Wexford Intercounty Hurling 2023

I don't know if anyone can definitively say that there are no young hurlers coming through, although I think what you can say is that there are no 22yos, 23yos, and 24yos coming through. James Lawlor was our only starter today from those three age groups so that's where we're really struggling right now. I think we have three stand-out 21yos but for whatever reason, two of them aren't on the panel and the other one missed the entire League and was only making his first start at Championship level today. We've already debuted Conor Foley at Senior level and have Corey Byrne-Dunbar, Cian Byrne, Oisín Pepper, Jack Redmond, and Darragh Carley coming through as 20yos, plus next year's U20 teams were only just beaten by Kilkenny in the 2021 Leinster Minor Final. I think a bigger concern would be that as these players enter the fray, some of our older stalwarts (MOH, DOK, Liam ÓG, Lee Chin) will be making their way out. Again, the real problem is our 22yos, 23yos, and 24yos, that's why we're flatlining right now and might continue to flatline into the future.

I didn't understand why we played a sweeper today. It didn't achieve much as Dublin were always keeping their noses just in front of us. When we dropped it around 55-60 mins into the game, I thought we competed much better for possession in the middle third and we were able to pose more of a threat in the full-forward line. Prior to that, we were starving Rory and Lee inside.

If we don't beat Westmeath, we're in proper relegation trouble. I can't see Dublin winning at Nowlan Park so in all likelihood, the table could look like this heading into the last round:

Kilkenny - 7
Galway - 7
Dublin - 5
Wexford - 4
Antrim - 1
Westmeath - 0

Three-way ties will be decided on score difference in the games between the tying teams so if Kilkenny beat Dublin, Dublin beat Galway, and we beat Kilkenny, Kilkenny would still qualify for the Leinster Final as Kilkenny, Galway, and Dublin would all be tied on 7 points but Kilkenny would have a positive score difference versus Galway and Dublin. That means our game against Kilkenny could effectively be a dead rubber for them whereas the match against Dublin won't be a dead rubber for Galway. That's realistically our best hope of qualifying in 3rd: beat Westmeath and Kilkenny, with Dublin losing to both Kilkenny and Galway.

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 575 - 06/05/2023 21:54:17    2476202

Replying To HurlingBuzz:  "And Rory O'Connor hurling in his own half again."
He was beaten in every duel in the opposing half. Can't win a ball or break a tackle, movement not good enough either. Very disappointing yet again in a championship game. Loads of talent but a long way from an elite forward at this level.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 427 - 06/05/2023 21:54:30    2476203

I usually try to be positive and see the silver lining but jaysus walking outta croker this evening that silver lining is rather difficult to find. We did our absolute best to lose that game today, sitting close to Adrian fenlon he was spitting feathers about the space being allowed to Dublin for their own puck outs and that didn't change for the entire game, can the management team not see these kind of things or rather more worryingly do they not have the tactical nous to rectify them in game ?

Loyalmodel (Wexford) - Posts: 18 - 06/05/2023 21:54:30    2476204

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "'Dublin are actually very poor. And somehow we lost to them.'

Oh the arrogance. Wexford are a poorer team than Dublin, that's why you lost."
Are Limerick a poorer side to Clare as they lost to them? Don't think life is that black and white.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 06/05/2023 21:55:34    2476206

Most frustrated I've been after a game since April last year when we threw away a game against Dublin in almost identical circumstances.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 06/05/2023 21:57:09    2476207

Replying To hunting:  "Dok?????was he injured?please,please, please at the very least push up on opposition puck out
Deflated to really say anymore"
Was warming for most of the game so don't think there was an injury, surprised he wasn't brought on when lads were losing their heads all over the middle including his clubmate. Foley, despite a very poor start, did well as his replacement I thought.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 427 - 06/05/2023 21:57:28    2476208

Well lads just a couple of pointers again as I was at game and sick is a understatement.
D o keefe not starting was he injured?? Kevin foley coming in and playing very well… is d o not a regular started anymore have his legs gone??
20 wides again like the league are we not practicing our shooting or what in training
Damien reck clearly wasn't fit from the start and well off the pace
No one in full forward line at times in 2nd half was shocking conceding puck outs again and overpassing the ball in the wrong areas of the field..
jack o Connor again being so frustrating to watch knowing there is a good hurler in there but don't know what is wrong with him
Egan for me has to go at end of year at the end of the day we beat kk in a Walsh cup game with a lucky break at the end of the game lost to Laois beat Offaly beat Westmeath and beat Antrim not good signs for me as we have only beating Kilkenny a big name team in a championship game in 3 years

gannett83 (Wexford) - Posts: 322 - 06/05/2023 22:12:19    2476213

Replying To Bon:  "Wexford add absolutely nothing to the championship unfortunately. Empty jersies."
Much the same as Kildare in the football championship then…

Purpleandgold72 (Wexford) - Posts: 274 - 06/05/2023 22:12:45    2476215

Replying To Timbertony:  "He was beaten in every duel in the opposing half. Can't win a ball or break a tackle, movement not good enough either. Very disappointing yet again in a championship game. Loads of talent but a long way from an elite forward at this level."
Think he's far and away our best inside forward

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 554 - 06/05/2023 22:15:05    2476219

Replying To Purpleandgold72:  "Much the same as Kildare in the football championship then…"
That poster is a Limerick wannabe, couldn't care less about Kildare.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 06/05/2023 22:16:45    2476221

Replying To Purpleandgold72:  "Much the same as Kildare in the football championship then…"
100%, I couldn't agree with you more.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2405 - 06/05/2023 22:19:18    2476222

I've been harsh on Egan previously but players also need to take responsibility today.
I hate to be too critical about players. I know a few of them well. Creating all those scoring chances. Some terrible wides.

Never been a frustrated when we continued to allow dublin win their own puck out. Time after time. They then played accurate ball into half forwards who were considerably better than us in the air.

My birthday today. Was going to go for pints. Going to bed instead. Need to stop caring so much about a sport.

Yellowhelmet (Australia) - Posts: 153 - 06/05/2023 22:22:53    2476224

Depressing stuff. 50% more scoring chances yet still couldn't win? Lads out there who were clearly carrying injuries, giving dubs as much space as they'd like on puck outs. If there was a game plan I couldn't see it. Future is looking bleaker than it has for some time.

FearBeag (Mayo) - Posts: 91 - 06/05/2023 22:31:21    2476225

Looking back on the team selection, Mac for me was a bit hard done by not getting a start and proved it when he came in. Not many other hard luck stories. Richie Lawlor is clearly a talented lad but was miles off it in midfield. Midfield partnership with Dunbar was always going to be too lightweight. Damien Reck also was nowhere near the pace until he limped off. Liam Ryan was very good until he got an injury before half time. All three for me should have been hooked at half time. This craic of playing injured players has to end, it demonstrates no faith in the squad for starters

Tactics were absolutely shocking. To be honest I wouldn't be surprised if some players decided to hell with the tactics for last 15-20 mins, sweeper went anyway and we took over in the middle. Just some shocking misses prevented an undeserved win. James Lawlor made a really poor error for their goal too. The stats from the game make depressing reading. Bad and all as we were, a small bit of composure would have been enough to win.

After playing so well v Antrim, Jacko and Oisin Foley were dreadful I thought. Lee Chin carried us in the first half but had no impact at full forward in the second. If he's not fit enough to play at 11 then take him off.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 427 - 06/05/2023 22:34:38    2476226

Replying To Bon:  "Wexford add absolutely nothing to the championship unfortunately. Empty jersies."
Terribly ignorant comment. They beat Kilkenny as much as any other county. Not that often, but who does? They certainly don't ever fear the black and amber jersey and relish getting stuck into it. I used to love Wex-KK clashes of old, and still do.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2316 - 06/05/2023 22:45:02    2476229

Replying To HurlingBuzz:  "Think he's far and away our best inside forward"
He was our only forward for a lot of the first half! Just think if he wants to get to the level of a Gillane, Whelan or one of them, he has a lot of improving to do and he possibly has as much if not more talent than any of them.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 427 - 06/05/2023 22:46:51    2476230

Replying To Timbertony:  "Looking back on the team selection, Mac for me was a bit hard done by not getting a start and proved it when he came in. Not many other hard luck stories. Richie Lawlor is clearly a talented lad but was miles off it in midfield. Midfield partnership with Dunbar was always going to be too lightweight. Damien Reck also was nowhere near the pace until he limped off. Liam Ryan was very good until he got an injury before half time. All three for me should have been hooked at half time. This craic of playing injured players has to end, it demonstrates no faith in the squad for starters

Tactics were absolutely shocking. To be honest I wouldn't be surprised if some players decided to hell with the tactics for last 15-20 mins, sweeper went anyway and we took over in the middle. Just some shocking misses prevented an undeserved win. James Lawlor made a really poor error for their goal too. The stats from the game make depressing reading. Bad and all as we were, a small bit of composure would have been enough to win.

After playing so well v Antrim, Jacko and Oisin Foley were dreadful I thought. Lee Chin carried us in the first half but had no impact at full forward in the second. If he's not fit enough to play at 11 then take him off."
Richie Lawlor should be playing corner forward

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 554 - 06/05/2023 22:51:53    2476233

Replying To goreyll:  "I think comparing a local Wexford radio station to GAA's neutral online broadcasting is comparing apples and oranges. Even Wexford people take Spratt with a pinch of salt"
I didn't know about Spratt.
RTE should be the GAA's neutral station.

Glensboy (Antrim) - Posts: 321 - 06/05/2023 22:54:16    2476234

Replying To Fulgrim:  "The poster you're replying to is from Galway not Wexford. You're also comparing a local Wexford radio station to GAAGO, a national broadcast. You aren't bitter at all are you? Struggling we still comfortably accounted for your lot. Says a lot about your character to post that just after a loss like that. Suppose I'd be bitter too if my county couldn't get within a score of a walking wounded low ebb Wexford team. Enjoy the rest of the hurling this weekend lad."
A poster's User name isn't always indicative of their allegiance.
I'm not bitter at all. I just like to see fair play. ( check your next sentence) and I won't get personal.
We are finding our way and with a little more depth in our squad, we will make a break through.
Enjoy the rest of the season.

Glensboy (Antrim) - Posts: 321 - 06/05/2023 22:59:31    2476236

Replying To bottletopbill:  "Btw, Dublin drew with ye! Fact is dublin, wex & yourselves only a puck of a ball tween us. Wex badly need a good free taker, how long have we been saying that?! Anyways, wex have never failed to qualify since round robin started & stangely dublin or yourselves have not either qualified I don't think. Think this will have more twists. Wex went to nowlan park last yr and got a much coveted win in the championship after getting lucky to draw with Westmeath, they deserved to win. Would be unreal if you turn kk over tomorrow. I see It all to play for in last match for the third spot."
It was win for Dublin,. Scored a point in extra, extra, extra time.
Agreed there is only a puck of a ball between us.
We wont bate Kilkenny tomorrow. Too many injuries, you know the drill. And a lack of depth in our squad. Not a criticism, just a fact, but we are getting there.
Maybe next year. Good luck for the rest of the season.

Glensboy (Antrim) - Posts: 321 - 06/05/2023 23:04:48    2476239