Wexford Intercounty Hurling 2023

Replying To Loyalmodel:  "Jaysus lads this forum can be toxic at times, yeah we have work to do and areas to improve. I genuinely think some here would have been happier had Antrim won yesterday. Yes Antrim ran through the middle a few times yesterday but neither reck nor Ryan were on the field. Watching the u20s yesterday there is a few decent young lads there who will make the step up in years to come so I don't buy into all this doom and gloom. At the end of the day we beat Antrim and are still well in this Leinster championship so get behind the lads and support them rather than tearing the backs off them online !"
Fully echo this. The negativity in the county at the moment is ridiculous.

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 30/04/2023 14:28:59    2474711

Replying To castletownman:  "Lets call a spade a spade. If Wexford have to play a sweeper v Antrim in Wexford Park we are heading nowhere very fast.
9 points up at half time and win by 5points . Very poor second half at times. Jack o Connor was very good scored 5 points from play and taken off . Could not understand that decision at all . BIG PROBLEMS AHEAD FOR THIS TEAM ."
That'd be a more convincing argument if it wasn't for the fact that we only played a sweeper for the last 5-10 minutes when trying to close out the game.

Antrim played a sweeper off puck-outs at times but it was pretty much 15 v 15 otherwise

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 574 - 30/04/2023 14:59:52    2474714

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "That'd be a more convincing argument if it wasn't for the fact that we only played a sweeper for the last 5-10 minutes when trying to close out the game.

Antrim played a sweeper off puck-outs at times but it was pretty much 15 v 15 otherwise"
Dee was definitely sweeping in the first half

ChinCanHurl (Wexford) - Posts: 302 - 30/04/2023 15:20:23    2474716

That's a little more like it, and feels like progress.

Excellent in the first half, bar the soft goal.

Lawlor made 2 excellent saves in the game.

Backs were hit and miss but ok...

Hearne struggled for me.

It was all about the attack.

Jacko motm for me. If he can keep performing at that level he's the answer to our prayers.

Mogie great first half but faded.

I Foley won almost everything in his direction.

Rory on fire.

Chin not 100% but had some vital possession and great distribution at times.

Best I've seen from Dunbar in a championship game.

Not sure what went wrong in second half.

At the end we had chin mac and Rory all inside and didn't give them the ball at all.

That being said, we were much the better side and the ref and linesman on the uncovered side did everything to keep them ticking over, but we were never in any real danger.

Not fantastic, but ultimately got the job done.

The amount of off the ball stuff and use of the spare hand was shocking, and genuinely laughable at times.

We need to lift it again, but very confident we can get a result next weekend if we are going full belt for 70 minutes

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3746 - 30/04/2023 16:19:16    2474730

Replying To Afinestick:  "Fully echo this. The negativity in the county at the moment is ridiculous."
It is a discussion forum after all, the Negativity is not without foundation. People have given their opinions on the game yesterday and I would go along with most of it. We are on the slide but we should still be competitive, the game in Nowlan Park today wouldn't frighten you TBH
We were all over the place against Galway, that is down to just not been prepared and low on confidence. As other posters said we have no set game plan, backs are struggling but there is no need to be bringing back ROC, that's desperation. Lawlor had a good game and good for him,puck-outs were good. Liam Ryan is a worry as next week will be a physical game,Dublin are not wonderful but like last year not much in it. Delighted for young Foley, nice to see some youth. 2 wins V Dubs/KK and we in Leinster final, would need to sort out our backline though. Hopefully a win for the minors tomorrow..

Tox73 (Wexford) - Posts: 185 - 30/04/2023 19:04:59    2474787

Replying To Tox73:  "It is a discussion forum after all, the Negativity is not without foundation. People have given their opinions on the game yesterday and I would go along with most of it. We are on the slide but we should still be competitive, the game in Nowlan Park today wouldn't frighten you TBH
We were all over the place against Galway, that is down to just not been prepared and low on confidence. As other posters said we have no set game plan, backs are struggling but there is no need to be bringing back ROC, that's desperation. Lawlor had a good game and good for him,puck-outs were good. Liam Ryan is a worry as next week will be a physical game,Dublin are not wonderful but like last year not much in it. Delighted for young Foley, nice to see some youth. 2 wins V Dubs/KK and we in Leinster final, would need to sort out our backline though. Hopefully a win for the minors tomorrow.."
Ofcourse people are entitled to their views but the problem is the most of the vocal critics would be completely silent if praise was deserved, modern society unfortunately alot of people aren't happy unless they're giving out.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 30/04/2023 19:41:16    2474797

Saw neither match at wedding Friday and yesterday on way home but all roads lead to Croke Park this weekend and winner takes all clash.
I am not a psychologist but for me some people have toxic positivity which is just as dangerous as toxic negativity. A poster who arrives like mushrooms after rain when Wexford lose is no use to anybody, but if they constantly ask "where is the game plan" for example, that is a fair question no? This isn't u10 or u12 this is the elite level of our games and while not professional it is all but.
Its one thing talking about general team issues and style of play, calling out individuals is not fair in an amateur game.
Just my tuppence and apart from Saturday, I'll be shouting for you every day out.
One thing I will say, I stooped at Limerick Clare and Wexford support although a bandwagon are a world away from those savages, moaners and boo brigades.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1379 - 30/04/2023 19:59:59    2474807

Replying To HurlingBuzz:  "Much like the u20's earlier in the day thought it was a mixed performance. First half very good although the goal we conceded was very poor letting the forward run 50 yards to finish. Second half just did enough to get over the line. Various posters have accurately summed up the performance
Thought referee was poor the Liam og incident summing up his performance. Also wonder why the floodlights weren't switched on at halftime. We spend a fortune on them and don't use them considering conditions weren't great in second half."
Did an ESB bill drop through your door at all lately? :)

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1379 - 30/04/2023 20:11:08    2474812

Replying To Afinestick:  "Fully echo this. The negativity in the county at the moment is ridiculous."
Listening to radio 1 today and all the talk was of the galwY kk game being a rehearsal for the leinster final no team gave away too much they said.Dublin a d Wexford to fight it out for third but both well behind Kk and Galway.Dont know whete they get their opinions from.

Tiger1 (Wexford) - Posts: 396 - 30/04/2023 21:26:22    2474828

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "Did an ESB bill drop through your door at all lately? :)"
They can well afford it Exiled after Zurich renewing the sponsorship for another 4 years. Lol

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 554 - 30/04/2023 21:26:30    2474829

Ryan will hardly be back fit for next weekend and obviously Damien Recks injury is struggling to clear. Did Joe O'Connor impress? I didn't think so really but options are limited in defence. Kevin Foley might be a better bet than DOK as sweeper at this stage too. Have DOK to come in for last 20 instead. Shane Reck will be on Donal Burke anyway. Think it's worth swapping Devitt and Donohue too, Devitt has been too loose for me in both games and Donohue is better at corner back.

It's obvious we have to make a change at midfield and it's likely McGovern will be moved back there instead of Hearne. I think Mac will be brought back in up front. Thought he was decent enough when he came in, got his hand on ball and used it well. Lawlor must be pushing close for a start too, has a touch of class about him.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 427 - 30/04/2023 22:59:38    2474840

Few points on Saturday, what frustrates people with Jacko is that's what he is capable of,automatic starter on that form,key for rest of the campaign is consistency. Oisin Foley's improvement over the last couple of years has been outstanding MOTM for me, never would have picked him out a few years been honest, even 3 years ago was in goal for DCU in Fitzgibbon, fair play to him for pushing on to that level, I think we need to change up midfield for Saturday, felt we've been a bit lightweight there the last couple of games, our problems on Saturday seemed to be runners from the middle 3rd. Would be really concerned if Reck and Ryan were missing on Saturday, stating the obvious but the 2 of them and O'Hanlon are vital, hopefully the extra week will give Chin's injury more time to heel too. As stated earlier u20 was along similar lines disappointing with the goals conceded all from long balls not dealt with, think we've a really dangerous forward line all had good moments for Byrne Dunbar probably the standout, seen we're away to Kilkenny on May 10th. Hopefully the minors can deliver a performance tomorrow.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 01/05/2023 00:21:01    2474849

Replying To Tiger1:  "Listening to radio 1 today and all the talk was of the galwY kk game being a rehearsal for the leinster final no team gave away too much they said.Dublin a d Wexford to fight it out for third but both well behind Kk and Galway.Dont know whete they get their opinions from."
That was the talk on tsg too.

Darragh Egan mentioned it himself and said he's fine with it.

If this doesn't motivate our players we may give up

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3746 - 01/05/2023 08:50:20    2474859

Replying To ChinCanHurl:  "Dee was definitely sweeping in the first half"
I don't think he crossed the half way line once. That's with the likes of Ryan back there. DOK has been a great servant but is really struggling to get around the pitch these days. Might be best finishing the games instead of starting them. Foley at least went on a few darts forward when he came on, though his touch is never as secure as DOK.

Dunbar seemed to flit between centre forward and midfield in the first half. The movement of our forwards did cause a lot of confusion in the Antrim defence. Second half Antrim pushed up on our puckouts and their HB line and midfield improved a lot in the contests.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 427 - 01/05/2023 10:21:56    2474865

If we can tighten our defence and if Rory and ,Jacko turn it on like they did on Saturday we should get a good result in croker. However we must get out of the habit of allowing teams to come at us once we have a good lead. We tend to go very defensive and try to hold out instead of going for the jugular.
Flood and Dunbar showed that they can cause all kinds of problems if given the right service. With Chin hopefully recovered and if Damien and Jippo available we are well capable of getting the two points. I think our half back line is the biggest issue. Maybe if O'Hanlon went corner back as I feel he hasn't got the legs for centre back. Conor Foley is a good hurler but too inexperienced at senior level to play in the centre back position.
Of course a lot will depend on our injuries as to who plays where. Vital game this. Lose and we are in big trouble. Win and we have a good chance of getting into the top 3 or maybe a leinster final.

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 522 - 01/05/2023 10:56:16    2474868

Big day for the minors in Nowlan park v Kilkenny.

How do people rate their chances?

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 960 - 01/05/2023 11:00:33    2474870

Replying To Magpie2:  "Scrappy enough second half. Backs were shakey and were under pressure from the Antrim attack on several occasions. 1.30 was a good total but to concede 1.26 takes the gloss off it somewhat.
Still great to see Rory and Jack really on fire and Flood back to his best.
However we must sort out our six backs. Let's hope Jippo is okay for the Dubs game. Tough games ahead and I include Westmeath in that.
( Remember last year) Role on next Saturday."
Hopefully Carty and Reck will be back too!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16359 - 01/05/2023 11:01:00    2474871

Replying To Timbertony:  "Some excellent forward play in the first half especially. Foley was my motm, Jacko was very good too. Chin was a bit rusty but did ok. Rory scored a lot but also missed a good few too, very selfish at times. Ryan when he was on and Reck were decent. Thought Conor Foley did ok too. Dunbar very sharp in first half but disappeared in second. Mac actually won a couple of hard balls when he came in. McGovern did well when he went to midfield too.

But that aside I thought we were very poor. The Antrim free taker missed a few handy ones and only for that we would have been in trouble, that's ridiculous given our dominance in the first half. To concede 1-26 against Antrim playing a sweeper is really poor. Our defensive setup is all over the place for me. Half back line non existent, once we are ran at we can't handle it. Hanlon after being our best player in Salthill was shocking this evening. Hearne struggled again, DOK not able to get around the pitch any more. Devitt very loose. But I don't see any sign of a defensive structure in place."
Kevin Foley has to be the sweeper if we are going to play 1

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16359 - 01/05/2023 11:02:14    2474872

Replying To ChinCanHurl:  "First half great second half scrappy and poor. Jacko and Rory were fantastic. Half back like was poor all game we need Reck back. When dee went off we got even looser. We never looked like losing at any stage and 1-25 from play is good going. Just like after every wexford game in history it's still hard to tell where we are actually at."
Great to see Jacko play like that! Fair play to him!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16359 - 01/05/2023 11:02:58    2474873

Replying To HurlingBuzz:  "Just seen the attendance was just over4,000. Pathetic turnout for a championship match and sums up everything said previously about bandwagon supporters we have in Wexford"
Yes was a poor attendance. Even noticed it in the lack of traffic heading home.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16359 - 01/05/2023 11:04:39    2474874