2022 All-Ireland Hurling Championship thread

Replying To baire:  "Huge Munster representation on the Sunday Game panel last night. Am I surprised that Galway was overlooked again in the team of the year selection! One Galway player chosen although they reached the ALL Ireland semi-final and put it up to Limerick until the very end. Apart from Ursula Jacob, none of the others mentioned Joseph Cooney who played wonderful hurling again this year. Conor Whelan, recognised as one of the top forwards in the game wasn't even mentioned. No Connacht or Ulster rep on the panel! A fair and balanced team of pundits no doubt!"
I agree, Baire. They should rename it the team of the championship semi-finals and final, as it never reflects the full playing season, just like the All-Stars. For instance, Waterford may have had a disappointing championship, althought they really had just two poor displays. Up to that point they were serious contenders and won the league impressively. Surely they should be represented on any team of the year. And I agree with you about Conor Whelan. Imagine the damage he'd do to any defence if he was supplied with good service and had plenty of support around him. Mostly this year he had to contend with two defenders.

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 543 - 18/07/2022 11:22:00    2432665

Replying To The_Lug_Coa:  "I cannot understand why the cats had such long faces as Limerick were the better team on the day?"
Moronic comment.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 18/07/2022 11:26:00    2432666

Replying To Viking66:  "Not strictly true. Several different Cork, kilkenny and Tipp teams have done a 3 in a row. And a Cork and Kilkenny team have managed the 4 in a row also. Which I will be very happy to see you achieve next year once you don't beat us along the way!!!"
Fair enough, I meant 4th County, but a combination of lack of sleep, pints and sheer giddiness put me wrong..

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1062 - 18/07/2022 11:30:10    2432668

Replying To midlands:  "I agree, Baire. They should rename it the team of the championship semi-finals and final, as it never reflects the full playing season, just like the All-Stars. For instance, Waterford may have had a disappointing championship, althought they really had just two poor displays. Up to that point they were serious contenders and won the league impressively. Surely they should be represented on any team of the year. And I agree with you about Conor Whelan. Imagine the damage he'd do to any defence if he was supplied with good service and had plenty of support around him. Mostly this year he had to contend with two defenders."
it was only after yesterday one could appreciate the job Fintan Burke did on Hegarty two weeks ago

SixtiesKid (Galway) - Posts: 304 - 18/07/2022 11:31:38    2432669

Replying To Foley91:  "The only plan I could see was to drive every puck out to TJ. When they went short they were swallowed up or just his aimless balls up to forwards. Probably time for Cody to walk now with some dignity and let some fresh ideas into the set up."
Puck out "strategy" from Kilkenny was a farce. What's the point in Eoin Murphy taking it short to Mikey Butler? Where's Mikey gonna deliver it that Eoin isn't capable of doing it himself?! Or if you're going to puck it short to Mikey, at least look for a return handpass so at least you're delivering a ball 15 yards further up the field.

Plus as Davy Fitz's Sunday game analysis showed, Quaid was delivering puck outs into space to Limerick forwards who were moving from a central position to the wings - giving the advantage to the forward and very difficult to defend against. Kilkenny's long puck outs were all on top of stationary forwards. You might win the odd one as TJ and Walter did, but certainly not enough, plus every puck out lost this way is setting up another Limerick attack.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 18/07/2022 11:35:40    2432671

Replying To skillet:  "Fair enough, I meant 4th County, but a combination of lack of sleep, pints and sheer giddiness put me wrong.."
Congrats on your magnificent achievement!!only the big 5 in gaa(Dublin,Kerry,cork,Kilkenny,Tipperary)have achieved this since our own footballers did it 1964-66.May I say we will probably being waiting at least another 60 years to see a new county achieve this feat although I hope I am wrong.Hopefully along with yourselves this is Clare Waterford Wexford and galways time also while Cork and Tipp are in transition and noone is afraid of the cats anymore!

Tj73 (Galway) - Posts: 29 - 18/07/2022 11:40:26    2432673

It's very well possible that Cork and Tipp won't come out of Munster next year.As a wise man once told me if the big 3 won nothing for 50 years it wouldn't be long enough!

Tj73 (Galway) - Posts: 29 - 18/07/2022 11:42:07    2432674

Replying To midlands:  "I agree, Baire. They should rename it the team of the championship semi-finals and final, as it never reflects the full playing season, just like the All-Stars. For instance, Waterford may have had a disappointing championship, althought they really had just two poor displays. Up to that point they were serious contenders and won the league impressively. Surely they should be represented on any team of the year. And I agree with you about Conor Whelan. Imagine the damage he'd do to any defence if he was supplied with good service and had plenty of support around him. Mostly this year he had to contend with two defenders."
Absolutely Conor Whelan either scored or won frees from most possessions he got and he didn't always get the best of service from the outfield players so its ridiculous he is not on it. Himself and TJ Reid would have be the first 2 players in my forward line in any All Star team named this year.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3323 - 18/07/2022 11:49:08    2432677

Replying To SixtiesKid:  "it was only after yesterday one could appreciate the job Fintan Burke did on Hegarty two weeks ago"
Correct, burke was brillent in that game! Two key things, he has the power to match him and he followed him wherever he went that day! Never gave him a chance to come short for possession which he often does. But fair play to hegarty yesterday he had a brillent game yesterday!

ecad123 (Galway) - Posts: 272 - 18/07/2022 12:03:57    2432680

Replying To ballydalane:  "Puck out "strategy" from Kilkenny was a farce. What's the point in Eoin Murphy taking it short to Mikey Butler? Where's Mikey gonna deliver it that Eoin isn't capable of doing it himself?! Or if you're going to puck it short to Mikey, at least look for a return handpass so at least you're delivering a ball 15 yards further up the field.

Plus as Davy Fitz's Sunday game analysis showed, Quaid was delivering puck outs into space to Limerick forwards who were moving from a central position to the wings - giving the advantage to the forward and very difficult to defend against. Kilkenny's long puck outs were all on top of stationary forwards. You might win the odd one as TJ and Walter did, but certainly not enough, plus every puck out lost this way is setting up another Limerick attack."
Davy Fitz wasn't coming out with anything new there. Limerick have been using that puckout strategy since 2018.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 18/07/2022 12:10:38    2432684

Congratulations to Limerick and Kilkenny yesterday what a game by far the best spectacle in world sport imagine having to watch a game of soccer after that game yesterday. Them Limerick lads must eat some amount of spuds and porridge.

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 454 - 18/07/2022 12:14:52    2432686

Replying To SimonstownBack:  "Just back from a very entertaining match. Was on the hill and as is usual with a small minority of Kilkenny young fellas there was agro. Every time I've been on the hill when Kilkenny are playing they cause trouble. Throwing bottles just like the Kerry young lads a few weeks ago when Dublin were playing Kerry. All seemed to be drunk. A fight broke out between two groups of supporters which was nasty enough. They come in huge packs and it's like they aren't when interested in the match. Waste of tickets. Huge congratulations to Limerick. What a team. And Kilkenny made them work for it though never looked like losing it. All in all a decent enough championship."
I've lost count of the number of times I've heard people make similar complaints. Being seated next to or around opposing supporters can often be a tense experience.
As much as the gaa prides itself on mixing fans together, I'm always relieved when I go to a game to be surrounded by other galway supporters. Makes it far more enjoyable imo.
As for the championship itself I thought it was far better than decent enough,, thought it was fantastic.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1708 - 18/07/2022 12:22:22    2432687

Replying To tiobraid:  "
Replying To Viking66:  "[quote=daveboy:  "[quote=Cockney_Cat:  "Now now Dave, I know you're 'over the moon' at the moment; but can we meet half way and say one of the greatest teams 'ever to play on that field'?"
There's only 2 teams that can claim it. We saw one today. The conversation grew last year and will mushroom this year. That kk team of the 00s were the best ever. I just think Limerick today are right up there beside them now. Next year they might just forge ahead. I love killenny hurling and felt all year they were the only team capable of beating us in croke park. They gave a monumental performance."
Tipp team of the 60s? 4 wins from 7 finals? Cork won 5 AIs in 6 years in the 40s. Cork also won 4 finals from 7 in the 20s. This current Limerick team are certainly up there with all of these. If they win a few more they will be up with the 00s Kilkenny team too!"]Theyre neck and neck with them as it is but KK may be marginally ahead. What this Limerick team have different to KK is that theyve pretty much had the same starting 15 since 2018 bar the injuries along the way. 17/18 players have been the core group of starters. The Kk team from 2006 to 2009 was quite different in both personnel and positions. On that basis do you say KK or Limerick are the better team! Open to debate or irrelevant? Kiely is incredibly loyal to his players and hes right to make hay while the sun shines...for the rest of us hopefully the fact that a lot are around the same age helps the others catch up as they start to slow down - not that that will happen anytime soon!"]Oh Tiobraid you do your own county an injustice- From '58 to '65 it was five.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 18/07/2022 12:30:08    2432691

Replying To ecad123:  "Correct, burke was brillent in that game! Two key things, he has the power to match him and he followed him wherever he went that day! Never gave him a chance to come short for possession which he often does. But fair play to hegarty yesterday he had a brillent game yesterday!"
Burke should get an all-star off that display, along with P.Mannion and Joe Cooney. If Cusack is pickn it though, there won't be many Golwah on it. Claimed yesterday that limerick clare was the greatest munster final of all time, and he probably has seen less than half of them for starters. I'll have to dig out another look at that munster final, because I wasn't overwhelmed with it on a first viewing, so I must have missed something, missed a lot obviously!!

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3422 - 18/07/2022 12:36:32    2432692

Replying To Galway9801:  "I've lost count of the number of times I've heard people make similar complaints. Being seated next to or around opposing supporters can often be a tense experience.
As much as the gaa prides itself on mixing fans together, I'm always relieved when I go to a game to be surrounded by other galway supporters. Makes it far more enjoyable imo.
As for the championship itself I thought it was far better than decent enough,, thought it was fantastic."
I think it is more of a problem at the big games than small games. I live in Wexford and went to the match in Wexford Park, was surrounded by Wexford people (and my children in Wexford gear!) and children and not a bit of trouble with roaring on the Dubs in the closing stages. At the Galway and Kilkenny matches, there was not a bit of trouble either. Just genuine decent people cheering on their team.
At the Clare game I heard some people complaining about some of the Clare support. I was around Wexford people so can't say about this. We try to buy tickets through club/co. board where it is assigned seating. You tend to end up with your own county largely.

The combination of a train/bus journey, excessive drinking, etc and a general passing interest in the game other than it being "a day out" is a dangerous cocktail. I know there are thousands but why don't the Gardai deal with this before they get in to the ground? If the Hill was safe standing, it'd be easier to manage the crowd.

I bet it is the same handful every day as well.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1128 - 18/07/2022 12:48:11    2432693

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Burke should get an all-star off that display, along with P.Mannion and Joe Cooney. If Cusack is pickn it though, there won't be many Golwah on it. Claimed yesterday that limerick clare was the greatest munster final of all time, and he probably has seen less than half of them for starters. I'll have to dig out another look at that munster final, because I wasn't overwhelmed with it on a first viewing, so I must have missed something, missed a lot obviously!!"
You were watching it with Maroon glasses on so you need to factor that in

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 18/07/2022 13:37:59    2432708

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Burke should get an all-star off that display, along with P.Mannion and Joe Cooney. If Cusack is pickn it though, there won't be many Golwah on it. Claimed yesterday that limerick clare was the greatest munster final of all time, and he probably has seen less than half of them for starters. I'll have to dig out another look at that munster final, because I wasn't overwhelmed with it on a first viewing, so I must have missed something, missed a lot obviously!!"
Name your team and show us who you're dropping for those 3...

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 18/07/2022 13:42:25    2432710

Replying To Oldtourman:  "
Replying To tiobraid:  "[quote=Viking66:  "[quote=daveboy:  "[quote=Cockney_Cat:  "Now now Dave, I know you're 'over the moon' at the moment; but can we meet half way and say one of the greatest teams 'ever to play on that field'?"
There's only 2 teams that can claim it. We saw one today. The conversation grew last year and will mushroom this year. That kk team of the 00s were the best ever. I just think Limerick today are right up there beside them now. Next year they might just forge ahead. I love killenny hurling and felt all year they were the only team capable of beating us in croke park. They gave a monumental performance."
Tipp team of the 60s? 4 wins from 7 finals? Cork won 5 AIs in 6 years in the 40s. Cork also won 4 finals from 7 in the 20s. This current Limerick team are certainly up there with all of these. If they win a few more they will be up with the 00s Kilkenny team too!"]Theyre neck and neck with them as it is but KK may be marginally ahead. What this Limerick team have different to KK is that theyve pretty much had the same starting 15 since 2018 bar the injuries along the way. 17/18 players have been the core group of starters. The Kk team from 2006 to 2009 was quite different in both personnel and positions. On that basis do you say KK or Limerick are the better team! Open to debate or irrelevant? Kiely is incredibly loyal to his players and hes right to make hay while the sun shines...for the rest of us hopefully the fact that a lot are around the same age helps the others catch up as they start to slow down - not that that will happen anytime soon!"]Oh Tiobraid you do your own county an injustice- From '58 to '65 it was five."]He also failed mention the KK team that won 7 AIs in 10 years, 1904 to 1913.
Or the KK team of the 1930s, that won 4 AIs in 8 years.
Or the KK team of the late 60s/early 70s. that won 5 AIs in 9 years.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2467 - 18/07/2022 13:50:41    2432713

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "
Replying To Oldtourman:  "[quote=tiobraid:  "[quote=Viking66:  "[quote=daveboy:  "[quote=Cockney_Cat:  "Now now Dave, I know you're 'over the moon' at the moment; but can we meet half way and say one of the greatest teams 'ever to play on that field'?"
Tipp team of the 60s? 4 wins from 7 finals? Cork won 5 AIs in 6 years in the 40s. Cork also won 4 finals from 7 in the 20s. This current Limerick team are certainly up there with all of these. If they win a few more they will be up with the 00s Kilkenny team too!"]Theyre neck and neck with them as it is but KK may be marginally ahead. What this Limerick team have different to KK is that theyve pretty much had the same starting 15 since 2018 bar the injuries along the way. 17/18 players have been the core group of starters. The Kk team from 2006 to 2009 was quite different in both personnel and positions. On that basis do you say KK or Limerick are the better team! Open to debate or irrelevant? Kiely is incredibly loyal to his players and hes right to make hay while the sun shines...for the rest of us hopefully the fact that a lot are around the same age helps the others catch up as they start to slow down - not that that will happen anytime soon!"]Oh Tiobraid you do your own county an injustice- From '58 to '65 it was five."]He also failed mention the KK team that won 7 AIs in 10 years, 1904 to 1913.
Or the KK team of the 1930s, that won 4 AIs in 8 years.
Or the KK team of the late 60s/early 70s. that won 5 AIs in 9 years."]The debate will continue. The Limerick team of the 30s was better than the kilkenny team of the 30s going on contemporary accounts.
The Limerick team of now are special and right up with Kilkennys 4 in a row. It's harder to get out of Munster as it's a more competitive province with more contenders. Number 2 is the amount of games they have to play. They don't get the advantage of 4 wins in a year and All.Ireland Champions like that Kilkenny team.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 18/07/2022 14:03:20    2432719

I had a team with mannnion at 6,Kelly at 12 and whelan at 15..am I the only person who can't see what journalists and analysts see in o donnell..I know he has been out for a long time with serious concussion..for me he just goes to get the scores you would expect from a top class forward..I just can't figure how whelan has been left out.but this is only my opinion..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2217 - 18/07/2022 14:06:42    2432721