Replying To zinny: "Combination of tactics which would not just be something Egan would come up with and players. Had the players did their job, the former would have been ignored. It wasn't just the wides but also the delivery of the ball into the forwards. Just not good enough. Like the minors the other evening, it seems as if there are some players who have it ingrained in them to clear the ball long upfield without a thought as to where its going." It's in all our age groups. Minors got it back to a point and started to panic, lumped ball inti the forwards while the last few minutes before that they actually playing a bit more between the lines and creating chances. I've seen all our teams this year hitting ridiculous wides from all angles instead of looking for the extra pass for a man in space. Why is this happening? Is it a mentality thing when the pressure is on, or is is it just simply poor coaching. Someone mentioned that the coaching in St Peters is of a poor standard. Well that's the biggest GAA school in the town. That seriously has to be looked at for both codes.
Finchfurlong996 (Wexford) - Posts: 255 - 07/05/2023 12:15:17
Replying To Báireoir: "Of the last 8 championship meetings Dublin have won 5, Wexford have won 1 and there have been 2 draws." Yep sick reminding lads down here of that stat. At the same time our poor shooting, especially freetaking, cost us the last 2 games.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16361 - 07/05/2023 12:16:44
Replying To Finchfurlong996: "It's in all our age groups. Minors got it back to a point and started to panic, lumped ball inti the forwards while the last few minutes before that they actually playing a bit more between the lines and creating chances. I've seen all our teams this year hitting ridiculous wides from all angles instead of looking for the extra pass for a man in space. Why is this happening? Is it a mentality thing when the pressure is on, or is is it just simply poor coaching. Someone mentioned that the coaching in St Peters is of a poor standard. Well that's the biggest GAA school in the town. That seriously has to be looked at for both codes." Friends who are parents told me that. The lads themselves reckon Peters will be better next year. Was talking to a couple of them that played last Monday in Nowlan Park they agreed the 3rd quarter was our best quarter and didn't know why we started lumping ball on top of their half back line again in the last quarter. 2019 against Tipp was the same, as was last year against Clare. Doylerwex is right we need a Currid. Problem for us is that we just don't have enough experience of winning tight games against top opponents. Just like winning is a habit, but so is losing.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16361 - 07/05/2023 12:31:18
I think Pat Bennett and/or Stephen Molumphy would be more suitable choices than Declan Ruth.
And isn't Declan Ruth suspended anyway?
ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 575 - 07/05/2023 12:32:21
Replying To Báireoir: "Of the last 8 championship meetings Dublin have won 5, Wexford have won 1 and there have been 2 draws." Wex def developing a bit of a block to beating Dublin. It's a strange one as we are able to turn over Kilkenny and ye have a real issue with turning them over. If you look at yesterdays stats, never mind tactics and game plan, the free taker was the difference as it was last year. We need one so so badly. Burke is awesome for ye. I still say 3rd is all to play for. It could be Dublin's or Antrim's first time to get out of the round robin and fair play if ye do.
bottletopbill (Wexford) - Posts: 74 - 07/05/2023 12:44:07
Replying To Viking66: "Yep sick reminding lads down here of that stat. At the same time our poor shooting, especially freetaking, cost us the last 2 games." Ah yeah, Dublin and yourselves have both fallen back in recent years and the games could have gone either way last year and yesterday. Wexford might be slightly stronger on paper but I don't think Dublin winning was any kind of upset.
Báireoir (Dublin) - Posts: 80 - 07/05/2023 12:47:16
Replying To Viking66: "That last line is a definite. As regards manager it wasn't Egans fault that players hit easy chances wide. The biggest issue I'd have with him after yesterday though is team selection. Joe OC and Carty covered alot more ground than Reck and Ryan who were obviously not right. Strange DOK didn't get a run out. In fairness to him the panel is noticeably better. None of the subs made the team play worse. If anything the last 20 minutes were our best 20 minutes. Skippy did well with the Rapps. Was Fenlon involved also? What about Joe Fortune? I think he would be the next man up tbh." To some extent I would lay the blame at Egan for the volume of wides! When you set up the team so defensively and your forwards are outnumbered by the Dublin backs and there's little or no running through the lines, the only option left is to take pot shots from distance and unless you have really top class marksmen taking those pot shots you are going to accumulate an amount of wides. If I was a Wexford supporter I would have been fuming yesterday at the way ye set up , ye made it hard for yourselves and played to Dublin's strengths rather than your own.
PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 2038 - 07/05/2023 13:06:15
Replying To Báireoir: "Of the last 8 championship meetings Dublin have won 5, Wexford have won 1 and there have been 2 draws." 1st 4 of those was 2013-16 when Dublin were undoubtedly a stronger side, last 4 meetings 1 Wexford win, 1 draw, 2 Dublin wins all 4 games decided by 2 points or less so there's nothing between them in reality, last 2 meetings Wexford's poor efficiency was pivotal in deciding the game.
TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 07/05/2023 13:17:01
Replying To Báireoir: "Ah yeah, Dublin and yourselves have both fallen back in recent years and the games could have gone either way last year and yesterday. Wexford might be slightly stronger on paper but I don't think Dublin winning was any kind of upset." No. Two teams at a similar level
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16361 - 07/05/2023 13:28:17
The quality of coaching in wexford is shockingly poor at nearly every level. Lads getting paid by the county board to coach kids that havent a clue what they are doing. Alot of clubs are also employing spoofers to coach their teams to play septic hurling. Id love to see what goes on in ferns compared to the top county hurling teams. Our county board are too concerned about climbing the financial ladder to leinster councils etc than actually addressing the alarming state of hurling in the county.
Waltermitty2 (Wexford) - Posts: 272 - 07/05/2023 13:28:51
Replying To PoolSturgeon: "To some extent I would lay the blame at Egan for the volume of wides! When you set up the team so defensively and your forwards are outnumbered by the Dublin backs and there's little or no running through the lines, the only option left is to take pot shots from distance and unless you have really top class marksmen taking those pot shots you are going to accumulate an amount of wides. If I was a Wexford supporter I would have been fuming yesterday at the way ye set up , ye made it hard for yourselves and played to Dublin's strengths rather than your own." Excellent post and accurately sums up our issues scoring. Also why oh why does Mikey Dwyer not strike his goal effort low.
HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 554 - 07/05/2023 13:31:02
Just a couple of points lads in the last 5 years since 2019 here are championship wins 2017 old format beat kk lost Leinster final to Galway lost qualifier to Waterford 2018 new format..beat Dublin beat Offaly lost to Galway lost to Kilkenny beat Westmeath preliminary qualifier lost to Clare 2019 drew with Dublin drew with Galway drew with Kilkenny beat Carlow beat Kilkenny Leinster final lost to tipp all Ireland semi final 2020 Covid year Lost to Galway lost to Clare 2021 Covid year. Beat Laois Lost to kk lost to Clare in qualifiers 2022 drew with Galway thanks to the ref lost to Dublin drew with Westmeath beat Kilkenny beat loais beat Kerry qualifier lost to Clare Shocking that we have only beating Mickey Mouse teams and Kilkenny really. Are we bad or are out tactics really killing us im on the tactics side of things I know we will probably loose o hanlon o keefe McGovern fanning this year but still think if we get a few good u20s like jack redmond Conor foley etc we have the makings of a good team but I stil think we struggle and will to win ball in the half forwards been saying it for years… yesterday Dublin did it to us went long pulled the ball out of sky and over the bar big couple of years for Wexford hurling coming up
gannett83 (Wexford) - Posts: 322 - 07/05/2023 13:41:05
The half time score in kilkenny antrim further reinforces the level we are at.
Yellowhelmet (Australia) - Posts: 153 - 07/05/2023 13:43:23
Replying To Yellowhelmet: "The half time score in kilkenny antrim further reinforces the level we are at." We played the last game starting 3 of our best 5 players even though they were injured. Including our 3 and 6. Limerick looked alot worse without Hannon. Clare were woeful last year without Conlon. And god only knows what they would look like if Cleary was missing or playing injured too. Galway without Burke and McInerney? Kilkenny without Lawlor although Richie Reid wouldn't be as important? Every team has 5 or 6 very important players but they keep them all fully fit largely. So what are we doing wrong? Is it the players themselves? Just bad luck? Who is our S and C man? Why are most of our best players injured all year? It still doesn't change the fact that if we had a freetaker like any of the other top 9 counties we would have beaten Dublin the last 2 times we lost. Very very frustrating.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16361 - 07/05/2023 14:33:59
First up lads, hard luck. It was a dreadful game. The only delight I take is that it puts us in the driving seat to finish 3rd. I would rather it at the expense of KK/Galway but don't see that situation unfolding. The Wexford manager hung his own players in that interview - he must not have looked back at the video of the match in Wexford Park last year because to me Wexford made the exact same mistakes again. Letting our backs run 40 yards with the ball coupled with good movement inside by our full forward line with lots of space gave us a foothold in the match we never lost until the last 10 minutes when pressure was put on the Dublin backs once they got the ball. Wexford looked likely winners once they put pressure on. As PoolSurgeon said, 19 wides when half are pot-shots because there is no inside forward is Darragh Egan's to answer. He set the team up, or should be expected to. Wexford completely over-play the ball with short passing inside their own 45, teams have this figured out - with Wexford's best forwards so far from goal, it is music to their ears. Once they went for the jugular, I feared a goal I had not for 60+ minutes.
Wexford were 2nd to every ball for the hour though, they don't look fit enough and S&C bar chin is miles off the top counties. This too is on the management team.
I don't believe this thing of a losing mentality, I think teams find out what Wexford do at every level and counteract it in the business end of games. Once figured out, there is no plan B at many levels. That's not psychology, that's in-game management.
Also, there is a strange obsession in Wexford with beating Kilkenny. Kilkenny are not the standard bearers in the game, and moral victories against them only fuel the "were doing grand" brigade.
I said after the Clare league match that I had never in my life watched an inter county team so devoid of a game plan. Players leaving the week of a big match never a good sign of morale.
Far from talking about how to qualify, the first thing to make certain of is staying up and that is not 100% with a few key players out.
And lastly, anybody on here who raises a concern is called negative, it might be time for some to wake up. I believe Wexford are in for a very barren spell in 2-3 years time when half this team departs unless they find something I don't see with my outsider eyes. As hard as it is to get players to commit now, imagine how hard it would be if they fall any further off the pace? Mind you, with a handful of supporters turning out, do Wexford supporters care about the game as much as they make out? Where have the other 50 thousand gone from 2019?
ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1382 - 07/05/2023 15:13:42
Replying To ExiledInWex: "First up lads, hard luck. It was a dreadful game. The only delight I take is that it puts us in the driving seat to finish 3rd. I would rather it at the expense of KK/Galway but don't see that situation unfolding. The Wexford manager hung his own players in that interview - he must not have looked back at the video of the match in Wexford Park last year because to me Wexford made the exact same mistakes again. Letting our backs run 40 yards with the ball coupled with good movement inside by our full forward line with lots of space gave us a foothold in the match we never lost until the last 10 minutes when pressure was put on the Dublin backs once they got the ball. Wexford looked likely winners once they put pressure on. As PoolSurgeon said, 19 wides when half are pot-shots because there is no inside forward is Darragh Egan's to answer. He set the team up, or should be expected to. Wexford completely over-play the ball with short passing inside their own 45, teams have this figured out - with Wexford's best forwards so far from goal, it is music to their ears. Once they went for the jugular, I feared a goal I had not for 60+ minutes.
Wexford were 2nd to every ball for the hour though, they don't look fit enough and S&C bar chin is miles off the top counties. This too is on the management team.
I don't believe this thing of a losing mentality, I think teams find out what Wexford do at every level and counteract it in the business end of games. Once figured out, there is no plan B at many levels. That's not psychology, that's in-game management.
Also, there is a strange obsession in Wexford with beating Kilkenny. Kilkenny are not the standard bearers in the game, and moral victories against them only fuel the "were doing grand" brigade.
I said after the Clare league match that I had never in my life watched an inter county team so devoid of a game plan. Players leaving the week of a big match never a good sign of morale.
Far from talking about how to qualify, the first thing to make certain of is staying up and that is not 100% with a few key players out.
And lastly, anybody on here who raises a concern is called negative, it might be time for some to wake up. I believe Wexford are in for a very barren spell in 2-3 years time when half this team departs unless they find something I don't see with my outsider eyes. As hard as it is to get players to commit now, imagine how hard it would be if they fall any further off the pace? Mind you, with a handful of supporters turning out, do Wexford supporters care about the game as much as they make out? Where have the other 50 thousand gone from 2019?" I'm not buying into the nothing coming through talk.
Our underage structures are in a far better place than when Liam dunne had to build.
That minor team isn't bad, and the under 20 team has a few very good lads on it. 2 or 3 per year will keep you going.
Lads like Joe o C, Foley, r Lawlor, Devitt, firmans, Banville, Higgins, carty, scallan, Clancy, o hagan, Ryan, Roche etc. Just need some more experience at the top level but will come good.
I agree Kilkenny are no longer the standard bearer nationally, but they are in the provence, and are worth an all Ireland even when they're not going well. You just don't get bad Kilkenny teams.
I stand by the psychology point. All our lads can hurl, but they're making bad decisions. This is overcome by mindset and confidence first and foremost.
The game was tense yesterday, that atmosphere comes from fear.
The prime example is Liam og in front of goal with acres of space and drove it wide from 50 yards most uncharacteristically.
Rory had 3 chances to go head down at goal but wouldn't take his man on and took the point. Again, that's fear and lack of confidence.
The difference between the teams yesterday was this, wides, a great save from Brennan, and failing to score for ten minutes in the middle of the second half when we were on top.
All of this can be solved with attitude, which is nurtured through psychology.
Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3751 - 07/05/2023 15:58:32
Half the team gone in 2 years time, I fed-up of this talk. D O Keefe, Liam og, Hanlon, probably go next year or year after. Chin if injuries are OK should last another 4 or 5. Other then that were are fairly young team. Paudie Foley coming back hopefully next year will help. Also Cian Molloy and Aj redmond I feel can add to the squad outside of any of the under 20s. However, the big concern is I don't see any Lee chin, Rory, Ryan coming along anytime soon. However,back to the present, we need change over us, ASAP, end of.
hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 1149 - 07/05/2023 16:10:06
Replying To hunting: "Half the team gone in 2 years time, I fed-up of this talk. D O Keefe, Liam og, Hanlon, probably go next year or year after. Chin if injuries are OK should last another 4 or 5. Other then that were are fairly young team. Paudie Foley coming back hopefully next year will help. Also Cian Molloy and Aj redmond I feel can add to the squad outside of any of the under 20s. However, the big concern is I don't see any Lee chin, Rory, Ryan coming along anytime soon. However,back to the present, we need change over us, ASAP, end of." Who would ya have? Rossi maybe. Feels like we need a Wexford man with the genuine interests of Wexford hurling going forward. Not saying Egan doesn't but it feels like it's time for a Wexford man to take the job. Liam Dunne may have not been the best of coaches (did however get some unbelievable results against Munster teams in fairness) but he definitely laid the groundwork for the future.
Finchfurlong996 (Wexford) - Posts: 255 - 07/05/2023 16:30:10
Replying To Waltermitty2: "The quality of coaching in wexford is shockingly poor at nearly every level. Lads getting paid by the county board to coach kids that havent a clue what they are doing. Alot of clubs are also employing spoofers to coach their teams to play septic hurling. Id love to see what goes on in ferns compared to the top county hurling teams. Our county board are too concerned about climbing the financial ladder to leinster councils etc than actually addressing the alarming state of hurling in the county." I agree with this. The standard of coaching is poor the whole way in schools, a lot of clubs and development squads.
Until that all drastically changes, the senior team is just the end product of all that.
Limerick completely changed their underage systems and are seeing/saw the fruits of that over the last 5 years at senior level.
I just see the appetite in the county to make that huge overhaul.
Past hurler (None) - Posts: 961 - 07/05/2023 17:06:30
Replying To Viking66: "We played the last game starting 3 of our best 5 players even though they were injured. Including our 3 and 6. Limerick looked alot worse without Hannon. Clare were woeful last year without Conlon. And god only knows what they would look like if Cleary was missing or playing injured too. Galway without Burke and McInerney? Kilkenny without Lawlor although Richie Reid wouldn't be as important? Every team has 5 or 6 very important players but they keep them all fully fit largely. So what are we doing wrong? Is it the players themselves? Just bad luck? Who is our S and C man? Why are most of our best players injured all year? It still doesn't change the fact that if we had a freetaker like any of the other top 9 counties we would have beaten Dublin the last 2 times we lost. Very very frustrating." S&C is a huge problem at every level. Consistent muscle injuries aren't bad luck. It isn't as if we can blame the league this year either! Until we can physically compete at this level, we are at nothing.
Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 427 - 07/05/2023 17:48:45