Replying To Onion Breath: ""The Munster Football Championship is seeded."
I didn't think it was seeded this year. I know they voted to make it seeded but that this will only kick in from 2027? Was this year's Munster draw not an open draw and it just happened that Cork and Kerry were drawn on opposite sides?" You are correct. Our learned half Limerick/half Roscommon man hasn't educated himself.
For the benefit of our half a Roscommon man, the Mayo Roscommon rivalry would be just as strong if they played in March or September.
Those lads love beating Mayo in football, no mater where or when or how.
tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1778 - 23/04/2026 16:40:47
Replying To JimB1991: "The holy grail suggests its the ultimate prize, so why would it need to feed into another competition. The ultimate prize is an all Ireland at your grade.
When you say the votes aren't there, didnt the proposal to remove the link in 2021 get over 50% of the vote just not the 60% needed. Think the GPA were in favour and believe players in some counties who voted against were in favour too but their voices got sidelined. That propsal wasn't perfect either as it allowed division 3 and 4 winners into the Senior All Ireland, which makes no sense as you're reward for winning your division is likely a slaughtering in the All Ireland series.
The point is though you're making out the vast majority want to retain the link between the provincial and All Ireland and their is no appetite for a change in that but I don't think thats the case at all." I agree. The process after that vote that nearly got through was bizarre to me. It was so close , to me the natural thing to do was to work through and maybe come back with something else that looked similar.
The proposal itself was let down by the championship format rather than it breaking from the Provincials.
5 from division 1, 3 from division 2 and 1 each from 3 and 4 didn't really make sense.
4 divisions of 8 for championship doesn't make sense, it's too exclusive.
2 groups of 8 or 1 group of 12 are things that I think could make sense.
Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4639 - 23/04/2026 16:42:15
Replying To Tadhg2020: "Then they become the McKenna Cup, Mc Gratg Cup etc. You can say they wont but we both know they will." Speak for yourself. Counties don't lift provincial trophies and cheer because they've a nicer seeding for the All Ireland. It's because they won silverware. The Nestor Cup is not the FBD League.
GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8538 - 23/04/2026 17:14:33
Replying To Seanfan: "What if-- Provincials were played on a round robin basis? Connacht 1 group of 5 Munster 1 of 6 Leinster a 5 and a 6 Ulster, add London and 2 groups of 5??
Top 2 Provincial Finals. 6 thirds to play a Prelim round, winners joining the other 12 plus last years TC winners in a knock out AI Championship.. Rest TC." A disaster of a format, the likes of Waterford, Carlow, Longford, Antrim now in line for several hammerings each year instead of the usual one. Increases the number of meaningless turkey shoots massively.
Round robin works in the munster hurling championship because you have the majority of strong hurling counties in the one province.
JimB1991 (Donegal) - Posts: 153 - 23/04/2026 18:41:47
Replying To GreenandRed: "Speak for yourself. Counties don't lift provincial trophies and cheer because they've a nicer seeding for the All Ireland. It's because they won silverware. The Nestor Cup is not the FBD League." All you have to do is look at lgfa and camogie. They broke the link between provincial championship and all ireland and now you would hardly know that the provincial championship exists. The lgfa only broke the link in 2020 and already they are as good as forgotten. I know that it will take longer to happen in GF but happen it will, Especially in this condensed spilit season As for the Rossies loving to beat Mayo you seem to be implying that it doesnt matter to Mayo?? While Rossies may take great pleasure in beating Mayo at any time they value the Connacht championship very highly. At they do in the part of Roscommon that I live in. Are you trying to tell me that Mayo people dont?
As for being half Rossie, I may live here but im 100% Limerick.
Tadhg2020 (Limerick) - Posts: 254 - 23/04/2026 22:18:35
Replying To Tadhg2020: "All you have to do is look at lgfa and camogie. They broke the link between provincial championship and all ireland and now you would hardly know that the provincial championship exists. The lgfa only broke the link in 2020 and already they are as good as forgotten. I know that it will take longer to happen in GF but happen it will, Especially in this condensed spilit season As for the Rossies loving to beat Mayo you seem to be implying that it doesnt matter to Mayo?? While Rossies may take great pleasure in beating Mayo at any time they value the Connacht championship very highly. At they do in the part of Roscommon that I live in. Are you trying to tell me that Mayo people dont?
As for being half Rossie, I may live here but im 100% Limerick." Not sure who you're replying to there.
GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8538 - 24/04/2026 10:12:40
Replying To JimB1991: "Every team playing 7 rounds of well attended meaningful games would bring in way more revenue than any provinicial championship ever would, up to the GAA then to manage and distribute the finances equitably so thats not an argument if the GAA have their financial house in order, may be a little bit of administrative and finacial restructuring but shouldn't be a barrier to a more equal championship." All I'll say on this one is that it would take a lot more than "maybe a little bit" of administrative and financial restructuring for that to happen.
Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 3549 - 24/04/2026 10:38:02
Replying To GreenandRed: "Not sure who you're replying to there." Apologies, i got your reply and the reply from the other mayo man mixed there. The first part is in reply to you. If Ladies sport isnt a significant enough example of what damage diminishing the status( breaking the link) of a competition does to the competition then look at the club championships. They were traditionally run on a divisional basis. That was removed( at various times depending on county) and now they are a pre season competition if finished at all. They used to be hugely significant. If that's not enough im going to have to get more abstract as all other sports have professionalism. Rugby union in ireland. The AIL was huge in ireland in the 90s. Then the irfu broke the link between the clubs and the provinces and that was the end of its golden era. Not exactly like for like I know but the theme is the same. Diminish the standing of a competition and it becomes a side show quickly. You are talking about enhancing the leagues status at the expense of the provincial championship. That, in turn, relegates the provincial championship to the 3rd tier competition. It will be only a matter of time before they are ran off in january/February given the condensed nature of the season.
Tadhg2020 (Limerick) - Posts: 254 - 24/04/2026 10:40:49
Also @JimB1991 - won't quote that other one since it's one of those appearing in just a big yellow box instead of showing properly, but just to say my main point initially was to point out that completely separating the provincial and All-Ireland championships would have a severely damaging effect on the provincials in the long run. I felt it important to say that because others seemed to think it wouldn't have that effect on them at all.
But now if your view is "so what if the provincial championships are irreparably damaged and devalued?", then fair enough, and so be it.
Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 3549 - 24/04/2026 10:41:28
Replying To Tadhg2020: "All you have to do is look at lgfa and camogie. They broke the link between provincial championship and all ireland and now you would hardly know that the provincial championship exists. The lgfa only broke the link in 2020 and already they are as good as forgotten. I know that it will take longer to happen in GF but happen it will, Especially in this condensed spilit season As for the Rossies loving to beat Mayo you seem to be implying that it doesnt matter to Mayo?? While Rossies may take great pleasure in beating Mayo at any time they value the Connacht championship very highly. At they do in the part of Roscommon that I live in. Are you trying to tell me that Mayo people dont?
As for being half Rossie, I may live here but im 100% Limerick." LGFA did that all right, but they've now actually gone back to having a link between the provincials and the All-Ireland championships after all. Much like in the Sam Maguire, where you finish in your province determines your seeding for the All-Ireland stages.
Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 3549 - 24/04/2026 10:43:54
Replying To JimB1991: "A disaster of a format, the likes of Waterford, Carlow, Longford, Antrim now in line for several hammerings each year instead of the usual one. Increases the number of meaningless turkey shoots massively.
Round robin works in the munster hurling championship because you have the majority of strong hurling counties in the one province." Some people claim games against better teams improves the poor teams.
Seanfan (Roscommon) - Posts: 516 - 24/04/2026 10:59:26
Replying To Seanfan: "Some people claim games against better teams improves the poor teams." I'd say playing teams slightly better than you helps, having big mismatches is a waste of time for everyone.
It's why building through a league based format makes so much sense.
Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4639 - 24/04/2026 11:57:45
Replying To Tadhg2020: "Apologies, i got your reply and the reply from the other mayo man mixed there. The first part is in reply to you. If Ladies sport isnt a significant enough example of what damage diminishing the status( breaking the link) of a competition does to the competition then look at the club championships. They were traditionally run on a divisional basis. That was removed( at various times depending on county) and now they are a pre season competition if finished at all. They used to be hugely significant. If that's not enough im going to have to get more abstract as all other sports have professionalism. Rugby union in ireland. The AIL was huge in ireland in the 90s. Then the irfu broke the link between the clubs and the provinces and that was the end of its golden era. Not exactly like for like I know but the theme is the same. Diminish the standing of a competition and it becomes a side show quickly. You are talking about enhancing the leagues status at the expense of the provincial championship. That, in turn, relegates the provincial championship to the 3rd tier competition. It will be only a matter of time before they are ran off in january/February given the condensed nature of the season." I think the Provincials would be diminished.
Some part of me thinks the current system is just bad and there's some decisions that need to be made that aren't getting made.
We can't have all of a fair championship and National league and provincials linked to All Ireland and more Championship games and have everyone have a chance at the All Ireland and have a 2nd tier championship and have National league linked to the All Ireland and have it played off in time to give clubs a fair shot but give the county season time to breathe.
We are trying to do all of the above and it's not working.
There is a cost to all of the above and they impact on each other and there needs to be more discipline to the approach.
I'd get rid of the Provincials entirely to be honest or I'd go back to the back door system. If you don't do that maybe the Provincials could be played in parallel with the league with something of a link to the All Ireland.
The current set up of the Provincials in the middle of the season and awkwardly linked to the All Ireland is just not very good for multiple reasons.
Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4639 - 24/04/2026 12:05:29
Replying To legendzxix: "3 from 4 was a lame format. Fair play to Cavan for making their group exciting. Cork lost their first game and their second. Winning 1 from 3 to qualify is a low percentage. Next year the round 1 losers have no more safety nets. With the free weekend likely to be utilised after the league finals, round 2B losers will still exit the championship at the same weekend as Round 3 this year. Round 3 losers next year will still exit the championship at the same weekend as the pre quarter finals this year. Teams won't be knocked out any earlier timewise, just a safety net is being removed and all rounds before the All Ireland quarter finals will be a week later." Parachute Sam 2B losers down to TC with TC Last 4 in new merged TC QFs?
omahant (USA) - Posts: 3402 - 24/04/2026 14:21:12
Replying To Eddie the Exile: "Its games we want, with matched opposition, a chance to recover from early season set-backs, and ever-increasing risk as the tournament progresses. Also, a clear path to knockout football that an outsider can intuitively understand. Every team tournament worthy of the name aims for these but football is in a heap on all these points. So much so that the championship itself infects a team's ambitions in the league right through to the final.
You cannot for example reward Munster football winners and Ulster football winners equally within year (it doesn't happen in hurling). Until we stop trying we are going nowhere. Provincial winners should be next year's All Ireland series, not this year's. Trying to fit the reward into the same year as the achievement is part of the problem.
Tailteann is not fit for purpose either. No relegated team should be favourite for a subsequent competition within the same year." Does my AILC achieve your goals? Regardless of whether you like my AILC or not, do you understand it?
omahant (USA) - Posts: 3402 - 24/04/2026 14:31:31
Replying To tirawleybaron: "Just because you inherit a way of doing things, doesn't mean its the way things always should be done.
The Limerick view is not exactly un biased on this. If Limerick get a lucky draw they can get into the Sam Maguire competition by only beating div3 and 4 teams. That's the inherent problem.
Kerry used to have a July Munster final v Cork, then an Ireland semi final in August and All Ireland in September - 3 games, 3 months -All Ireland - could plan for it every year.
Now, Cork & Kerry - particularly if the Munster championship is seeded - will have a munster final tune up, then are seeded in last 16 of All Ireland, with a home draw. This year, Cork had to play relegated Limerick (now Div 4) and Tipp (div 4) to get seeded into last 16 of All Ireland. Tyrone, are now facing an away trip (potentially all the way down in Tralee or Cork).
What part of the above can you not see as being unbalanced and inherently unfair?
Hurling used to give Galway and Antrim byes into the All Ireland semi finals - they finally admitted it was unfair and changed - its time football copped on also." Where's the unfairness in my AILC - what's not to like?
omahant (USA) - Posts: 3402 - 24/04/2026 14:43:05
Replying To Seanfan: "Short-term - 4 Provincial Champions and 4 highest NFL teams in Pot 1, home venue." Yes
omahant (USA) - Posts: 3402 - 24/04/2026 14:43:46
Replying To Whammo86: "I'd love to see how provincial rivalries would look in a Championship that was say a 12 team league. I'd think the Galway Mayo game would be a big event each year still." Especially if it doubled as a Connacht Final.
omahant (USA) - Posts: 3402 - 24/04/2026 14:45:10
Replying To Seanfan: "What if-- Provincials were played on a round robin basis? Connacht 1 group of 5 Munster 1 of 6 Leinster a 5 and a 6 Ulster, add London and 2 groups of 5??
Top 2 Provincial Finals. 6 thirds to play a Prelim round, winners joining the other 12 plus last years TC winners in a knock out AI Championship.. Rest TC." I wouldn't get too excited about Munster.
omahant (USA) - Posts: 3402 - 24/04/2026 14:53:56
Replying To JimB1991: "The holy grail suggests its the ultimate prize, so why would it need to feed into another competition. The ultimate prize is an all Ireland at your grade.
When you say the votes aren't there, didnt the proposal to remove the link in 2021 get over 50% of the vote just not the 60% needed. Think the GPA were in favour and believe players in some counties who voted against were in favour too but their voices got sidelined. That propsal wasn't perfect either as it allowed division 3 and 4 winners into the Senior All Ireland, which makes no sense as you're reward for winning your division is likely a slaughtering in the All Ireland series.
The point is though you're making out the vast majority want to retain the link between the provincial and All Ireland and their is no appetite for a change in that but I don't think thats the case at all." Bake Prov KO SFCs into an AILC and all can decide the importance of the unbalanced former within the balanced latter. We can park that bus - or if you prefer - have that cake and eat it too!
omahant (USA) - Posts: 3402 - 24/04/2026 14:59:36