Tiernan Kelly 6 Month Ban- Thoughts

Replying To southmeathgael:  "I think everyone will agree with me when I say no-one cares what Philly Mcmahon says or thinks."
Im no fan of him at all, but I think he's right.
You're very naive if you think that all of these people like Spillane were genuinely "horrified, disgusted, shocked" etc etc etc at what they saw.

They probably re watched the incident 50 times on social media.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1708 - 02/07/2022 15:37:37    2429225

Replying To P.Mckenna:  "If it had happened on a street or in a night club, he would be awaiting his court date"
Can this particular nugget of nonsense stop please. A huge amount of things you do on a field would have you up in court if done on the street. You can shoulder someone on the field, tackle them, use a stick in a hurling match. Do any of that outside a stadium would be weird and possibly illegal. Now this particular incident was disgraceful, but please quit with this one

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2385 - 02/07/2022 15:43:57    2429227

Lots of people here saying 6 months is too lenient. If that's your view, what do you suggest as a more appropriate sanction?

football first (None) - Posts: 1259 - 02/07/2022 15:50:44    2429232

6 months is probably about right. That is a huge amount of time. He's got far more than others have got for similar in the past as highlighted above. Some here are losing the absolute run of themselves. You want to suspend a sentence to start when he would be playing based on inter county and his injury? What? Where is there any precedent for this? There's not. He was a non playing member on the day. Of course it asks other questions about why he was there, but he was. He wasn't suspended as a player on the day. Remember that. If anything it highlights the disciplinary system, but you need to look objectively at the situation at hand and what they can do. They can't make it up as they go along, and set things differently (although we know it looks that way sometimes). 6 months is what he got, and there's no way they can move it to cover competitive games as he wasn't a player. And he will miss his whole club season. This is now a quirk of the compressed split season we have. But he is still getting a huge punishment. Move on, it's going into hysterical territory from some

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2385 - 02/07/2022 15:53:45    2429233

His club says he is a great chap and maybe he is and I won't do a character assignation on him. However this is white noise trying to gain him some forgiveness for trying to gouge out someone's eyes. Lawyers do the same with murders and if it worked a lot of them would be walking around lining up their next victim.
Here's my stance on it and other cases where striking takes place when the whistle has gone and play is stopped. Softening up before the ball is thrown in. Off the ball strikes when the ref is dealing with a free somewhere else. In the tunnel strikes like this one. Throw the book at them. It is dangerous, cowardly and very libel to cause injury. I would and have been much more lenient on strikes that occur in the heat of battle and don't like seeing players red carded except it is very egregious. The speed of the game, the injured part contributed to the injury by accident or changing position after the hit was initiated etc.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 02/07/2022 16:39:36    2429240

Replying To football first:  "Lots of people here saying 6 months is too lenient. If that's your view, what do you suggest as a more appropriate sanction?"
1 year, it's not difficult. You do that a no one does this again.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4226 - 02/07/2022 18:21:44    2429262

Look in fairness I think the Armagh posters are angry at the different punishments handed out. Every Armagh pundit poster has condemned the act to be fair. While it's a disgusting act he has apologised and he should nt be given more than the previous offenders some who never apologised.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3676 - 02/07/2022 19:34:51    2429286

They can only give him a ban based on what other players, with a similar disciplinary record, got for a similar offence. They might well bring in a longer ban for that offence in the future. It was reckless and very dangerous but any ban given should be the same whether it was live on RTE or if no cameras were present. It's a physical game, Kelly went way beyond the boundaries of physicality and the rules, but these things happen. His ban shouldn't be a longer ban because a few parents who heard about in Facebook and saw the Virgin Media attempted fitup, are seemingly horrified at how dangerous GAA sports look. Based on one incident they've seen they won't be bringing their Fiachra and Chloe to the Cúl camp because it's not cool any more and it might rain. Their kids probably have more cop on than Mummy and Daddy the creaturs.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 02/07/2022 20:41:46    2429321

Virgin Media 'debate'. Fair play to Dick Clerkin.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 02/07/2022 20:46:44    2429325

Replying To GreenandRed:  "They can only give him a ban based on what other players, with a similar disciplinary record, got for a similar offence. They might well bring in a longer ban for that offence in the future. It was reckless and very dangerous but any ban given should be the same whether it was live on RTE or if no cameras were present. It's a physical game, Kelly went way beyond the boundaries of physicality and the rules, but these things happen. His ban shouldn't be a longer ban because a few parents who heard about in Facebook and saw the Virgin Media attempted fitup, are seemingly horrified at how dangerous GAA sports look. Based on one incident they've seen they won't be bringing their Fiachra and Chloe to the Cúl camp because it's not cool any more and it might rain. Their kids probably have more cop on than Mummy and Daddy the creaturs."
Eventhough it's a seriously dangerous act I could nt help laughing at your post Greenandred lol.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3676 - 02/07/2022 20:49:36    2429328

Replying To football first:  "Lots of people here saying 6 months is too lenient. If that's your view, what do you suggest as a more appropriate sanction?"
That at the very least he misses a few Championship games.

gilly1910 (Galway) - Posts: 170 - 07/07/2022 10:50:08    2430238

Lets move on from it. It is what it is. If there is any appeal let it go under the radar and if that appeal reduces the ban , so be it. Regardless of the ban , the guy has already paid a heavy price .....end of story.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 07/07/2022 11:09:07    2430244

Replying To ardmhacha:  "Half a year out of football and whole club season for 3 second moment of madness is fair enough for me.
Out of interest, can you look up the bans that other players got for gouging incidents in last 10 years and share those with us so we have something to compare against? There's plenty of pics of those incidents doing the rounds so should be easy to look up. Thanks."
Eye gouging at any point is a despicable act but difference is he wasn't a player he wasn't even on the bench but instead ran on to the pitch to get involved in something that he shouldn't have

Liffeylad (Dublin) - Posts: 74 - 07/07/2022 11:23:42    2430249

Replying To gilly1910:  "That at the very least he misses a few Championship games."
He wasn't a player on the day though. How do they apply different punishments to different circumstances? If he was on the 26 teamsheet, he may have got that. But he wasn't.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2385 - 07/07/2022 11:30:39    2430252

Replying To Liffeylad:  "Eye gouging at any point is a despicable act but difference is he wasn't a player he wasn't even on the bench but instead ran on to the pitch to get involved in something that he shouldn't have"
Armagh have been trying to look tough and act like hard men under McGeeney, they'd be better off concentrating on the football, their card is marked now anyway, the spotlight is on them from here on for the wrong reason.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2749 - 07/07/2022 11:36:08    2430256

Replying To Liffeylad:  "Eye gouging at any point is a despicable act but difference is he wasn't a player he wasn't even on the bench but instead ran on to the pitch to get involved in something that he shouldn't have"
Aye but there was a whole rip of lads in and about the pushing match that were unnamed squad players.
The despicable act which was also done by one of your legends not that long ago is despicable indeed. You can't claim there is any difference in terms of the act - your man didn't get destroyed on social media and a 6 month ban / call for guards / named in the Dail etc. I'm merely pointing that out. We ALL know what the real reason why reactions were different. I'm just pointing towards the obvious, not condoning anything.

ardmhacha (Armagh) - Posts: 172 - 07/07/2022 12:10:16    2430263

Replying To anotheralias:  "Lets move on from it. It is what it is. If there is any appeal let it go under the radar and if that appeal reduces the ban , so be it. Regardless of the ban , the guy has already paid a heavy price .....end of story."
Yes, we should move on at this stage. Armagh have stated there will be no appeals to any suspensions handed down.
Your county is now under the microscope also having been involved in 3 rows also this year (Derry in the league, Mayo in the Chzmpionship and Armagh). Good luck on Saturday - here's to a great game.

ardmhacha (Armagh) - Posts: 172 - 07/07/2022 12:13:33    2430265

This thread has been going on for so long.

What TK did was wrong, and that hasn't been disputed by anyone from what I have seen, including TK. He has apologised and received a ban. Some posters say 6 months isn't enough and he should have got a year or more. How has this conclusion been arrived at? A point though, from what we saw and understand from the coverage, he didn't cause any serious injury to Damien Comer's eye, fortunately, and that was likely considered when deciding the sanction. Time to move on.

Tangledup (Armagh) - Posts: 1 - 07/07/2022 13:14:57    2430280

Replying To ardmhacha:  "Yes, we should move on at this stage. Armagh have stated there will be no appeals to any suspensions handed down.
Your county is now under the microscope also having been involved in 3 rows also this year (Derry in the league, Mayo in the Chzmpionship and Armagh). Good luck on Saturday - here's to a great game."
I don't remember any row with Mayo in this year's championship. Are you referring to last year's Connacht final? There was some pushing at half-time going down the tunnel.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2043 - 07/07/2022 13:42:23    2430290

Replying To ardmhacha:  "Aye but there was a whole rip of lads in and about the pushing match that were unnamed squad players.
The despicable act which was also done by one of your legends not that long ago is despicable indeed. You can't claim there is any difference in terms of the act - your man didn't get destroyed on social media and a 6 month ban / call for guards / named in the Dail etc. I'm merely pointing that out. We ALL know what the real reason why reactions were different. I'm just pointing towards the obvious, not condoning anything."
I was merely pointing out that he wasnt a player and had no place on the pitch.

Liffeylad (Dublin) - Posts: 74 - 07/07/2022 13:42:49    2430291