Tipp, like Clare in MF last year, blew it all trying to beat ye. They were flat as a pancake after. What this result also reinforces is how much of a crazy decision it was to let Offaly into AI series. Tipp have won 1 Munster champ game in 2 years. Says a lot. I just don't think the calibre of players is there at the moment. The current crop can develop for sure, but Tipp have lost too many top players in the last 3 years and the players coming through are not the same w quality but that is not a dig as the players they have lost are generational types. LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 25/06/2023 10:02:10 2489020 Link 1 |
Galway need to stop passing the sliothar to opposition. I don't get it. maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1237 - 25/06/2023 10:54:13 2489043 Link 0 |
Went yesterday to the Q finals as a neutral and it was honestly a frustrating and disappointing evening. Was really looking forward to both matches. The breeze possibly didn't help. The first 20 mins of Clare v Dublin was 2 teams that were full of nerves. Donal Burke wasn't fit to start you could see it in the warm up. The air went out of the balloon when he hobbled off. The rest of that match was pedestrian bar 10 mins when Clare showed clear weaknesses in front of their Full back line. Dublin allowing the middle to be wide open behind conor Burke was just remarkable for an experienced sideline that o Donoghue has assembled. Clare picked them off at ease. It was a nice match for clare to get. Dublin are not at the level required right now. Clare will be concerned regarding their health leading into kilkenny. I heard Aidan mccarthy could be done for the year. Conor cleary must again be a doubt. Shane o donnell hobbled off. David mc didn't start and John conlon took a nasty looking concussion. He's had a few in last couple of years. Clare will need everyone fit for their semi final. Everyone. daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1198 - 25/06/2023 10:55:16 2489046 Link 0 |
Spot on there.
Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2441 - 25/06/2023 12:48:27 2489064 Link 0 |
Really Trump2020. He made some good stops and has a great future but at the moment is a disaster under the dropping ball. Could have and should have conceded two more that Galway failed to finish. Then his saves would not mean a lot. He is young with pin point accuracy on puck outs and will be a name for the future.
Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3141 - 25/06/2023 13:56:53 2489090 Link 0 |
Tipp very flat but Galway never gave our key forwards the room they needed to get shots off. Bad wides from both teams but Galway had that extra kick in them and were able to get good ball into Whelan. I don't think Tipp were cocky people in Tipp knew this was never going to be an easy game. It never is against Galway. We're dam proud that this group has given us some hope for the future and in about 2 years I'd expect us to be pushing for all irelands again. We'd have taken last 6 stage before a ball was even thrown in. Doesn't matter that our record of wins was poor coming into this but if Limerick go on to win the all ireland again which I'm sure they will it means every other team has not progressed so they can't talk either in terms of form,results and progression which will be static. Looking ahead to what will be two keenly contested semi finals dissapointed to be out but you can't turn up and not perform. Galway won playing badly same if Tipp had come out on the right side. That's not a bad thing either.well done Galway. WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 25/06/2023 14:59:26 2489122 Link 0 |
How did T.Kelly stay on the pitch yesterday?? Pulling and dragging and sly digs off the ball.. I was at the City end yesterday and he was right in front of me.. if he had a Blue shirt on him yesterday he would've seen red before half time
TomWex (Wexford) - Posts: 85 - 25/06/2023 15:03:39 2489124 Link 0 |
Really Trump2020. He made some good stops and has a great future but at the moment is a disaster under the dropping ball. Could have and should have conceded two more that Galway failed to finish. Then his saves would not mean a lot. He is young with pin point accuracy on puck outs and will be a name for the future.
Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3141 - 25/06/2023 15:46:44 2489131 Link 0 |
Tipp are definitely in transition and a year or two away. Cahill could not come in and stand down at least 4 or 5 who have giving sterling service but are past their best. Next year he will transition a lot more. I look at us more or less the same. Four or five real good young players to add but some big names have to be dropped to do that. Kilkenny for some reason are able to do this easier. I have seen them bringing in a 29 year and it looking like he was always there.
Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3141 - 25/06/2023 15:58:12 2489136 Link 0 |
God it keeps getting better with ye lads
LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 25/06/2023 16:12:23 2489141 Link 0 |
Imagine what he would have wracked up against Wexford yesterday? Alas thanks to Westmeath we will never know
LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 25/06/2023 16:16:02 2489145 Link 1 |
To start I'm a big Liam Cahill fan. He brings energy and honesty to a group. However could it be said now that questions must be asked regarding his ability to time his team right? We all know what happened Waterford last year. Won the league and then flatlined badly so much so that things didn't end well in the group. This year I went to the league semi final between limerick and tipp and for 50-55 mins tipp were at championship pace. Again this year they started the year well but have played poorly in their last two proper championship matches against waterford and Galway.
daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1198 - 25/06/2023 16:18:00 2489147 Link 0 |
One of the reasons that Tipp struggle for likeability is like Premier28 many are stuck in the past. Tipp have I think 6 AI in 50 years but shape around the place like they have 25. The "Big 3" as it were is a historical term and is redundant. I can't be arsed running the exercise but I would love to see the spread of winners over the last 30 years. Would there be a "big 3" based on this? Hardly. Lads like Premier28 on here giving it large to Limerick lads and ranting about the 50s and 60s (when he / she was probably not even alive") is laughable stuff. I'd much rather have 5 All Irelands in the last 10 years then 6 in the last 50 LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 25/06/2023 16:29:34 2489152 Link 3 |
And nobody dragged out of him or hit him sly digs off the ball?
Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2441 - 25/06/2023 16:49:19 2489157 Link 0 |
I agree, LRH. The Big 3 is no longer relevant and, like Premier 28, shouldn't be taken seriously. Cork may be on the way back, KK will almost always be thereabouts, Tipp could be serious contenders in a few years, but all of them are trailing behind Limerick. With the amount of quality young players coming through, I think your own county could become the next major force whenever this great Limerick team is no longer dominant.
midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 619 - 25/06/2023 17:03:00 2489168 Link 0 |
To half borrow a phrase from John Mullane ' I loves me hurling' I'm on the road every weekend to as many hurling matches as I can.. unfortunately Wexford aren't at the races at the moment but I'll go whoever is playing. But I've noticed over the last while that TK gets away with a lot.. combined with diving and constant crying to referees make him unlikeable in my eyes. Where as John Conlon, Sheana Morey, Aiden McCarthy are superb hurlers that I could watch all day... always give 100%. Tough but fair
TomWex (Wexford) - Posts: 85 - 25/06/2023 17:06:54 2489170 Link 0 |
There was no Dubs at it yesterday.
TomWex (Wexford) - Posts: 85 - 25/06/2023 17:08:12 2489171 Link 0 |
Spot on LRH.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16582 - 25/06/2023 17:32:36 2489189 Link 0 |
Thank god they got relegated. We just have to get the Dubs and Galway relegated now and we might get out of Leinster again!
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16582 - 25/06/2023 17:33:49 2489192 Link 1 |
Lol fair play Viking. A great contributor here
LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 25/06/2023 18:12:48 2489206 Link 0 |