Monaghan GAA thread

Replying To updafaughs:  "The aim for Faughs next year would be to squeeze in to sixth place in the league which is realistic given the lack of lads on county panel. Then hopefully get 3rd place in championship group depending on the draw. But could very easily be in relegation groups in both. Exciting times for the club though with the youth coming through"
Fair play to Blaney whatever people say against the carrick team in the final Blaney still had to be there to take advantage. They generally found a way to win when looking out of it. Only worry for them is lack of a good man marking corner back, struggled against teams with 1 good forward like freeman, mc manus ect so coming up against teams with multiple top forwards will be a challenge.

Monaghangeael (Monaghan) - Posts: 85 - 18/11/2025 08:53:17    2645141

Replying To Clubman57:  "Can't argue with yous there, huge credit has to be given to the Scotstown management taking a chance on the 3 or four young lads all year by god has it paid off. On that how are Scotstown producing these young lads that are instant hits at senior level. From a Monaghan perspective these lads will get their chance in the Monaghan team but I would be of the opinion to go to the 20s and push hard there will be plenty of time for them at senior level !"
It's the perfect environment for producing talent, Massive numbers, great facilities and everyone rowing the same way because they are winning, you see lads that are in the minor panel not make the match day squad at 17 but 3 years later roasting the lads that kept them out of that squad, hard work put in because they have the carrot of making the scotstown team and likely a championship. Harder to put in the same work when the carrot is playing junior football with aghabog and the likes with zero chance of winning.

Monaghangeael (Monaghan) - Posts: 85 - 18/11/2025 09:18:19    2645145

Replying To MonaghanMan44life:  "It was pointed out on Sunday that the entire management team is made up of club men/women which is very rare at that level. The exception being Kevin O'Brien.."
Covered yourself with the term clubmen, two are not from scotstown.

Monaghangeael (Monaghan) - Posts: 85 - 18/11/2025 09:32:13    2645149

Replying To veterngaa:  "Just curious … you reference this active transfer market. Every other senior club in Monaghan has had players transferred in that have won county titles

Ballybay had 2 Cavan men, Clontibret have had a few back in the day too. Most clubs in Monaghan have a player transfer into their club. Cavan would be the same.

So you phrase it as Scotstown are wheeling and deeling 4/5 players a year"
Cavan gaels were the man city of club gaa back in the 2000s,

Monaghangeael (Monaghan) - Posts: 85 - 18/11/2025 09:35:16    2645150

Replying To MalsBalls:  "good point...emyvale also got a good goalkeeper in from a neighbouring club...where was that again? oh yea - the same guy probably starts for every other club in the county

although I think it was the nature of the mccarron transfer that annoys people...for me its old news now and i dont really care anymore"
He transfered 3/4 years ago and not been on a monaghan panel in that time which I believe has had 4 or 5 other keepers on the panel and some stage so he may be a good keeper but he isn't starting on every other club not a chance

Monaghangeael (Monaghan) - Posts: 85 - 18/11/2025 10:14:39    2645152

Replying To Monaghangeael:  "He transfered 3/4 years ago and not been on a monaghan panel in that time which I believe has had 4 or 5 other keepers on the panel and some stage so he may be a good keeper but he isn't starting on every other club not a chance"
Mulligan from Latton is the only keeper I'd have ahead of Forde in the county.

ConyersHill04 (Monaghan) - Posts: 15 - 18/11/2025 11:22:13    2645161

I do think, with sScotowns players ageing that they will be fighting to stay in senior in next couple of year just don't think they have enough youth coming through.
The like of the Hughes's and Jack McCarron can't go for many more years really. I do feel the Senior championship will be open for new winners in next 2/3 years with younger panels

BarneytheDino (Monaghan) - Posts: 3 - 18/11/2025 11:24:33    2645164

Replying To BarneytheDino:  "I do think, with sScotowns players ageing that they will be fighting to stay in senior in next couple of year just don't think they have enough youth coming through.
The like of the Hughes's and Jack McCarron can't go for many more years really. I do feel the Senior championship will be open for new winners in next 2/3 years with younger panels"
Hahahaha take that trolling elsewhere, I do think it will open up in the next few years when the older bunch retire but not to the extremes of going down. Laughable.

Deadballmerchant (Monaghan) - Posts: 33 - 19/11/2025 08:50:39    2645232

Replying To ConyersHill04:  "Mulligan from Latton is the only keeper I'd have ahead of Forde in the county."
I disagree with you here I feel forde is Definatky up there with Beggan if not better, is impact to the game outfield aswel as leadership shouting on from the goal I think is hard beat.

BarneytheDino (Monaghan) - Posts: 3 - 19/11/2025 09:25:00    2645235

Replying To BarneytheDino:  "I disagree with you here I feel forde is Definatky up there with Beggan if not better, is impact to the game outfield aswel as leadership shouting on from the goal I think is hard beat."
If he was better he'd be the number one.......... No doubt he's one of the best keepers in the county but Beggan is head and shoulders above everyone else and will be until he decides to pack it in.

His brief stint in America which coincided with the 2024 National League proved that glaringly.

ConyersHill04 (Monaghan) - Posts: 15 - 19/11/2025 11:16:51    2645257