Take what he says with a pinch. All lies. Wexford lads can't stand him. LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 27/06/2023 17:09:17 2490175 Link 0 |
At the very back of the Clare End Terrace. Eoin, the lads reasons for what they said was that despite the ref giving Clare every decision for the first half, the Clare crowd were still not happy and crying at everything. Even at Adam Hogans dive. Not quite sure how that is making anything up? Neither was pointing out Clares dives throughout the year.
countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 854 - 27/06/2023 17:23:14 2490178 Link 2 |
Not that I hate ye. Clare people are lovely, they just never can accept their own shortcomings. It's never their fault. Thats all. I wasn't going to shout for ye, no. I was very quiet throughout but couldn't believe the lads minds changed after 35 mins of being on that end. The Clare fans dont misbehave, dont get me wrong. They are good craic!
countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 854 - 27/06/2023 17:26:02 2490180 Link 0 |
You and Canuck would make a lovely couple :)
countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 854 - 27/06/2023 17:30:53 2490186 Link 0 |
To be totally honest, but for the modern era of smartphones being ready to record any altercation and not being bothered getting annoyed by some fellow whose education might not extend beyond the primary cert I might have thought differently.
ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1445 - 27/06/2023 17:38:03 2490189 Link 0 |
Nobody is saying turn away anybody. Our games are better with bigger crowds. I agree with the lads here its tedious every Limerick poster going on about the great Limerick support when its 50% genuine Limerick people 50% bandwagon and complaining about Dublin fans not travelling when its the 2nd game in the county and has hardcore support and little more I go over to a couple of Tottenham matches every year and as is often chanted at newly promoted sides with a suddenly big support giving it loads "Where were you when you were s##t". I think the same applies here. ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1445 - 27/06/2023 17:42:03 2490192 Link 0 |
Clare fans did give Gillane a lot of abuse at start of Munster final , nasty stuff but I think he got over it and left his hurling do the talking. In the round robin game 1 Limerick supporter started shouting at Mccarthy taking a free on the open stand side saying he'd bottle it but Mccarthy put it overand let the 'fan' know about it, so there are eejits out there on all sides.
updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 905 - 27/06/2023 17:56:44 2490204 Link 0 |
Doesn't he remind you of that kid in school who no matter how many times he gets thumped for shooting his mouth off. Comes back for more and keeps getting thumped.
Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3144 - 27/06/2023 20:25:22 2490244 Link 0 |
It happened once or twice and was a few young lads up on the terrace. Wasn't exactly every Tipp person in the ground I cud hear people chatting over the booing it was that pitiful of an attempt by those clowns. Happens at every game I suppose. I seen during the warm up one of the galway panel members entered the Tipp drill that was ongoing. Accidental or not he shud not have been in there he got a fair few belts on his way out again.
WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 27/06/2023 20:59:16 2490248 Link 0 |
You can't comment on someone else's experience at a match. There was 35,000 at the game. Yet you think you know everything that went on and what was said ? Haha If that's the case the FBI or MI5 will pay you millions mr305 (Galway) - Posts: 81 - 27/06/2023 21:12:03 2490250 Link 0 |
Do you not realise that Dublin have a population of 1.5 million. Dublin hurlers do get very poor support and even when they were going well in the last decade it was the same.
Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4518 - 27/06/2023 22:16:19 2490260 Link 1 |
Not until Cahill told them to get him out of it, that should have been worry #1 for Tipp fans, there was no fight in those players on Saturday
Kinvara (Galway) - Posts: 200 - 28/06/2023 07:48:24 2490305 Link 0 |
I agree with this. People never seem to think of county populations. We have a population of about 130,000 in Clare have a seriously large support for our hurlers given our population.
LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 28/06/2023 08:05:09 2490306 Link 0 |
Your comment brings to mind the wit of a Roscommon footballer when Roscommon went to play London some years ago. When the plane was over London he looked down and said: "Jeepers, look at the pick these fellas have, lads!" The biggest challenge for Dublin hurling is the lure and success of the big ball along with the hostile treatment of hurling in some of their clubs, plus the fact that some of their best county hurlers opt for football. baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 28/06/2023 08:39:37 2490312 Link 0 |
I agree, Oldtourman, Dublin hurlers deserve much better support. In fairness, I think their relatively small band of loyal supporters are among the best in the country - very sporting and fair-minded.
midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 620 - 28/06/2023 09:51:44 2490327 Link 0 |
I think this is a very good point. Clare have always had great numbers over the years and considering that population its very impressive. Also taking into account the fact they are a dual county and large portions of west clare serve in effect one senior club. LRH was talking to some ex clare hurlers since Saturday and the overriding feeling is that clare will need to be full strength come sunday week. There are major doubts I've heard over conor cleary Aidan mccarthy and now John conlon. David mc and o donnells injury should clear up in time. Just wondering whats your take on this ? Would clare be able to cope without cleary and conlon. I think going forward they can absorb the loss of mccarthy but defensively they could be stretched. We have our own issues missing finn and hannon so health of the squad and freshness of the panel is always key at this stage. daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1198 - 28/06/2023 10:16:09 2490333 Link 0 |
Your exactly right. You need bandwagon support. In Limerick City in 2008 and 2009 you would not see a young fellas walking around with hurleys in had but rather Rugby Balls as Munster had just won their second Heineken Cup in 2008. The beating we took off Tipperary in 2009 in Croke park and the fall out from that (i.e. the strike etc.) was one of Limericks hurling's lowest points ever. When the underage programme commenced, those of us going underage matches could start to see the potential by 2012 but it took Limerick winning the Munster Final in 2013 to be the catalyst for explosion in interest after that. I remember talking to a games development officer in July 2013 and he said had been going around the schools and clubs in Limerick trying to get young fellas to pick up hurleys for about 4 years and the effect of one win and the outpouring of emotion had done more for Limerick hurling in a matter of weeks than they ha been able to do in the 4 years previous. LimerickandProud (Limerick) - Posts: 194 - 28/06/2023 10:58:27 2490356 Link 0 |
Without Cleary & Conlon very little chance KK are powerful in the air always but I expect them to be ok
clooney (Clare) - Posts: 997 - 28/06/2023 11:15:40 2490366 Link 0 |
Lads maybe I'm the only one, but at the end of the week my disposal income isn't what it was. I have 5 travelling in my household & a match day out especially in Dublin is no joke. St.Mologga (Cork) - Posts: 121 - 28/06/2023 11:19:42 2490367 Link 2 |
If Conlan is missing for Clare the impact will be as big as Hannon missing for Limerick. I would put both these players up there as some of the most important players in each county, both unbelievable readers of the game and both run each teams defence's. This is why as a Limerick fan I would be worried about facing Galway as I believe Limerick are a lesser team without Hannon and Clare will be a lesser team if Conlan doesn't play. In Limerick's Case we have had 4 weeks to come up with a Plan for how we paly without Hannon so I have to trust that Kiely and Kinnerk will put the best option out on the Field. I think the Clare defence do have other options if Cleary is missing, I think Morey could go back to Full back and Rory Hayes back to the corner. They also have Paul Flanagan who could come in and do a job. I think Clare forwards have enough class to cover the absence of McCarthy including Ian Galvin (who played the last day) plus Shane Meehan plus Aron Shanagher will love the open spaces of Croke Park. LimerickandProud (Limerick) - Posts: 194 - 28/06/2023 11:31:40 2490370 Link 0 |