Viking I don't think any team has the players to play the traditional game. To me it is not about playing the long ball that will work sometimes or playing it through the lines all the time. It is about delivering the ball accurately and fast giving your man a half step on his opponent and that bit of space to shoot successfully. I marvelled at Philly Grimes running towards goal catching the ball delivered by Seamus Power behind his back.You won't see that skill in our team or any other team today.
Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3116 - 08/05/2023 16:47:10 2476802 Link 0 |
Just listened to the "interview" online. I think even Storey found it uncomfortable after a few minutes as Corcoran was on a click bait run. Corcoran who likes to present himself as a great hurling man is leading the charge of negativity at the moment. Surely we get behind the team for the tow last games and hold the post mortem then!
wexfordwin (Wexford) - Posts: 191 - 08/05/2023 16:51:30 2476803 Link 0 |
this years minor team was JJ Doyles in everthing but name
tonydoranfan (Wexford) - Posts: 550 - 08/05/2023 16:52:10 2476804 Link 0 |
How did the "son" get on after?
TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 08/05/2023 16:58:43 2476809 Link 0 |
There a good lad gone in there in the last year or two, one of my mates knows him. I be surprised if he didn't try and promote hurling, he was good hurler himself and was involved in under age training a lot.
hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 1149 - 08/05/2023 16:58:49 2476810 Link 0 |
Adrian Fenlon made our team that way. Never really been replaced tbh.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16372 - 08/05/2023 17:08:35 2476816 Link 0 |
As per a recent workshop promotion JJ Doyle….Talent Development Lead Niall Williams…..Director of Hurling Ray Harris…. Games Manager HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 554 - 08/05/2023 17:13:38 2476819 Link 0 |
I'm only a mentor and fortunately we have a very good man managing our u12s. Played county minor and u21 and spends hours looking at new drills, thinking up new drills and tries to make training interesting for what is a decent bunch of u12s we have. We are also blessed to have a great mentor who does all the administration and liaising with parents and coiste na nog, she books the astro and pitches also, and a current player who comes in when he has the time. Really the most useless fella that's there is me! A few of the other current players have said they would drop in for a session or 2 also, who have underage and Senior intercounty experience and Fitzgibbon experience also. Hopefully they will be able to pass on little tricks and training tips that we can't. But we are having to sort all this out in our own time. Other clubs we have played over the last couple of years haven't been as lucky. Many are amalgamations even. What's frustrating from a dual standpoint is that nearly none of the lads have the same interest in football. What's really frustrating is that over the last couple of years we have had no real support or help from the County with coaching etc. If it wasn't for the manager driving things on the good bunch of players we have would be falling back as regards skills, speed of hurling, etc. Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16372 - 08/05/2023 17:21:52 2476822 Link 0 |
I can't post what I think of him. He's never had a good word to say about the Senior team as far as I can remember, and at the same time never comes up with any reasonable solutions to the problems, real and imagined, that he presents.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16372 - 08/05/2023 17:23:52 2476823 Link 0 |
: D
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16372 - 08/05/2023 17:24:14 2476825 Link 0 |
from a birds eye view of this years minor setup and the development squads over the last few years, it is easy to understand why we have won only one leinster minor hurling title since 1985, we have the talent and numbers in this great county but we lack the professional plan at the highest level, Wexford abu tonydoranfan (Wexford) - Posts: 550 - 08/05/2023 17:25:00 2476826 Link 0 |
totally agree
tonydoranfan (Wexford) - Posts: 550 - 08/05/2023 17:26:52 2476829 Link 0 |
We are lucky insofar as we have a few good lads involved with the club. If we were relying on enthusiastic amateurs like me we would be ####ed! Current manager is a Tipp man and no half hearted measures with him fair play to him! The current team is backboned by the team who won Premier u14s in both codes and reached the Premier u16 finals in both codes. All 4 games against the Martins as far as I remember. A good few of the lads played intercounty underage in hurling and football. I'm amazed Jack Dunne has never come into the Senior goalkeeper conversation for example. Excellent shotstopper and accurate with puckouts short and long. Hopefully they can achieve their stated goal of making it to Senior. Haven't been that in hurling since the early 50s!
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16372 - 08/05/2023 17:31:05 2476833 Link 0 |
We are lucky insofar as we have a few good lads involved with the club. If we were relying on enthusiastic amateurs like me we would be ####ed! Current manager is a Tipp man and no half hearted measures with him fair play to him! The current team is backboned by the team who won Premier u14s in both codes and reached the Premier u16 finals in both codes. All 4 games against the Martins as far as I remember. A good few of the lads played intercounty underage in hurling and football. I'm amazed Jack Dunne has never come into the Senior goalkeeper conversation for example. Excellent shotstopper and accurate with puckouts short and long. Hopefully they can achieve their stated goal of making it to Senior. Haven't been that in hurling since the early 50s!
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16372 - 08/05/2023 17:31:36 2476835 Link 0 |
Why did you lie about your son being on the minor panel?
TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 08/05/2023 17:59:16 2476841 Link 0 |
Well done to Conor Devitt on getting on to the GAA Hurling TOTW Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16372 - 08/05/2023 18:35:33 2476854 Link 0 |
hurling wise you could say good ,played all 4 games but on a personal level very stressfull on a 17 year olds mind and body, I dont think he found the whole experiance positive
tonydoranfan (Wexford) - Posts: 550 - 08/05/2023 18:43:36 2476855 Link 0 |
What's Nial Williams background? Don't know much about him. He has the biggest job in Wexford hurling, just hope he can do something.
Finchfurlong996 (Wexford) - Posts: 255 - 08/05/2023 18:52:26 2476858 Link 0 |
https://m.independent.ie/regionals/wexford/sport/gaa/tom-dempsey-wexford-hurlers-in-last-chance-saloon-after-disappointing-defeat-against-dubs/a1312041107.html Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16372 - 08/05/2023 19:17:39 2476863 Link 0 |
Sorry I meant Into the school(as teacher) not the club. Ye done well last year and good chance to build on it this year in the hurling.
hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 1149 - 08/05/2023 19:48:57 2476871 Link 0 |