unionist extremists would rather have the PSNI beat ye off the streets. Thankfully the small minded evangelical hate mob appear to be small in numbers these days. Enjoy the celebrations Armagh on a deserved win.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11375 - 29/07/2024 22:16:54    2562793

Replying To Armchairreporter:  "Congrats to Armagh on winning the most boring All Ireland in the history of the GAA. Coaches please stop all this hand passing. The game is ruined. The future is not good. This is how juvenile football is being coached and children are not allowed to express themselves. Kicking is not encouraged, handpass after handpass, keep possession. Football needs help quickly."
Armagh played far better football than Galway yesterday in fact any football that was played was by the armagh team who especially in the first half attacked at speed and straight up the middle whereas Galway hadent a clue how to open up the armagh defence and if they were still playing would not have created a goal chance.

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 472 - 29/07/2024 22:24:55    2562796

Replying To ORIELMAN85:  "Congrats to McGeeny and Armagh. A thoroughly deserved All Ireland win. Overall the better team, even if at times they reverted to their old ways instead of putting the foot on the neck when they had those 3 point leads. It was a enthralling game. Best atmosphere in Croker since Donegal/Mayo in 2012. To hell with the begrudgers, it has been a good Championship, with the cream coming to the top on the last Sunday in July. Much of it owed to the Championship system that we have happened upon, maybe by design or maybe by accident. It, I am sure will lead to more novel All Ireland pairings in the coming years. Yes Dublin and Kerry will be back but the Round Robin system definitely makes it a much more fair route to the All Ireland Final, than anything we had before. A lot of very close and entertaining games all the way through. On reflection I have no doubt that the powers that be, will be quite happy to continue with the system, preliminary QFs and all. Was privileged to be in Croke Park yesterday with not an empty seat to be seen and to see some of the best points I have ever seen scored in that venue. The game has changed and not for the worse either. No longer a game where two teams kicked the ball back and forward to each other and committed 50+ fouls per game. It is now a game where thought must be put into each play. Contributers like Walter Mitty from Cavan would now probably find it too challenging for their brain to play or understand the game. It is not Hurling and never will be. Two totally different sports that just happen to come under the GAA umbrella. Personally I don't care much for a sport where balls can almost be put over the bar from puck outs. As an enjoyable county season ends I look forward to getting to as many club games as possible over the coming months. Maybe even sneak in a couple of games in the Armagh championship to see their heros back where they belong with their clubs. Thank God for the split season."
If you like the spectacle of 15 men defending inside their own 50 yard line, can you tell me if you approve having 15 players on a team anymore? What is the point of having 15 players aside anymore, when full forward lines are choked for space, and often irrelevant to proceedings? Defenders making runs are scoring more than full forward line players a lot these days. What is the point of having a full forward line in a game where 15 players are defending inside the 50. Twelve players aside would be ample imo.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3829 - 29/07/2024 22:33:19    2562802

Replying To Galway9801:  "Yeah the common theme among my Facebook friends is "fair play to armagh,,,, but" followed by a lengthy rant about how armagh were essentially gifted their win by a profligate galway team, as if one or two players having an off day or hitting a few wides is an extreme rarity in team sports and not something that happens pretty much every time a team takes to a field.

Find it kind of annoying tbh, yesterdays performance had Geezer written all over it."
I would class that display of free/mark-taking yesterday in the extreme rarity bracket for a senior allireland football final.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3829 - 29/07/2024 22:39:41    2562805

Replying To Armchairreporter:  "Congrats to Armagh on winning the most boring All Ireland in the history of the GAA. Coaches please stop all this hand passing. The game is ruined. The future is not good. This is how juvenile football is being coached and children are not allowed to express themselves. Kicking is not encouraged, handpass after handpass, keep possession. Football needs help quickly."
You would be playing a different tune if Galway won.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2130 - 29/07/2024 23:05:40    2562810

Replying To Galway9801:  "Yeah the common theme among my Facebook friends is "fair play to armagh,,,, but" followed by a lengthy rant about how armagh were essentially gifted their win by a profligate galway team, as if one or two players having an off day or hitting a few wides is an extreme rarity in team sports and not something that happens pretty much every time a team takes to a field.

Find it kind of annoying tbh, yesterdays performance had Geezer written all over it."
Yes exactly fair play for being the first person not to attack me for this opinion.
All the evidence going back over a couple of years is that a Galway and Armagh game would be as 50:50 a game as you could get.

Galway hit wides and won't be happy with that but they didn't perform massively below what you would expect as some are suggesting.
Armagh also hit some bad wides in the first half and if they lost would have been dissapointed with there second half performance and the ball they turned over.

Seen Galway posters call Armagh lucky and another poster said something along the lines of Galway have the better footballers all over the pitch and shouldn't be losing to Armagh.
Unbelievable statement to come out with if you look at the championship results between them over the past 4 encounters.

Bdonegal1991 (Donegal) - Posts: 88 - 29/07/2024 23:08:22    2562812

100%

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 402 - 29/07/2024 23:11:16    2562814

I couldn't have put it any better. Wasn't a lover of the new system but it has worked. So what if a team can loose three times and still go on to win Sam If it happens this year with a Louth or a Down would people care, no. Dublin and Kerry still slightly ahead but there are 7 or 8 teams ready for the fight next year. It's any ones.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2130 - 29/07/2024 23:12:40    2562815

Replying To Immer:  "For a second there I thought you referring to Spillane giving Galway the nod."
Ah no.We all get predictions wrong but "Limerick for Liam 24" got every single prediction wrong.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3840 - 29/07/2024 23:48:48    2562821

Replying To anotheralias:  "Great Post Fully agree with everything you say . Of course i would be happier if Galway had won or even if we had played better in defeat but still a great year for us and an abdutelty brilliant one for Armagh, and not as bad a year for football as some are suggesting."
Apart from the fact that most of the county football would bore you to death with a pile of meaningless dead rubber games played in quarter full grounds… A great season for sure….and finishes as it started with a dreadful game……….. of handball

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 2729 - 29/07/2024 23:58:02    2562823

Replying To anotheralias:  "Great Post Fully agree with everything you say . Of course i would be happier if Galway had won or even if we had played better in defeat but still a great year for us and an abdutelty brilliant one for Armagh, and not as bad a year for football as some are suggesting."
Yes a Galway win would have been good too. Hopefully Padraig Joyce will stay and get his reward like McGeeny and Armagh. Have always had a liking for Galway football going back to my first All Ireland Final memory of John Donnellan lifting the Sam Maguire in 64. They completed the 3 in a row with Enda Colleran as captain and had in the team some of the finest footballers ever to grace Croke Park. My favourite was their free taker Cyril Dunne.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 316 - 30/07/2024 01:02:57    2562826