Try again lad. You made a daft post about rowing and cricket getting huge coverage. Then you didn't reply to those who responded to you. The usual craic with a lot of posters on here. Make random statements that have no basis in reality then stay off the thread until we move on then back on posting as if nothing was said. So I ask again, where is this widespread coverage of rowing and cricket because I watch a lot of sport and listen to a lot of sports pods and this has passed me by? TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8518 - 22/09/2025 15:48:46 2637 Any chance you actually answer the question instead of posting telling me something I already know? TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8523 - 23/09/2025 14:21:34 2637195 Link 0 |
Pretty solid insight. I've always believed every institution is indicative of the people involved. Evil people will use whatever is available to them to achieve their goals. Thankfully good people tend to do the same. Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3947 - 23/09/2025 23:12:16 2637244 Link 0 |
Think everyone has good and bad in them, and that's reflected in all human organisations.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 17152 - 24/09/2025 11:25:13 2637281 Link 0 |
Mo Chara walks free from court, fantastic news, maybe the British media will focus on what is happening in Gaza now. Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3468 - 26/09/2025 12:37:32 2637536 Link 3 |
Looking after its citizens first and foremost.
Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2520 - 28/09/2025 14:56:30 2637707 Link 0 |
Then we have religious organizations who practiced slavery with pregnant women in laundry houses, sold their children off the highest bidder and buried others in Septic tanks, and in the decades since that have passed, they have spent millions in donated money from the public to legally fight all chances for victims to ever get justice. I struggle with that, how that was allowed and nobody from within could stop it. Not just in one Country, this seemed to be the way all over, yet nobody could stop it. Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1482 - 29/09/2025 13:07:38 2637805 Link 0 |
Why is it fantastic news?
alalalalalum (USA) - Posts: 27 - 29/09/2025 13:35:48 2637810 Link 3 |
All of that is true, and absolutely horrific, but equally, consider the value the church provided in humanitarian missions, doctors, lawyers, priests in the developing world. Don't get me wrong, Irish people have good reason for turning away. however, we would have had no education or healthcare system in our infant state without them. How much influence have Christian values had on the west? The most Equal society in recorded history? Certainly not perfect, but I would say the influence of Christianity on society was net positive. We're worse off without it now. In the west in 2025, immorality, crime, community values, society at large are completely out of control. People don't know right from wrong any more. The correlation between this and the erosion of the church are not a coincidence. Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3947 - 29/09/2025 15:33:16 2637836 Link 5 |
Freedom of speech/expression . Not allowed in USA but Google it. Seanfan (Roscommon) - Posts: 136 - 29/09/2025 15:40:26 2637840 Link 1 |
Are you talking about Roman society pre Caesar when you say the most equal society in history? That would be pre Christ also. As regards "the West" in general its hard as a socialist to agree with your assessment that its "the most equal society in recorded history". Most of the countries in the so called West were ruled by Kings or Queens for most of their histories, and all have poor Gini coefficients to this day. Ours included. The church in Ireland certainly played a positive part as regards education though. And as a real world socialist I know real equality really means equality in education and opportunity, after that it's up to the individual. As regards your last paragraph the various Churches around the world have been responsible for more deaths than anyone else. Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 17152 - 29/09/2025 16:58:13 2637859 Link 0 |
I am a socialist as well Viking or economic socialist and socially conservative. Well, we're talking about the American empire really. When I say the most Equal I am talking about the abolition of slavery, the end of imperialism by force (or publicly anyway), equality of opportunity in education and employment for women (only in Ireland sincerely the 90s really). Self determination of small nations throughout the 20th century. I get your point about monarch, but they have elected parliaments too. At least there are fundamental human rights, healthcare, education, and real wealth. I know there's poverty in Ireland but only relative to the wealth here. A poor person in Ireland is infinitely better off than a poor person in eastern Europe, or even a poor person in Ireland in the 1960s. I understand religious history is bloody, but the first and second world wars had little to do with religion or even the troubles in spite of that being the popular narrative. And before anyone corrects me the German issue was primarily about the bad deal they got in Versailles. Sadly a single religion were scapegoats for that. Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3947 - 29/09/2025 20:56:44 2637883 Link 1 |
I was looking back alot further in history tbh. I know you have very similar views to me on most things. However The West is still exploiting large parts of the rest of the world, though a little less so at the point of a gun. As regards religion you don't have to believe in any Church to believe in God or be a Christian. In fact Jesus pretty much said this himself. Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 17152 - 30/09/2025 07:45:33 2637894 Link 0 |
I went into the election cycle unsure of who I would vote for and I found it difficult to look past the fact that Catherine Connolly supported Gemma O Doherty back in the day but I am absolutely willing to park that now and vote for her now. That's how I felt before the debate last night and now I am 100 per cent certain. She is being herself and that's why she wiped the floor with the party stooges last night. Jim Gavin was woeful and Humphries not much better. TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8523 - 30/09/2025 09:58:14 2637914 Link 1 |
I'd be 100% behind Connolly the best of bad bunch If gavin had run as independent I'd have considered him but going in with FF I can't back Connolly does seem a genuine nice lady anytime I see her cycling around town although dont agree with her on some points she doesn't seem a standard pig in trough politician jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1682 - 30/09/2025 12:29:42 2637939 Link 1 |
I agree 100%, I'm disappointed in Jim Gavin imo he's turning into a mini Micheál Martin, was he reading of a teleprompter last night or had he that opening spiel memorised? either way it was awful, I couldn't switch stations quick enough. Of the 3 of them I prefer Catherine Connolly by a country mile, I think she will represent Ireland well, she is up against the party machine of FF/FG and their candidates will encourage transfers to each other. I think the people will come out and vote for Catherine Connolly though as this election gets nearer and the candidates get more exposure. Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3468 - 30/09/2025 14:08:41 2637963 Link 0 |
Respectfully, best not mix the core teachings of Christianity up with the activities and objectives of the Church organization, as at times they don't align very well. I don't agree about the correlation between those things and the erosion of the Church, as I suspect there are many other factors to consider, such as proper analysis and profiling of those who committed crimes over the last 10-20 years would be a better starting point. However I don't dismiss that your point may be valid, I just don't think its the sole reason. Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1482 - 01/10/2025 13:09:33 2638127 Link 0 |
If he seems that way, its because he had been prepared by Fianna Fail advisors for weeks now on how to respond and how to behave in public. We live in the era of personality politics, where we don't ask who is the most able and suitable person to do a job, its all about who is most likeable. Jim Gavin is one of the most able people we have in the Country, I would prefer to see him as a Government minister for Health or Defence, than wasted away as President, signing legislation and attending public events. The man will get results, something that very few of the other professional politicians are very good at, otherwise we wouldn't be wasting €350k on a bicycle shed and about to blow another €100k on a new one when there are companies who sell solid gazebos for around €10k. Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1482 - 01/10/2025 13:18:04 2638129 Link 0 |
Aviation safety chief Jim Gavin has some questions to answer, Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3468 - 01/10/2025 13:48:44 2638141 Link 0 |
Oh sure he has if one was being completely pedantic, let him who is without sin cast the first stone and all that.....
Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 1519 - 01/10/2025 15:33:13 2638156 Link 0 |
Of course you are right, which is how the conversation started. The church is not infallible by any definition. It's behaviour has been vile at times, nowhere more than in this country in modern history. I believe there is a correlation but again you may be right. I would argument that the role of the family and the forms they take would be the best starting point. Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3947 - 01/10/2025 15:50:51 2638162 Link 0 |