2022 All-Ireland Hurling Championship thread

Lets not tar everyone with same brush it was one incident & its been well called out by all Clare posters today I hope never to see it again in a Clare jersey again but it has crept in first in Football sadly now hurling as well.

You dont want too many more rules in hurling but a retrospective one match ban might rid us of this menace

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 988 - 16/05/2022 11:40:16    2417605

Replying To skillet:  "Assume that's the incident from Cusack Park 5 yrs ago that gets dragged up any time anyone tries to claim Limerick dive.
Anything a bit more recent to work with?
Say in the last 2 yrs??

.Say what you like about our team and their ability to dish it out, they take it in spades without resorting to sort of simulation Clare indulged in yesterday."
Im not trying to claim Limerick dive I was responding to a comment that declared "you never see Limerick engaging in simulation" and I was simply correcting a false comment.

Limerick are the best team in Ireland but all I am saying is that there seems to be this simmering rage in Limerick over Aaron Fitz claiming he got Hegarty sent off. Hegarty got Hegarty sent off as he went with a trademark after the ball swipe. Its a red card offence and he would do well to learn quickly before it costs Limerick some day.

Anyway, roll on the Munster final, its great to be there!!!

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 16/05/2022 11:45:33    2417610

Replying To rhudson:  "Thats a very good post some home truths there for sure
We have all been there from time to time
Fair play to Limerick there a great team
Let ye make hay while the sun shines on Limerick
Because the Trad Big 3 will allways be around for more
Imagine another Limerick/ Galway final or Limerick /Clare final that would be something"
Thank Rhudson, I am glad somebody else agrees. For the benefit of the game, WE need more counties outside the 'Big Three' at the top table.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4509 - 16/05/2022 12:20:28    2417629

Not that I'm a fan of Cork, but it was good to see them put a bit of pride back in the blood and bandage; to stand up and fight. It has certainly thrown the cat among the pigeons in Munster.

I think going forward that holding Horgan in reserve might serve Cork better. He'd be a mighty asset to be able to bring it. Plus, putting Lehane on the frees would boost his confidence, IMO, as he's a confidence player, and as such benefit his overall game,

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2305 - 16/05/2022 12:25:23    2417634

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Id be shocked if it was rescinded as the rules with regards striking are clear. It is a red card if a player:

To strike or to attempt to strike an opponent with a hurley, with minimal force.

So you dont even need to strike you need to attempt to strike and whether ye like it or not, Hegarty tried to clip Fitzgerald yesterday and only Fitzgeralds hurley prevented him from being hit so he and was possibly lucky under the rules of the game not to get a straight red. This is not condoning Aaron's actions but its a red card offence."
Looked more like a push than a strike?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16311 - 16/05/2022 12:26:26    2417635

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Im not trying to claim Limerick dive I was responding to a comment that declared "you never see Limerick engaging in simulation" and I was simply correcting a false comment.

Limerick are the best team in Ireland but all I am saying is that there seems to be this simmering rage in Limerick over Aaron Fitz claiming he got Hegarty sent off. Hegarty got Hegarty sent off as he went with a trademark after the ball swipe. Its a red card offence and he would do well to learn quickly before it costs Limerick some day.

Anyway, roll on the Munster final, its great to be there!!!"
If it's a red card offence that ought to be up to the decision of the officials own evidence. Not them relying on someone who is obviously play acting.

I don't seriously get that you are defending the dive. Clare but among my favourite other counties but even most of your own county men are embarrassed by it. As people of all counties are when one of their own makes a show of himself.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3598 - 16/05/2022 12:43:04    2417651

Replying To Viking66:  "Hold on that wouldn't have been a Lohan characteristic. Think you are adding 1 and 1 and making 3. It's in players in every county including mine and yours at this stage. And not just at intercounty level. It was shocking theatrics though and must be very embarrassing for the lad who dived on the floor when you watch the slow motion. Unlikely he even has a bruise."
Of course it's not a Lohan characteristic but he has players who have done it 2 games in a row so it's something they have to deal with. At the moment it's getting rewarded and players will continue to do it until you are penalised for it. Just watched Sunday game live it was totally brushed over the dive, Donal Og and his crew have set the agenda now with Hegarty why can't they tackle the divers in the same way. Look at Hannon for Limericks last free and the body charge he got to the head/chest area from Conlon, if he had rolled around the ground Conlon would have been sent off bur we're not Clare.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 904 - 16/05/2022 13:01:46    2417662

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "If it's a red card offence that ought to be up to the decision of the officials own evidence. Not them relying on someone who is obviously play acting.

I don't seriously get that you are defending the dive. Clare but among my favourite other counties but even most of your own county men are embarrassed by it. As people of all counties are when one of their own makes a show of himself."
I didn't once defend the dive? Show me where I defended the dive?

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 16/05/2022 13:09:25    2417671

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "If it's a red card offence that ought to be up to the decision of the officials own evidence. Not them relying on someone who is obviously play acting.

I don't seriously get that you are defending the dive. Clare but among my favourite other counties but even most of your own county men are embarrassed by it. As people of all counties are when one of their own makes a show of himself."
Hegarty was waving his hurl around like a samurai sword! He knew exactly what he wanted to do to the Clare lad.

In defense of the Clare player, if he stay on the ground, Hegarty's swipe act goes un-noticed. The fact he went down, the ref had to investigate the matter. It happens 9/10 times in similar situations.
Its not nice to see lads going down with minimal contact, I'd be frustrated if I was a Limerick supporter. The lad who was 100% in control of that situation yesterday was Hegarty, and he let his team down by doing a stupid thing.

He'll sit down with Caroline Currid this week and process it. In the end, he will take full responsibly for what he did cause he's seems like a class guy who just keeps getting better. Common characteristics of such sportsmen are taking responsibility for your actions, and learning from them.

Its early days. Limerick will be around at the business end of the year and Hegarty will be the better of yesterdays experience.

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1473 - 16/05/2022 13:12:30    2417674

Replying To katser:  "It could be a Galway v Clare All Ireland Final...you'd love that!"
Amen! I'd absolutely love it. All the pubs in South Galway and North Clare would be rocking. Gort wouldn't shut down for a week or more. Ha ha.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2551 - 16/05/2022 13:15:08    2417675

Replying To daveboy:  "What will Lohan say to the clare lad at training on Tuesday? Would he be proud of what he did? I'd like someone to ask lohan what he felt of the blatant simulation/cheating that occurred yesterday? I think it's too easy to deflect this onto hegarty. If people really care about this game this sort of stuff should be really called out for what it is. It's bringing the game into disrepute. It's cowardly and has no place on the field of play. Thats the bottom line.

I've said it before and I'll day it again any team that resorts to this is beaten before they leave the dressing room."
Absolutely it should be called out, but sure that wouldn't fit the media narrative against hegarty.
The referee has a duty to protect all players on the pitch equally.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2392 - 16/05/2022 13:20:34    2417683

Replying To Ban:  "Hegarty was waving his hurl around like a samurai sword! He knew exactly what he wanted to do to the Clare lad.

In defense of the Clare player, if he stay on the ground, Hegarty's swipe act goes un-noticed. The fact he went down, the ref had to investigate the matter. It happens 9/10 times in similar situations.
Its not nice to see lads going down with minimal contact, I'd be frustrated if I was a Limerick supporter. The lad who was 100% in control of that situation yesterday was Hegarty, and he let his team down by doing a stupid thing.

He'll sit down with Caroline Currid this week and process it. In the end, he will take full responsibly for what he did cause he's seems like a class guy who just keeps getting better. Common characteristics of such sportsmen are taking responsibility for your actions, and learning from them.

Its early days. Limerick will be around at the business end of the year and Hegarty will be the better of yesterdays experience."
Was the clare player not in control of the situation when he decided in a calculated manner to make the referees job even harder. It was hurley on hurley contact. The clare player controlled everything after that grabbing his chest and made lyons job v difficult. The stuff on here this morning is really baffling and a little worrying. It seems its OK to simulate now as it's happening a lot. I can't condone this from any player. It needs to be stamped out. Clare have had 2 matches in a row where they have gotten opposition players sent off by cheating the referee into making a difficult call.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1197 - 16/05/2022 13:41:40    2417698

Not going to say much about the red card, except that it shouldn't have been given.

As for the game; great to watch, just like Galway vs Kilkenny a few weeks ago; blood n guts stuff.

What I find a bit lamentable is Davy Fitz on the Sunday Game, not even able to bring himself to mention the name "Brian Lohan", and how this team is being crafted in the image and likeness of how Lohan himself hurled (except for Aiden Fitzgerald's lark of fainting down). Instead with Davy, "many of these lads have Als since 2013; have u-21 Als; minor Munster titles, etc.". Most of which they had under the previous manager, ever before Lohan took over.

What's different between then and now? Lohan's influence IMO. Davy, by implication, is even giving himself more credit for that Clare team and its performances than the man who really deserves it; his arch-nemesis.

Des Cahill or whomever it is, should not allow such slanted, biased and inaccurate analysis slip by them. Perhaps it's just that bit of devilment in me, but were I Shane Dowling, I would not have been able to resist the temptation to praise Lohan to high heaven, and directly ask, "What do you think of that yourself, Davy?"

That'd make for a better show, instead of the programmed robotics that goes on so often.

I do realize that Lohan and Fitz would burn each other. But if Davy cannot do his job objectively and fairly, then boot his behind off the show. He's clearly not the man for the job. He's peevish and spiteful.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2305 - 16/05/2022 13:45:27    2417701

Why do hurling players leap about and fist pump around the place after winning a free? It seems a bit strange.

weatherfieldgael (UK) - Posts: 60 - 16/05/2022 13:46:34    2417702

There really needs to be something done about lads going down holding their head when that has been clearly no/minimal contact just to hold up play/get an opposing player sent off.
Yesterday Mike Casey had to be dragged off the field to patch up a facial injury, then you have lads getting a clip on the shoulder and going down ripping of their helmets as if they have been assaulted outside a chipper on o connell st 3am.
I am not going on yesterdays game but it is creeping into the game.

My view is anyone claiming to have received a bang to the head, off for 10 mins for a HIA (and replaced by a sub while this is being carried out).

Lastly, I am disgusted to hear the ref warning the Limerick medical team about running messages to players and disguising it as treatment. In no way should an official question a qualified medical professional.

Obviously a lot of GAA officials listening to Podcasts!!

Ballyknockill (Limerick) - Posts: 27 - 16/05/2022 13:50:08    2417705

Replying To daveboy:  "Was the clare player not in control of the situation when he decided in a calculated manner to make the referees job even harder. It was hurley on hurley contact. The clare player controlled everything after that grabbing his chest and made lyons job v difficult. The stuff on here this morning is really baffling and a little worrying. It seems its OK to simulate now as it's happening a lot. I can't condone this from any player. It needs to be stamped out. Clare have had 2 matches in a row where they have gotten opposition players sent off by cheating the referee into making a difficult call."
The Clare player had a hand that was heavily bandaged. The hurl def didnt make contact with it but one could draw conclusions that Hegarty wanted to make a little contact....
Of course I'm winding you up but that yellow was a yellow and the first wasnt - yet everyone is focusing on the one that was a yellow!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 16/05/2022 13:55:09    2417708

Replying To daveboy:  "Was the clare player not in control of the situation when he decided in a calculated manner to make the referees job even harder. It was hurley on hurley contact. The clare player controlled everything after that grabbing his chest and made lyons job v difficult. The stuff on here this morning is really baffling and a little worrying. It seems its OK to simulate now as it's happening a lot. I can't condone this from any player. It needs to be stamped out. Clare have had 2 matches in a row where they have gotten opposition players sent off by cheating the referee into making a difficult call."
Of course it needs stamped out. From club level up. If conclusive video evidence can be produced of simulation then I think a player should get a 3 game ban.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16311 - 16/05/2022 13:57:35    2417710

My last word on it yesterday no doubt it was a simulated injury dreadful but you cannot say the same about John Conlon because footage was unclear he appeared to be jabbed in the throat area you or I cannot say and definitely cannot accuse of cheating it was never in his locker before.

Did the Cork Player dive to ger I Galvin off not sure either.

I would hope Brian Lohan is furious privately he may not say in public

However as Roy Keane says don't give the referee a decision to make players should remember its a team sport

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 988 - 16/05/2022 14:17:51    2417725

The point continues to fly over your head.

No one is disagreeing that Fitz was embarrassing and wrong.

The point though is Hegarty should not have swung the Hurley at him like that. Stop deflecting and trying to make it seem like we are condoning diving. No one is.

The point that Hegarty was in control of the situation is 100% accurate but once again he let himself down trying to clip the man. Those are the facts and that is a bookable offence. Let it be clear though that I do not condone what Fitz did to draw the refs attention. It was embarrassing and I don't want to see Clare players at it, but the offence was committed before Hegarty hit the deck.

Limerick are a super team but what is equally as baffling to me is that you supporters can't see the lines that are crossed fairly regularly by Limerick players at the moment. After every game there is a red card controversy, either given or not. Now you can play the victim all you like but there is no smoke without fire.

That's the last I'll say about it now.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 16/05/2022 14:21:51    2417729

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Well done exactly the point.

Don't give the referee a decision to make. Regardless of Aaron's actions, Hergarty swing the Hurley at him. It's was a stupid move

I genuinely think the red card had no relevance to the results though"
What is the purpose of the ereferee if not to make edecisions??

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1377 - 16/05/2022 14:28:03    2417734