Non-Gaa Forum

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Hopefully Jim Gavin will get the nominations and votes required for the Irish Presidential run. He is a very intelligent, decent, caring human being who would make a superb President."
I think he'd be wasted as President. Would prefer to see a man with his qualifications, organisational and motivational abilities and personality get elected as a TD and become a Minister or go even higher.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8224 - 01/09/2025 10:01:11    2634439

Replying To GreenandRed:  "I think he'd be wasted as President. Would prefer to see a man with his qualifications, organisational and motivational abilities and personality get elected as a TD and become a Minister or go even higher."
I thought the Same. I would prefer him involved in decisions not sure he is suited to this role. Never one to say much post game. 'm actually surprised he went for it hopefully he changes the glasses if he gets in.

Kew (Galway) - Posts: 260 - 01/09/2025 11:46:58    2634458

Replying To GreenandRed:  "I think he'd be wasted as President. Would prefer to see a man with his qualifications, organisational and motivational abilities and personality get elected as a TD and become a Minister or go even higher."
Agreed, the type of character needed to tackle the housing or HSE shambles' without any of the grandstanding and PR nonsense. Not entrenched in any party either

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12487 - 01/09/2025 12:54:33    2634473

Jim Gavin is the kind of man you'd like to see as Taoiseach, FF are making a mess of selection imo.
At the minute I think Catherine Connolly would be a good woman for the job.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3442 - 01/09/2025 13:44:18    2634486

Replying To Breffni40:  "Agreed, the type of character needed to tackle the housing or HSE shambles' without any of the grandstanding and PR nonsense. Not entrenched in any party either"
Is he though? What suggests he would be able to tackle either from his professional career?

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3814 - 01/09/2025 13:50:41    2634489

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Jim Gavin is the kind of man you'd like to see as Taoiseach, FF are making a mess of selection imo.
At the minute I think Catherine Connolly would be a good woman for the job."
After yesterday's interview she'll be lucky to get 10% 1st prefs.

Seanfan (Roscommon) - Posts: 96 - 01/09/2025 14:39:50    2634501

Replying To KillingFields:  "Is he though? What suggests he would be able to tackle either from his professional career?"
Or would even want to? It would take a special person to sort any of those issues out and need I say, more than one person.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 1497 - 01/09/2025 14:42:45    2634504

Replying To KillingFields:  "Is he though? What suggests he would be able to tackle either from his professional career?"
He's the Chief Operations Officer of the Irish Aviation Authority. Logistics and deadlines would be his strengths.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8224 - 01/09/2025 15:04:06    2634507

Would expect Jim to be be a success in any post he takes on. However, no one man will solve housing or health problems. Imagine everyone involved to date are doing their best to resolve issues. Why would they not? Without knowing each and every issue involved it is difficult to lay blame at any individual or party. Housing especially, seems like a world problem with health, climate and imigration all to the fore. Lack of real information is creating a void that is being filled with all kinds of harmful rubbish. Governments need to lay out the facts, no spin, just the truth. Think Jim will make a fine President and will get my vote if on ballot paper.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2225 - 01/09/2025 15:25:35    2634512

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Jim Gavin is the kind of man you'd like to see as Taoiseach, FF are making a mess of selection imo.
The same woman who is good friends with Mick Wallace and supported Gemma O Doherty for President ?

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8491 - 01/09/2025 15:53:28    2634516

Replying To GreenandRed:  "He's the Chief Operations Officer of the Irish Aviation Authority. Logistics and deadlines would be his strengths."
And that has any relevance to the issues mentioned.
Logistics and deadlines is just meaningless words and the areas he has worked in are totally different to housing and HSE.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3814 - 01/09/2025 16:11:13    2634520

Replying To KillingFields:  "And that has any relevance to the issues mentioned.
Logistics and deadlines is just meaningless words and the areas he has worked in are totally different to housing and HSE."
Expertise in logistics and deadlines wouldn't be needed for sorting out the housing and HSE crisis?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8224 - 01/09/2025 17:15:10    2634526

Replying To seadog54:  "Would expect Jim to be be a success in any post he takes on. However, no one man will solve housing or health problems. Imagine everyone involved to date are doing their best to resolve issues. Why would they not? Without knowing each and every issue involved it is difficult to lay blame at any individual or party. Housing especially, seems like a world problem with health, climate and imigration all to the fore. Lack of real information is creating a void that is being filled with all kinds of harmful rubbish. Governments need to lay out the facts, no spin, just the truth. Think Jim will make a fine President and will get my vote if on ballot paper."
Why would they not Seadog? Too many vested interests is my cynical view on that. This is a middle class government who will tell people what they think they want to hear. Not too long ago Fine Gael tried to take too much credit for mending the economy when in reality they wouldn't have done it without the Troika prodding them to make hard calls. They've created a mess by giving free GP care to U8s to gain popularity.

Small steps but Jennifer Carroll O'Neill is trying to address productivity in the health service and increase the availability of consultants 7 days a week and more efficient usage of very expensive equipment which is too often idle. Even though we, allegedly, have a technology economy, a patient goes to their GP with a problem. The GPs secretary contacts, often by post, a pool of consultants secretaries to see if there is availability for a scan. The process can take months before the patient gets a possible date. Currently not a whole lot as less than 20% of consultants work weekends or bank holidays. As for them working nights, to possibly save lives, forget about it. You could have a cancer scare, talk to your GP and not get a referral for months on Puplic Health, a small bit quicker on Private Health Insurance.Hopefully you don't get cancer and your scan is all clear but you've a stressful few months waiting. But you can get your car NCT'd within a week, if you're flexible and willing to travel a distance. They've a great online system, fair play. Cynically, again, do they care more about keeping your car on the road, fuel, tax, insurance, than fixing people's health?

As for houses, you'd be forgiven for thinking that everyone needs a new house, everyone can afford a new house and there's no scope for upgrading second hand homes. Not every house can be a BER A-rated home. Let more people onto the property ladder for lower rated homes and work on the upgrades when they have the keys.Again cynical but some people are coining in on the 'greenness' of some properties. Solar panels and electric heat pumps are grand but not worth the investemt unless you've plenty of cash to be throwing around. Not many of do in 2025.I admire any politican who gets elected, better than anyone on Social Media giving out about them. If we want to complain then at least get involved.But some of them could do better. Cross party lines and get more done. Gavin would be a good man in Leinster House, not the Áras.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8224 - 01/09/2025 17:17:40    2634527

Replying To TheFlaker:  "The same woman who is good friends with Mick Wallace and supported Gemma O Doherty for President ?"
I don't know much about her only going by by what I heard her saying in an interview some time ago, thought she sounded a good decent woman with good values.
She is well qualified and experienced in politics, the right age profile and a fluent Irish speaker too.
If the likes of you is again her then I'm for her. she must be doing something right if she's getting up your nose.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3442 - 01/09/2025 19:09:10    2634536

You are absolutely correct; FF have made an almighty mess of selection, as Mary Hannifin said a phone call would not have been a lot to ask, Billie Kelleher was very loyal and committed to FF and to our national politics, Billie is a Cork man as well as Micheal. Bertie Ahern, too, was ignored.

Catherine Connelly's interest in the Presidency is gaining momentum, I also thing Catherine Connelly would be a good woman for the job of President.

As for someone to tackle the housing or HSE shambles, as far as I am aware that is not part of any president's job description as he carries no political shackles in other words he is politics free.

It's not that there is not enough houses rather it's because there are too many people, 5.4 million in fact so where do you build them, in window boxes, perhaps ?.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 3249 - 01/09/2025 20:40:15    2634540