Monaghan GAA thread

Replying To Jjoniel79:  "McCarville was found out, unfortunately he's not at the level required, he's there because Scotstown are winning championships on the backs of the Hughes brothers industry and it was an insult to Darren that he was looking out at that on Saturday. McPhillips is the same story, won't ever be at the level and got roasted against down in the league - but is at the right club so he gets a far better look in than a lad from the likes of toome, Seans, etc.

Gary Mohan was carrying way too much timber and when you see him lined up beside Langan you see what players that truely apply themselves look like. He tried hard but his conditioning let him down and he was cramping with 10 minutes to go after having a 2 week break while a 40 year old Murphy was floating about not a bother on him. O'Toole had to be taken out of corner back previously as he was hopeless in there but on the big day Bannigan puts him on their fastest forward? Ciaran McNulty was dropped for poor performances too and again, come crunch time he was thrown in there and got shown up badly.

There's more talent in the county than is on the panel but the management team brought very few fresh faces into the regular starting lineups this year - 3/4 brought in when we need maybe 8/12 just isn't good enough. The players that did get brought in all played in county finals over the last 2-3 years which is fair enough, but does anyone scout the league games where there might be an unheralded player that could do a job? Doesn't look like it.

Our defence has been really poor for a few years and yet each manager that comes in does very little to change it, they just shift a few of the usual characters around hoping for something to change. Young Boyle from Truagh was Jordanstowns full back which won a sigerson cup but he didn't get a look in. Instead our great manager has decided to use the half forward line to try protect our poor full back line.. look at who the three closest men to the Donegal goal was on Saturday and you'll see why we fell apart in the last 25 minutes - our main men were out on their feet trying to get scores and get goals at the same time. The most embarrassing moment as evidence of all this was when we needed a score in the 2nd half we shifted the ball back and forth until we were turned over and Donegal played a long ball into McBrearty - who was being marked by O'Hanlon, our best game breaker. He lost his life at the defence who abandoned ship going forward to make themselves hero's when there was a break in play and he was dead right.

That 2nd half has been coming all year - the championship/league format means teams don't have to be at 100% until near July, which is why Monaghan escape proper punishment for most of the year - but when teams need to they will pour it on us."
Go back in under your little stone.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 677 - 01/07/2025 13:01:57    2622863

DUBLIN ... 1,458,154
GALWAY ... 277,737
MEATH ... 220,826
ARMAGH ... 194,351
TYRONE ... 188,383
DONEGAL ... 167,084
KERRY ... 156,458
MONAGHAN ... 65,288

Population od quarter final counties, and "know it alls" expect Gabie and his team to rebuild in one year. Would like to hear from them the names of all the talent in the clubs that are not getting a chance. Oh I forgot, most of these experts don't attend club games.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 677 - 01/07/2025 13:08:50    2622865

Replying To ORIELMAN85:  "Go back in under your little stone."
Yet to see any sense coming out of you.

Jjoniel79 (Monaghan) - Posts: 203 - 01/07/2025 13:48:46    2622876

Replying To Jjoniel79:  "McCarville was found out, unfortunately he's not at the level required, he's there because Scotstown are winning championships on the backs of the Hughes brothers industry and it was an insult to Darren that he was looking out at that on Saturday. McPhillips is the same story, won't ever be at the level and got roasted against down in the league - but is at the right club so he gets a far better look in than a lad from the likes of toome, Seans, etc.

Gary Mohan was carrying way too much timber and when you see him lined up beside Langan you see what players that truely apply themselves look like. He tried hard but his conditioning let him down and he was cramping with 10 minutes to go after having a 2 week break while a 40 year old Murphy was floating about not a bother on him. O'Toole had to be taken out of corner back previously as he was hopeless in there but on the big day Bannigan puts him on their fastest forward? Ciaran McNulty was dropped for poor performances too and again, come crunch time he was thrown in there and got shown up badly.

There's more talent in the county than is on the panel but the management team brought very few fresh faces into the regular starting lineups this year - 3/4 brought in when we need maybe 8/12 just isn't good enough. The players that did get brought in all played in county finals over the last 2-3 years which is fair enough, but does anyone scout the league games where there might be an unheralded player that could do a job? Doesn't look like it.

Our defence has been really poor for a few years and yet each manager that comes in does very little to change it, they just shift a few of the usual characters around hoping for something to change. Young Boyle from Truagh was Jordanstowns full back which won a sigerson cup but he didn't get a look in. Instead our great manager has decided to use the half forward line to try protect our poor full back line.. look at who the three closest men to the Donegal goal was on Saturday and you'll see why we fell apart in the last 25 minutes - our main men were out on their feet trying to get scores and get goals at the same time. The most embarrassing moment as evidence of all this was when we needed a score in the 2nd half we shifted the ball back and forth until we were turned over and Donegal played a long ball into McBrearty - who was being marked by O'Hanlon, our best game breaker. He lost his life at the defence who abandoned ship going forward to make themselves hero's when there was a break in play and he was dead right.

That 2nd half has been coming all year - the championship/league format means teams don't have to be at 100% until near July, which is why Monaghan escape proper punishment for most of the year - but when teams need to they will pour it on us."
Fair play to you for calling it out. Far too many people on here just assume lads play well without having a knowledgeable eye.

farneygael3 (Monaghan) - Posts: 277 - 01/07/2025 13:49:03    2622877

A very accurate post on Saturday, alot of very valid points. Alot of players were found out, no point slating them on here as they have given 7-8 months of relentless commitment to the jersey and monaghan football. I suppose the question is, do you stick or do you twist?
It is clear we need more than what we have from Saturday in terms of S and C along with footballing ability at that elite level. The problem is I don't think there is a huge amount of players floating around the county. Are players willingly to commit and have they got what it takes? Bannigan is as honest as you get and I'm sure he is looking at other options but maybe his hands are tied on what he can work with. Our two best underage teams in recent times were the u17s in 23 and u20s in 21, surely that's where potentially decent players might be. The club scene in monaghan is desperate, two championships already forgone conclusions. The town clubs are fairly limited as well. You make alot of good points on how the game played out Saturday but Id be skeptical that there is these elite players hidden out there in the club scene.

222 (UK) - Posts: 871 - 01/07/2025 13:56:10    2622879

Gary Mohan wasn't cramping. He got an awful kick in the back of the leg with 10 mins into the second half.. he should have been taken off, but the warrior that he is, stayed on as long as he could

Farney (Monaghan) - Posts: 819 - 01/07/2025 14:10:43    2622889

Replying To ORIELMAN85:  "DUBLIN ... 1,458,154
GALWAY ... 277,737
MEATH ... 220,826
ARMAGH ... 194,351
TYRONE ... 188,383
DONEGAL ... 167,084
KERRY ... 156,458
MONAGHAN ... 65,288

Population od quarter final counties, and "know it alls" expect Gabie and his team to rebuild in one year. Would like to hear from them the names of all the talent in the clubs that are not getting a chance. Oh I forgot, most of these experts don't attend club games."
i think we have to stop banging this small man syndrome drum...are we ever going to be winners if we always think we're over-achieving?? generally speaking i agree with what you are saying btw - just getting tired of this narrative...sunday was a perfect storm - they were better and fitter....if, hypothetically, we had drawn galway and won does that make us a better team than we are today? not really...altho we wouldnt be complaining either

one thing i will say is that the first half performance actually could be questioned...does anyone have stats on our conversion figures? i remember a lot of wides...maybe even more than the second half??? i wouldnt necessarily encourage management to focus on the positives because i think the positives were that we were shooting into the more forgiving end, wind wise, and then the wind picked up a little bit and we were shooting into a more difficult goal in the second half and donegal ensured there were no easy shots for us

as a small county we do need everyone available to be playing. The strength, fitness and size of donegal over-powered and over-whelmed us...also we were lacking an out-n-out full forward

i like and trust bannigan - he's got a three year gig and year number 1 moved us in the right direction...onwards and upwards

MalsBalls (Monaghan) - Posts: 235 - 01/07/2025 14:34:03    2622900

Just had a look back at the game, and as you say above, we had five wides in the first half. Conor McCarthy had three terrible wides.

I've just watched the Donegal goal back again, and in my opinion it is McCarthy who let's the Donegal man drift in and doesn't follow him. And interestingly, the last man back trying to get a block was Steven O'Hanlon. Conor pulled up a short time later, so you'd have to wonder was he carrying a knock into the game that caused him to pull up?

BrehonBlonde (Monaghan) - Posts: 122 - 01/07/2025 15:30:57    2622917

The blood was up writing that earlier. I'll respond to a few of the above.

Population to me is a poor excuse - Kerry shouldn't be as successful as they are if it was all about population. Louth should have a bag of medals and Armagh should have been to near as many all ireland finals as us. Dublin have all these numbers but apart from a super team that caught lightning in a bottle from 2013-2023, their last 40 say from 1980 years aren't that impressive comparing to Kerry..

I was probably wrong to go in as hard on a few of the lads because as 222 rightly says they gave a year of blood sweat and tears to the jersey. But I do still have a bone to pick with the management teams, this year and last - to keep going with players from the obvious county finalists is a nonsense to me. Between Truagh, Magheracloone, Corduff there are 2-3 lads that'd get onto the panel ahead of the two Scotstown midfielders that anyone can see aren't up to this level. Same goes for ramming dessie ward into centre back and Kieran Duffy into fullback - class players that are being shifted into positions they don't typically play to fill holes instead of using Ronan Boyle and Louie Kelly in their natural positions from the off.

222 is right there was a few good underage teams coming through and if right is right we should be starting the league with 6-7 of these lads in the starting lineup if we're to have any hope of building a team capable of handling days like Saturday.

Also I missed that with Mohan getting a kick, he soldiers on and does a lot by himself in the middle of the pitch for us and I should have given him more credit for battling on like he did.

Donegals goal came from a man sailing through the middle where our number 6 was nowhere to be seen - Langan dances around our corner back but in fairness he was coming flying through unmarked so there was very little the defender could do only try slow him up a bit and then when he buries it in the net our two closest players to him are O'Hanlon and Bannigan - our two midfielders are nowhere to be seen, no centre half back and our entire half forward line is inside the 45 defending.. Our team sends our best scoring forwards back along with McCarthy and ward to do all our defending and then wonders why we can't score in the last 15? Any chance you'd see Murphy and Oisin Gallen back like that - Clifford and Geaney? Conaty and Turbitt? Canavan and McCurry?

Our forwards are sacrificed to protect our halfback/fullback line for far too long and no management team has thought to do anything different.

Jjoniel79 (Monaghan) - Posts: 203 - 01/07/2025 18:00:50    2622963

Donegal under mcguinnes are relentless same from 2011 to 2014 and are at there peak at this minute but when he quits they are the same as the rest of the chasing pack it's hard to believe we don't get many midfielders from our development squads this needs to be addressed our problem next year is the same from 2015 to 2023 is that we have to be at 90%to compete in div 1 league and there's not much left for the summer plus what is the value in taking k o Connell along if he is not playing but I would be happy enough with the year ,as for the small county syndrome offaly in 1982 were the exception to the rule of a population of 60000 problem for monaghan is tha going forward a lot of counties have 6 ft 3 players across from no 8 to no 12 cork meath donegal kerry down derry which is hard to compete with but again is was a good year would we have taken it in January absolutely and thanks to management and players for all the days out ,monaghan are always competitive which we have to be very grateful for and hopefully silverware is around the corner 2012 was a bad result in armagh v down maybe as bad as Saturday 10 points up and lost and we turned around and won ulster in 2013 and 15 so the resilience is there we just need to go again but to not let div 1 league football be our legacy and define us championship is what it's about June July not Feb march

Farneyblueandwhite (Monaghan) - Posts: 103 - 01/07/2025 18:17:47    2622968

Replying To 222:  "A very accurate post on Saturday, alot of very valid points. Alot of players were found out, no point slating them on here as they have given 7-8 months of relentless commitment to the jersey and monaghan football. I suppose the question is, do you stick or do you twist?
It is clear we need more than what we have from Saturday in terms of S and C along with footballing ability at that elite level. The problem is I don't think there is a huge amount of players floating around the county. Are players willingly to commit and have they got what it takes? Bannigan is as honest as you get and I'm sure he is looking at other options but maybe his hands are tied on what he can work with. Our two best underage teams in recent times were the u17s in 23 and u20s in 21, surely that's where potentially decent players might be. The club scene in monaghan is desperate, two championships already forgone conclusions. The town clubs are fairly limited as well. You make alot of good points on how the game played out Saturday but Id be skeptical that there is these elite players hidden out there in the club scene."
We have what we have and in fairness our players tried hard. We only have 30 odd clubs so its not hard to scout the players... I know posters here don't like to hear the we are a small county line but the reality is we are. The stats are against us and only 1 team wins the all Ireland every year.. the other 31 will be in the same position as we were Saturday night..

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 791 - 01/07/2025 18:45:33    2622977