As much as I would like to see Clare win a bit of silverware, the constant moaning about decisions has to stop. After every bloody game now that Clare loose, Lohan starts banging on about the ref. As well as that, the sight of Tony Kelly shouting at the ref is also unacceptable. I even remember when Davy was over Clare and they lost to Limerick in Thurles and both himself and Davy ran down the tunnel after the ref mouthing away. Simply not on. Better off coming out of Mikey Butler's pocket for a bit and actually influencing a game like a great should. Plaudits to Shane O'Donnell for getting on with it and not being marked absent
Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 374 - 11/07/2023 16:02:13
Replying To CARPS: "What I meant was clear. Hardly includes practice matches, or glorified practice matches." Lol! I agree with your point though. Although before the Westmeath championship game it's a good few years since we lost to one of your tier 3 teams in League or Championship. And I don't remember the last time Waterford or Dublin lost to one.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16698 - 11/07/2023 16:13:54
Replying To CARPS: "What I meant was clear. Hardly includes practice matches, or glorified practice matches." While I do remember dozens of times we have beaten some of your tier 1 counties in League and Championship in the recent past. And likewise Waterford, though less times that Dublin have done it in the last say 7 years.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16698 - 11/07/2023 16:16:12
Replying To clooney: "Its unusual to get a Limerick poster to give a balanced post when Clare are involved but you do so thanks for that, some Wexford posters also with there tiresome irrelevant comments, you cant make a reasonable comment you are labelled a whinger very east to say something like this.
Personally I will not be bothered logging on again to read bitter lies about my County" In fairness to Wexford they've plenty of time on their hands, was a short summer for them :)
Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2470 - 11/07/2023 17:13:23
Replying To Bon: "In fairness to Wexford they've plenty of time on their hands, was a short summer for them :)" Kildare didn't exactly set the world on fire this year.
Jedobi (Wexford) - Posts: 261 - 11/07/2023 17:24:21
Replying To Shocs07: "As much as I would like to see Clare win a bit of silverware, the constant moaning about decisions has to stop. After every bloody game now that Clare loose, Lohan starts banging on about the ref. As well as that, the sight of Tony Kelly shouting at the ref is also unacceptable. I even remember when Davy was over Clare and they lost to Limerick in Thurles and both himself and Davy ran down the tunnel after the ref mouthing away. Simply not on. Better off coming out of Mikey Butler's pocket for a bit and actually influencing a game like a great should. Plaudits to Shane O'Donnell for getting on with it and not being marked absent" The most accurate post that I've read here in a long long time.
TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 11/07/2023 17:45:17
Replying To clooney: "Its unusual to get a Limerick poster to give a balanced post when Clare are involved but you do so thanks for that, some Wexford posters also with there tiresome irrelevant comments, you cant make a reasonable comment you are labelled a whinger very east to say something like this.
Personally I will not be bothered logging on again to read bitter lies about my County" I wouldn't be too worried about it. It's an online forum and people will put the boot in, when given the opportunity. Whether Clare win or lose doesn't make much of a difference to people's lives in Clare. Personally, I thought Clare performed well, and that game could have gone either way.These players are amateurs, and deserve credit for their fitness and dedication to the game! I wouldn't get too worried about some keyboard warrior posting on Hoganstand!
Ryanteam (Cork) - Posts: 581 - 11/07/2023 17:48:19
Replying To clooney: " Replying To LohansRedHelmet: "If you read the rule you will see the error by the ref:
"When the referee has adjudicated that a foul has been committed (either Technical or Aggressive) he may allow play to continue if he considers it to be to the advantage of the offended team. He may allow this advantage to run for up to five seconds after the foul or for less time if is clear that no advantage has accrued."
He blew within the 5 second which by the law means he was "clear" that no advantage had accrued. He was wrong! Simple." He was poor on the day no doubt but we did shoot ourselves in foot Did Brian think KK were vastly superior to us that he has to play a sweeper a system that is I believe now dead in water. Last year we came off Munster final looking drained never performed and we always do against KK it was a once off 4 out of KK 6 forwards were replaced yesterday so how did he get it so wrong? Some of mistakes decision making especially were awful when we pushed up so much better still our efficiency was off missed a 50 m free dropped a couple short we are also missing a bit of luck Midfielder got Hurley in and then the Peter Duggan save that was unreal and the Quilligan going short when Duggan was gobbling up puckout. A huge opportunity missed as well as the Munster Final no silver wear again" You mean no silverware? Anyway, Clare had a great season, gave their supporters a lot of joy, and you had a few good days out. This mantra of "my county is better than yours", is pervasive on this site. It's an amateur game, no more and no less! Whole country is about 300 miles long, and one hundred miles wide, and people think natives of an adjoining county are different people to them! Parochialism at it's worst!
Ryanteam (Cork) - Posts: 581 - 11/07/2023 18:15:51
Replying To TerribleFootwork: "The most accurate post that I've read here in a long long time." It's a subjective judgement based on selective moments from the past 10 years. You could do the same about any County and it's players.
Brian Lohan was asked specific questions about the ref in the Limerick and kilkenny game. His response was consistent with any fair observer of those matches.
Ironically Anthony Daly was the only panel member on the Sunday game to not mention the ref directly after the match.
Recently here, Clare were singled out here as best in class for diving. Lord give me strength.
I've never seen a tread on a championship so active by posters from a County that's well gone. I've also never seen such a prolonged hammering of a County that has just been knocked out of the championship. It seems in the absence of anything good for so long, Wexford posters have decided to lap in the pain of Clare. Why, God only knows..
One things for sure, you have it bad.. Its sorrowful.
Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1479 - 11/07/2023 21:52:41
Replying To Doylerwex: "There's no doubt.
We all know the teams of the big 3.
This Limerick team have reinvented the script really.
Not too long ago there was a real fear that Limerick wouldn't recover. I remember a long drought without a championship victory, and being shafted with restructure of the league.
Even 3 in a row is a pretty elite club. It's an inspiration to the hurling world." yes indeed. I remember an eleven year period from 2002 to 2012 inclusive when Limerick won 1 - yes just 1- Munster championship game.
KnockaineyAbú (Limerick) - Posts: 96 - 11/07/2023 22:14:55
Limerick & Kilkenny will be a good tough physical game with both teams made of stern stuff and neither will be looking for soft frees like some other teams out there . Hurl away and May the best team win . They met in last years final and this years league final and now back in the all ireland so it's fair to say the two most consistent teams out there .
OpenStand (Limerick) - Posts: 760 - 12/07/2023 08:14:13
Replying To Jedobi: "Kildare didn't exactly set the world on fire this year." Finished the year with an All-Ireland all the same
LilywhiteGael (Kildare) - Posts: 133 - 12/07/2023 09:35:05
Replying To Shocs07: "As much as I would like to see Clare win a bit of silverware, the constant moaning about decisions has to stop. After every bloody game now that Clare loose, Lohan starts banging on about the ref. As well as that, the sight of Tony Kelly shouting at the ref is also unacceptable. I even remember when Davy was over Clare and they lost to Limerick in Thurles and both himself and Davy ran down the tunnel after the ref mouthing away. Simply not on. Better off coming out of Mikey Butler's pocket for a bit and actually influencing a game like a great should. Plaudits to Shane O'Donnell for getting on with it and not being marked absent" To be fair to the Clare fans, I was sat in section 301 where the Cusack is near the hil & everyone struggled to understand a couple of decisions. When Lyons played advantage on one ball, it looked like he had given a free against John Conlon for charging but he was actually calling play back for a swipe across the Kilkenny player.
For the Clare goal that wasn't, it all happened so fast, I don't blame Clare fans for being incensed. But when you look back on it, Lyons called the move by the letter of the law. The game is played at savage speed, the man did his best.
The point Shocs07 made about mouthing is a good one. Nothing anti Clare here, but in the 2022 Munster Final I thought Clare lost the head in extra time. It was a bruiser of a game but Clare seemed furious with decisions. Our lads seemed to feed off that, knowing they were under the skin so to speak. As Shocs07 pointed out, that happened again on Saturday. Completely understand the frustration, but walking away & planning the next ball is surely better?
I think Brian Lohan is a credit to Clare, but if there is one thing he could change for 2024 this is it - say nothing about the referee whatsover and coach his players to accept decisions, no matter how bad they are. Looking at Clare's results v the two finalists, Clare have 99% of what is needed to beat both. This small change in attitude could be the deciding factor for success.
slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6521 - 12/07/2023 10:04:46
Replying To Ban: "It's a subjective judgement based on selective moments from the past 10 years. You could do the same about any County and it's players.
Brian Lohan was asked specific questions about the ref in the Limerick and kilkenny game. His response was consistent with any fair observer of those matches.
Ironically Anthony Daly was the only panel member on the Sunday game to not mention the ref directly after the match.
Recently here, Clare were singled out here as best in class for diving. Lord give me strength.
I've never seen a tread on a championship so active by posters from a County that's well gone. I've also never seen such a prolonged hammering of a County that has just been knocked out of the championship. It seems in the absence of anything good for so long, Wexford posters have decided to lap in the pain of Clare. Why, God only knows..
One things for sure, you have it bad.. Its sorrowful." Anthony Daly said on two occasions he felt colm lyons had a bad game and on both occasions said directly after that he didn't want to blame the ref. I always find that humorous.
daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1198 - 12/07/2023 14:11:44
Replying To Jedobi: "Kildare didn't exactly set the world on fire this year." Jesus what is wrong with some of the Wexford lads here, ye are gone so bitter (Viking certainly not aiming that at you)
LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 12/07/2023 15:26:43
Replying To LohansRedHelmet: "Jesus what is wrong with some of the Wexford lads here, ye are gone so bitter (Viking certainly not aiming that at you)" You'd be bitter too LRH if you'd endured the season we just did. But you're right there's no need to be taking that out on fellow posters on this! The uncertainty over the management situation has made things worse also. It's all been dragged out and taken too long already.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16698 - 12/07/2023 17:08:29
Replying To daveboy: "Anthony Daly said on two occasions he felt colm lyons had a bad game and on both occasions said directly after that he didn't want to blame the ref. I always find that humorous." In fairness, both of those things can be true. The ref can have a poor game, but a team can also be the main architects of their own downfall.
WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2470 - 12/07/2023 17:12:43
Replying To daveboy: "Anthony Daly said on two occasions he felt colm lyons had a bad game and on both occasions said directly after that he didn't want to blame the ref. I always find that humorous." Correct, when questioned about it. Everyone else spoke about it before Daly. Even Cantwell eluded to the fact that he was giving out about the ref when he hadn't said a thing..! He was having a laugh about it.
Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1479 - 12/07/2023 18:10:11
Replying To LohansRedHelmet: "Jesus what is wrong with some of the Wexford lads here, ye are gone so bitter (Viking certainly not aiming that at you)" No bitterness from me anyway.
I did say I don't like Clare very much, and I explained my reasons for it.
Nothing personal, just my experience
Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3854 - 12/07/2023 22:21:48
Replying To Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin: "My power ranking and performance review so far. All Ireland will only effect 1 and 2. 1. Limerick, clearly no.1, I think all the plaudits are pretty self explanatory. Greatness already achieved and continuing to push on. 2. Kilkenny, I don't think there's any dispute about who's no.2 in the country. I think Clare and Galway aren't that much worse than them but I just don't think Kilkenny loose to either of them in games that actually matter. Similar way with Limerick, just don't loose to Galway or Clare when it comes to the crunch. Unlike those 2, not afraid to win and have a lot more self belief and steeliness. Can't not admire them. Limerick might be beyond them. 3/4. Im putting Clare and Galway here together cus I think they've similar 2 years. Clare ran Kilkenny close enough this year, hammered by Kilkenny last year. Galway ran Limerick close enough last year, hammered this year. Two mentally weak counties with Croke Park hang ups since they last won all Ireland's. Both have topped round Robin's last two years, lost provincal finals in dissapointing ways. Both probably at cross roads now, what their doing isn't going to be enough. I know they can look to close calls or near misses but fact is no cups, no finals and 2 back to back semi final losses. Hard to know how they'll go next year, some of their best players are their best players from nearly a decade ago. Think Lohan and Shefflin do one more year but both in last chance saloon (if not already maybe gone past that) but both need shake up tactics or backroom teams, both very slow to make decisions in game and have both experienced getting walloped and missing big chances in croke Park and don't seem to learn from either. Don't fancy either to be winning an all Ireland next year as of now, could all change, who knows really. 5. Tipp. Year started great but they got progressively worse as the year went on. Don't but the overtraininy in November at all, if anything they didn't look fit. Think that's a easy fix compared to some things. Thought Davy was raving when he said Waterford weren't fit when he got them but maybe some truth in it. Some positive signs and progress none the less. Played some great stuff but didn't ever put in a full 70 min performance. Clare game first half (yes, the goalie mistakes) showed what they can do. New lads mighnt be as good as what they've had but I think they'll be better next year. 6. Cork, hard to know. After munster it seemed like an OK year but looking back they didn't really do much. Beat Waterford and lost tight games. Do have talent coming but we're a while waiting for this to come. They've been in 5 of the last 6 u21/20 finals and the first of that crew are in Their mid to late 20s now and haven't really pushed on at all at senior. Harneddy and Horgan still their top performers this year. Ciaran Joyce is a super centre back already and will only get better. Need to be doing better really. 7. Dublin. Not a bad first year under Donoghue. Think they had some wasted years under Mattie Kenny who had a much better and stronger team. Dublin if they get back some of their best players and keep Donal Burke fit could trouble some big teams next year, Donoghue very good manager. Had a tough day v Clare and probably showed up the losses from the panel hugely and Donal Burke going off injured early on. But progress none the less. 8. Waterford. Good performances v Limerick (second half) and Tipp sandwich in some absolutely horrendous performances. Time is ticking on their good crop and look to be sliding away from them, pity that a clearly talented bunch haven't found consistency and can't seem to get a handle on the round Robin at all. Not even going to attempt to predict Waterford for next year, they could end up in an all Ireland or end up floundering again. They're like a more extreme and somehow even more inconsistent Galway, like 2000s Galway teams maybe. Can't trust them. 9. Wexford. Probably worst year since pre Liam Dunne. But then they beat Kilkenny again but somehow lost to Westmeath, makes no sense. Maybe like Clare when they play Limerick, Wexford play above themselves when playing Kilkenny and then struggle v other top teams. A lot their 2019 lads are getting older now and Lee Chin (what a hurler) needs to stay fit and injury free for them to have any chance of making an impact. I don't think they're as bad as they showed this year but until they prove otherwise next year they are where they are. 10. Antrim, solid year. Should've beaten Dublin and ran Wexford close. Won the big one v Westmeath to ensure safety. Have potential to do more, probably the best of the McDonagh teams to come. Have had some good days in recent years but waiting for that big win v a big county to push on, in last couple of years ran Cork pretty close, beaten Clare in League, drew with Dublin, drew with Wexford in league, gave Kilkenny a fee decent games etc but just a small bit off it, have some good hurlers but just don't have the depth or same pool of high quality talent to take that next step. 11. Westmeath, probably one of the unluckiest teams to be relegated but ultimately didn't win the game they targeted all year in the Antrim game. Where one more Kilkenny goal away from being saved. They were down a fee of their better players this year and had probably their greatest win ever this year. You would expect them to bounce back pretty quick to Liam McCarthy. Joe Fortune has done a very good job and relegation shouldn't take away from that either." Good and fair post.
Frontier1000 (Cork) - Posts: 64 - 13/07/2023 01:49:20