Bernhard Langer and Fred Couples getting round the course with lower scores than multiple current professionals prove it's mostly just power that has been added to the pro standards
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12291 - 15/04/2025 16:32:30 2602089 Link 0 |
Ben Hogan won his 74th and last PGA Tour event in 1959, two years before Nicklaus turned professional, so he's the odd one out on your list here.
Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4081 - 15/04/2025 16:34:44 2602090 Link 0 |
That's a good idea. There are lots of scholarships available whether through sports, military service, etc. but maybe more could go towards it now.
Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2483 - 15/04/2025 17:17:40 2602099 Link 0 |
"Five major titles, career grand slam." I'll leave that there. Glensboy (Antrim) - Posts: 321 - 15/04/2025 17:46:50 2602103 Link 0 |
Hey lads comparing the Golfers across different eras is so inaccurate just like comparing whether Mike Tyson would beat Ali or would Christy Ring be good enough for today's hurling, etc. I guess it's ok for chat over a beer in the pub or sitting by the fireplace but it's pure speculation at best. Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2483 - 15/04/2025 18:09:26 2602108 Link 0 |
Great win by Rory and pleased for him. A great golfer and among the greats by any standard. Maybe it's his ability to come back up off the canvas makes his special and a bit different. For me personally I'm not mad about his body language sometimes but I guess we are all different. Rose is a modest and true professional. Would not envoy him his day in the sun either. Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3021 - 15/04/2025 18:30:55 2602111 Link 0 |
Or comparing Abraham Lincoln to Trump. Different eras. Lincoln would have a good reach advantage, I'd say. Bigger hands too, which would pack more of a punch. Speculation for sure.
WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2276 - 15/04/2025 19:57:46 2602118 Link 0 |
Don't forget it's his job.
Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2253 - 15/04/2025 20:06:48 2602119 Link 0 |
For once we're in agreement. Pointless comparing different eras. Just enjoy the players/teams on their own merits. Messi > Ronaldo though. Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9724 - 15/04/2025 20:07:53 2602120 Link 0 |
I like Messi better too but these eras exist for a reason. Rule changes, amount of matches, what league you're in, current coach or manager you're playing for, etc.
Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2483 - 15/04/2025 22:05:28 2602136 Link 0 |
Don't forget it's every professional golfers job but only 5 other golfers in history have achieved what Rory did …. let that sink in and less of the begrudging.. He is the greatest golfer to ever come from this country and l assure you his likes will never be seen again… Just be thankful we are around to see this genius in action…..!
ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 3728 - 16/04/2025 06:58:00 2602154 Link 0 |
It's what you score over 4 rounds that counts not 1 or even 2 rounds… but they did better in those 2 rounds than some of the money grabbing LIV golfers which is just embarrassing for them….
ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 3728 - 16/04/2025 07:06:08 2602156 Link 0 |
Not sure why you picked out LIV guys they oug performed plenty of pga guys too. One lad shot a 90
jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1456 - 16/04/2025 08:04:19 2602163 Link 1 |
Yeah and even things such as the state of the pitches, protection from referees, better player welfare etc. Imagine what Maradona could have achieved if he played in the modern game where players are looked after far better than they were in the 80s and 90s. Was Maradona better than Messi? An impossible question to answer. But the two of them are undoubtedly in the top 5 players on all time category in my opinion. Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9724 - 16/04/2025 09:00:06 2602167 Link 0 |
Maradona or Messi? Wow that's a tough one. I'll leave that one for the Argentinians to answer. Yeah you won't get too many that will argue against them two guys. Pure legends.
Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2483 - 16/04/2025 09:46:43 2602175 Link 0 |
Lincoln never lost an election so that puts him clear in my book
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12291 - 16/04/2025 10:13:39 2602179 Link 0 |
Jesus you are very bitter and sad individual. What a petty and needpess attack on one of the biggest sporting achievements in tecent years
KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3746 - 16/04/2025 10:47:03 2602188 Link 0 |
That's an easy one. Diego Maradona to me is the best footballer of all time.
Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 1018 - 16/04/2025 11:19:16 2602193 Link 2 |
A brilliant footballer. If he played in the modern era, and looked after himself like all pro's do nowadays. it's frightening to think what he could have achieved. Then you have O Fenomeno Ronaldo. But for the injuries he suffered, he would have been in the GOAT category for sure as well. In his late teens and early 20s he was unstoppable. But even with those injuries, he was still able to achieve so much. Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9724 - 16/04/2025 12:21:42 2602207 Link 0 |
Lincoln lost many elections. https://www.answers.com/us-history/How_many_elections_did_Abraham_Lincoln_lose_before_becoming_president * In 1832, he ran for state legislator and lost. * In 1854, he was a candidate for U.S. Senator and lost (he threw his support to Free-Soil Democrat Lyman Trumbull, who became a Republican). * In 1858, he was a candidate for U.S. Senator and lost. Lincoln was also the loser in other political contests, though these are not properly called elections. Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2483 - 16/04/2025 13:15:59 2602219 Link 0 |