Wexford Intercounty Hurling 2023

Scrappy enough second half. Backs were shakey and were under pressure from the Antrim attack on several occasions. 1.30 was a good total but to concede 1.26 takes the gloss off it somewhat.
Still great to see Rory and Jack really on fire and Flood back to his best.
However we must sort out our six backs. Let's hope Jippo is okay for the Dubs game. Tough games ahead and I include Westmeath in that.
( Remember last year) Role on next Saturday.

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 522 - 29/04/2023 20:21:52    2474574

Replying To Magpie2:  "Scrappy enough second half. Backs were shakey and were under pressure from the Antrim attack on several occasions. 1.30 was a good total but to concede 1.26 takes the gloss off it somewhat.
However we must sort out our six backs. Let's hope Jippo is okay for the Dubs game. Tough games ahead and I include Westmeath in that.
( Remember last year) Role on next Saturday."
Some excellent forward play in the first half especially. Foley was my motm, Jacko was very good too. Chin was a bit rusty but did ok. Rory scored a lot but also missed a good few too, very selfish at times. Ryan when he was on and Reck were decent. Thought Conor Foley did ok too. Dunbar very sharp in first half but disappeared in second. Mac actually won a couple of hard balls when he came in. McGovern did well when he went to midfield too.

But that aside I thought we were very poor. The Antrim free taker missed a few handy ones and only for that we would have been in trouble, that's ridiculous given our dominance in the first half. To concede 1-26 against Antrim playing a sweeper is really poor. Our defensive setup is all over the place for me. Half back line non existent, once we are ran at we can't handle it. Hanlon after being our best player in Salthill was shocking this evening. Hearne struggled again, DOK not able to get around the pitch any more. Devitt very loose. But I don't see any sign of a defensive structure in place.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 426 - 29/04/2023 21:13:21    2474591

Our six starting forwards scored 1-23 from play and their starting six forwards scored 1-05 from play and yet we only won by four!

My favourite refereeing decision had to be the one where an Antrim defender threw a hurl at Liam Óg as he was running towards the D, Liam Óg misses, and yet no free given. Then in injury time (A minute over injury time even though there had been no stoppages in injury time, explain that one to me), Rory O'Connor blocks a quick free, the referee doesn't see it but the linesman then tells him to give Antrim a free where the ball landed. Why couldn't the linesman have told the referee that the Antrim defender threw a hurl at Liam Óg? Don't think I've ever seen a referee miss a thrown hurl before

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 574 - 29/04/2023 21:28:36    2474603

Replying To Magpie2:  "Scrappy enough second half. Backs were shakey and were under pressure from the Antrim attack on several occasions. 1.30 was a good total but to concede 1.26 takes the gloss off it somewhat.
( Remember last year) Role on next Saturday."
First half great second half scrappy and poor. Jacko and Rory were fantastic. Half back like was poor all game we need Reck back. When dee went off we got even looser. We never looked like losing at any stage and 1-25 from play is good going. Just like after every wexford game in history it's still hard to tell where we are actually at.

ChinCanHurl (Wexford) - Posts: 302 - 29/04/2023 21:41:34    2474606

Replying To Timbertony:  "Some excellent forward play in the first half especially. Foley was my motm, Jacko was very good too. Chin was a bit rusty but did ok. Rory scored a lot but also missed a good few too, very selfish at times. Ryan when he was on and Reck were decent. Thought Conor Foley did ok too. Dunbar very sharp in first half but disappeared in second. Mac actually won a couple of hard balls when he came in. McGovern did well when he went to midfield too.

But that aside I thought we were very poor. The Antrim free taker missed a few handy ones and only for that we would have been in trouble, that's ridiculous given our dominance in the first half. To concede 1-26 against Antrim playing a sweeper is really poor. Our defensive setup is all over the place for me. Half back line non existent, once we are ran at we can't handle it. Hanlon after being our best player in Salthill was shocking this evening. Hearne struggled again, DOK not able to get around the pitch any more. Devitt very loose. But I don't see any sign of a defensive structure in place."
We conceded a grand total of 1-12 from play, 1-05 of which came from their starting forwards; it's hard to look at that and to say our defence was under pressure, especially Antrim hit only 8 wides compared to our 14.

And here you are saying the Antrim free-taker missed a few handy ones; he scored twelves frees out of thirteen (Antrim had thirteen frees all game) and scored two out of three 65s.

I think it's a bit misleading to suggest that we would have been trouble had their free-taker scored all sixteen placed balls, hardly any freetaker in the country would go 16/16 in a match, they nearly always miss one.

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 574 - 29/04/2023 22:38:59    2474622

Wexford v Dublin
Two average teams so far in this championship, it's time for one of them to step up to the plate.
Wexford by 2 based on blind loyalty and nothing else

hurlorhurley (Wexford) - Posts: 1660 - 29/04/2023 23:12:18    2474627

Lets call a spade a spade. If Wexford have to play a sweeper v Antrim in Wexford Park we are heading nowhere very fast.
9 points up at half time and win by 5points . Very poor second half at times. Jack o Connor was very good scored 5 points from play and taken off . Could not understand that decision at all . BIG PROBLEMS AHEAD FOR THIS TEAM .

castletownman (Wexford) - Posts: 262 - 30/04/2023 00:05:59    2474633

Replying To Finchfurlong996:  "Thought we were a tad bit complacent in that performance. Westmeath were very good and had plenty of chances which they'll regret. Play like that in a semi final and we won't go any further. However, a wins a win!"
That's a very good Westmeath team

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16359 - 30/04/2023 06:47:19    2474640

Very impressed with the forward play last night looked slick and dangerous any time we attacked. Rory was on fire inside Jacko and Oisin Foley really impressed also. Would really worry about the defence . Egan said Jippo felt a tweak in his hamstring . We need him and Damien Reck back for next week .

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 30/04/2023 08:09:06    2474644

Much like the u20's earlier in the day thought it was a mixed performance. First half very good although the goal we conceded was very poor letting the forward run 50 yards to finish. Second half just did enough to get over the line. Various posters have accurately summed up the performance
Thought referee was poor the Liam og incident summing up his performance. Also wonder why the floodlights weren't switched on at halftime. We spend a fortune on them and don't use them considering conditions weren't great in second half.

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 554 - 30/04/2023 08:52:48    2474647

Just seen the attendance was just over4,000. Pathetic turnout for a championship match and sums up everything said previously about bandwagon supporters we have in Wexford

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 554 - 30/04/2023 08:56:50    2474648

A really mixed bag, but what is very glaring is that our manger is so far out of his depth it scary. Two years in and we still have no game plan, structure in our defence is all over the place and some of the decisions on the line are just mind blogging. Anyway good day yesterday winning two from two and hopefully the minors can make it three from three on Monday.

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 1149 - 30/04/2023 09:13:06    2474651

On another note the referee yesterday was shocking to say the least

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 1149 - 30/04/2023 09:41:02    2474655

Replying To hunting:  "On another note the referee yesterday was shocking to say the least"
He gave a free to Antrim in the first half when one of their players misfit a line ball. Wexford player goes and plays the ball. Did I miss something. Was on opposite side of pitch but everyone were scratching their heads wondering what was going on

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 554 - 30/04/2023 11:32:00    2474674

Replying To Viking66:  "That's a very good Westmeath team"
We had a good team this year, the majority of our lads are underage next year, I think 10 of the starting team.
I thought Wexford looked very good as well, I genuinely think ye will make the Leinster Final at the least! Best of luck going forward.

Dheen (Westmeath) - Posts: 1042 - 30/04/2023 12:06:48    2474681

Replying To HurlingBuzz:  "He gave a free to Antrim in the first half when one of their players misfit a line ball. Wexford player goes and plays the ball. Did I miss something. Was on opposite side of pitch but everyone were scratching their heads wondering what was going on"
He tried to take it quick and mishit it but technically Cathal was standing too close by the rules. Hardly ever see it pulled because usually the ref will tell the player to get back before it's taken.

Fulgrim (Wexford) - Posts: 270 - 30/04/2023 12:15:20    2474683

Coughing up too many goal chances from players running at us a few fine saves znd blocks kept us ahead and never felt we were going to relinquish that lead . But against better finishing teams we will be put to the sword . The biggest problem cas I see it is our lack of workrate from middle third of the field and up the middle we just don't disrupt or turnover enough ball I guarantee you againt any other top team there are very few goal chances created by running straight through the middle . They will be held up fouled or at least the Run checked or fired into shooting under pressure . We really need to man up through the middle

Formertownie (Wexford) - Posts: 370 - 30/04/2023 13:13:37    2474696

Replying To HurlingBuzz:  "Just seen the attendance was just over4,000. Pathetic turnout for a championship match and sums up everything said previously about bandwagon supporters we have in Wexford"
Some so called supporters do nothing but run down the team and say how bad they are rather than getting behind the lads .

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 30/04/2023 13:22:26    2474698

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "We conceded a grand total of 1-12 from play, 1-05 of which came from their starting forwards; it's hard to look at that and to say our defence was under pressure, especially Antrim hit only 8 wides compared to our 14.

And here you are saying the Antrim free-taker missed a few handy ones; he scored twelves frees out of thirteen (Antrim had thirteen frees all game) and scored two out of three 65s.

I think it's a bit misleading to suggest that we would have been trouble had their free-taker scored all sixteen placed balls, hardly any freetaker in the country would go 16/16 in a match, they nearly always miss one."
Who else was giving away those frees?

Antrim also made a bit of a mess of two other clear goal scoring chances. Lawlor did well for both but a better team wouldn't have missed them.

We have no presence in half back line or midfield and that's the key issue for me. We shouldn't be reliant on McGovern at this stage of his career to come out to battle in midfield, which he did very well.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 426 - 30/04/2023 14:00:23    2474704

Jaysus lads this forum can be toxic at times, yeah we have work to do and areas to improve. I genuinely think some here would have been happier had Antrim won yesterday. Yes Antrim ran through the middle a few times yesterday but neither reck nor Ryan were on the field. Watching the u20s yesterday there is a few decent young lads there who will make the step up in years to come so I don't buy into all this doom and gloom. At the end of the day we beat Antrim and are still well in this Leinster championship so get behind the lads and support them rather than tearing the backs off them online !

Loyalmodel (Wexford) - Posts: 18 - 30/04/2023 14:12:21    2474709