Wexford Intercounty Hurling 2023

Replying To zinny:  "The minors went down fighting, cannot fault the individual effort of the boys out there. However you have to ask is there anyone in the coaching setup that know anything about how the modern game of hurling is played. Our backs were mopping up ball after ball and even when there was overlaps, sending it down high into the Kilkenny half back line or on a number of times to a lose Kilkenny player. In fairness to Kilkenny they created the goal chances which they didn't get, we had a couple opportunities but poor execution of the pass let us down and we didn't get as far as getting a shot off. Better team won, the looked more cohesive and better coached than our lads."
Thought when we ran the ball more in the 3rd quarter we looked alot more effective, but then we reverted back to the longish balls into the half forwards that the big lads in the Kilkenny halfback line had mopped up all through the 1st half. Also we tried too hard too early in the closing stages to get a goal when the old adage to take your point would've served us better. Definitely left 2 or 3 behind us that would've made injury time that bit closer.
But well done to all the lads they might get the chance to have another cracking at that Kilkenny team next year if minor is moved back to u18.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16359 - 02/05/2023 12:49:00    2475007

Replying To Finchfurlong996:  "Hard luck to minors. A brilliant effort in the second half considering the blow of the goal before HT. Probably the winning of it for them. When we got back to one I just felt we didn't capitalize as much as we should have. Maybe that's were having been brought up playing for a successful school team such as Kieran's, compared to playing for our schools who are struggling being honest. Schools have to be looked at and try do something to improve our results. Especially Peters who haven't really done much over the last few years. Winning breeds believe and we need to start winning again at underage. However, going unbeaten in the RR and pushing Kilkenny close is not the worse. Something to work with at least.

Much of this team underage next year?"
I was talking to a couple of the Oulart St. Peters lads who played yesterday last Friday. They reckon Peters team should be a good one next year. Not sure too many will be minor next year unless there's a change back to u18.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16359 - 02/05/2023 12:51:18    2475009

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Surely given Dublin and wexfords performances so far, that is an opinion the vast majority would agree with? Both teams have a lot to prove before people would think that they pose a challenge to KK and Galway"
Since we beat the Cats in 2017 we haven't lost a championship game to them in normal time except for a 1 point defeat to them in Nowlan Park in 2018. We have beaten them in Croke Park and Nowlan Park since. Our record in League and Walsh Cup games would be around the same as well. I wouldn't be at all surprised if we beat them in the Park in a few weeks.
Our record against Galway is poor enough OK.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16359 - 02/05/2023 12:55:29    2475012

Replying To Viking66:  "I was talking to a couple of the Oulart St. Peters lads who played yesterday last Friday. They reckon Peters team should be a good one next year. Not sure too many will be minor next year unless there's a change back to u18."
On the schools topic Wexford CBS seem to be making alot of improvements, they ran a county 1st year competition this year and they won the football and lost to Good Counsel in the hurling final, that sort of stuff would be almost unheard of, John Hegarty is either principal or vice principal would probably help. They might actually have a few lads you'd be expecting to go to St Peters, I know for their senior team this year they had Darby Purcell who was previously was going to Good Counsel.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 02/05/2023 12:58:16    2475013

Replying To grassroots01:  "If Mac is to start they can't put him on Eoghan O'Donnell as O'Donnell gives him a lesson any time they are matched up"
Can't start Mac he hasn't the engine/drive for the half forward line in modern hurling and hasn't the pace for the full forward line. Unless he can do a Jacko and find his mojo in which case start him wing forward or centre forward.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16359 - 02/05/2023 12:58:45    2475015

Replying To Viking66:  "Since we beat the Cats in 2017 we haven't lost a championship game to them in normal time except for a 1 point defeat to them in Nowlan Park in 2018. We have beaten them in Croke Park and Nowlan Park since. Our record in League and Walsh Cup games would be around the same as well. I wouldn't be at all surprised if we beat them in the Park in a few weeks.
Our record against Galway is poor enough OK."
Saturdays game is huge for our season. Win and we one foot into the all ireland series and can start building momemtum and confidence before the cats visit the park.

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 02/05/2023 13:03:17    2475020

Replying To Viking66:  "Since we beat the Cats in 2017 we haven't lost a championship game to them in normal time except for a 1 point defeat to them in Nowlan Park in 2018. We have beaten them in Croke Park and Nowlan Park since. Our record in League and Walsh Cup games would be around the same as well. I wouldn't be at all surprised if we beat them in the Park in a few weeks.
Our record against Galway is poor enough OK."
Saturday is your big one Viking.

I cant believe Dublin changed this fixture to Croke Park. A crazy move.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 02/05/2023 13:23:57    2475038

Replying To Afinestick:  "Saturdays game is huge for our season. Win and we one foot into the all ireland series and can start building momemtum and confidence before the cats visit the park."
Definitely Afinestick. Huge for them too.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16359 - 02/05/2023 13:42:44    2475058

Replying To Afinestick:  "Saturdays game is huge for our season. Win and we one foot into the all ireland series and can start building momemtum and confidence before the cats visit the park."
Saturday is everything for both teams, we win and Dublin probably have to win in Nowlan Park to stay afloat, Dublin win and we have to win our remaining games and hope Dublin get nothing from Kilkenny and Galway.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 02/05/2023 13:51:29    2475065

I think we will win by 4+ this Saturday. I'm actually more confident going into this game than I have been for any other game all year.

ChinCanHurl (Wexford) - Posts: 302 - 02/05/2023 14:12:37    2475089

Beat Dublin and Westmeath and we are 99% guaranteed to be in AI Series. You'd take that at the start of every year. I do think we'll beat KK in the park. Think we're on an upward curve to be honest. I think the performance in Salthill wasn't as bad as portrayed and I think the performance on Saturday was much better than the final scoreline, I was disappointed with the reports to be honest.

LarryOBrother (Wexford) - Posts: 412 - 02/05/2023 14:22:00    2475093

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Saturday is your big one Viking.

I cant believe Dublin changed this fixture to Croke Park. A crazy move."
The player and management changed the game to Croke Park. They obvioulsy feel they have the legs on us.

wexfordwin (Wexford) - Posts: 191 - 02/05/2023 14:33:41    2475101

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Saturday is your big one Viking.

I cant believe Dublin changed this fixture to Croke Park. A crazy move."
I think so too LRH. Croke Park is only 2 yards wider each side. Hardly a huge difference. Its also more like a neutral venue than the Nell, which can be hostile enough sometimes. But yes it's a huge game. If we win we will have 2 weeks til we play Westmeath, and if we can avoid a repeat of last year that would set our last game against Kilkenny up as a possible Leinster semi final. It's all ifs and buts, as not only could we lose against Dublin or Westmeath, or both, but Kilkenny have to go to Belfast also.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16359 - 02/05/2023 14:51:08    2475107

Brilliant first half on saturday, a set up and method of play that made the most of what we've got, the two o connors were superb. Injuries are key, We need to be getting lads back rather than losing them. Full hand we can give anyone a game, When more than one of reck, chin, ryan, hanlon are missing we start getting into bother.

FearBeag (Mayo) - Posts: 91 - 02/05/2023 14:58:39    2475117

Replying To theboys:  "I attended the minor or game yesterday I think they played very well,they started very fast and had runners everywhere got a nice few scores!! From the 10 min onwards to half time they went out of the game couldn't win puckouts, really struggled for scores!! Even at that it looked like they would only be goin in at half time 3 down,and Kilkenny not lookin overly good either!!! The goal right on half time was the sucker punch and the difference in the end really!!! In the second half they gave a great display and tried to spread the ball around like the first 10 mins and had Kilkenny under all sorts of pressure,came from 7 down back to a point!!! Wexford had two chances of goals on the run in aswell but we're flicked away of the line!! On the coaching I think the coaches would have a great knowledge of how the modern game is played,I could hear them constantly on about keeping the ball wide into space and runners throughout that game and in particular the 20 min period where they kept hitting it down the middle, but for some reason the lads kept doing it and it cost them the game!!!I would say the coaching is not the issue!!! If u look at it Doyle scored 10 points 8 or 9 frees and a 65,hyland scored 3 and dunne scored 1 both midfielders 3 points from play from your forwards not good enough!!! We had no stand out forward that's going to get u scores every day,but they battled to the end!!!Galway hammered Dublin so I'd say Kilkenny will be under pressure against them,there was very little between them to be honest!!! absolutely think good coaching in schools is a must,if Wexford won by a point coaching wouldn't have been an issue yesterday!! Wexford just hadn't got a go to forward like Kilkenny had in Kelly at centre forward who scored 5 from play and McDermott i think at full forward and came out to wing forward,a huge man,a ball winner!!!I would think we will get a couple of good lads out of that group to progress to 20s which is really what it's all about"
ok I will take you at your word on the coaching of the county team but what you are saying is the boys reverted to type, which is a problem, if they are learning that style of hurling at club level, its hard to coach it out of them in the time frame they have the players at county. Physically it we are not a big team and therefore the passes and first touch have to be spot on because once that ruck develops physicality wins out, which happened way too often. Totally agree on the schools coaching as well, all of it has to be in sync and on the same page as to how the game needs to be played. However club stuff will be tough as you are still dealing with lads who want to see nothing more than the backs firing balls into the sky down the field to god knows who.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 2013 - 02/05/2023 15:21:33    2475137

Replying To grassroots01:  "If Mac is to start they can't put him on Eoghan O'Donnell as O'Donnell gives him a lesson any time they are matched up"
Think whoever is in there will be dropping in and out with Chin anyway at times. I think Chin is much more effective at 11 but no harm to keep the opposition honest. Chin did that brilliantly against KK last year. Dragged Tommy Walsh out into areas contesting puckouts that he wasn't comfortable and dominated him easily as a result. Didn't think Chin looked all that fit last weekend, possibly carrying a bit too much bulk?

I thought Mac showed importantly a good attitude when he came on. Worked hard, made some nice passes to the likes of ROC for easy scores, one stupid hero shot that went wide but he wasn't the only one in second half doing that. If he puts in same graft against Dublin he will cause problems for O'Donnell or anyone else.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 427 - 02/05/2023 15:48:40    2475153

Replying To Timbertony:  "Think whoever is in there will be dropping in and out with Chin anyway at times. I think Chin is much more effective at 11 but no harm to keep the opposition honest. Chin did that brilliantly against KK last year. Dragged Tommy Walsh out into areas contesting puckouts that he wasn't comfortable and dominated him easily as a result. Didn't think Chin looked all that fit last weekend, possibly carrying a bit too much bulk?

I thought Mac showed importantly a good attitude when he came on. Worked hard, made some nice passes to the likes of ROC for easy scores, one stupid hero shot that went wide but he wasn't the only one in second half doing that. If he puts in same graft against Dublin he will cause problems for O'Donnell or anyone else."
On what you were saying on Chin interesting listening to some of the weekend reviews a couple lads mentioned is this contributing to injuries, other example was Cian Lynch whose body shape has transformed the last year 1 or 2.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 02/05/2023 16:13:45    2475165

Replying To zinny:  "ok I will take you at your word on the coaching of the county team but what you are saying is the boys reverted to type, which is a problem, if they are learning that style of hurling at club level, its hard to coach it out of them in the time frame they have the players at county. Physically it we are not a big team and therefore the passes and first touch have to be spot on because once that ruck develops physicality wins out, which happened way too often. Totally agree on the schools coaching as well, all of it has to be in sync and on the same page as to how the game needs to be played. However club stuff will be tough as you are still dealing with lads who want to see nothing more than the backs firing balls into the sky down the field to god knows who."
Its in the bloody psyche!

Genuinely, its there, "oh, play the traditional Wexford way, lamp it in on top of Rackard, launch it in on top of Doran"
Will ye drive it long!

Remember our "celebrity" hurling trainer/horse trainer bemoaning how we played after Dublin snatched a draw against us in 2019! And the worst thing is people did and still do agree with him!

Obviously ignoring him we go on to win Leinster, then have tipperary where we want them in the AI Semi final and what did we start doing?? Yep, traditional style, drive it long, the very thing Tipp wanted us to do.

Its like a default setting for Wexford hurling when the pressure comes on cos apparently its the only way to win

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1522 - 02/05/2023 16:44:31    2475179

Replying To LarryOBrother:  "Beat Dublin and Westmeath and we are 99% guaranteed to be in AI Series. You'd take that at the start of every year. I do think we'll beat KK in the park. Think we're on an upward curve to be honest. I think the performance in Salthill wasn't as bad as portrayed and I think the performance on Saturday was much better than the final scoreline, I was disappointed with the reports to be honest."
If Antrim were able to run at our very loose defence it would suggest that Dublin and certainly Kiilkenny would exploit our weakness there.
If we have Jippo and Damien back then I would be more optimistic about our chances in both games.
If we don't I would be very fearful as we simply haven't got enough quality or experience to fill the gaps. So fingers crossed that the two lads are fully fit for these important games.

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 522 - 02/05/2023 16:44:49    2475182

Replying To Timbertony:  "Think whoever is in there will be dropping in and out with Chin anyway at times. I think Chin is much more effective at 11 but no harm to keep the opposition honest. Chin did that brilliantly against KK last year. Dragged Tommy Walsh out into areas contesting puckouts that he wasn't comfortable and dominated him easily as a result. Didn't think Chin looked all that fit last weekend, possibly carrying a bit too much bulk?

I thought Mac showed importantly a good attitude when he came on. Worked hard, made some nice passes to the likes of ROC for easy scores, one stupid hero shot that went wide but he wasn't the only one in second half doing that. If he puts in same graft against Dublin he will cause problems for O'Donnell or anyone else."
Chin has always had big bulk from his huge strength and conditioning efforts, his issue this year is he didn't have a great pre-season and can't get a run of games together to get his match fitness to where everyone needs him to be at his very best.

Hopefully over the next 3-4 weeks he gets fully up to speed and has a big say in Wexford making a Leinster final.

Wexford needs Lee Chin at 100%

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 960 - 02/05/2023 16:46:26    2475183