Wexford Intercounty Hurling 2023

Replying To festinog:  "Good lad Glensboy. I'm from Galway. Says so at the bottom of all my posts and the liberal use of the word 'neutral' throughout my post should have been another give away. Now take a deep breath and relax a mhic."
:) No need for a deep breath here.
Totally relaxed but disappointed we don't have 4 points on the board.
Youse have a decent team.
Good luck for the season.

Glensboy (Antrim) - Posts: 321 - 06/05/2023 23:11:18    2476241

Replying To Timbertony:  "I think there's very little between Wexford, Dublin and Antrim. Great credit to Antrim but that's a shocking indictment of all the investment gone into hurling in Wexford and Dublin. 9k at the game today on a nice Saturday evening in Croker, says a lot."
Thanks for the compliment. Lets take that a stage further.
Its also an indictment of the Central GAA funding and structures towards the north of the country. Not crying poor mouth but fair play would be appreciated. A little more focus and investment would see us contending. Lots of natural talent in our 1st level education system. Natural in the The Glens and lots of work in the city. We do then struggle for progression and provincial competition at 2nd/3rd level education level. Lots of investment, time/travel, and commitment required.
Our businesses and players are doing massive work. And we do have some difficulties up our way. Not and excuse , just a fact.

Glensboy (Antrim) - Posts: 321 - 06/05/2023 23:26:39    2476244

For a start do the same as we need to do. Put yere own people in charge. Hoped for better. Davy the same when with Wexford keeps saying we lost our shape. One liner parroted over and over. What is that ? The shape he has put on the team.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3116 - 06/05/2023 23:45:01    2476248

Replying To Past hurler:  "As I said a few weeks ago we are 3 players away from Joe McDonagh cup standard - Chin, Reck & R O 'Connor.

That can't be the way forward."
I know two of the three are carrying injuries but they weren't at the races at all today. Rory just doesn't get the service he needs but inference when the game was in the melting pot he put it on himself to go win the ball and take the game to Dublin and score the frees

Dtownhurler (Wexford) - Posts: 71 - 06/05/2023 23:59:09    2476250

Celtic challenge team beaten by 19 points by Galway in the quarter final:(

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 1149 - 07/05/2023 00:03:11    2476251

Replying To Yellowhelmet:  "I've been harsh on Egan previously but players also need to take responsibility today.
I hate to be too critical about players. I know a few of them well. Creating all those scoring chances. Some terrible wides.

Never been a frustrated when we continued to allow dublin win their own puck out. Time after time. They then played accurate ball into half forwards who were considerably better than us in the air.

My birthday today. Was going to go for pints. Going to bed instead. Need to stop caring so much about a sport."
I know and say the same every year. Got to stop caring so much but always hoping for a change of fortunes. Then I have to empathize with counties who go at it year in year out and never get a day in the sun. It still hurts though and depressing when you lose.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3116 - 07/05/2023 00:25:58    2476257

Replying To festinog:  "Some shocking wides there from Wexford when the game was in the cauldron. But as a neutral can I ask who the hell were the commentators on GAAGO? That Dublin lad's bias was absolutely shocking and even as a neutral he almost had me cheering for Wexford. A 50/50 decision went Wexford's way and he was deriding the ref, and minutes later when even by his own admission a Dublin player went to ground with barely a touch and he was hailing the resulting free as 'great game management'. It was tiresome."
Dave McIntyre was main commentator, Alan Nolan former goalie was co comms.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 07/05/2023 00:57:40    2476260

Where do we go from here. Dublin were the better team. 20 wides is crazy at this level. We created more scoring chances but shot from far out. Every player sitting too deep, meaning our forwards had too much ground to make up and allowing Dublin to funnel back with ease. They shot 6 wides and were very economical with the chances they got.
I can't understand why Dee wasn't brought on if he was warming up on the sideline. With Ryan and Reck gone surely his experience would have been a good move when the game was in the melting pot. The sideline tactics, or lack of them were dreadful to say the least. Once again no gameplan
I wish I could say something positive about yesterday's performance but nothing comes to mind. There is still an outside chance of finishing 3rd but I can't see us troubling Kilkenny and we certainly haven't a snowballs chance in a bomb blast of beating any of the munster teams.
Bottom line is we are simply not good enough.
I honestly can't see Darragh Egan in charge next year. Nice man but we need somebody to get us out of the rut that we are in right now.

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 523 - 07/05/2023 08:11:32    2476265

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Most frustrated I've been after a game since April last year when we threw away a game against Dublin in almost identical circumstances."
Was a carbon copy of that match last April.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 823 - 07/05/2023 09:24:06    2476274

Egan can't be blamed for the wides and lack of proper free taker (which is a constant issue for wexford teams).
Thinks that stood out for me apart from the above was, no game plan, Rory back playing in the half back line early enough in the game, one forward within the 45 yard line for 15 minutes of the second half, substitution were all over the place, not pushing up on the puck outs, giving Dublin space, time after time to pick out players, strange scenario where D O Keefe wasnt deemed good enough to see any minutes, despite starting all ourvgames so far. Ryan, Reck and Chin were not fit, struggling the whole game, despite all that we should have won. 90 percent of the people at the match that i was talking too said it time for a change , lads were seething coming out of the ground

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 1149 - 07/05/2023 09:31:19    2476275

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Terribly ignorant comment. They beat Kilkenny as much as any other county. Not that often, but who does? They certainly don't ever fear the black and amber jersey and relish getting stuck into it. I used to love Wex-KK clashes of old, and still do."
But beating kilkenny is not what it's Al about that's what have us where we are no doubt if we beat Westmeath and kk again all roblems be put to bed 4 another year.

Tiger1 (Wexford) - Posts: 399 - 07/05/2023 09:36:35    2476276

I don't wish the man any ill will, he seems nice by all accounts, but I think now is a good time to start talking about the next wexford manager.

It's a little early for Keith rossiter or the Jacobs.

How would people feel about skippy Ruth?

He's taken the rapps from a moderate standing to a County title and they play a nice brand of hurling.

We also need to invest in a top drawer sports psychologist

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3751 - 07/05/2023 09:52:52    2476280

Replying To Yellowhelmet:  "I've been harsh on Egan previously but players also need to take responsibility today.
I hate to be too critical about players. I know a few of them well. Creating all those scoring chances. Some terrible wides.

Never been a frustrated when we continued to allow dublin win their own puck out. Time after time. They then played accurate ball into half forwards who were considerably better than us in the air.

My birthday today. Was going to go for pints. Going to bed instead. Need to stop caring so much about a sport."
Combination of tactics which would not just be something Egan would come up with and players. Had the players did their job, the former would have been ignored. It wasn't just the wides but also the delivery of the ball into the forwards. Just not good enough. Like the minors the other evening, it seems as if there are some players who have it ingrained in them to clear the ball long upfield without a thought as to where its going.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 2015 - 07/05/2023 10:00:05    2476284

Replying To Dtownhurler:  "I know two of the three are carrying injuries but they weren't at the races at all today. Rory just doesn't get the service he needs but inference when the game was in the melting pot he put it on himself to go win the ball and take the game to Dublin and score the frees"
Rory at one stage near the end took a free in the corner back position and passed it across to the keeper. I don't rate his tactics but I highly doubt Egan had anything to do with that. Certain players need to look at themselves too and he is one of them.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 427 - 07/05/2023 11:23:55    2476300

Replying To Past hurler:  "As I said a few weeks ago we are 3 players away from Joe McDonagh cup standard - Chin, Reck & R O 'Connor.

That can't be the way forward."
Damien shouldn't have started he was very poor. Ryan shouldn't have started either he wasn't moving well from the throw in either.
1st half was poor fare. 2nd half was much better. I thought we would kick on and win when Rory equalised but that's hurling. Dublin played much better than I thought they would fair play to them. Poor wides some from frees killed us again. Good to see Carty and Banville make their championship debuts.
We have left ourselves in the position where we are going to have to beat Kilkenny to go through, and hope Dublin lose to Galway and Kilkenny. Tough ask but hopefully Damiens foot and Liam's leg might be better in 3 weeks time.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16361 - 07/05/2023 11:27:25    2476303

Replying To Timbertony:  "Was warming for most of the game so don't think there was an injury, surprised he wasn't brought on when lads were losing their heads all over the middle including his clubmate. Foley, despite a very poor start, did well as his replacement I thought."
Thought Kevin got better as the game went on too. Mac looked good and hungry when he came on too.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16361 - 07/05/2023 11:29:09    2476306

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Terribly ignorant comment. They beat Kilkenny as much as any other county. Not that often, but who does? They certainly don't ever fear the black and amber jersey and relish getting stuck into it. I used to love Wex-KK clashes of old, and still do."
We are going to have to beat them again this year.....

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16361 - 07/05/2023 11:31:05    2476309

Feeling even worse this morning. Wish my parents had introduced me to piano or guitar lessons rather than bringing me to the local gaa pitch. Following the Wexford hurlers is bad for your health. Have been in denial for years!!!!

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 554 - 07/05/2023 11:38:26    2476312

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Are Limerick a poorer side to Clare as they lost to them? Don't think life is that black and white."
Of the last 8 championship meetings Dublin have won 5, Wexford have won 1 and there have been 2 draws.

Báireoir (Dublin) - Posts: 80 - 07/05/2023 11:45:38    2476313

Replying To Doylerwex:  "I don't wish the man any ill will, he seems nice by all accounts, but I think now is a good time to start talking about the next wexford manager.

It's a little early for Keith rossiter or the Jacobs.

How would people feel about skippy Ruth?

He's taken the rapps from a moderate standing to a County title and they play a nice brand of hurling.

We also need to invest in a top drawer sports psychologist"
That last line is a definite.
As regards manager it wasn't Egans fault that players hit easy chances wide. The biggest issue I'd have with him after yesterday though is team selection. Joe OC and Carty covered alot more ground than Reck and Ryan who were obviously not right. Strange DOK didn't get a run out. In fairness to him the panel is noticeably better. None of the subs made the team play worse. If anything the last 20 minutes were our best 20 minutes.
Skippy did well with the Rapps. Was Fenlon involved also? What about Joe Fortune? I think he would be the next man up tbh.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16361 - 07/05/2023 12:10:09    2476324