Wexford Hurling thread 2024

Replying To Doylerwex:  "We were 6 points up with 30 seconds to go against Dublin and drew. They were in the Leinster final. We were 7 up against Antrim with 18 to go and lost. We were all over Kilkenny in the first half and lost by a point.

We were in a winning position on all those games. We needed to be a little less naive and change things up quicker. Had we done that we'd have been there.

For me that's a very positive platform to build on. Compare it to least year. We're miles ahead of where we were then."
A lot of ifs and buts there but bar finally beating Galway it was another disappointing season. With the players we have, we should be making a Leinster final but blew it really. Everything on the line yesterday but to be honest it was a no show from the first whistle. I was so disappointed with our core of experienced players as I expected them to be setting the tone right from the first whistle.

Chin was shocking really, his body language was terrible and when first 2 or 3 balls were caught over him I knew we were in trouble. Stuck to the ground just like in KK, getting blocked and hooked. Rory, nobody to blame but himself for getting sent off, not his first time against Clare from memory. Mac, back to the bad old days and should have been replaced at least 20 mins earlier. Damien Reck, fine hurler ball in hand but never a 6 as has no presence. MoH isn't a 3 either but battled hard. McGovern was miles off the pace. Shane Reck was excellent. Fanning did ok too, getting blame for puckouts but not many wanted the ball from what I could see. A lot of experience there but in the main found badly wanting when we needed them most.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 252 - 23/06/2024 09:24:58    2553929

Replying To theboys:  "Said it before and Il say it again,we are bang average!!! We are simply not at the races lads,take the Wexford jersey of ya and just look in at it!!! Totally over rated,I keep saying it our so called poster boys,chin Mac Rory just to easy to stop in the big games against proper teams!!! Cleary hurled chin up a stick Mac at Notting today,to easy!!! Chin got cleaned v Kilkenny too and I have no doubt if O'Donnell had of been on him v Dublin for full game he wouldn't have featured!!! Against the weaker team looks like a all star but to be honest Notting there for a good while now!!! I just don't see the supporting act either there isn't one as far as I can see!!! We are miles off it!!! I said I'd wait to judge the team until after this game and my opinion on them is that we are terrible!!! And when Liam og and all these lads go we are in huge bother!!!! I also said we are nowhere near as good as we were in 19 and we are not in a country mile of that form!!! People said we have a better panel ,where is it???God help us in the league next year,feel sorry for rossi he has an awful job ahead of him!!! This team is finished now and it's going to be a dark few years for Wexford,alot of them are finished now and we have Notting to replace them with,one Leinster medal a poor return for that group!!! Thanks for the memories some good hurlers,gave us some great days!!! I wish them well!!! Liam og
Dee
Kevin Foyle
Donoghue
Matthew
Maybe chin
Some of the lads out of the 26 might go
We havnt the players to replace these lads!!!
Really disappointed with Charlie prob a wing back, just not up to it brilliant club hurler
Richie Lawlor was good at minor,what has he actually done at senior club,how many senior club games has he even played very few!!! Poor at u20
Foyle not a back very poor defensively
Rory O'Connor discipline issue track record too
Mac best fist pump in Wexford at Notting v good teams has been poor for along time now!!!
Jippo worth his weight in gold
Damien reck not a real centre back again comes to light v poor teams!!! We are in big trouble around the whole team!!! Good night and good luck I hope to god we see some springers in the club championship!!! Over and out for 24"
very good post
hard broken yet again driving home from tipp, same every year and really to be expected, we are unfortunately an average county team
untill we get our house in order in respect of underage development, especially minor and schools we will never compete at this level of senior intercounty hurling,
we are reaping what we have sown at underage over the past 10years
clare and all the top teams are ompetitive at underage and this includes dublin and now offaly,
clare are a very good team and will give limerick cork and kilkenny a serious test for the liam mac
underage and schools is the key for wexford, put the right people in change at development and glory will follow

hardgoing (Wexford) - Posts: 1 - 23/06/2024 09:56:38    2553936

Mixed bag of a year. Still a good bit off the top teams but definitely an improvement on last year. Finally beating Galway, loosing to Antrim and Rory's red card probably the only memorable parts for different reasons of a fairly forgettable year in the grand scheme of things. Definitely improved from last year, but more a return of the same stuff of last 5/6 years bar the disaster of last years relegation. Rossi seems like a great lad and does care about Wexford so I'm not going to make any call on anyone after 1 year and the low base they did come from after last year so not going to call him a saviour or a disaster, next year will tell a lot. Next year hopefully be another improvement. As for the Clare performance it was pretty poor, especially the 2nd half. Don't think Clare played particularly well either but Clare's below par performance is still way better than our below par performances. Can't see them beating Kilkenny tbh. If I had to judge Wexfords performance as a whole everything from minor,u20 and senior it was probably disappointing but not disastrous, probably what everyone outside of Wexford thinks we're at but I still think we're underperforming as a county, think we can do better. I know it's never too correct a measurement but watched the feile and have for last few years and our teams are worrying behind others at this, know u15 isn't a guarantee of anything but you see it in schools too. I think were behind in terms of coaching at underage and while this mightn't impact the senior county team in the short or medium term but definitely impacting from schools to adult club level and down the line will impact senior county team. Just find our average lads from underage to adult level are quite a bit behind the likes of Kilkenny, Cork, Tipp, Galway and to a lesser extent Clare.I know there's lads putting in work but feel like we could be doing a lot more. County board seem a small bit more interested in big optics like new seats, lights, ferns and that's great but it shouldn't be the main projects that they're pushing. Like those things are lovely but can easily take up more of their thoughts than they should and easier to show off when people ask what did ye do? Just frustrated after another disappointment in a quarter final, nearly 20 years since we last won one. But still way better than last year but that's not good enough and need to expect more from ourselves as a county.

Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin (Wexford) - Posts: 272 - 23/06/2024 10:20:55    2553942

Replying To Doylerwex:  "We were 6 points up with 30 seconds to go against Dublin and drew. They were in the Leinster final. We were 7 up against Antrim with 18 to go and lost. We were all over Kilkenny in the first half and lost by a point.

We were in a winning position on all those games. We needed to be a little less naive and change things up quicker. Had we done that we'd have been there.

For me that's a very positive platform to build on. Compare it to least year. We're miles ahead of where we were then."
Would have could have should have same old story every year cant always be bad luck.

Tiger1 (Wexford) - Posts: 277 - 23/06/2024 10:27:09    2553945

When the dust settles lads, ye only bet ourselves, Laois and Carlow in this years championships. Not good enough unfortunately. No more than ourselves.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1596 - 23/06/2024 10:39:09    2553949

Replying To carlo:  "One All Ireland in 56 years lads for Gods sake. More than we won but we know our place. Ye go on as if ye are relevant every year but ye are not. Wexford should have been relegated last year but KK didn't need to turn up & ye escaped. Nothing against Wexford & would love to see ye win one but don't see it coming. I hate to admit it but only for KK Leinster Hurling would be in the doldrums..( we did draw with them)"
Fair points though i dont like reading it but to be honest the amount of work we put into that team the last 2 years was top drawer and to get nothing out of it again its heartbreaking lads playing really well in leauge and some round robin games but when it comes to the real stuff we are just not near it.

Tiger1 (Wexford) - Posts: 277 - 23/06/2024 10:54:36    2553958

All over kk in the first half last 10 mins of the first half and first 20 minutes of second half kk done as they pleased.we were 7 up again Antrim and 6 up against Dublin but its whats on the scoreboard at the end that matters.Wake up and smell the coffee.

Tiger1 (Wexford) - Posts: 277 - 23/06/2024 10:59:17    2553960

Replying To WexMurph:  "Think Rossiter done well for the players at his disposal. Gave plenty of opportunities but obviously a huge gulf between the top 4 teams and the rest now. Not sure any of the players you've mentioned will strengthen us bar Paudie foley. Thanks to the players for there commitment this year."
Oisin Foley and Ian Carty will strengthen us too.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12873 - 23/06/2024 11:27:50    2553969

Replying To Formertownie:  "Clares black card came roughly 29 min 1 min injuryvtime but started with 15 in 2nd half am I missing something here . 10 kin or"
No they had 14

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12873 - 23/06/2024 11:35:37    2553970

Replying To Timbertony:  "Our lads, with a few honourable exceptions, did nothing of the sort today. Pitiful display in truth considering everything. Not sure how to assess the year, certainly the likes of Hearne, Byrne, Foley made big strides and will be better again next year. It's the maddening lack of intensity in our play that's a killer. Antrim, even when KK were vulnerable and today on the biggest day of all we were flat beyond belief."
I think finishing 3rd in Leinster leaves us with a mountain to climb. We need to make the final next year, at least we will have a 2 week break then.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12873 - 23/06/2024 11:37:13    2553971

Replying To Jedobi:  "Amount of negativity on here is incredible... Half that Wexford team were playing in their 1st quarter final against an experienced Clare outfit, thought they battled well and kept going even with 14, the fist yellow was a joke issued by a ref with not an ounce of common sense. Brendan Cummins face Wexford plenty of respect in his commentary ' a pound hurling county with quality hurlers and a good future' a lot more than has been displayed by supposed Wexford supporters on this forum."
Agree. It will have been a learning experience for all 5 younger starters. Richie didn't have his best game. He looked flat and was caught out of position numerous times. Foley did very well on Duggan. Eoin Ryan played well too. Cian Byrne looked OK too it has to be said, I think he's a great prospect. Hard to know what to make of Charlie, hes still not getting the head up.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12873 - 23/06/2024 11:43:06    2553973

Replying To Tiger1:  "Probably should have been in leinster final?Are u joking we bet Galway and Carlow so why should we be in the Leinster final?Same old failings every year and we still make up excuses time we took off the wexford glasses and realise we just not good enough Mac Chin and Rory non existent against top opposition again."
All the Clare supporters thought Rory played very well, buy should've been more careful being as he was on a yellow. He played with the intensity Lee and Mac have been lacking in the last 2 big games.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12873 - 23/06/2024 11:47:30    2553975

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "I don't think the U20s were that good but there were still a few useful enough players on the team, would think Eoin Whelan will definitely be getting gametime at Senior next year and would also expect Cillian Byrne, Seán Rowley, and Simon Roche would be involved in the squad too"
Whelan yes. The other 3 are all still u20 again next year though.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12873 - 23/06/2024 11:49:00    2553977

Replying To Tiger1:  "All over kk in the first half last 10 mins of the first half and first 20 minutes of second half kk done as they pleased.we were 7 up again Antrim and 6 up against Dublin but its whats on the scoreboard at the end that matters.Wake up and smell the coffee."
Funny you're very active again once we're out. Are you a supporter?

I can interpret what I see just fine.

I've not missed a championship match since 95 bar COVID and have attended 90% of games in all competitions.

I've played county.

I know where we are more than most and I've seen more than enough this year to be optimistic.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2900 - 23/06/2024 11:52:31    2553980

Replying To Purpleandgold72:  "Good post there, you hit the nail on the head with your comments. Today was awful bar 10-15 minutes in the first half. Only for Fanning, we could have lost by about 18 points. The red card did not help obviously. There are certain players that you can trust on a yellow card, unfortunately Rory is not one of them. A great player for sure but also a liability to an extent. His self discipline is very poor. This is not his first time to be red carded for something very silly in a quarter final v Clare. Chin is a huge player for us but once again failed to show up when it mattered. McDonald the same. Richie just doesn't look like he's going to make the grade at senior inter county plus he's too lightweight for midfield. I can't see him as a forward either as he doesn't contribute enough in the scoring department. McGuckin looked like a world beater in the Co championship last year but does not convince me at all. It's great having huge work rate but you have to have the quality too. He doesn't. Donohoe….i don't understand how nearly 10 years later, he's still starting games. Conor foley, Cian Byrne and Eoin Ryan are great young talents as are the Recks although I'd sooner see Damien at wing back. We hopefully will have the Foley brothers, Jippo, Conall Flood, Cian Molloy and Carty back to strengthen the squad next year along with any others who emerge from the club championship. I don't think it's all doom and gloom but for those who are wondering why there are people on here criticising, don't forget it's a forum and we have just lost an all Ireland quarter final by 12 points."
We badly need to find a few forwards. Hopefully Cathal Doyle, Conor Mahoney, James Byrne, and Tucker have great club championships. With another year's S and C under their belts they will all be physically more able next year too. Richie, Cian and CBD also. Hopefully Jack Redmond goes well in the club championship also, and Dara Farrell.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12873 - 23/06/2024 11:53:14    2553982

Replying To Tiger1:  "Would have could have should have same old story every year cant always be bad luck."
Just find somewhere else to complain will ya.

Maybe stick to Twitter.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2900 - 23/06/2024 11:54:11    2553983

Replying To hardgoing:  "very good post
hard broken yet again driving home from tipp, same every year and really to be expected, we are unfortunately an average county team
untill we get our house in order in respect of underage development, especially minor and schools we will never compete at this level of senior intercounty hurling,
we are reaping what we have sown at underage over the past 10years
clare and all the top teams are ompetitive at underage and this includes dublin and now offaly,
clare are a very good team and will give limerick cork and kilkenny a serious test for the liam mac
underage and schools is the key for wexford, put the right people in change at development and glory will follow"
This year our minors beat Cork and Kilkenny well. Our u20s weren't at the races though.
Last year our u20s beat Kilkennys twice and only lost the Leinster final narrowly. Our minors beat Dublin and Offaly, but faded in the ladt quarter against Kilkenny after a good 3rd quarter comeback.
We lost the u20 Leinster final by just a point in 2022 to Kilkenny, who beat Galway and Limerick also. Our minors got knocked out by Laois, but they also knocked Kilkenny out that year.
We are in general improving at underage, after a couple of poor years during the covid affected years.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12873 - 23/06/2024 12:02:33    2553986

Replying To ahsure.:  "When the dust settles lads, ye only bet ourselves, Laois and Carlow in this years championships. Not good enough unfortunately. No more than ourselves."
And ye know what that is rhe harsh reality of it.

We are a good bit off in truth. And until we inject a bit of physicality and size into the team we will remain that way.

There's no point in trying to sugar coat it like a few are trying here, it's serves no one any good. One thing for example is Casey and Mc Cukin are t real,y at this level at County, Charlie might get there yet. But they were still 2 of the best players in our club championships last year, that's a fact. And that's an issue.

We now face into a club hurling championship that's going to have more games of even less importance, what's the point of that? We have an entire set of group games with zero jeopardy.

There's no point in saying we could have beaten Dublin and Antrim and played well against Kilkenny, we didn't win any of them and as for this assertion a few pages back that we are better than we were in 2019, seriously like!

Rossi has steadied the ship after what's happened last year but even he won't be claiming this is some huge stride forward, last year was an anomaly in reality but we are way off unfortunately.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1379 - 23/06/2024 12:03:24    2553987

Replying To Viking66:  "All the Clare supporters thought Rory played very well, buy should've been more careful being as he was on a yellow. He played with the intensity Lee and Mac have been lacking in the last 2 big games."
I have to agree, he was a leader and brought the fight to Clare ....literally!

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 298 - 23/06/2024 12:21:40    2553990

Replying To Viking66:  "Oisin Foley and Ian Carty will strengthen us too."
Are they definitely opting in? Foley would have only for bad injury this year. I thought Carty was travelling.

Paudi Foley might or might not opt in. He'd be an addition but only if his heart was in it. Wexford hasn't been a priority to him and that's fait enough it's his life and he wants to do other things.

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 298 - 23/06/2024 12:24:05    2553991