Wexford Hurling thread 2024

Replying To Afinestick96:  "There is definitely talent coming through from the under 20 squads . One thing we are missing coming through is a big ball winning forward like Mac or Chin. These guys will be extremely hard to replace"
You wouldn't want to be relying on the amount of ball Mac wins in the air to propel you to victory. When he's good, there are few better, but he can be quite sporadic in his displays. Chin, on the other hand, I have never seen had a bad day.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2009 - 04/06/2024 13:52:43    2549416

Replying To foreveryoung:  "You wouldn't want to be relying on the amount of ball Mac wins in the air to propel you to victory. When he's good, there are few better, but he can be quite sporadic in his displays. Chin, on the other hand, I have never seen had a bad day."
I take it you werent in Nowlan Park last week? Lee is one of our greatest ever but everyone can have an off day including him. The reality is if we are to get to a semi final this year we need him Mac, Cian Byrne and ROC firing the next 2 days.

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 314 - 04/06/2024 14:55:53    2549445

Our preliminary quarter final is fixed for Portlaoise or Tullamore Saturday week. Any word on how training has gone and preparations are going since the Kilkenny game?

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 314 - 04/06/2024 15:33:24    2549454

Replying To Afinestick96:  "I take it you werent in Nowlan Park last week? Lee is one of our greatest ever but everyone can have an off day including him. The reality is if we are to get to a semi final this year we need him Mac, Cian Byrne and ROC firing the next 2 days."
Long drive from Florida or Tokyo for Mr Young Afinestick96;-)

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12821 - 04/06/2024 15:58:41    2549461

Replying To Afinestick96:  "I take it you werent in Nowlan Park last week? Lee is one of our greatest ever but everyone can have an off day including him. The reality is if we are to get to a semi final this year we need him Mac, Cian Byrne and ROC firing the next 2 days."
We need them all to do the dirty boring work well too. Dog the opposition backs when they have the ball.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12821 - 04/06/2024 15:59:41    2549463

Replying To Viking66:  "We need them all to do the dirty boring work well too. Dog the opposition backs when they have the ball."
Seen a very interesting video on X last week of the Limerick forwards workrate was through the roof over turning Waterford short puck outs. We need to do the same Kilkenny worked it out too easily at times

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 314 - 04/06/2024 16:17:41    2549475

Replying To Afinestick96:  "Seen a very interesting video on X last week of the Limerick forwards workrate was through the roof over turning Waterford short puck outs. We need to do the same Kilkenny worked it out too easily at times"
It's a big weakness in some of our forwards. Rory, Cian, Mogie will work hard though. Mikey also if he plays. Jacko, Chin, Mac, and Dunbar don't always. As you say if we plan to go much further we will need them all to work harder when we haven't the ball. If a forward lets a back bring the ball out to the 45 or 65 and then he is able to ping a perfect ball inside for an opposition forward to score a point then really he has cost us a point. If he does that 3 times, and only scores 3 points himself, then really he might as well not be on the pitch at all.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12821 - 04/06/2024 17:10:31    2549493

Replying To tearintom:  "I can't think of a hurling county I'd like less to win it than Dublin.

It's been bad enough watching the organisation that's is the gaa funding them to the extent they did and to the detriment of everyone else when it come to football whilst simultaneously handing them every advantage possible but to see it take effect in hurling too would be a disaster in my eyes anyway."
Jesus Tom, 2-footed or what!
The Dublin hurlers might get the same training gear and get looked after but it is undeniable that football still is and always will be the glamour game. Many of the Dublin hurlers know they are training to play unglamorous games in front of small crowds and not be known outside their own small circle. Those who I know who know some of them say they are a good bunch of level headed lads.
No matter how well funded Dublin might be, they will never be as well "funded" as either the football counter parts or Limerick.
Who would you want to win the All-Ireland from here then if Wexford don't?

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1201 - 04/06/2024 22:06:30    2549558

Also I was in Thurles yesterday as I knew a couple of the Dublin chaps. While the scoreline flattered Clare, I thought overall Wexford looked like a poor side.
I will say it again, Wexford need more hurling in our schools year round and at every level in the county. The combined college needs to be re visited if Wexford want more players to be able to step up to inter county minor level and beyond. I don't think any Wexford school did well in schools GAA, minors were hit and miss and u20s awful. It just isn't working from what I see. Clubs can only do so much.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1201 - 04/06/2024 22:10:38    2549561

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "Also I was in Thurles yesterday as I knew a couple of the Dublin chaps. While the scoreline flattered Clare, I thought overall Wexford looked like a poor side.
I will say it again, Wexford need more hurling in our schools year round and at every level in the county. The combined college needs to be re visited if Wexford want more players to be able to step up to inter county minor level and beyond. I don't think any Wexford school did well in schools GAA, minors were hit and miss and u20s awful. It just isn't working from what I see. Clubs can only do so much."
Mr positive again. The under 20s were poor but there was only a puck of the ball between them.and your beloved Dublin

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 1012 - 04/06/2024 22:31:05    2549568

Replying To hunting:  "Mr positive again. The under 20s were poor but there was only a puck of the ball between them.and your beloved Dublin"
I'm still not sure we ever had our best first team out at u20 tbh. As regards minor Sean O Brien, Ciaran Gethings, Rhys Wickham, Jamie Kennedy, Brian Ivers and Ryan Murphy will all be minor again next year, so we should be fairly potent up front, and Ivers and Gethings are very good backs.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12821 - 05/06/2024 07:45:58    2549592

Replying To hunting:  "Mr positive again. The under 20s were poor but there was only a puck of the ball between them.and your beloved Dublin"
Tbf hard to disagree with anything said.

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 515 - 05/06/2024 08:54:22    2549605

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "Jesus Tom, 2-footed or what!
The Dublin hurlers might get the same training gear and get looked after but it is undeniable that football still is and always will be the glamour game. Many of the Dublin hurlers know they are training to play unglamorous games in front of small crowds and not be known outside their own small circle. Those who I know who know some of them say they are a good bunch of level headed lads.
No matter how well funded Dublin might be, they will never be as well "funded" as either the football counter parts or Limerick.
Who would you want to win the All-Ireland from here then if Wexford don't?"
Kilkenny.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 656 - 05/06/2024 09:05:52    2549609

Yeah perhaps a bit harsh.

I don't have any issues with the Dublin players or team in either hurling or football, in fact I'd have an awful lot of admiration for them in how they play the games, handle themselves etc.

But what the gaa has done over the years in terms of funding there along with handing every other advantage possible whilst other counties and teams struggled and fought to keep themselves going and fighting for survival simply doesn't sit well with me and has left a bitter taste if im being honest.

Of course that's not the fault of Dublin, per se, what are they going to do, say no? So yeah perhaps I'm being a bit harsh in that respect.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1377 - 05/06/2024 10:07:13    2549618

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "Also I was in Thurles yesterday as I knew a couple of the Dublin chaps. While the scoreline flattered Clare, I thought overall Wexford looked like a poor side.
I will say it again, Wexford need more hurling in our schools year round and at every level in the county. The combined college needs to be re visited if Wexford want more players to be able to step up to inter county minor level and beyond. I don't think any Wexford school did well in schools GAA, minors were hit and miss and u20s awful. It just isn't working from what I see. Clubs can only do so much."
Most clubs aren't doing enough tbh

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12821 - 05/06/2024 10:32:13    2549624

Replying To countyman2022:  "Kilkenny."
You'd like the colours I guess! I'd like to see Limerick win the 5 in a row if we aren't winning it.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12821 - 05/06/2024 10:33:07    2549626

Replying To tearintom:  "Yeah perhaps a bit harsh.

I don't have any issues with the Dublin players or team in either hurling or football, in fact I'd have an awful lot of admiration for them in how they play the games, handle themselves etc.

But what the gaa has done over the years in terms of funding there along with handing every other advantage possible whilst other counties and teams struggled and fought to keep themselves going and fighting for survival simply doesn't sit well with me and has left a bitter taste if im being honest.

Of course that's not the fault of Dublin, per se, what are they going to do, say no? So yeah perhaps I'm being a bit harsh in that respect."
A big chunk of that cash has gone on what are basically community projects in deprived areas though. I certainly don't begrudge them that.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12821 - 05/06/2024 10:34:38    2549627

If Cork don't win it, I'd love to see Dublin do it, and after that probably Wexford or Clare.

bloodandbandage (Cork) - Posts: 311 - 05/06/2024 10:42:39    2549632

Replying To Viking66:  "You'd like the colours I guess! I'd like to see Limerick win the 5 in a row if we aren't winning it."
Have a soft spot for County Clare myself but im hoping we get the chance to knock them out!

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 314 - 05/06/2024 10:50:42    2549633

Replying To Afinestick96:  "Have a soft spot for County Clare myself but im hoping we get the chance to knock them out!"
Clare would be my 4th choice. Just for the craic I'll rank the counties in order of me liking them to win-
1-Wexford
2-Limerick
3-Laois
4-Clare
5-Dublin
6-Cork
7-Kilkenny
949-Offaly

Big 3 counties and the Biffos at the bottom. Though seriously I really hope Offaly get back up to being Leinster contenders again, I had some great craic and banter with Offaly fans in the 90s and early 00s. Would be great for the game of hurling to have more counties at the top table.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12821 - 05/06/2024 11:41:06    2549655